Iberostar Selection Bávaro

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    S

    This hotel was not worth the 5 star designation, but had nice beach (fine sand, no rocks, but lots of seaweed) and great weather.

    Reviewed by Sandra on Mar 17, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    First room upon arrival there was water pouring out of ceiling from air conditioning vent. Second room had overwhelming moldy/mildewy stench, no other rooms stated to be available, offered dehumidifier or deodorizer. Opted for dehumidifier which lessened stench. Waited for third room next day which had strong deodorizer smell but was otherwise same layout. Both 2nd and 3rd rooms had brown stained bathtubs and 3rd room fridge did not work so kept room #2. Ants were crawling around bathroom sink. Only bottled water available to drink was that in bar fridge so had to wait a full day for room service to get bottles. Cleaning was minimal, wet towels were taken but not replaced and no clean ones were ever given. Cleaning lady helped herself to Sprite from bar fridge and left half empty bottle on counter. Westjet representative was contacted about state of room #2, said apology gift would be given, still waiting for it. This was not the renovated suite I was expecting as stated on website. Staff at buffet were unfriendly and would yell at you if you sat at wrong table or helped yourself to cutlery and napkins while waiting with full plate to start eating. Most staff were generally unfriendly. Watch out for your teenage girls - my daughter was very uncomfortable with male staff leering at her.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Always love my stay!

    Reviewed by Shirley on Oct 20, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    I have travelled the world, but always enjoy a stay at the Iberostar Bavaro. I am returning for my 5th time on Dec.01, 2018. I have learned through the years how to enjoy a vacation. Remember, you are a guest in the country you visit. If their native language is Spanish, you cannot expect them to speak or be fluent in English. Just as you would be if Dominicans visited Canada. They are hard working people, and how you treat them you will be treated in return. I smile, they smile, I remember their names, they remember my name. I'm happy to recognize workers, and they me. I am thankful for the service they give me and I show it. If you have the attitude that they are there to serve you, and you don't give friendliness back, how can that result in a good vacation for all. We are so lucky to have these wonderful experiences, and should be thankful. The Dominicans do not enjoy the lifestyle we have, and they do not respond well to pompous and demanding attittudes from some travellers. Be happy, relax, have fun, and it will come back to you.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    The customer service left a lot to be desired

    Reviewed by Aruna on Apr 13, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    We family of 3 had booked this resort through westjet vacations last week 3-7 April . Whilst the location of the resort and the structure is very appealing, the customer service leaves a lot to be desired. These r some of my observations: - most staff cannot converse in English - 3 of the staff members including a guard could not give us the name of their inhouse Japanese restaurant and gave wrong directions - when I requested additional coffee creamers at 8 am, they hung up twice. Finally after getting the reception, I was told that room service staff only arrived by 9 am so I could not expect it earlier. I was flabbergasted at this as even inns have better service. - the live cooking staff handlers seemed to be totally impersonal and disinterested in their jobs. - while making dinner reservation for the Italian restaurant, i was told that as the computers were not working ,I could walk in at 8.00 pm. Despite that, I went over at 5 to book but was told that there is no problem. When I finally went at 8, they wanted reservation even though the restaurant was only 30% occupied. It was only when I really got upset that they relented. But by then, I was already put off. - at the restaurants, they take order for entree and desert at the same time, can u believe that they brought the desert even though we had not completed our main course. It was as though they were in a rush to finish. The time was only 9.45 pm. The bright side was the pristine beach and wonderful co travelers. All were mindful of each other's personal space during breakfast and courteous during our stay. The housekeeping staff was wonderful. However, I will not recommend this to anybody especially considering better options.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    F

    We loved everything about this vacation and will be returning!!!!

    Reviewed by Family Vacation on Oct 30, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    The best vacation our family has ever gone on. The staff were so much fun, remembered us where ever we were in the resort from buffet to pool to the evening show. We will be back for sure. Our west jet rep Tanya went above and beyond for us. Everyone from the flights, to the excursions, the hotel staff, were fantastic. Thank you for making this the best 10 day vacation wonderful.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 11353 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    My return to Iberostar Bavaro after many years

    Reviewed by kellietabc(Charlotte, North Carolina) on Jun 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I haven't been to this resort in about 9 years. I was happy to see that it is as beautiful as ever. The new restaurant at the pool area is nice. Most of the staff was friendly and accommodating. Jesus at the front desk was very helpful and gracious and beautiful. He worked hard to find me a room with a nice view. The gym is very nice as well as the people who worked there. There were many guests there from Europe and Latin America. There were lots of kids. Most of them were very well behaved. I was impressed because most of them were under 10. Overall the resort is very clean. The beach and pool area were well maintained. I love all the individual buildings. It gives the place a real cozy look. The room are on the older side, but I don't mind that because I find them to be very comfortable with the large sitting area. I only have a couple of complaints. Although the housekeeping in the room was pretty good, they did not sweep the stairs and outside the room. I know this because I saw the same dirt daily. You could track stuff in your room without knowing. The TV in the room was not good for watching sports that have a 'moving ball' like tennis or basketball. The screen could have been clearer. And lastly, the buffet food could use some improvement. Many of the entrees were not good. Either over cooked, under cooked, bland, or just tasted 'odd' . The only thing that was consistently good was the rice dishes. The temperature was off on many of the items. There were various salads, breads, pizza and other things to eat, but I like having good hot entrees for dinner. Coincidentally the best night at the buffet was the night that they passed out the survey. Also the buffet line needs a redesign. Too much reaching over and too many 'unsheltered' foods. Overall, I had a pleasant vacation.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    vacation

    Reviewed by Mel R() on Jun 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The shows are amazing and the staff is extremely friendly. The food is amazing and there’s always a great variety. I recommend this 100%. The rooms are top notch! This is by far the best resort I have been to. We will be back for sure!

    Great Stay at Iberostar Selection Bavaro

    Reviewed by paulcC2669PL() on Jun 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My family had a very nice stay at this all-inclusive resort hotel. The rooms were extremely nice, the grounds very well-maintained (I really liked the birds in the pond and the landscaping), and the beach/waterscape gorgeous. The resort location is near to many great activities. Food - great variety and very tasty. The staff was tremendous in all areas! I appreciate how responsive to us they were when we requested something - very prompt - they did what they said they would do (great help), and when they said they would do it. Of special note, staff members that stood out: Donald at check-in was extremely helpful and made us feel welcome; Octavio Disney was excellent in the information he provided, he has a super-positive attitude, and did his job very well; and Arelis in the buffet restaurant was excellent and very attentive when we ate there over several meals- she also made us feel welcome every time. All the other staff did very well also - very friendly. Overall - a great vacation. I would recommend it to others and I would stay here again.

    vacation

    Reviewed by m24567() on Jun 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    not the worst but definitely could use improvement. the food was really good and most of the staff was really nice. Adonis from the jambalaya restaurant went above and beyond and he was amazing! He does a great job with serving people and is very kind. pros -very nice pools and many services -the beds in the villas are comfortable -the resort is clean -the buffet has many different options -there are many animals around -the restaurants have excellent service and good food -the wifi is fast and there were no problems with connections -there are many different places where you can sit down and relax cons -some staff members are extremely rude and need training. francesca at the front desk was giving us attitude right when we walked in. some also seem very annoyed when you ask for help. -the bathroom has a wide crack in the door that you can see in to, and the bathtub was dirty and broken -the people trying to sell things do not leave you alone at all -the concierge tried to guilt trip us and say he isn’t going to get paid because we did not want to hear his hour and a half long presentation -the resort is very outdated, but still functional -i saw a broken window that they just put tape over -the golf carts always drive around fast and almost hit people walking I enjoyed most of my stay here. most of the staff tries very hard to make your stay memorable and they seem very friendly. i look forward to seeing the new renovations that are coming up. i would have rated it 4 stars if the concierge and other people trying to sell things didn’t pressure us so much. everything else was enjoyable and the beach is absolutely beautiful. we are thinking of returning once the remodeling finishes. thank you Iberostar! :)

    Beautiful Punta Cana

    Reviewed by Phyllis R() on Jun 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Overall, our trip was beautiful. Disappointed with check in. We were told through our travel agent that we couldn't upgrade our room because there was no available upgrades because the hotel was booked. Once we arrived, we were told our room was all the way at the end of the resort. However, we could have the room right by the beach for an upgraded charge of $300. Of course we upgraded, who would want to be so far from everything? A little disappointed with the service. Most staff members were extremely friendly. On the other hand, a few were not very happy that we were from the US. They were out right rude once they realized that we spoke English. Was not too happy either when some of the male staff were visibly gawking at my daughter and other young females. It was very uncomfortable. The A/C in the room was not great and the pillows were horrible!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX