Grand Bahia Principe San Juan

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    D

    Outdated resort and would not recommend!

    Reviewed by Dana Thompson on Oct 18, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: September 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    Our trip was very disappointing on several levels. A group of 4 couples of which 2 were doing their first all inclusive. On our suggestion to go to a Bahia Principe, we decided to go to the one in Dominican Republic. This was based on us having travelled to this chain 4 previous times with WestJet vacations. The very first day our room had no AC. Which took over 2 hours to fix. This continued for the next 3 days. Upon which we were finally moved to another room. This fixed our AC issue however it had major problems with water (hot, cold or none at times). This was never resolved for the remainder of our trip. If this is a resort that WestJet promotes we felt our experience should be made know. Extremely dated and would not recommend!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 5474 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-3.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    I will be back here!

    Reviewed by Reviews O() on May 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Amazing vacation! The resort is beautiful and well kept. It’s a large resort with lots to do. The staff were all so friendly and always working their butt off to keep it clean and take care of you. There was always someone going around picking up empty glasses around the pool and the servers always taking empty plates and refilling water etc. The people at the front desk were great. They have free wifi in the lobby but we purchased the wifi to have throughout the resort and I was surprised at how well it worked, even on the beach. The buffet selection was great and I’m quite picky. I usually live off bread when I go down south but I found lots to eat everyday. The a la cartes were delicious as well. It is Atlantic Ocean so don’t expect bright blue water and white sands, but it’s still beautiful. The main pool was large with a swim up bar and where we spent most of our time, But there’s also two quieter pools on either side of the resort. The entertainment at the main pool was for the most part different everyday, I loved watching. the staff that put it on were always making us laugh. They do lots of activities with the kids as well. At night there was a different themed show each day of the week. The circus show was amazing. After the lobby bar closes we usually walked down to the karaoke bar which is open later, and was lots of fun. There’s a disco beside it as well but we preferred the karaoke. Overall really happy that I chose here for my vacation. The staff made it even better, kudos to all of them who work constantly to make sure everyone has a great vacation. Don’t forget to tip people! They deserve it.

    Amazing place

    Reviewed by Voyage779700() on May 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I would recommend this resort to all. The staff are awesome the food was great the drinks are cold and good. The shows are great. The resort manager really cares. Miss all are friend at the grand bahia.

    WORTH EVERY PENNY.

    Reviewed by aislinnmartin0() on May 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Food: The food on this resort was AMAZING. Lots of variety at the main buffet, as well as at each Al' A Carte. The food was cooked well with just enough flavor. I wasn't a fan of the ketchup, but that's just personal preference. Entertainment Staff: WOW WOW WOW. For the long hours they have to work, they are fantastic. Noel, Jensy, Wesly and Delvi made every day an adventure, full of surprises, dancing and laughter. They were encouraging, fun and always full of energy. I would go back to this resort because of all the entertainent staff, but those four boys were the highlight. All the shows were AMAZING, and somehow included the audience. The entertainment staff were always so involved. Overall: The resort was nice. Beautiful area, quite large and tons to do. The staff were prompt in getting requests done, specifically when we found ants and other bugs in our bed. They quickly cleaned the floors in our room and changed the bed sheets. No issues after that. People on the beach were quite pushy to make you buy things, but usually took no after a few times. Rooms are cleaned daily nicely, and staff are very friendly.

    Great vacation!

    Reviewed by Terry P() on May 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    It was our first visit to this resort and we would go back. Compared to the other Bahia resorts in RD, this resort needs a few renovations since it is a little dated but it did not hinder our experience. The staff is courteous and friendly. The GM, Mr. Mok, is professional, dedicated, approachable, and down-to-earth. He is concerned about his clients and it shows! Our room was always clean thanks to the dedicated work of Maria Salumé who really loves her job (so passionate about pleasing us!). Our 'beach-bar' waiter Luis is another hard-working dedicated individual that is professional and courteous - always smiling. Excellent food at the buffet and at the à la carte restaurants. Lastly, what a great beach (over 1.5 kms).

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Beautiful and Friendly

    Reviewed by Jenn M() on May 02, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    First time visiting this resort and I would definitely go back! Not as big as other Grand Bahia’s and it stretches along 2km of beach where it’s the only thing around, so you feel very secluded. The staff were super friendly. Especially Benjamin and his staff at the front desk. Very helpful and never had an issue. We upgraded our room to a villa suite which I would highly recommend. The original was a little on the small side. The villa was big with a fantastic view of the ocean. Food was great and thoroughly enjoyed all the à la carte’s. Never had a problem finding a table to eat at or a chair by the beach or pool. We went from a Saturday to Saturday which just happened to fall on holidays for Dominicans both weekends. So the resort on the weekends became PACKED with locals, not sure if happens other weekends. There were some great day excursions to pick from. We did one of the vip beach excursions and it was fantastic. All in all it was a beautiful, friendly and very clean resort. It is a bit of a drive from the airport (1.5-2hrs) but definitely scenic. I highly recommend.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX