Hotel Playa Paraiso

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    M

    Beautiful Beach, Great Weather & Fabulous Drinks!! Definitely going back to Cuba!

    Reviewed by M&M, Chatham, ON on Jan 14, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: August 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Already wrote full review "Beautiful Beach, Great Weather & Fabulous Drinks!! Definitely going back to Cuba!" but wasn't able to upload photos.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    H

    I love my CUban neighbours And they love Canadians!

    Reviewed by Henn to Cuba 5x im the la on Nov 19, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: September 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Love my Cuban friends'= Service and food and drink was accomplished impeccably

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    c

    The beach the people but the food is terrible

    Reviewed by cnaps on Apr 27, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    I stayed at the Pestana hotel april 19-26 2015 the hotel does not look 2 years old more like ten years old and needs work even the lights outside walking to the room where all out for the first two days which made it dark walking back to room but the staff where the best part of the hotel the bar staff cleaning staff and grounds keepers where all very nice and friendly. The beach is very nice a little rocky in shallow parts but once you past the rocks its sandy.people wake up before 6 am to get the shady covers so if you don't get up early your in the direct sun all day.the only problem is the food it's terrible for real there is lots of it but very blan for me and my family. I love CUBA and the people they make CUBA a wonderful experience but the food needs improvement or least at the Pestana hotel

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    D

    Goûtez le poisson frit de la cantine de la plage

    Reviewed by Daniel Pouliot on Mar 15, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Bonjour, Mon épouse et moi-même avons séjourné à l’hôtel Pestana en février dernier. Le site est merveilleux, et de bonne grosseur, tout est bien aménagé. Le poisson frit du de la cantine de la plage est à ne pas manquer. Yosbani, le chef cuisinier de la cantine de la plage vous servira avec le sourire à tous les jours. Que de belles journées nous avons eues. Merci pour l’accueil généreux de tous les cubains pendant nos vacances.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3598 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Happy days!!

    Reviewed by Julie H(Bristol, United Kingdom) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Just returned from a 2 week stay. Overall we had a great time. Some highlignts.... Room was clean and comfortable Pool area is a good size, with great entertainment options if you fancy them Very friendly staff. We would like to make a special mention for Yarosky and the chefs who were so supportive of us with our son's food allergies. We were treated with kindness and warmth. Another special mention for ' churro man' and his wonderful welcoming smile ( my son's favourite person). The food options were generally great and think previous comments are unfair. The buffet, beach kitchen, pizza Ranchon and snack bar gave a great variety. The entertainment crew worked very hard to keep everyone happy Some things to work on.... The pool needs some urgent maintenance More beach beds with shade.... if you didn't get down there for 7am you didn't get a bed with shade. .... We found the hop on bus to the beautiful Playa Pilar was better for our beach days. The lobby and bookable restaurant staff were generally the least helpful staff in the hotel. Overall thank you to all

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-5

    Not a bad resort!

    Reviewed by AM1677() on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Overall we had a great vacation at this resort. I’ll start off by saying we arrived around 2pm but check in wasn’t until 4pm so we had to wait around in the lobby for 2 hours.. kind of wasted a bit of time there. I do believe there was a place to put our luggage until we could check in but we had no idea because no one told us! Our hotel room was very nice, cleaned well. The shower was not the greatest and the water pressure isn’t that good. The maid was super sweet, looked forward to seeing her everyday! All amenities were near by, no long walks to get where your going. The worst part was the food by far.. but I didn’t expect any different. The buffet was pretty much the same every single day, nothing special. The snack bar was our go to spot for lunch, they have some delicious sandwiches but if you go during lunch hour, it’s usually packed so the wait is somewhat long if you’re hungry. There is a pizza grill near the beach (we didn’t know it was there until our last day) it’s not too bad but a long wait as well. As for the drinks/bar the service was great, Yaisimy was my favourite bar tender! Super sweet, looked forward to seeing her every morning. The beach was very beautiful and always nice and clean! We didn’t get to sit at the pool because the chairs are always reserved super early in the morning. The entertainment at night was nothing special, so bring a deck of cards.. unless you like dancing. The gardeners were very kind, they gave us some fresh mango as well as an aloe Vera plant for our sun burns and a couple pieces of jewellery. Overall, the resort was nice and we had a great time.

    Fantastic Again

    Reviewed by David S(Hartlepool, United Kingdom) on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Returned from the hotel on April 11th . Had a great holiday . The weather was perfect . The beach was perfect . The Team in the buffet restaurant for breakfast , lunch and dinner were so friendly , caring and helpful we felt right at home after just one day ! The rooms are a good size and cleaned everyday ( if you want that ) and the grounds are well maintained . The a la Carte restaurants were average with the Italian being the best if the bunch . Food choice at the buffet was great but not so good of you have kids . Maybe a few more choices for kids . Pizza for example and fries etc. There are options for the kids at the bars . You can order Chips/ fries there . Hot dogs. Burgers . Just not available very often in the main restaurant. Ronaldo on customer services was superb and nothing was too much trouble for him . He's an assett to the hotel. In the main dining room Raudel, Katy, Sandiel, Inalvis, Erisley, Yarianna and Diorlys were fantastic and made us feel welcome , happy and looked after every visit . They too are great ambassadors for the hotel . All in all its a good hotel . Maybe a lick of paint needed here or there but that didn't stop the whole experience being a good one .

    Great time

    Reviewed by FROMNB() on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Just had to say thank you first to Airtransat for a wonderful flight to and from Playa Paraiso. The flight attendants were awesome as was the perks delivered with the option plus package. We stayed from Mar 27 to April 10th. Our check in was good . We arrived around 2:00 pm and explored a bit before we went to our room around 5:00 pm. We have been to Cuba about 17 times and this was one of the better experiences. This resort is a medium sized resort but it's great for walking around at night also. We stayed in building 7 so it was a short walk to the beach. If you want shade at the beach ,get up around 6:15 or you're out of luck. The beach is awesome. The grounds are well kept and they are constantly working on it. The buffet was one of the better ones we've been to with tons of selections.( pasta station,omelets,fish,tons of veggies,meats etc). Our room was cleaned every day with fresh towels if needed etc. Everything worked well but if you shower between 5:00 pm to 6:00 pm you may run out of hot water. We went to the Portuguese,Cuban, and Italian a la cartes. Our favourite was the Portuguese. The entertainment was typical Cuban,but Saturday night they had a good rock band. All considered we would be going back next year. The only thing I would like to see is if they banned plastic cups and smoking on the beach. Some people think it's their personal garbage can.

    Dorothy. Falkirk

    Reviewed by Hubbocks35(Falkirk, United Kingdom) on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    I don’t normally write any reviews but after this experience I feel I have to let people know what this hotel is like. Worst holiday ever. Would not recommend this hotel. Staff friendly but standards in the dining room poor. Flies all over the place. Air con only on twice on the 2 weeks we were there. .Either no water or no hot water in our room. ended up with a change of room. - same problem. Had to go to the doctor there with sickness and diarrhoea. Needed injection and medication. Sun beds kept if you tip the attendant. Pool dirty and tiles missing. Could not get beach towels changed as there was either no clean towels available or the hut was closed. Snack bar a laugh, whatever you ask for you will struggle to get. One day asked for burger and egg. Told no eggs another day asked for same again - told no bread!!!! Only go to this hotel at your own risk.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX