Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Resort & Spa

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Mazatlan
    5. Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Resort & Spa
    6. Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Resort & Spa review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    I

    Not what was expected for an all-inclusive. Probably great for adults only. Won't be back.

    Reviewed by IG on May 21, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Be warned...this is 75% Time Share. While the property is lovely, if you are expecting a TRUE all-inclusive experience with a variety of restaurants, daily and nightly entertainment, beach activities, etc. this is not the place. It is not family-friendly ie: there is nothing to do in the area (must bus it to sister property) and the beach is horrible. Rocks everywhere. At night there is no entertainment, or areas to go have a drink that kids are allowed. The only bar is adults only. The resort service is good, but you must order off menus at ALL times. Give room numbers at ALL times. Even in order to get a bottle of water or a drink at the bar. Then, they present you with a bill that you must sign for, every single time. And, of course, the tip area is highlighted...Can't just walk up to a bar get a drink and leave. Every. Single. Time. WestJet is better than this. The properties they offer are better than this. It should probably be an adults only property. This sister property was exactly the same, only older.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    C

    This is truly the only resort to stay at in Mazatlan!!!

    Reviewed by Canadian Ladies on Apr 09, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    I have stayed almost everywhere in Mazatlan and there will be no other resort to stay at now. From the moment we arrived we had exceptional service. We were upgraded to a suite with a balcony overlooking the pool and ocean. We went straight to the pool and our waiter Enrique took care of all the details every day. Drinks were not watered down and he and his co-workers went out of their way to anticipate our every need. The food at the pool was great. The food at the buffet was limited but very fresh and the theme changed every night so we didn't get tired. The rooms with large and clean. All our needs were met and we didn't even have to leave the resort. You can be assured we will be back next year. Enrique serves right by the poolside kitchen.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Excellent Resort with Exceptional Service and Food!

    Reviewed by Lrac on Mar 27, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    This was our first stay at the PBEB and we were so very impressed by everything that the resort had to offer. The grounds are a veritable Garden of Eden with lush vegetation, fish ponds, statues and birds everywhere. My wife would take the long route back to our room from the pool just so that she could take in the surroundings. While there are only two restaurants available for dinner, one a buffet the other a la carte, we found enough variety on the menu to satiate our appetites. The Bistro served a filet in bacon that was as good as if not better than a filet you would get at a Canadian restaurant and all of their menu items were first rate. La Cordeliere has theme night buffets and the three we attended had food that was as good as a la carte dining as the staff constantly monitored not only the amount of food remaining but what the temperature was and quickly removed anything that was sub standard. The service was fantastic all of the staff are so helpful and willing to make your stay the best you could ask for. When we stayed there were few children and the majority of guests were in the 50+ age group. While there is little in the way of evening entertainment you can take the free shuttle into Mazatlan if you need excitement. The rooms all have cooking facilities, two burner rings, microwave, fridge, coffee maker and cooking and eating utensils. Not all rooms have a view of the ocean because of the lush vegetation even on the fourth floor. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are spacious even though the bathroom is a little small. You are entitled to use the facilities at the PB Mazatlan as well and can get there by the free shuttle which runs at least hourly. The beach at Emerald Bay is nice but they discourage swimming because of the rocks and while we were there the jellyfish, so go to PB Mazatlan to swim and while there eat at Cilantros which is right on over the beach and the food is every bit as good as PBEB. We love this place and will be back!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3900 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Avoid

    Reviewed by Justin K(Scottsdale, Arizona) on Jun 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Let me start by saying the resort grounds, the pools, the food and beverage, and the spa were all 4 1/2 stars. We loved it... The bad. Management is absolutely the worst. We were staying at another resort and were suckered into a timeshare presentation with free massages, free airport transportation, etc. It was a high pressure sales situation, where we ultimately signed up. That's our bad and on us. As part of buying, they offered to move us from our other resort to PB Emerald Bay for $57 a night for Jr Suite with a king size bed. We did it as it was much nicer than our resort. They originally said they didn't have any Jr Suites so we were going to be "upgraded" to a Master Suite. I use the quotes, as the room wasn't an upgrade, it absolutely sucked. It was a ground floor on the far end of the property, and It had 2 tiny double beds. By the way, the beds are absolutely terrible. Even when we requested to be moved to a top floor, (which they did finally oblige the following day) the king size bed in the jr Suite was just as bad. I guess that is why the tequila is so cheap there, they want you to drink enough of it to be able to actually sleep on the beds. The next few days were fine. Highly recommend dinner at Mr Lionso, it was a 70 peso taxi ride from resort. After a few days and rethinking of the timeshare, we decided to exercise our right to rescind the contract (which is legal within 5 business days per Mexico law). We followed the directions in the contract to a T, created a letter and signed and had the Customer Service Manager (don't recall her name, but she is a liar and a terrible person) counter sign. We dropped off the letter at the location of the sale per the contract rescission instructions and we were told we would hear from her within 10 business days. Two days later when we were checking out, we were told that we would have to pay an additional $438 for our room (which sucked) for past 6 days because we cancelled our timeshare contract? Who does business like that? We cancel our contract, so we get hit with hidden charges?!?! We argued with the hotel manager as well as the timeshare manager, but we were not getting anywhere. We had to leave, or risk being late to airport, so reluctantly paid the extra charge (which I intend to dispute with my credit card company). After speaking to the timeshare woman, I immediately disputed the timeshare deposit as well, because I do not trust this woman and her terrible business practices. In short, go for the grounds, pools, amenities, food and drink, but don't plan on getting a good night sleep and avoid the timeshare at all costs.

    great place to "chill out"

    Reviewed by ARTHUR B(Sun City West, Arizona) on Jun 05, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Although the place is getting a little old and in need of upgrading, it is still a wonderful place to relax in peaceful tranquility. Every room has a full ocean view. The pool is well laid out, including the adults only pool. La Cordiere buffet is a wonderful place to sit and enjoy the ocean view while having breakfast. All the staff is friendly and very accommodating. Special kudos to Juan Carlos, Namu,Claudio, and Ariel in the buffet.Jesus and Osvaldo for activities. Jorge in Kelly's Bar. Just a nice, peaceful and serene place to spend some time.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Best Kept Secret

    Reviewed by Myron M() on Jun 05, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Great location, great food, great service, and family friendly. Great breakfast smoothies. m Consider the all inclusive package but, I would not get he inclusive for the whole week, but 5 of the 7 days is just right. You want to visit other places and restaurants in Mazatlan too.

    Beautiful hotel grounds but...

    Reviewed by Stacey M(Duvall, Washington) on Jun 05, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The hotel grounds are absolutely beautiful and well kept. Lush gardens, wild life and beautiful pools. We did not attend the time share presentation although if you are willing to give your time the offers would have been worth it. We just didn't want to bother because we are already time share owners and were here on an RCI trade. They did call our room daily and left messages and twice we were approached while eating in the restaurants even at the sister property which we found to be in very poor taste. We ate breakfast everyday at the Bistro which was consistently good, Once at Cilantros (sister property) We had lunch on the beach a couple of times and lunch at the bistro twice. All good. One night we went to the buffet and well.. lets just say. one buffet was enough. We ventured off the property most nights for dinner. The problem I had with this hotel was our room. Again we were here on an RCI trade but this by far was the worst room we have ever stayed in on trade. equivalent to a 2-3 star hotel. We had two beds, barley larger than a twin. My husband and I are not very big people and we struggled with how small the bed was. The pillows were lumpy and hard and the room and furnishings were in need of updating. I am sure that the hotel offers much nicer rooms to the owners. Makes no sense that if their goal is to sell you a time share why they would give you such poor accommodations that makes you never want to come back. We spent everyday at the beach. Never had a problem getting a chair . You can go in the water and we saw people go in but mainly for body surfing. strong waves and frankly the water in Mazatlan is just not very inviting so we chose to just walk the beach. Overall we enjoyed our stay. From what I could tell this property is probably the nicest Mazatlan has to offer. Just wish they would offer nicer rooms to non-owners.

    Beautiful Emerald Bay Resort!

    Reviewed by sherryar101() on Jun 05, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My husband and I are owners at PB Emerald Bay and recently spent 3 weeks there. The hotel has a lush, beautifully manicured jungle-like environment with stunning pools and a first class spa. We experienced the calls of jungle wildlife daily while walking through the resort and saw frigate birds, doves and iguanas throughout. Additionally, the food and service staff were excellent! We’d like to give special thanks to Melissa and Karla our concierges who assisted us throughout our stay and to the many support staff including Fabian and Jorge our pool servers, Gina our housekeeper who always met us with a smile and Antonio and Alejandro our waiters at the Bistro restaurant. We have already planned our trip for 2020 and can’t wait to return. Gracias Amigos for our wonderful memories!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX