Gran Muthu Imperial

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 153 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Home Away from Home

    Reviewed by B9098GPjuliea() on Sep 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Our first experience at Grand Muthu Imperial was in March 2019, when we traveled as a family with our parents and son. We loved it so much that we booked to go back in July and before we came in July we booked to come back again in March 2020. We have traveled to Cuba 9 times and this by far was our best experience. We choose Cuba always for its the warm weather, beautiful beaches, music and culture and by far for the Cuban people who have always welcomed us like family. The staff at this resort are amazing and I mean ALL the staff. They were very welcoming, attentive, kind, friendly and genuinely nice people. We were greeted with a warm welcome and a couple of hugs and handshakes welcoming us back! A welcome cocktail, speedy and friendly front desk check in and assistance with our baggage to our rooms. Thanks Yorky! The resort is beautiful, well maintained and cared for. It is evident that staff take great pride in there job. Our rooms were always cleaned thoroughly daily and the fridge stocked with water, beer and pop. Air conditioned rooms and a beautiful ocean view. The food is the best we've had in Cuba! The second time back was even better. Chef Roy you are an amazing cook! Be sure to take advantage of the Al a Cart restaurants, great food! We had the Seafood, Italian and Chinese. The buffet had good variety and a lot freshly cooked options. We ate at the beach buffet which was good as well. We took advantage of the romantic dinner on the ocean and it was amazing. We had the beach deck all to ourselves, private service, music, it was definitely worth the extra! We were so thrilled to have our dear friend Jose Guillermo be our waiter for the evening! Be sure to go to The Hemingway restaurant as well, in the plaza between the two resorts? The lobster meal was the BEST! Also check out the spa. We did the couple package and enjoyed the pool all to ourselves. My husband used the gym almost every day and met a wonderfully kind staff who became our dear friend. Jackson misses his gym buddy! Thanks Giobany! This resort has the best pools, lots of loungers and umbrellas. Staff are quick to make sure you have a shade if you want it as well as a drink. Be sure to head over to the swim up pool bar. This is where we met Jennifer, she took great care of our parents the first time we were there and we couldn't wait to see her again in July! So professional, yet friendly and genuinely kind. Always smiling and asking how our day was! I also have to mention Lucas who is another great staff at the pool bar! The evening shows were great, the Cuban music night was our favourite. Be sure to check out all the options this resort has to offer. We spent time in the sports bar! Yoan makes the best drinks! When our friend Jose was working at the cigar bar we'd often go there to enjoy a cigar, some rum and great company! The lobby bar is beautiful and a great place to enjoy a cappuccino or drink. Great service! We can't wait to return in March, looking forward to see everyone! We've made some great memories at this resort as well as some wonderful friends!

    Amazing getaway with friends at this beautiful hotel:)

    Reviewed by kevgaf(Montreal, Canada) on Sep 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Do yourself a favour and book this wonderful hotel before the prices start to get out of hand! I travelled with my girlfriend, her brother, and my best friend and her husband for a week in mid-August. The hotel is by far the nicest place o have stayed in my many trips down South. The rooms were spotless, clean, beds were super comfortable, and the shower was amazing! All rooms have some sort of ocean view room. The beach was very enjoyable as well. Yes there are some rocky spots but the others have said, there more you walk to the end, the better it is. The MOST IMPORTANT thing about this hotel is it's amazing, caring, staff. The Cuban workers in this hotel will all greet you with a "Hola" and a smile:) They go above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable. I want to give a huge shout out to Yoan and Yadi at the sports bar. These are two of the most genuine, caring people we have ever met. They made our stay all the more enjoyable! Make sure you go and visit them in the Sports Bar! Another standout was Randy at the pool bar. He always greeted us with a smile and gave me a Spanish name everytime i showed up to the bar ( which was often:)) ). He made my girlfriend some of the tastiest drinks and served them out of a pineapple and grapefruit:) We also had great service and talks with Sharite and Lynchee. I consider these people as my friends and can't wait to get back to see them again. The food is good as well. You will always find something to eat. Fish, meat, chicken, pizza, pasta, salads, omelettes...I never went hungry! This hotel is new and will only get better and more expensive over time. I plan on saving to get back to see my Cuban friends in the next few months:) Thanks to the Grand Muthu Imperial for an unforgettable trip. I will cherish the friends and memories that made our trip. Finally, just relax and have a good time! You will not be disappointed with this hotel:)

    Grand Muthu Imperial

    Reviewed by Lauraine53(Kitchener, Canada) on Sep 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    For parking we booked ONLINE and parked with EZ Park, 3356 Elmbank Rd, Mississauga, ON L4V 1A6 Phone: (905) 672-2575 $55.00 for the week. They shuttle you to and from the airport. My husband and I travelled to GMI Aug. 30 - Sept. 6 2019 to celebrate his 65th birthday. We flew with Air Transat. The flight was delayed 2 hours, there and upon our return. There wasn't any movie, otherwise a good flight. A nice bus ride 45 min.This was our 16th trip to Cuba, we never stay the same place, and we've been all over Cuba. We booked with Trip Central and paid $875.00 each for a Ocean view room. Check in was great. This is an adults only resort. The staff were amazing!!! Money can be exchanged at reception. Reception, entertainment, servers, bartenders were very friendly, fun and helpful. Our room (4109) it was furthest from everything, but closest to the beach, We never did go to the beach, but others told us if you go way over to the other side the beach was fine. Our room was beautiful, great ocean view, very modern, lotions, body wash, shampoo, Cuba does not supply face cloths, comfy bed, coffee maker, fridge, coffee iron & ironing board, safe in closet etc. They need do not disturb signs. This was low season, so not all sections were open. Fridges are stocked with 1 or 2 beer, 2 pop, and a bottle of water daily. If you see the guys who stock these items give them a tip and they will make sure you get that and more if you want daily. The reception are very accommodating , as a few couples had minor issues and we're given a better room, even giving one couple a free excursion. We tipped every meal and more for the a la cartes and tipped the maid and left her gifts. The buffet was good, thermometers on all stations indicating proper temperatures. Very clean. never had any bacon. They will cook you up anything, great omelettes, fried steak, fish, pork chops. Pizza station, spaghetti station made to order. There was a snack bar open 24 hours, you could get burgers, hot dogs, fries, poutine, and drinks etc. The a la cartes were excellent. There are 5 a la cartes, but only 3 were open due to low season. The entertainment board is posted to the left of the lobby stating what was on every night. There was specialty coffees day and evenings. The grounds were very nice, only thing is people litter. The pools are beautiful. We had 7 days of 32 degrees feels like 40 degrees. They just need to be on top of cleaning the pools. All dept. managers need to make sure all staff are doing their best, as little details are missed daily end up the resort going down hill quickly, as I've seen many times in Cuba. There are crabs that end up in the pool so watch for them. The staff will get you an umbrella if you need shade. Mosquitoes can be bad in the evening so make sure to bring bug spray. There were plenty of excursions at various prices. All in all a vacation is what you make it. We had a fabulous time. Go before the prices go up. We Loved it at Gran Muthu Imperial. Keep up the great work.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Second visit in 4 months

    Reviewed by Wendy M(Ridgeway, Canada) on Sep 06, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We were at Grand Muthu Imperial, Cayo Guillermo from August 21 until Sept 1, 2019 for our second visit in 4 months. The resort is simply lovely. There are no words to describe the relaxing feel of the whole resort and the gorgeous outlooks over the ocean. The rooms are clean and comfortable and I would guess that probably 80% of the rooms have a view to see the Ocean to one degree or another. The air conditioners work wonderfully but the bonus is the ceiling fan in the rooms. A nice touch to have the air circulating. It also helps to keep the humidity dryer in the room. There are screens on the doors as well which is fantastic at night. The bathrooms are lovely and where the showers tended to leak from lack of calking in my room in April I did not have this problem this time around. The only fault I can find is the lack of a mirror in the bedroom area. This is inconvenient for a few reasons – But hardly a make or break situation. Typically with a mirror in the bedroom one person can be showering while another gets ready. We did lose power for about 20 minutes one day and as I was getting ready for dinner it was hard to put on makeup with a flashlight in the bathroom. If there was a mirror in the bedroom area there would have been no problem continuing to get ready with the power off. (Let’s not misunderstand this is not a make or break issue, just a convenience) From April until now I can noticeably see an improvement from the initial visit. You have to remember this resort just opened in February / March with workers coming from all other resorts. Coming from so many different resorts both the staff and management would have all sorts of different backgrounds and working styles and that was far more noticeable in April than now. There was a far more cohesive feel to the resort this time around. The staff was far warmer and more welcoming also. In April I think everyone was still getting to know each other and was walking gently. The management and staff is working into a noticeably warm group of people who are genuinely welcoming to the resort. Management was always pleasant to deal with. I had an unusual request which they were able to find a solution to. For that I am genuinely thankful to them. A few notes: Are you going to find a long white sandy beach stretching as far as the eye can see – No. Are you going to find a stunning infinity pool overlooking the natural coast to the ocean with blues and greens you can’t describe the colour to – yes. If you want the long white sandy beach you can either go to the resort next door or to Playa Pilar which is a 5 minute Hop On Hop off bus ride. I personally prefer the natural coast to the resort where you can enjoy a less commercialized unobstructed view to the ocean. For me this is perfect. Personally I love the music at the infinity pool and the events the entertainment staff would participate in, but I would recommend turning the music down during the day to a lower volume. There were times there was just the 3 of us in the pool and the music was blasting. Lower music during the day would increase the relaxing part of the afternoon I believe but then again this is only my point but when the pool was not very busy it was more of a distraction than an enhancement. I would think a more *Party* type atmosphere would ultimately be better served at one of the upper pools and keep the infinity pool for a more relaxed atmosphere. Are all the A la Cartes up and running each night – No Each night they offer a different A la Carte where you can book ahead of time. Yes, long pants and closed toe shoes are needed for the gentlemen. Is the Buffet totally full with an elaborate variety of foods – No Will you starve? - No I cannot stand listening to people complain about food choices. Come on people. There is always something you will be able to eat. The variety is not necessarily the fault of the resort as the availability of the food choices at this time. There is always eggs or toast or French toast or crepes, fresh fruit of some sort. Lunch there is pizza or pasta. There was egg salad and bread, fresh chicken or beef to fry up with veggies, supper was similarly suitable with meat to cook fresh and hot veggies. Try their ice cream if all else fails. I defy you to find a better tasting ice cream anywhere! Is there hundreds of choices – No. But will you starve? Hardly. You didn’t cook, you didn’t have to clean up, you are on vacation. Not worth getting so worked up over. I guarantee you if you make a reasonable request they will go out of their way to assist you with it. I highly recommend the Spa for a nice relaxing massage to help get you in a proper relaxing mindset. I have been both times I went and will most definitely go again in a heartbeat! Go to this resort and relax. Stop B*TCHING about the smallest tiniest unimportant things. Appreciate the hard working folks trying to make your stay enjoyable and learn what it means to be humble. If you don’t like the choice you made for a resort that is YOUR fault, no one else’s. I personally love the resort and will return again and again. I work in customer service for a living. My boyfriend is management in the hospitality business, so sitting in the pool or reading a book and listening to people constantly complaining about the smallest things is exhausting. That’s not why I paid money to go on vacation. You will get back the warmth from the staff that you give. A special thank you to Yadianias and Yoan in the Sports Bar. Their knowledge of so many fancy drinks is amazing! I know I don’t get drinks that fancy at my local pub! ? Chef Roy was also a pleasure to get to know. I can only imagine what his talents could do with the likes of a Canadian Grocery Store after seeing what he can do with Cuban ingredients! An additional thank you to Sales Manager Liubis and Front Desk Manager Lester for being generous with your time and assistance. I look forward to seeing you both again. I want people to understand that your holiday is what you make of it. I listened to one woman who complained CONSTANTLY about the person she was traveling with and no matter what area of the resort she was in she degraded the personnel like she was entitled to be waited on hand and foot. No, you aren’t entitled. These are hardworking people doing their job to make YOU have a good time. If you chose to be a bitter person that is not their fault. I heard you degrade many people and stopped myself from saying something because I didn’t want to ruin my vacation by your negativity. That is the only reason I didn’t tell you this to your face but I hope you recognize yourself in this statement and take a closer look at what you have in life and realize you are lucky only by your birth country and not by any entitlement. Would I recommend this resort? – Hell yes! Will I be back? – Hell yes! Live Life to the Fullest! - Vivir la vida al máximo!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Modern, elegant, clean resort-Grand Muthu Imperial-Cayo Guillermo,Cuba

    Reviewed by Dan P(Montreal, Canada) on Aug 31, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Beautiful brand new resort, clean, modern well maintained.We had the room 9111 of building no.9 from August 23rd to August 30th.If you really want to stay into a nice, relaxed and up to date resort tis is the one.The service is excellent, never waiting for anything.The food is good the beach is perfect and LOTS of palapas at your choice.If you want to be close to the beach choose the building 4,5,6.The resort is brand new(1 year around) so everything is immaculate. The pools are excellent too, a little bit crowded in the evening though. This resort is adults only so quiet and relaxed. Thank you for your excellent job Adriana, Yanet and all team from the main buffet, my wife and I have really enjoyed our stay at Grand Muthu Imperial-Cayo Guillermo. Superb cuban music done with Cuban day the 30th of august our last day at the resort. Tip: the further part of the beach is less rocky. Using swimming shoes may not be a bad idea for the rest of it.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5