Occidental Caribe

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    J

    We had a great time

    Reviewed by Janis on Feb 19, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    The beach is amazing as always in Punta Cana. The layout of hotel is excellent espeically if you stay in the 3340 area. Walk down the stairs or tak elevator and right at pool. Very short walk to beach. The beach snake bar is open until 5 am which is fantastic. The pizza parlour above the beach snack bar is a must. Personalized pizzas while overlooking the ocean. Every where you go in the evening there is entertainment, not just in one location. This makes it a very lively resort. People have said the people serving are not friendly. This was not the case, they were very friendly if you were. Even without a tip. This could easily be a 5 star if the updated the bathroom ( if functions just fine) and upgraded the buffet with a little more options or making sure they are cooking enough at one time. For example, shrimp on the grill. Chef would put about 15 on, and would be gone in 4 people. So you had to wait in a line, for next batch to be cooked. I have been to Rui and Grand Bahia several times in Punta Cana, and can say I would return to Occidental Caribe over them just based on layout of resort

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 11414 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Avoid. Avoid. Avoid.

    Reviewed by EmmaRSmith86(New York City, New York) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    I’ve traveled to various corners of the earth, generally staying in 4*+ hotels, and I would say this is among the worst I’ve stayed in. I went to take a shower on day one and found not only a thick rim of grime around the bath, but also various dead bugs on the wall and uh...a LOT of human hair (see pics — this was before the bathroom had even been used! Gross). It was very evident that the room had not been cleaned properly before we checked in. It wasn’t for the duration of our stay, either. Staff are mostly unhelpful, and have little interest in making your stay a pleasant experience. Expect to be ignored a lot. Many also speak poor English so it’s hard to communicate; that would be more forgivable were it not for their bad attitudes. I will however give some props to one guy (I think his name was Steven Hernandez) who saw us, exhausted and stressed, simply trying to find our room and check in. We’d been pointed in the wrong direction by various other staff members and this awesome dude Steven appeared, took my bag off my shoulders and walked us all the way to our room on the other side of the hotel. Steven was a rare gem; most other staff are rude and useless. Oh, and then there’s the clientele. Lol. I mean, listen, I get it...it’s an all-inclusive resort. You have to temper your expectations a little, sure. But check out the pics I took. Expect to find bro-dudes named Kyle passed out, and absolutely horrendous bathrooms in public areas (the pic here is one of the ladies’ bathrooms at about noon on a Sunday). If loud bros screaming unintelligibly at all hours — combined with the sound of vocal fry “omg, literallyyyyy” everywhere you go — is your jam, then hey maybe you’ll like this place. The food mostly sucks too; we decided to go off-resort to find some decent eats. I genuinely don’t know how it’s possible to offer so many different cuisines and fail so badly at more or less all of them. Oh, I almost forgot. The spa was actually good! Decent couples massage, and we couldn’t hear the thumping music coming from the pool, so that was a positive. Yay! Otherwise, this hotel is absolute and complete garbage.

    Lovely!

    Reviewed by bhulwick(Kalkaska, Michigan) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This was our first ever all-inclusive trip and we loved it! We will return to this resort and have already recommended it to others. Hidden oasis! Even though the rooms are a bit outdated the balcony and view by far made up for it. I don't like buffets anyway, so we avoided the Alcazar. Pizza place overlooking the beach was fun and had a great view. Pizza was good. Omelette stations were good. Bars were all good. All the specialty restaurants we went to were good (Paris, Tokyo, Dominican, Seafood, Mexican). Our favorite was the Tokyo. Our last night there our husbands bought us the romantic lobster dinner on the beach. It was $70/couple and WELL WORTH it!! YUM. 4 course meal and likely the best meal I've ever had. Would do that again for sure. You would not get that meal here in the states for $70/couple!!! Some cons were: we went during peak college spring break week. Will NOT do that again. Multiple masses of loud, obnoxious and disrespectful college kids hurded here and there. We just learned to go where they were not and was thankful once they left the resort. When you take an excursion make sure you ask about commute times. We took 2 excursions. Went through Richard and Bala Ball. Great guys who work for Mariana Caribbean Sports Excursions. We really liked these 2 guys. We booked 2 excursions wiht them. However, our first excursion had a 3 hour commute. Yes...THREE HOURS!!! We were told it would be an hour and a half. So needless to say we were NOT happy. But Saona Island was beautiful and the catamaran ride there was a blast! Photographers tried to wrangle us in on purchasing some photos from them. Very pushy! Be aware. But the BBQ on Saona Island was so good. Take your own snorkel gear. They didn't have enough for everyone and what they did have they didn't wash/sanitize. Would just take it off one guest and directly hand it to another. Even when my husband asked them to wash it they said they were not able to and said, "No worries man, you'll be fine." My husband was like...NO THANKS! We also enjoyed the Buggie Adventure excursion. That commute was only 25 mins. We drove buggies down dirt roads to a cave, swam in that cave spring water, then went to a beautiful beach (would have loved to have been there longer) and a little indian village where we watched some tribal dance and a gentleman make cigars. He handed out samples of the cigars for free and we were able to taste pineapple wine, coffee and hot cocoa

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-5

    Disgusting

    Reviewed by 209anthonyd(Sunderland, Vermont) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    After an extremely disorganized check in process with disinterested, rude, and unhelpful staff, we made our way back to our room to find dead bugs on the walls, clumps of hair in the bathroom, and unclean sheets. I have read through the reviews for the occidental caribe several times, and I cannot understand why they are as high as they are. I would not recommend staying here unless you are a 15-18 year old on spring break who does not care much for the fidelity of your living conditions.

    Really frustrating

    Reviewed by eehoran() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Stayed at this resort with a group of 16 for spring break. This trip was booked months in advance but four people from our group were given a room with only ONE full bed. My friend had to argue with multiple staff personnel to get a different room because they refused to give them a bigger room. The food was of equal or lesser quality to dining hall food and we tried to stay positive about that but every single person in my group struggled with stomach issues all week. The hibachi was the only thing that was okay (I think because it was fresh and made right in front of you instead of sitting out in the heat like the buffet food) but that was really all you could eat and you have to make reservations at 7 in the morning or the restaurants fill up. Checking in, we were given just one key card (we asked for another and were told we only needed one) and while we thought the key card did not work in the door, we realized the key card reader was what was broken, our door did not lock and could be pushed open by anyone who wanted to get in all week. Our toilet leaked and our shower broke twice. Our room did not get cleaned every day which would not have been an issue except for that is the only time you get fresh water bottles for free so we ended up having to buy the six dollar water from the gift shop on the days the maids did not come. Finally, at check out we went to return our one room key we were given. The worker insisted we owed him a towel card and an additional key card and that we were lying about it and tried to send us off without our $200 security deposit. I understand many people may lose their cards and say they never received them but it was very frustrating that we were told we only needed one key card, and were unable to check out towels from the pool all week because we were not given a card for it. We asked him to review the security footage if he did not believe us and he refused. It was only when we listed out the issues we faced with the food and our door that he gave it back and told us to leave.The beach was beautiful and so was the pool. But I think you could find a resort with better quality food and much better treatment of their guests elsewhere. I would never return.

    Disappointed

    Reviewed by Departure366661() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Update the entire resort, have more security. Apple gave you a rating of 4 out of 5...we have been to many other places and this is maybe a 2 1/2 or 3 tops. I would NOT recommend this place to anyone. Our safe had to be fixed twice, our patio door was broke, had that repaired and there is paint chipping off the doorway by the patio and our door to go into our room had a big crack in it which allowed light to come into our room during the night. Had to hang a towel to block the light. Doors hang crooked.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-2

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX