Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort & Spa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Cancun
    5. Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
    6. Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort & Spa review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    J

    I will not return or recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Reviewed by J on Dec 16, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    I would not come here. My number one reason for picking this place was for the heated pool that is advertised. Sadly there is no heated pool and it is too cold to swim without it. There are very few people in the pools and each time someone goes in they make that face of shock from how cold the water is. The service is no where as good as I've recieved in the past in Mexico. Many of the staff have poor English skills so it's hard to communicate sometimes. This is nowhere near a 4 star hotel. Paying for the upgrade to privileged makes you think you get a special Beach and bar as advertised but it's not true. We have been to these areas and there are full of non privileged guests. The staff do not monitor who is using these areas. Why was I charged for this service that everyone else is getting without paying for?

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 11591 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great Location, Great Hotel

    Reviewed by DarrenL1070() on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    After reading reviews I was a little apprehensive but I had no need to have worried. Stunning location set in a gated area which is great for safety. Food was good, Steakhouse being a particular highlight. We declined the upgrade and didn't feel 'left out' in anyway. Plenty to do and evening entertainment had a production level I've not seen matched before. Bicycles, golf carts, kayaks, snorkelling equipment for hire and even a sports bar with air hockey and three pool tables. I would have no hesitation coming back again.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-5

    Mexican Beach Resort

    Reviewed by Stay46226809479(Liverpool, United Kingdom) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Catalonia Riviera Resort Review. Overall a good resort. Excellent staff. Great location. Good food although a couple of the "reservation" restaurants were disappointing. The Tapas had good food but did not offer the traditional types of tapas dishes or experience. Strangely, the least enjoyable was the Mexican restaurant. Where was the Carne con Chilli? The dishes on offer were presented well but were bland in taste. The Italian was excellent and the Japanese was superb. Of the two buffet restaurants, El Mercado was our preferred as it was indoors and had a more relaxed ambience than the other. La Briza restaurant was open air and much larger and much noisier. Quality of food in both was equal but La Briza had the ambience of a roadside truckstop. Bedroom was comfortable but beginning to show its age. Entertainment in the theatre was above expectations. Daytime and early evening was a bit annoying as a large portion of it was ained at and delivered in French!!! My only real complaint is in repsect of the laying of towels to reserve sunbeds. Plenty of signs saying this was not allowed. however, staff did nothing to police this policy. Many beds marked at 08:30 but not actually used until after lunchtime! When queried, I was informed that the signs asked the guests not to do this. Not good enough. Could do with more coverage/adverts for local attractions. We did not even hear of the monkey sanctuary until it was too late. However, overall, I enjoyed my visit.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3

    Awesome staff!

    Reviewed by Olivia G(Cincinnati, Ohio) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    From the moment we got there it was awesome! Adrian greeted us and brought us a nice welcome drink and David carried our bags to our room once we checked in. David gave us a full run down of the hotel and what was going on at certain times, and little tips and tricks. We ended up upgrading to privileged and had an awesome room on the 4th floor with a great look over the grounds and a slight beach view. Everyone we encountered was awesome! Miguel and Antonio especially! We ended up doing the catamaran trip to Isla Mujeres and we had an incident with a vendor where they charged us $550 USD instead of pesos and Antonio actually called the man for us (our Spanish is AWFUL) and we ended up getting refunded. He definitely went above and beyond and we are so grateful. I definitely took advantage of the free hour of snorkeling and it was so worth it. Also, definitely go out of the resort and walk around the cute town and marina! I didn't have a problem with any of the food. I could always find something at the buffet. I also really enjoyed Beloved. We did choose to go to the Mexican restaurant one night and the service was incredibly slow, but the food was awesome! We did this our last night and felt bad when we had to leave the dinner early to get back to get ready to pack and sleep before leaving early, but we were there for about 2.5 hours. Overall, the place was awesome and we met friendly people, and fortunately had amazing weather. Would definitely go back.

    Excellent experience overall!

    Reviewed by Go61456438095() on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Great food, great people, excellent surrounding community for activities and shopping. Very clean resort and unnecessary to even have to leave the resort because it had it all! Would definitely return!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Wedding

    Reviewed by SAricardo(San Antonio, Texas) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My family stayed at this resort April 9th through April 13th for our daughter's wedding. We did not know what to expect but it was no doubt a great experience. The wedding planner, Paloma, made it perfect. She is amazing and not only took care of our daughter as the bride, but the entire wedding party so that it was stress-free for us all. We used Amstar for our travel to and from the airport and our drivers were on time and friendly. Our family went on the Coba Reef excursion that we coordinated with Amstar. Our guide was Mario and he was amazing. He was so knowledgeable and charismatic. We will definitely seek out his services again. I would suggest seeking him out if possible. You won't be disappointed. The service at Catalonia was great and I would lastly recommend the bartender at the Beach bar with the sofas. He was super friendly and makes great drinks. Thanks, Catalonia from my family.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX