Occidental Cozumel

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    n

    Disappointing, badly managed resort

    Reviewed by nellikapro on Jan 27, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    Worst resort experience in Mexico by far - been to this part of the country just about every winter in the past decade. Incredibly poorly managed. Changed 3 rooms in the first 24 hours - 4 of us were housed in a ONE KING BED room: 2 adults, a teenager - paying FULL PRICE - and a 7-yr old; second option was 2 DOUBLE beds - not queen, uncomfortable for two adults. Ended up sleeping with the young one in a king bed, and a roll-out bed for the teenager - worst sleep ever. Had room for only half the clothing in the small closet which is in the bathroom, BTW. Bell boy brought someone else's purse to our room; while our 5 suitcases went missing. Eventually discovered who knows where - not at front desk, nor storage room. Staff were unmotivated and indifferent, nice sometimes but mostly seemed burdened and rarely smiled. I don't necessarily blame them - they must be dealing with unsatisfied guests all the time. Exceptions: Carolina, Chrystal, Olegario, Sonya, Jesus, Edgar. Long wait for service ALL AROUND: front desk; beach towels - self service most times; at buffets: to be seated, order, be served, refills; a la carte: once waited 45 min for appetisers, 90 min for main; bars - especially at pool/beach. Have never seen such poor variety of food choice in Mexico; especially the fruits and veggies. Though, most cooked fare and a la carte food were tasty. Once we had a la carte reservation, but the restaurant was closed. Some of the timeshare people are duplicitous, annoying and cocky - especially the project managers. Beautiful grounds and beach, lots of potential; but not under the current management. Will not return.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6110 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    10/10

    Reviewed by Voyager30571271253(Sault Ste. Marie, Canada) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    A great property on all counts. It's hard to please everyone. It's hard to have great food, a great beach, great rooms, pool, etc. etc. But I have to say, this property scores pretty high across the board. No place I've been to is perfect, but this is probably the first place in 20 years of travel that I would go back to. One big factor for my wife and I was the way in which RAUL and JESUS made our boys feel welcome and included in all the daily activities. Seeing our 11 and 13 year old having so much fun with so many new friends allowed us to truly relax. Without the prompting of these fantastic activity directors, I don't think our sons (a bit shy) would have partaken in these activities. Thank you for a great stay Occidental Cozumel - hope to see you again!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    March trip

    Reviewed by Navigate28021025717() on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Had a great time, was nice, it is in a mangrove so no ocean view rooms, long walk to activities. Food was good, service was ok. Beach is nice, but would be nice if they cleaned it up every morning(seaweed, garbage etc)

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    A week of sun and diving

    Reviewed by kailenav(Ottawa, Canada) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We just got back from our week at Occidental Cozumel. We chose to try this resort before settling on a brand of hotels we truly love, like Iberostar. Keep in mind while reading this review that we just got back 3 months ago from being at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, which was an incredible 5 star experience compared to what we received at Occidental. Upon arrival at 11am, we were told that we had to check in at the Royal Club and to wait for a golf car to pick us up. After waiting around for 10 - 15 minutes, my husband and I chose to walk the 2 minutes over to the club to check into our rooms (not an issue, but not sure why they wanted to drive us over). There seems to only be one golf cart for the entire resort, very much unlike Iberostar's fleet of 20+. Wifi is an additional fee if you are not Royal Club (it was free at Iberostar), and not sure why they wanted to check us in at the Royal Club since they claimed it was full and we could not upgrade to it. Our room was "not ready" so we had to come back at 3pm for our room keys. Wasn't an issue as we headed to the buffet. We got our keys at 3pm only to find that we were being placed on the ground floor. If you are on the ground or second floor of any of their buildings, prepare to hear every toilet flush, every shower, every suitcase and every step of your neighbours above. Luckily we asked to be moved up, and managed to be in a second floor room with quieter top floor neighbours. Emma, the concierge was very quick and helpful to find us a room, and extremely understanding of our concerns. All week, the single lunch buffet they have on site was sparse in comparison to the immense selection we had at Iberostar. Not only was it sparse in selection, it was sparse in quantity. Once whatever dish was finished, it generally was not replenished for the duration of the meal. Speaking of sparse, the staff on site seemed to not only be sparse, but not eager to greet you as they did at Iberostar. Almost every single time we went to a restaurant (breakfast, lunch and dinner) we had to wait a good 5 - 10 minutes before being seated because there was no host (and no line up). One time at lunch, there was a good 30 - 40 person line up for the buffet because the host was not only seating people, she was clearing tables and serving drinks. Breakfast and lunch are very bland and repetitive - so if you are looking for just peanut butter and toast, or stale home fries and soggy eggs, you will be content. At breakfast, the omelet station is generally left unattended, only managed to have eggs made fresh twice because no one was there, even after standing around waiting for someone to arrive. Rooms are nice, but odd that the closet and safe is inside the bathroom. Tiles are particularly slippery when wet so beware! No fun towel art or kind notes from the cleaning staff, and generally they take a very long time to get to your room. There isn't a big traditional theatre as most resorts showcase for evening performances, just a big empty square with plastic chairs. The grounds are lush and beautiful with iguanas and coaties. Beach is not as well maintained as most resorts I have been to. Garbage and plastic cups are discarded and not cleared as quickly. There appeared to be only one staff member asking to bring you drinks, as well as only one bar to get drinks from for the beach and pool next to the single pool at the resort. There is an adult pool too, but we are more ocean swimmers than pool. We were there mainly for the diving, but always enjoy dressing up and eating like kings on vacation. Although the diving was incredible, we were disappointed with the dining experience at the resort. It is possible that they were understaff, however, we will most likely not be returning to Occidentals anywhere due to this experience.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-2

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-2

    Kids Club

    Reviewed by Mike N() on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Thank you Jesus for the amazing job. Our girls had a great time making various pool side projects throughout our visit. It is people like you that will make us want to return. We appreciate that he came and found our daughters everyday to make sure they were included.

    Slice of heaven

    Reviewed by T5836GOemilyl(Georgetown) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We enjoyed every minute of our stay at Occidental Cozumel. The rooms and grounds we stunning. The beach and pool areas were relaxing. My kids had a fun time with the pool activities and staff, who were amazing! The food was beautifully presented and the beach club lunch buffet was our favourite!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX