The Beach at Atlantis

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    T

    Below average resort, old outdated building and not clean at all.

    Reviewed by Tina on Apr 07, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    This resort is dirty and many things did not work. Out of two pools, one was not heated all week, the food was cold even at their 5 star restaurant. Service terrible, when the server came by for drinks at the pool or beach, they never followed through and came back with the drinks. Not many food options by the water, pizza took half hour to hour and a half. Internet was so slow, and had to pay for an upgrade. Bed was very uncomfortable. Rooms had carpet, smelled musty, the floors in bathroom area were never washed. Bathroom area was not cleaned well at all, never had a clean smell. The patio furniture was all tattered up, the bar area was never wiped down in the room. There was an old napkin on the fridge left all week, never got wiped down. Very dirty hotel. Food was below average. Not much fruit, breakfast bars had one person working in the egg sections and pancake section respectively, took forever, toilets in the restaurants and main building were not cleaned well, everything was old and plumbing was slow. I don't go away often and will never return to a sandals. Way overpriced, if it was half the price I wouldn't complain, but shouldn't be this expensive when clearly at the most 3 star.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4221 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-3

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Loved it

    Reviewed by E-Squidy(Sydney, Australia) on May 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Ever since seeing the Mayan Temple slide at the Atlantis resort I’ve wanted to go and stay there and I wasn’t disappointed. The Beach Towers is the cheaper option for staying at Atlantis, that being said it still offers great rooms and service, making this luxury resort something for everyone. Our room was beautiful and spacious with two big double beds and a little balcony. The bathroom was again spacious with a nice shower and plenty of room for drying your swimwear etc. There are a variety of pools and beaches to choose from as well as getting access to the entire Aquaventure park which we loved. There are really fun water slides for individuals and for pairs as well as relaxing options like the lazy river which we spent a lot of time in. There are plenty of seating options and kiosks for snacks and drinks. The dining is expensive but there are cheaper options at the marina which I would definitely recommend especially for families. There is an aquarium and tanks filled with incredible sea life that you can view as you walk through the resort and they offer dolphin and seal experiences for guests as well as snorkelling all on the premises. There is a nightclub that is open every night and a huge casino, which personally isn’t my thing but the people that I spoke to loved it. There are also options to get through the hotel that avoid the casino entirely which is again great if you have younger children and don’t want to walk them through all of that. The staff were all really friendly and accommodating and we had no issues whatsoever during our stay. It really does have it all and was the perfect relaxing end to our holiday in the Bahamas.

    BEACH WAS A PARADISE

    Reviewed by Domenica P(Union) on May 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Reservation called for a "water view" but received was a roof-top view. Room was clean with comfortable king bed & lots of pillows. Maid service was excellent. Plumbing in need of repair, refilling tank often. All in all, The Beach Tower was ok. Once we got to the beach we forgot all about the room view. Crystal-clear water, a rainbow-circled sun, & a spotless beach--for me, a true paradise! Landscaping gorgeous. Restaurants on the premises are way overpriced. The service was mediocre; the food was just ok. We had lunch & breakfast at the Deli, which was good. The Pizza place was absurd! One large pizza cost $56.00--but worth $5.00! Olives Restaurant was good; Vergils was good; We preferred Anthony's outside the premise for breakfast and lunch. We loved the Marina Village area--EXCEPT CARMINES! Ridiculously-priced menu- mediocre food--dried-out shrimp parmeggiano, garlic-laden everything, and misnomered desserts (strawberry shortcake consisting of pound cake topped with 12" of whipped cream speckled with strawberries) The water park was excellent. I'd love to go with my grandchildren, but find the overall price prohibitive for a family of 10, especially the food. There seemed to be a plenty of activities for the children, which is a big draw, and probably will prompt us to return with our children. The casino was perfect for people who prefer this kind of adult entertainment. The staff overall seemed more aloof and less accommodating than other resorts we have visited.

    poorly maintained rooms, too expensive for what you get

    Reviewed by OBtravelerIllinois(illinois) on May 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    The resort is expensive for what you get plus you get dinged for additional fees whether or not you use the beach or the bellman. Beach gratuity $10/day , Resort Fee 24.98/day , Bellman one time gratuity $15.00, Internet 22.87 plus VAT. Total was about $405/night for 2 people. The room at the Beaches Tower smelled damp, the a/c was noisy and the" view" was of asphalt covered rooftops. The paint was peeling in the shower and there was mold on the grout. The drain mechanism did not work in either of the two rooms we stayed in. I had to pull the plug completely out of the sink to get water to drain. When I called to make the reservations in around Oct 2018, I was told that the Beaches' rooms were being renovated and that all the rooms would be renovated by the time of our stay. Our room and the other rooms in our party were definitely NOT renovated. We stayed in a Holiday Inn Express in Ft Lauderdale after our time in the Bahamas and the room was much much nicer for $97/night including all taxes. The aquariums and the public spaces at the Atlantis are very nice. This is not the fault of the Atlantis, but the taxi drivers taking you to and from the resort may try to take advantage of you. Make sure you get a price in advance and try to hold them to it. Mine upped the price after we had agreed to it when we arrived at the airport.

    Mostly good but with a few negatives.

    Reviewed by Canadiantraveller313(Saint John, Canada) on May 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We stayed at The Beach tower Atlantis for 1 week early April. The room was a decent size with 2 queen beds and a small table with 2 chairs. The beds were really comfortable. There is a safe, coffee machine and small mini fridge. Minimal noise heard from outside the room. We booked 5 months in advance but were given a room on the 3rd floor with a horrible view of the rooftop. We didn't spend much time in the room though so it wasn't a deal breaker. A few things in the room could be improved however, such as the broken latch on the patio door (it did have a lock that worked but the sign on the patio door said to lock latch as well which we were not able to do) The latch on the back of the room door was also broken and the doorknob to the bathroom door was really loose. The toilet would run constantly if you did not give the handle a good giggle after each flush. The water pressure lacking in the shower. Our main reason for choosing this resort was for the water park and it did not disappoint. We had hours of endless fun going down the many water slides as well as both the lazy river and the Rapids river. The lines were reasonable to short most days. A great variety of pools to choose from. We really enjoyed swimming in the cove beach as the water was calm. The beaches were kept clean as well as the pool bathrooms. The whole week we were there, we were only approched once offering water sport rentals. Overall the Beach and Coral towers were well kept and in good condition but were dated abd could use a facelift. The Royal and Cove much more modern with tasteful decor. We absolutely loved the Dig with all those aquariums. It's nice to see all lit up at night. Throughout the resort there are many lagoons housing all kinds of different sharks,turtles,etc. This is a large resort all spread out with lots of walking but it was not an issue for us. We did have a very unfortunate incident one day when we decided to eat at Shark bites near the Mayan temple. We found 2 metal pieces a bit bigger than a staple inside one of the chicken nuggets. Original staff response was lack luster but the manager at Shark bites was nice and seemed genuine. They offered to cook us more food but we refused. These nuggets are made off site and shipped to the resort. They said they would do an investigation with their supplier. We asked to have a follow up on this once they look into it. We have not yet heard back but we hope to. We did receive a courtesy call later that night from hotel manager Shakira which was appreciated. Food on the resort is also really expensive at most restaurants. We ate all the rest of our meals off the resort. Viola's restaurant down the street and the Burger shack in Marina village were good food for decent prices. Most of our interactions with hotel staff were pleasant. We did have a maid walk in our room one evening around 7:30pm which was a bit odd giving the time of night and our room had been cleaned earlier that day. Check in and out were quick. There are always taxis waiting outside the resort but there are several restaurants and a liquor store within walking distance. It is worth noting that in the Bahamas they add a mandatory tip and a VAT value added tax to all bills adding almost 30% to each bill. We found this out ahead of time during research and were prepared. Overall we made it a great time and did not let the smaller cons about the resort ruin our trip.

    Best Ever

    Reviewed by Linda D(Weymouth, Massachusetts) on May 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    First time stay at The Atlantis waiting for next vacation. The staff is excellent. The outdoor life is great The Dolphin Cay is amazing. What a relaxing week. The view from hotel was beautiful. We could not ask for better weather.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX