El Cid Marina Beach Hotel Mazatlan

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Mazatlan
    5. El Cid Marina Beach Hotel Mazatlan
    6. El Cid Marina Beach Hotel Mazatlan review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    D

    Was ok but wont be back

    Reviewed by Dennis on Jan 31, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Location of resort is fine if you plan on spending all your time on resort, not within walking to golden zone. Will not be staying here again. Everything shuts down at 6.00 pm. Is pretty much a retirement resort, not much for entertainment other than bingo at the pool at 1.00. I am 56 and the pace is to slow for me. Staff is good. Chose this resort because i wanted to go fishing, ended up booking at old port for 1/2 what they wanted. If you plan on visiting the golden zone or old Mazatlan there are better choices.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3197 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Dream vacation!

    Reviewed by Sheryl R(Calumet, Minnesota) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Our first all-inclusive vacation which surpassed all expectations! The staff was courteous, friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The food was superb in all venues, including the Iguana snak bar with its added attraction of being able to watch the live iguanas while enjoying the sunshine. The accommodations were spacious,comfortable and unique. Transportation was readily available and Raphael and Miguel were always friendly and informative. We were impressed by the cleanliness of the entire resort and by the professional attire worn by all. We can't wait to go back again!

    First Rate Property with Out of this World Staff!!

    Reviewed by MT970002(Wetaskiwin, Canada) on Apr 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    El Cid has never failed us in 30 years! Staff and amenities are like fine wine.....better with time! Everyone goes out of their way to ensure guests needs are taken care of. From the time of arrival to check out, we were treated like family. As for the staff members to mention because of their dedication to their job, EVERYONE deserves recognition the desk staff, bell boys,maids, waiters, waitresses,activities staff, maintenance staff, shuttle drivers, laundry lady, Aries fishing people, security staff, cooks..... It takes so many of you to ensure your guests are happy. THANK YOU TO ALL OF YOU!! You are very appreciated!!!

    Marina Vacation

    Reviewed by Trail482452() on Apr 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was not my first trip to this property. The staff is always helpful and willing to go the extra step. There are members of the staff that have been here for a number of years and it is great to interact with them year after year. The activities staff at the pool is fantastic and they get everyone involved. Beautiful beach on property. Just an overall great experience.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Evening in Mexico

    Reviewed by Voyager25884615553(Saint Paul, Minnesota) on Apr 05, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The stay was very nice however was a little confused about the wrist bands. We found there were different menus and bottle soda compared to soda in the can which was the due to what wrist band you had. That was not explained before arriving over all was not overly impressed. Remember to make your reservations on where you may want to eat, or else you will your will be finding a cab going downtown..

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Bliss

    Reviewed by carolec433(Ferrisburgh, Vermont) on Apr 04, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I found The Marina delightful. The grounds were perfectly manicured lush green grass, and gorgeous flowers. The iguana pool area- what fun! We counted 15 "pet " iguanas , all sizes, walking around. The pool has caves and caverns to explore, rocks to jump off, and a slide. It is lit up at night with different colored lights. Lovey area. Our studio room was very airy, large, with a great view from the balcony of ocean and boats going by and fabulas sunsets. The marina restaurant had excellent food. We prefered eating there at 2:00 when it was quiet and always a window seat with a view of the boats in the marina available. We love the hostess Alex because she was always smiling and so friendly to us. Also, Jorje the diningroom manager treated us as though we were his favorite guests! But I know he treated others specially too because I saw him do little nice things like having a basket of cinamon buns on the table for special guests as they arrived. Actually, the breakfast and lunch waiters at the marina restaurant were the best. Personal, professional service . We enjoyed dining at night at the Terrace below because there was top notch entertainment as we dined. There was even dancing twice a week to a GREAT band. So many activities to do I had trouble choosing! Bochi ball on the lawn, spanish lessons, pool exersize, morning stretch were my choices but volley ball in the pool and black jack were favorites of others. Activiy staff Christian, Iram and Dante became our good friends. They were so much fun! Love you guys. We are members with elite benefits and we really appreciated the service at the elite lounge. Emilla, Maria and Maria helped us with all our needs and problems with grace and sweetness. You were very important to us! Another delightful group of staff are the bellmen who went out of their way to get to know us and help in so many ways. We love you Freddy and Edgar and young Miguel the apprentice. Thank you front desk Hector for all you do for us. The staff at The Marina is amazing. They are the best part of El Cid. Exceptional. This is a small quiet resort which even looks like a neighbohood architecturaly With buildings different colors and sizes. You can always hop a free shuttle bus to visit nearby sister resorts El Moro and Castilla and Granada for different restaurants ( 9 in total) activities, pools and beaches. The city of Mazatlan is right there . I reccomend taking a guided "pulmania" ride to explore the many awesome parts of the city, rather than a tour bus. It will be much more personal and fun.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX