Paradisus Princesa Del Mar

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    B

    wil never go back to this resort!

    Reviewed by Byron Lucas on Feb 02, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2019

    Trip Type: Friends

    staff were gr8. food was ok but only warm. beach & pool bars either had orange juice or vodka, not both. no signage to show where things were. pathways poorly lit at night, if at all. surprised by the number of other people that said they would never come back!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    s

    Royal Disappointment

    Reviewed by sharon on Mar 08, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Very unsatisfied with the overall experience "royal services" - not worth it.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    M

    We had fun but definitely not the resort we expected.

    Reviewed by Michelle & Dick Bowles on Feb 03, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Definitely would not consider this a 5*.. We paid extra for butler service & royal service but was not worth it...for example when we requested things it did not happen and on the butler menu there are things on there that are no longer in place and/or there are now charges for them so their butler menu is out of date. In our room there was a spa menu/brochure and it stated that because we were "royal service" guests that we would receive 30% discount at the spa for "all" massages. This was not the case, we only received 20% discount and it was only on a few of the massages not all of the massages like advertised in our room. Meals overall were just average, nothing spectacular. Getting cocktails at most of the restaurants was impossible....usually only beer and wine...I asked for mojitos, champagne, mimosos on several occasions and they did not have them so we would have to go to the pool bar or other bars to get a drink and then take them to the restaurant with us. The resort definitely needs a bit of TLC in some places...hot tubs on the grounds and in the spa were not working, so were empty. Our butler booked scuba diving for our husbands and they went out front to be picked up but the scuba diving was cancelled but no one informed us. The spa was definitely not a 5* spa... you only need to go 5 minutes before your services as there is no where to sit and relax before hand. So overall, definitely disappointmented in this 5* resort and the extra we paid for butler and royal service.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    M

    Very happy with our choice to stay at this resort!!!!

    Reviewed by Maureen on Mar 13, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    We had a awesome vacation, no complaints. All the staff were very friendly, our room was kept clean, the bed was a little hard but we slept good anyway. It was such a beautiful place, both my husband and I think of it every day since we have come home almost a month ago. Would definitely stay at this resort again. Cuba is wonderful place to go for a vacation.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 7207 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    March break get away

    Reviewed by Pioneer716382(Blandford-Blenheim, Canada) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My wife and I had traveled with another couple to this resort for a March break get away. The resort was amping the best we have stayed at in Cuba. The pools and grounds we clean. The staff were very friendly. I would give props to the entertainment staff that made the trip that much better Alexis, Carlos and Luis. Who came out to play beach volleyball everyday. Also to Diana & Barby our bar tenders. The beds were comfortable, and the resort was small enough to get to everything fairly quickly, but large enough to have peace and quite. The a la cartes were good, especially the teppanyaki Japanese and the Italian restaurant. the buffet was ok, nothing to write home about. We never strayed far from what you could make at home for the buffet. The resort was a great place to getaway and unwind have a few drinks and sit pool side.

    Disappointed

    Reviewed by AandLfromWindsor(Windsor, Canada) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We've been to Varadero many times but this was the first time at the Paradisus Princesa del Mar. Smoking is permitted everywhere except the little piano bar. There was seldom anyone ever playing the piano there and no live music anywhere except for the nightly 9:30 pm show that relied heavily on videos. The walk to the beach was difficult as there was no wooden walkway. Food was usually cold with little variety. The grounds are beautiful and the staff is great.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-2

    Loved it!

    Reviewed by Sconroy2019() on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My sister and I stayed in the Royal Service side for a week in February 2019. We loved it! Our butler Yan was wonderful! He was kind, professional, and helpful at all times. We really appreciated everything he did for us. An amazing employee! Our first room had very poor air conditioning so we got moved. The new room was cool and perfect! We enjoyed the bartender Yusmila at the Piano Bar, she was awesome! So welcoming and fun! We loved the beautiful beach, lovely pool, the drinks, the food! Nightly entertainment was good but we wished they'd play more DJ music after the shows for people to dance. We were sad to leave! Looking forward to returning!

    Not a great experience

    Reviewed by Andrew H(Bromsgrove, United Kingdom) on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    My wife and I have just returned after a 2 week stay at the Princesa Del Mar, an experience we will not repeat. The hotel itself has a great deal of promise, and has i am sure, been a fantastic destination at some point, but sadly, not any longer in our opinion. The hotel is tired and in serious need of renovation throughout, from missing pool tiles, to non functioning equipment in the gym and broken beds to the lack if simple things like, a sink plug!! So lets begin with the pools. There are a number lagoon pools, the deepest being the swim up pool bar. These were very clean and well maintained, despite some tiles being missing around the pool bar. The water is chlorinated, clean and very cold, a welcome relief from the heat. Sunbeds are very plentiful, clean and well looked after. However, there are also a number of covered couch beds and the same could not be said for these. They had torn matresses, lamps with exposed wires, no bulbs or just plain rotten. Timber was in need of paint and covered in black fungus and the curtains were dirty and in need of a wash. However, these still proved popular and, as a result, if you had your eye on one, you'd need to be up and about before 6.30am to secure one for the day; a fairly standard issue i'm sure. The swim up bar was adequate, but staffed poorly and the available staff would on the odd occasion do a round of the pool to see who needed drinks, but it was far from regular and the waiter would often only visit your sunbed if he was guaranteed a tip! Poolside towels usually ran out at about 1pm and the attendant was rude and unhelpful daily. i eventually gave up trying to change them at the pool and changed them instead with our maid - who i might add was excellent in everything she did for us. a true gem! Parasols around the pool? there were 3 available - for over 200 sunbeds, enough said!! The Gym is adequate, although the staff are unfreindly and the equipment is tired and old, in many cases it doesn't work at all. The Spa!! I enquired about a Massage for my wife and was given a menu of these by one of the 6 staff who were sitting doing nothing. The price for 60mins - 190 pesos! Ridiculous!! I decided not to look at any other prices. Restaurants. There are a number of A La Carte restaurants to choose from. The best by far was the Japanese Sakura restaurant, followed by the Bamboo Chinese restaurant. However - beware! if you revisit a restaurant, do not expect to receive the same quality of food as your first visit. It seems to vary dependant on the chefs ability, Carpacio - correctly is thin sheets of raw Beef, and was served as such on my first visit, my second visit produced large curled up lumps of stewed beef, very strange. Avoid the Rock House restaurant. The main restaurant has a large selection, but it never varies and after 14 days is boring. much of the food appeared at both lunch and evening dinner, and the same shelfish and hard boiled eggs (covered in brown sauce) were often room temperature - so quite warm, and served at both mealtimes. The food is not good, even in the A La Cartes. Service is average at best and the cooks on the specialist areas try hard with inferior quality meats. In fact, on day one, we saw 2 hostesses who were clearly very good at what they do, so we moved tables to their area, and stayed with them throughout our stay. They treated us like royalty with Champagne daily, freshly made Cuban coffee and politeness that other staff would do well to follow. The major issue for me was the beach. its dirty, strewn with seaweed and trash, the beds are worn and old andit would not even make my 'Best Of' list of great beaches. The sand flies are a major issue, due to the ploughed in seaweed. On my third day, i decided to catch the sunrise, a truly stunning sight, but it was ruined by over 50 sand fly bites which took days to heal. I was not the only victim either and this should not happen if the beach is cared for and looked after. Around the complex and in our room, Mosquitos where also a major concern, my wife and i suffering from numerous bites. The hotel does not fog in the mornings, an essential in my opinion for any tropical hotel destination. On the whole, this hotel is poor and disapointing at best and is in need of serious renovation. Public toilets are dirty and mosquito filled with no seats for the ladies and urine covered broken urinals in the mens. The management has little or no interest, and when i did file a complaint, the Customer Service Manageress simply replied "I know Senor" - well if you know there's a problem, fix it, and thats the issue here, nothing gets done. I complained about no plug in my sink and a faulty lightbulb 5 times before it was eventually sorted and only then because i stood there whilst the receptionist called the elusive and seemingly non existent Maintenance Team. My wife even came back to our room to find our MAID painting our room door!! it's laughable. So, will i go back? No. And its a shame, because Cuba is a beautiful country with a desperate need for tourism to work, but when your staff are rude, can't be bothered or just don't give a damn, particularly when they rely so heavily on tips to supplement their income, your hotel has a serious issue.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-3

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-2

    Breathtaking Holidays

    Reviewed by Florenciabmartin() on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed at the royal- service section of the hotel with my boyfriend on March 2019. The experience was awesome, specially because of Leo. He was our assigned butler and was cheerful and detail-orientated the whole stay. Leo helped my boyfriend organize a couple of surprises that really made my trip and that if it weren’t for Leo’s help they couldn’t have happened. Leo became a very important person of such memorable week!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX