The Verandah Resort & Spa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    M

    We absolutely loved our stay and would go back again.

    Reviewed by Mary on Mar 27, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Book the better suites. They are well worth it. Family resort. Beach and pools are great. Other amenities not so. Staff are courteous and friendly. Don't come here if you are afraid of birds. No bugs at this time of the year. Food at the restaurants are good. Book them ahead of time. Buffet is similar to food courts, not bad and not great. Lots of booze, they don't skimp.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    F

    Just bad. Not worth of money paid.

    Reviewed by Former customer on Jul 24, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: July 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    Not coming back. The reasons are: 1. Poor quality of check-in and room services. 2. Bad food and water quality. 3. Unprofessional, unresponsive, inattentive, short-tempered restaurant staff which oversteps boundaries. 4. Poor time management in restaurants except for Nicole's .

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    S

    Amazing vacation! I'd recommend this to anybody who loves to be pampered!

    Reviewed by Sneha on Dec 01, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    My vacation with my family was in April. At first, we were booked in a suite and then last minute I changed it to a villa. One of the BEST experiences I've had! The only flaw i'd say is that the food wasn't the best, but that seems to be a common thing all across the Caribbean. In either case, the food was plentiful and there was a large variety each day. The villa was cleaned everyday and the staff were so friendly to talk to. Even though it was dry season, the entire resort was sparkling green. Best part about Verandah is that they are very environmentally friendly. Oh did I mention, I loved the shampoo they provided in the bathrooms! For the villas, a separate pool is provided- all the pools are nicely maintained, and the two beaches are so clean! Loved the people there, they are amazing. Would definitely recommend this anyday to anybody!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    R

    Enjoyable stay

    Reviewed by Romanie on Jun 20, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    This resort was beautiful, well cared for grounds, and nice pools. The rooms were a good size with a large bathroom. I enjoy a nice large tub to relax in and this one fit the bill. The food was enjoyable, very tasty with many options. The main beachs were decent, but the Rasta beach had a lot of seaweed 5 feet out from the shore, so prefered the main beach. I would go back to this property.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    B

    Great property something for everyone

    Reviewed by Barb on Jun 19, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    I was impressed with this property, it is very well kept, the grounds are beautiful and well manicured. The pool area very popular also has an adults only pool. There are 2 beaches on property in a cove like setting and the water is very calm, the water is shallow. I spent as much time as I could in the tranquil ocean waters. The rooms are very spacious and very clean. I had a beautiful view of the cove. Enjoyed the balcony. This property has connecting rooms. Rooms connect through the balcony. I lost my room key and within 5 minutes one of the employees was there to let me back into my room. Service is great staff very helpful. The 3 restaurants offer great options for dining. The evening entertainment is very enjoyable. There is a fantastic kids club on property, it is open from 9:00 am to 10:00pm I would recommend this property.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    D

    Amazing Staff

    Reviewed by DH on Jun 19, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Rooms are very spacious. Staff was great. Always willing to assist with any needs. Golf carts are always a phone call away. The atmosphere throughout the resort is very friendly and welcoming. Loved the beach area. They do bring venders on site to sell their crafts and such. Would definately go back with my family. They have something for everyone here.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    K

    Jewel on the island!

    Reviewed by Kim on Jun 16, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    This a jewel on the island! The rooms are spacious and have large balconies. They have a microwave and mini fridge in them and sink with counter top so that was very nice. Lots of channels on the TV. You can pay to have internet access in your rooms. Pool is very nice - lots of seating. Food was good - restaurants are very warm inside though. Didn't feel the a/c much. It is a large resort but they were very quick to pick you up in the golf cart once you called. Beaches were lovely. One beach you could walk out to but the other one there were stairs you had to go down to the beach. There is a nice beach as well within walking distance - Long Bay Beach - where we went snorkeling. It was very nice.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    k

    Great Service!

    Reviewed by kr on Jun 15, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Friends

    The Verhandah is a wonderful resort! Their greatest assest are the people. Everyone is so friendly and willing to please. Its doesnt take long to recognize that all the staff is genuine in their approcach to service.. Not unusual to see even the General Manager driving guests around in the resort. Or to have your server from the previous day come to your table and ask how everything is., Loved Vivane! We experienced all the restaurants except Nicole's, which has a $35 addlional cost. The Sea Breeze offers breakfast, lunch and evening buffet. The breakfast is typically the same each day with different options for omelettes each day. The Beach Grill is a lovely setting for diinner, overlooking the beach and offers a good varieity of local cuisine. The Beach Grill is open all day for lunch will you're enjoying one of two beaches. Only complaint with the beach is they remove the beach apparatus too early. At 4 o'clock the "floatiing donuts" are removed and the non motorized water sports closes. This is a very relaxing resort. I would recommend this resort to families looking for a good 4* resort with above average food and service.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    H

    I enjoyed my stay!

    Reviewed by Heather on Jun 13, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    I was there for a business trip and had a great time. I really enjoyed my stay at the Verandah. It is a beautiful resort set on very lush, tropical grounds. The hotel and restaurant staff are very friendly and helpful. My room was beautiful, very clean and spacious. I enjoyed all my meals and felt that there was some good choices. I also like the beach grill to have an afternoon snack of fresh made nachos.The pool was large and clean and plenty of room for everyone. The beach areas were great. I really enjoyed the use of water sports such as paddle boards, kayaks, peddle boats and snorkelling. There was lots to do at this resort including mini golf, ping pong and pool tables. I would visit this resort again!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Love this resort !!

    Reviewed by Lisa on Jun 13, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    I loved this resort! We traveled as a large group and had a blast. The entire staff were awesome, friendly and always helpful. The food was great, location was great, the rooms were large and cleaned every day with a number of staff around to help. The pools were great, we spent a lot of time in the main pool and quite enjoyed it. Wow to the beach, we had so much fun on the lazy water loungers, it was great to just to sit back and enjoy the water with our friends. The people here are second to none when it comes to being friendly!! There is a true kindness in their personality especially our driver John Henry from Discover Wadadli who we absolutely loved. We were fortunate enough to go to and swim with the sting rays, and what an experience that was , if you can you should check out Stingray City Snorkel Adventure. The staff here were so patient as some of us were a little cautious but so happy that we did it. I would recommend this hotel to everyone and would definitely return!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4277 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Similar to a carnival cruise ship

    Reviewed by Andrewwconey(Austin, Texas) on Feb 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Very unorganized at check in. Food is mediocre at best and beer is flat. The property is also very very far from anything else on the island. Wouldn’t recommend if you plan on wanting to explore Antigua. Could be a good option for a budget getaway, but understand this place is only good if you plan to relax, pig out on food, and stay on property.

    Doug & Fiona from UK

    Reviewed by Doug C() on Feb 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The resort is very laid back. Choice of 2 lovely beaches and large pool area. Plenty of water sports, sun beds, sun shades and towels. Rasta beach very quiet and good for lunch. Beach bar good for lunch and dinner. Buccaneer restaurant good full service option at no cost. Buffet selection good. Nice to be able to visit sister resort, Pineapple beach, adjacent. Great cliff top BBQ here

    More relaxation in the sun

    Reviewed by Robert C(Charlotte, North Carolina) on Feb 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We spent our 2nd week at the Verandah after spending a week at its sister resort the St James's Club. We enjoyed both. Verandah is smaller than SJC, however it has a sister resort, Pineapple Plantation right across the street which has limited access for Verandah guests. This really expanded our beach and restaurant selections. PP is adult only as compared to Verandah which is family. Just a point of reference. The staffs, food, beaches and resorts were just great. We all had a great time.

    30th Anniversary

    Reviewed by Retired10Canada(Canada) on Feb 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our third stay at the Verandah and we were not disappointed. The grounds and rooms are still well maintained and the staff courteous and professional as always. We had a very enjoyable stay and will definitely return again. The Verandah was truly paradise.

    The best all-inclusive ever

    Reviewed by Barbara262013(Coal Valley, Illinois) on Feb 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed at The Verandah 1/23-1/29. Perfect time to go. Weather was wonderful and it wasn't crowded at all. We traveled with two other couples. Our rooms were all Superior Ocean Front - close to the main pool, main bar, restaurants and beach. The buffet food was excellent and varied. We took part in trivia with Kiefer, Eliot and company. What a hoot! We did the Pink Panther Safari, complete with rum punch. The Hobie Cat ride was a blast. Wish we would have done more water sports because there certainly was the opportunity. We didn't travel with children, but it appeared there was plenty of activities for them. They made my birthday celebration so special with wine and flowers delivered to our room, champagne and balloons on the Pink Panther Safari and cake and singing at dinner. Felt like a "princess"! The tour desk and guest services should be commended for their efforts. We had a day pass over to Pineapple Beach Club. Had lunch, enjoyed the beach and walked up to The Outhouse bar and grill on the top of the hill. Unfortunately, it was closed on Monday, but still worth the walk.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX