Disneyland Hotel

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 3352 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Below my expectation !

    Reviewed by RuudenIne(Weert, The Netherlands) on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    When you get to a Disney hotel, you expect some special, now I have been missing this ! For me a normal hotel, not even 5 star level, everything is nice and clean, but as said nothing special and you pay a high price ! Advantage is that is on walking distance from Disney Downtown ! Reception hosts were friendly and helpful. Hotel is not real modern any more.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Disappointing, for a Disney hotel

    Reviewed by DavidOfLA(Los Angeles, California) on Apr 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    My wife and I have stayed at the Disneyland Hotel once almost every year for the past 15 years or so, as we go for an annual business conference held at the hotel. Disney hotels are necessarily the most luxurious, but they are usually very guest-conscious, and while they tend more towards anonymous, yet friendly efficiency, than "white glove" service, they are usually pleasant places to stay. Our most recent visit, though was disappointing. First, the hotel itself is getting a little long in the tooth. The TV in our room was old and relatively small by today's standards. Our refrigerator didn't work. The toilet seat in our room was not securely fastened, and swiveled as you sat on it. Our bed was comfy enough, but the thermostat seemed to have little to no effect, so the room got a bit warm and stuffy in the middle of the night. The design of the room was very cool 10 years ago, but today, it feels awkward with the bathroom sink in a different room than the toilet, and the light switches outside of the rooms for which they operate. Our biggest disappointment was with the dining situation. At 3pm, the coffee shop had closed, so we went to Trader Sam's and were told they were short on staff, so couldn't serve us outside, and inside was at capacity. The lounge at Steakhouse 55 was not yet open, and we did not want to eat at the character dining experience, so we had to walk to Downtown Disney to get some food. There was a security line to get into Downtown Disney, as it was Dapper Day, and everyone was carrying unusual objects that really slowed down the search process. (I saw one security person confiscate a whip!) Even at the super-discounted rate we were staying for ($300/night, instead of the usual $450), it just seems completely unacceptable that I can't get a meal at a resort hotel without walking a half-mile or more! At that price, by the way, the additional $25/day to park seems usurious. Of course, the customer service at the front desk, bell desk, reservations desk and guest services was all excellent, typical Disney quality. Everyone was very well-trained, super nice, and just the right amount of friendly. (Less so at the restaurants, where they seemed frazzled and overworked, and did not make suggestions for alternate dining when they were unable to accommodate us.) I hope Disney makes an effort to update their operations at this property, but with a captive audience of park-goers who wouldn't even dream of staying off property, they don't seem to have much incentive. The Grand Californian was slightly better last time we stayed there (10 years ago), but as our conference is at the Disneyland Hotel, it doesn't make sense to stay at the other property.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-2

    Fun times!

    Reviewed by Llynni(Sacramento) on Apr 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I overall love Disney, it’s relaxing and worth every moment. I do believe that this is a hotel how it all started for me with Disney. The gift shops are always a joy to check out and the front desk seemed simple enough and friendly. Thank you for the nice experience! I do look forward to my next visits!

    Not as friendly as it used to be.

    Reviewed by gregorymA5602BK(Clarence, Australia) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Past visits we where always greeted with a smile but not this time. Asked for a room that was not in the Frontier Tower and of course was given a room there. Went back to front desk and the man who checked us in, saw us coming and went in the barroom, a lady then helped us and was told they just gave away the last room in the other tower. Went to our room and the safe did not work. Also the room itself while very nice is starting to show its age and the lighted back board didn’t work right. The reason to stay here is it’s location. Close to Disneyland monorail station enter Disneyland, otherwise a significant walk to the main gates of Disneyland and California Adventure.

    You're paying for the location, not so much "magic"

    Reviewed by CyFiGal(Seattle, Washington) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The staff are great. The location is convenient to Downtown Disney and a reasonable walk to the parks. The room was nice enough (we were in the Adventure Tower) but on the small side. It was clean and comfortable, but given the price point, I expect more "magic" than just a light-up LED headboard. You're going to pay 4-star luxury prices for a Hampton Inn-quality room. For ease, the hotel is tops, for value, not so much. Also, for what it's worth, the character breakfast at the Terrance Inn inside Disneyland was about $30 less in total for 2 adults than the one in the hotel. The Terrance Inn had a wider range of characters but not as large a variety of food.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-2

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX