Kauai Shores Hotel

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    K

    Mom , daughter trip

    Reviewed by Karen and Krystina on Mar 28, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    Location was perfect ; had a rental car so took advantage of valet parking, as their lot is at a premium; from check in to check out , service was amazing; housekeeping excellent, rooms clean, tidy , shower was great, tub side low to get in and out of; one sink so a bit of a tight space there; I would stay again for sure <3

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 762 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    1st Kauai Visit

    Reviewed by Karen M() on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Booked an ocean view room and it did not disappoint! Great music from the Lava Lava Beach Club across the green. Wonderful mix of families, singles, and couples. All staff friendly and helpful. Beach only steps away from our room. Kukui Heiau right next door with nesting wedge-tailed shearwaters for the birders out there! Will book here again for the proximity to both sides of the island.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Great value and great service!

    Reviewed by olive j() on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Excellent location! Not far from airport and Coconut Market Place. Great value! Excellent service! The staff is so helpful and friendly. We had a Garden View room. Nice and quiet after 10 PM. Very family friendly. Loved having the restaurant Lava Lava Beach Club so close by, and in front of the ocean. We are definitely coming back.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Good for the price

    Reviewed by chiedzachashe(Houston, Texas) on Aug 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Kauai shores offered us a decent place to stay for the week we were in Kauai. Very close to airport and the great Coconut Market. I give it 3 stars because I had my cute sandals stolen from our room 2 days before we left. This broke my heart because I intentionally kept this pair of sandals in front of the mirror as you walk in the room because I was reserving them for a special occasion. We asked the housekeeper and she said she had seen 1- but we couldn’t even find even that 1 she said she saw. We had other things way more valuable than those sandals but none of those were taken - just those sandals. Besides that theft encounter - it’s a great value for your money.

    Good Value Resort Hotel

    Reviewed by MichiganWildflower(Michigan) on Aug 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We stayed just one night on our last night on the island after camping and renting a cabin in Koke'e State Park. This is an older property that has been well-maintained and updated. Since we had been on the beach camping for a week, we were primarily looking for a clean, reasonably priced room near the airport for our last night. We rented a standard room, which was on the second floor on the back (non poolside) of the Lei building. As others have mentioned, there is no elevator for the second floor and we did not have any kind of a view. Not a problem at all for us. The room was clean. The bed was very comfortable, the shower was hot and we had a mini frig. We enjoyed two meals at the Lava Lava Beach Club--very convenient and good food right on the beach. Heather was a great server. The resort beach is not the best for swimming, but is located within an easy drive to several nice beaches. The guest laundry was a big plus. Resort staff were very helpful, particularly Arrica at the front desk and Jane in housekeeping. Resort ambiance at a great price!

    No elevators, exercise caution when swimming

    Reviewed by stephos_travelin(Tacoma, Washington) on Aug 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    If you are staying on the second floor, you will have to carry your luggage upstairs. There are no elevators. They were replacing the sliding doors in some of the rooms while we were there, so it got very noisy at times near the Maile building. Hopefully, they will be finished soon. I'm a good swimmer, but agree with this warning: The beach is posted "Hazardous ocean conditions may exist at this beach. Sudden drop off, strong current, high surf, slippery rocks. No lifeguard on duty." All these conditions are true. Yes, people let their children frolic in the breakwater, but I wouldn't do it unless they are carefully supervised. We did not rent a car, but used Uber/Lyft and the free bikes to get around. Rode the bikes to Lydgate park, which has a protected swim cove. Beautiful sunrise in August! Clean, comfortable room with kitchenette. Prompt maintenance staff and efficient maid service. The desk staff could be brusque at times, but they were very busy with lots of guests.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-3

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX