Meliá Cayo Santa Maria

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    A

    We had a blast at the Melia. The rooms were super clean. We had a lot of choice at the buffet. The restaurants were good. Nice staff

    Reviewed by Alexandra Lussier on Jun 01, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2019

    Trip Type: Friends

    Great service. Super clean. Animation crew was awesome

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 5248 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Trip to the beach

    Reviewed by SchroederHermann(Lima) on Jul 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The hotel is oki, a littler bit old and nedds a lot of reairs, it looks like they do not fix it up anymore, the food is no good, the night restaurants the food wsa fine but the buffet is almost the same everyday and not much to choose from. The pools are nice and at the beach is also very nice, the water is the best.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Mixed emotions

    Reviewed by HaroutA(Montreal, Canada) on Jul 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    This was my 12th trip to Cuba, 4th to Cayo Santa Maria. We traveled in family on June 30th to July 7th 2019. So, Cuba is not something new for me, been there done that so many times. The Good: 1. The beach at this resort is just amazing. Yes, I’ve been to too many other beaches, but this one is really one of the better ones. White powdery sand, wide in depth and size. 2. Seats on the beach was adequate, but the hotel was running on 20% capacity. I can imagine, that on a 75% capacity, you will most probably have issues finding places. 3. The grounds are well maintained and clean. 4. The resort is compact (only 350 rooms), so no big walking distances from one place to the other. 5. The lobby bar was single handedly the best part of this resort. Awesome attitude and great service by everyone. 6. Two pools right next to each other, well maintained and cleaned up every morning. 7. The reception people were very helpful and friendly. 8. Rooms size is really large and nice. Comfortable and large sized beds. The Bad 1. Hotel needs renovations on all levels, specifically the rooms and the baths. 2. Almost no transportation on the island. The double decked bus schedule is nonexistent and getting a cab is a hit and miss. 3. I’m a cigar lover and smoker. There is a cigar shop in the hotel with a nice selection of cigars, but the prices were jacked up 50%, which was unacceptable for me. Usually cigars have the same price all over the place, but no, not in this one. 4. The BBQ beach restaurant, the snack bar and the buffet sucked royally. Rude treatment at the snack bar and the BBQ was something new for me. The service at the buffet was way better than the others. 5. Food was horrible, absolutely horrible. Here again I will remind you, this was my 12th trip, so I knew what to expect, but this one was something I did not expect, not even in my dreams. Thank Lord, they had some cheese, so I had bread and cheese for supper for the entire week, for the first time in my life. My advice would be, have an oversized omelet for breakfast to dodge lunch and dinner. Funny part is, so many people recommended us this resort for the food, so go figure. 6. Entertainment was nonexistent the first four days. Not on the beach, not around the pool, not the theatre, not the lobby. When we complained about it, the same night we saw some activity, but nothing fancy. The ugly 1. Seeing cockroaches in rooms on the floor level is something hard to accept, yet we will convince ourselves that it’s nature and some may forget to close their doors and bugs will make their way inside. But seeing cockroaches in the kitchen area of the buffet is something inexcusable. 2. There is a huge attitude shift in Cuba. I just can’t explain it. People are no longer what they used to be. I’m really having difficulties understanding where that friendliness is gone. You tip, you give gifts, does not matter anymore. 3. A resort being below 50% of capacity, does not entitle anyone to be on savings and carelessness mode. So no proper entertainment, no proper food and service to people who are there and paying equally during the low population time is unfair. It is possible, that this was a temporary, below average outing for this resort. The general manager should understand, that this might be a first and last for some and a last for some others, just like me.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3

    Gorgeous Beach!!!!

    Reviewed by yacopow(Toronto, Canada) on Jul 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    BEACH: Absolutely stunning and warm! Walk for miles in either direction. Lots of beautiful sand and great selection of palapas! No seaweed. On windy days, lots of waves. Hard to swim! HOTEL ROOM: Very spacious and nice. No problems with water pressure or warmth. GROUNDS: Very beautiful and clean. FOOD: Not great. It's Cuba. Not for lack of effort but very redundant and boring. DRINKS: Best known for their beer and Mojitos. Many people brought their own bubbas. They have very small plastic drinking cups! They don't know what Daiquiris are! SERVICE: Depends on who you get. Difficult sometimes to even get water. Slow service. POOLS: Very nice big pool. Another smaller pool also very nice. Some spots had chipped tiles. No need to worry about mosquitos at this resort. They go around spraying with vehicle almost every night. You can expect an almost 2 hour drive from the airport by the time your bus drops everyone else off as you will be one of the last to reach this resort. It's Cuba so you need to want to go for the beach which is beautiful. Keep your expectations in check for the rest and you will not be disappointed for the price you pay compared to other destinations. No one in my family of 4 got sick. We had fun and we were happy to have tried Santa Maria, Cuba. Weather was gorgeous and really hot so bring lots of suntan lotion and aloe vera gel for burns. If it rained, it was quick and then sun again. Enjoy! Very good hotel compared to many others.

    Best Beach Vacation We Have Ever Had

    Reviewed by estrellitamaria(Miami, Florida) on Jul 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    What a dream we lived by staying at Melia Paradisus Cayo Santa Maria. Brand new hotel with every luxury you can think of for a summer vacation. The evening shows are AMAZING. Guaranteed fun 100%!!! ??????

    First family vacation all together

    Reviewed by JTPC21() on Jul 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Hi, I just wanted to say a big thank you to Meliá cayó Santa María. This was the first family vacation that we had together. First off, the beach was so beautiful. There was lots of shade. Every morning, there were different activities happening at the beach such as volleyball, dancing, Aqua zumba and Taichi. For my kids, they got to build huge sand castles with the staff and play throw the hoops, tug of war. I have to mention that most of these activities happened at the end of the week when more kids arrived. In the beginning of the week (June 26) there weren’t many children. For us adults, the staff did their best to get us up and dancing at the pool and at night. Obviously the more people who participate make the activities more fun. We noticed that the hotel wasn’t packed. Which makes sense as it was low season. Our waitress told us that we were 240 guests. Pro is we got all the reservations we wanted for our family, we got the spots at the beach that was best for my babies and also by the pool. Con: not many people and kids were there to participate and less opportunity to make friends. Example, sometimes my husband wanted to play beach volleyball but even when the animation crew joined in, they weren’t quite enough to play. Other people couldn’t be bothered to get out of their chairs and play. Food was excellent. My babies are picky eaters. We always had options that made them happy! Thank you to staff for their attention and help. Room was always well kept, waiters always attended our needs, their was always a show at the end of the night with 2 brilliant dancers, a great violinist who is so talented, a great rock group and swimmers who pulled a great show. Thank you once again Meliá cayó Santa María, staff, waiters, cleaning ladies and entertaining group! :)

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX