Sandals Ochi Beach Resort

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    F

    Did not enjoy Sansals

    Reviewed by FrancisM on Apr 20, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Overrated, not a 5* Resort. Rooms are old and need maintenance. Food in the buffet were scarce and cold. Club level not worth the price and the associated staff did not respond in a timely manner. Restaurant staff were very friendly and attentive. I would not go back to Sandals

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 10007 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Long and detailed - so many little things

    Reviewed by curtiss873(Waterloo, Canada) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Staying at Sandals includes a build up of expectations and hype about the quality of a truly all inclusive experience. Our stay at Sandals Ochi Resort was very good but often fell a little short. Some of our observations could absolutely be our own oversight as we didn’t spend much time planning for or thinking about details. Montego Bay airport is pretty easy to maneuver - like all airports the annoying part is the aggressive baggage handlers wanting tips. Sandals has a nice reception area that is easy to find and a safe spot to wait - they do a nice job of figuring out groups and destinations and keeping everyone headed to the resort ASAP. The bus ride to the resort is 1.5 hrs. There is a restaurant about half way our bus stopped coming and going for washroom (and a cold beer for the road). It seems safe and clean enough. Arrival at Sandals Ochi is organized and simple. A welcome cocktail and your bags delivered to your room. We stayed in a butler villa on the hillside. This is an important observation about the resort - it really is like 2 very separate resorts - one oceanside with the beach area and the other (seemingly newer) hillside with the main pool area. A shuttle system brings you back and forth every 10 minutes or so but we found ourselves choosing one part or the other for the day to avoid back and forth. Some guests were disappointed with the set up and moved down to seaside. We were somewhat indifferent as we enjoyed being remote from the action at times but would also have enjoyed being closer to the ocean. When I say remote, even when you get to the upper lobby and main building your villa is up steep streets and most of the time you need someone to drive you to your room. Again just some logistics we didn’t understand. We were in a 4 suite villa sharing a pool. None of the pools around us seemed to be used a lot so generally pretty private if you use it. The pool area would be pretty great if a group of friends shared the lower units especially but a group of 8 people in 4 units would be fun. The rooms are nice and clean and very much like the photos online. The room was fully cleaned daily and fridge restocked with water and beer and whatever you want. There is house wine and liquor. The timing for room cleaning and restocking didn’t always seem to fit our afternoon nap schedule but we often just sat on the patio while they did their thing. We ordered coffee every morning and frequently used room service for light snacks. The room service food was fine - ok club sandwich, veggies and dip, cheese plate, fruit. In the last day we learned you could order special items (we saw coconut shrimp and chicken wings) not in the menu. I recommend asking about this when you arrive as I think we missed out. Which brings me to the butler service that comes with a villa. I believe we were supposed to order food through our butler but that seemed to add significantly to the delivery time so we often ordered direct from room service. It is an example of the awkward expectation that using the butler would simplify things but it often seemed to depend on their availability, where they were helping other guests, which butler was in shift (they aren’t all equal for sure), and what we needed. There were some great service moments and one of our two butlers was a true professional (Gillian) but there were also lots of times we waited too long to meet with them or waiting for something to be delivered. The dedicated cell phone was a bit of a pain to carry around and worry about and didn’t always work and eventually died the last 2 days. It’s a bit telling that the butler phone was dead for 2 days and nothing was done about it. We didn’t hate the butler experience - there were flashes of brilliance as they prepared our room with flowers and snacks and helped with reservations and getting us to dinner. I would accept a butler again but would not pay more for a suite for their service and this is one of the few people you are expected to tip. We tried to make a point of tipping our great butler while feeling a little bad we didn’t want to tip the less competent one. Restaurants were a little hit and miss. We had a fantastic filet mignon during our beach front dinner, great lunch at a tiny place called Marinas by the beach club (wish we found this before the last day), good meals at Gourmand (French), Kelly’s (seafood on the dock), and the Italian meal was fine. Tapas place was disappointing, buffets were buffets, jerk chicken place was ok at best. Pizza was pretty good. Bartenders were very friendly and creative and definitely keeping the energy high. All staff in general were very friendly making eye contact and wishing you good morning or afternoon or checking in with how you are doing. Definitely a good service orientation and well trained staff. Our favourite place for evening cocktail was the speakeasy Rabbit Hole. Not very busy, nice jazz music (love jazz band was really bad though), good vocalist one evening, unique cocktails, and we had great service (Crystal was awesome). You need the daily code to enter which probably keeps the crowds out. I can’t comment on the shows and big parties as we generally didn’t attend. The White Party was a good concept and nice set up but a little disappointing few guests seemed to dress up in white. We didn’t participate in many of the organized events (volleyball, group exercise) during the day. We wanted to check out the glass bottom boat and snorkel - it turned out the glass bottom boat takes you out to snorkel so we accomplished both but note the glass boat isn’t much to see. We were a little disappointed the only way we could use the snorkel equipment was on the boat trip. We had to purchase our own to use in the water around the resort. The gym on hillside was good and quite busy. This was made worse with some equipment not in working order. Finally golf was a great experience. We knew it cost a lot to rent clubs and shoes and buy balls so brought 2 small carry bags in one golf travel bag. The bus ride from the resort is a bumpy 20 minutes but easy to get there and back and bus always on time. We are not good golfers but had a great time with our caddie, Elvis, who truly made it fun and a real learning experience. We’ve had lessons before but none as practical and helpful as our 2 rounds with Elvis. Talking to other guests it sounds like the caddy experience was great for everyone. “Free golf” isn’t cheap. 18 holes with shared cart and caddy was $70USD and we tipped him pretty well. It would be very pricey if you had to rent everything. The course is short and open and in dry but good shape.

    Excellent, if you are ok with stairs

    Reviewed by 840esm() on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We just got home (sniff, sniff), and here are my observations. (60+ yo cis man & wife). 1. Ochi is a bad choice if you have mobility issues. There are steps everywhere, and no elevators down to the beach. And even for able-bodied folks, there are trip points everywhere. We saw a young woman trip on one of those, spill her drink, and scrape her knee. 2. The beach is nice. We especially enjoyed the seclusion of the east end. 3. The hillside main pool area is fabulous. The view is great, and there are many relatively isolated spots. 4. The staff is top notch! Every interaction with every Sandals person left me thinking, "I'd like to get to know this person better!" 5. "The Hop" is great and awful. It is super easy to get around the property, but it kinda sucks that the property requires it. (It is way too hilly to walk, and you would have to cross a non-Sandals street to get to the hillside). 6. Of the 4 properties we have visited (South Coast, Emerald Bay and Montego Bay), I'd put the food at Ochi in the middle. Which is, on any normal scale, excellent. The Italian restaurant was the best meal for us, with the little Tapas on the beach a great lunch stop. 7. The background music in the evenings surprised us three times: a guitarist, a singer, and a pianist caught our attention! Stop and listen ... And then thank them. These folks are talented! BTW: we were in bed before Turn Down Service 6 of 7 nights, so the famous night life of Ochi was irrelevant to us. Conclusion: we had a wonderful time, but the mobility issues my wife and I have will steer us to other resorts in the future.

    Romeo and Juliet Suite w/ Butler

    Reviewed by Safari58701501289(Inverness, Florida) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We visited Sandals Ochi Beach Resort last week for our honeymoon. Although we had a great time we were a disappointed with our experience at Sandals. We booked the Romeo and Juliet Honeymoon Suite with a private pool. No complaints there. It was wonderful private little sanctuary. The butler service came with that room. We were not too impressed with the quality of service we got from our two butlers. The first couple days we thought it was that we just were expecting too much or that maybe that’s just how things were supposed to work with the butlers. It was never that they did anything wrong. But by the third day we started to notice how attentive the other butlers were to guests, giving them tours, waiting with them until they were seated at dinner, and overall just a more interactive relationship. As we begin to mingle with other couples, especially ones who had been to the resort before, we learned that we should have been expecting better quality care from our butlers. Like I said before they never really did anything wrong, they were just both not very attentive. When we would call for a ride most times it would be 20-30 minutes before they would arrive, after being told “be right there.” At that point my husband and I would just start walking. When times were scheduled to be picked up it was always “8ish” and they would be there around 8:30. Dinners were a nightmare. Every night they hostess couldn’t find our reservations that our butlers had made. They would ask our room number, our name, are you sure you didn’t change rooms? Then they would call our butler and magically they found the reservation. The first two nights we went with it but then when it kept happening it became kind of irritating. The last night they couldn’t find them we ended up just sitting with friends we had made to save everyone the hassle. It wasn’t until the last night that we learned that the butler is supposed to escort you to dinner and sometimes even breakfast. It seems we just had a bad experience with the butlers, but we don’t feel the need to spend the extra money on having them again. As for the rest of the staff we felt like it was hit or miss. It seemed like some people absolutely loved their jobs and others hated that they were there. We waited over an hour and half the night we ate a Sky Terrace for our food and had to flag down a different waiter to get drinks. We love Jamaica and love the resort so early on in our trip we went ahead and booked our next trip to Sandals with their travel agents on site. But after reflecting on the last week my husband and I are second guessing that trip.

    Amazing!

    Reviewed by Relax13569194578(Fayetteville, Arkansas) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This place was awesome! Great food and drinks. Service in the restaurants could be better, but they servers don’t live on tips so it’s understandable. Plus, we weren’t in a hurry to leave the restaurants.

    35th year Anniversary

    Reviewed by Paradise51965109428() on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The entire experience was awesome, first and foremost was the staff that handled our 7 day stay to make it so memorable. Our butlers are phenomenal individuals with the most professional business etiquette and warm personalities. The people at Ochi Rios are extraordinary and courteous and show special attention to their clients making us feel as tho we are family. From the the house attendants to the pool lifeguards the bartenders and the drivers everyone there was extra nice and helpful. 100 stars One people one love is their motto and it shows on all their faces and in their conversations and actions. I would highly recommend Sandals Ochi to others wanting to experience Jamaica and it's people. I will be going on the LOOP to set my 100% satisfaction of each of the staff that served us. Thanks again to our Jamaican family for a wonderful experience .

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX