The Westin Golf Resort & Spa Playa Conchal

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    P

    One of our best All Inclusive vacations.

    Reviewed by Pete A. on Feb 15, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Note to WestJet: Your service and flight to and from Liberia was EXCELLENT! However you should talk to Westin about trying to put clients in a room with only a Double Bed when we paid for a King Bed. We did not accept this and Westin did give us the King Bed. We did read previous reviews where they tried this with other travellers, so we were prepared. The Westin Playa Conchal is a beautiful, large & spread out resort so be prepared to walk if you choose or take the many shuttles. Our room was in great shape and worked well for us. The gardens are very nice and well cared for and the pool is large and gets a lot of use due to the crushed shell kind of beach it is. The staff is plentiful and very pleasant to speak to. The food is good and varied throughout the resort and we were able to generally have something that suited our taste. The golf course is scenic in very good shape and challenging. This is a resort that I would return to.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 5068 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Exceptional service

    Reviewed by JZgolfer(Littleton, Colorado) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Everyone is super friendly and the staff goes out its way to provide for your needs. Access to a great beach. And all the restaurants are far better than your average Westin resort. Only complaint is the room layout is quite weird. No sink in the kitchenette. Only one sink on bathroom.

    great self contained resort

    Reviewed by camille2353() on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Stayed at this Westin for a pickleball vacation. They kindly let us use the tennis courts for a group of about 60 of us there to play pickleball in the early mornings and late afternoons. The various restaurants severed different cuisines and all were delicious! The breakfast buffet was amazing with it's variety of selections. Truly a wonderful place to vacation!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Bit disappointed...

    Reviewed by Loz5(UK) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Let me start by saying the staff here at this hotel are superb. They work hard and provide excellent service. My only niggle about this hotel is that the rooms need updating. Our furniture looked very dated and bland. Other than that, the hotel buffet was excellent. I would avoid the restaurants on site, we tried two (the Asian one called Bamboo was just ok, the 2nd one Candelas was beyond awful). The location and ambiance of this hotel is good, it just needs a little updating.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-3

    NEEDS SOME SERIOUS IMPROVEMENT

    Reviewed by ramnathb2015(New York City, New York) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Very poor experience overall - disorganized check in ; didn’t refund me for cancellation of water activity despite multiple assurances ; put a number of unauthorized charges at check out which made no sense ; got my points serious messed up. Property was good and so were restaurants. But the service was amateurish to say the least and needs a serious upgrade. Not Cat 8 for sure !! Not sure this is a place I will recommend to others

    Westin + ConchalFun = Incredible Vacation!

    Reviewed by Drew W() on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The Westin Playa Conchal lived up the the already great reviews! The resort is beautiful and the beach is one of the best I have ever seen. The restaurants all had great quality food and there is so much variety we didn't even eat at every option in our 7 day stay. It never felt overcrowded during our stay and the staff provided excellent service. Booking our excursions through ConchalFun added even more to our wonderful experience. While a lot of reviews mention booking your tours through locals on the beach, I highly recommend contacting Andrei from ConchalFun. I was really unsure about a few of the excursions, particularly Arenal because of the drive. A few others I spoke to were insanely priced to do Arenal and also seemed to try to talk me out of it. Andrei took the time to meet up with me to give me the pros and cons of making the trip to Arenal, and was much better priced than other local tours and group tours offered. I made the decision to do a day trip to Arenal and am so glad I did. It was likely a once in a lifetime experience too see the volcano, La Fortuna waterfall, and hot springs! He is super responsive, flexible, very reasonably priced, and set us up on 2 other excellent excursions - ATV with zipline and a sunset cruise. Check out their website and send Andrei an e-mail before or right when you arrive - you won't be disappointed! Overall, our vacation was even better than I could have imagined. I hope I have the opportunity to return in the future!

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX