Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    B

    We LOVE Grand Bahia Principe Tulum. The staff at the swim up bar always friendly and the waiters at the Internation Buffet were great.

    Reviewed by Barbie on Nov 27, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    This was our 3rd trip to Grand Bahia Principe Tulum and we will be back again next October with family to celebrate our 40th Wedding Anniversary. We Love Westjet and whenever possible we fly with them. The Resort was very busy this time but the service was still excellent. The location is excellent as you are close to sightseeing tours or perhaps a shopping trip into Playa Del Carmen..For the most part the staff was great, however, we didn't find the people on the reception desk to be very friendly..got more help from the fellows at the front that help unload your baggage. We were able to accomplish what we set out to do getting things arranged for next October and having an enjoyable vacation once again at the resort. Next year will be vacation Number 4 to this resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    We are going back. Loved it

    Reviewed by Mona on Sep 30, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    The staff were amazing. From the cart drivers, to the wait staff to the room cleaners. The staff at check in were fantastic and very helpful

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    B

    This resort is awesome..staff went beyond what you'd expect to accomodate your requests. Best place in our view to stay in the Tulum area.

    Reviewed by Barbie on Jan 28, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    We LOVE the Grand Bahia Principe Resorts and have stayed at GBP Tulum 3 times and plan to go back again this October and again next October. Great location, the staff are very friendly and willing to help in any way they can. Lot of variety as far as food and beverages are concerned. Great location to go exploring ..Like I said we just love it there. Would hightly recommend it for family, friends or just two people. GREAT is all I can Say

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Home away from home

    Reviewed by Shanzsato on Sep 21, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    This resort is my home away from home. My whole family has been many times including my wedding in the Tulum Gazebo. Amazing staff and some of the friendliest people I have ever met. Before coming here we were the type of people who always tried new places and never went to the same place twice. Since our first trip here in 2009 we have not gone anywhere else and now are planning out 16th trip.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    C

    Families will love it here!

    Reviewed by ChristineK on Jun 22, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Single

    This property has so much for families! I loved how clean it was, loved the pool and beach! Lots of watersports! Close to Tulum!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    Y

    If your looking for a nice resort, KEEP LOOKING. This is not for you!

    Reviewed by Yellowdukk on Feb 09, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    It all started within the first 30 minutes after arriving. We checked into the hotel and immediately went to guest services to book our A La Cart dinners. We did our research and decided beforehand what we wanted, but to our surprise there were no decent reservation times available anytime during our entire stay. We could have booked for a 10pm dinner but who wants to eat that late! We had to settle for whatever was left, which wasn't much. note: there were never more then 50% of the tables used when we walked by We soon learned that certain travel companies allow pre booking of meals but WestJet wasn't one of them. It just went downhill from there. 2 hours later we were settled into our room. Not by choice, but to find a room that didn't have 2 twin 4 post beds or a hole in the ceiling and water all over the floor. Front desk were little to no help in resolving this issue and persisted to try and make us stay in these rooms for a few days and then move. Not happening! Finally off to bed but to only be awaken at 2am with a room at 13 degrees. The A/C was broken and wouldn't shut off. We decided to just turn the unit off and on as needed for the week instead of moving again. Lets just say that this was just the start of our horrible holiday. It didn't get any better throughout the week but we did make the best of it. It's a safe bet that we will never be back to this resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    K

    not impressed!

    Reviewed by KelliHeikel on Apr 14, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Went for my best friends wedding, paid for an upgrade to a larger room to accommodate my small child. Only to find out that this is a scam and there actually is no upgrade and all 30 people that came with us had the exact same room and didn't need to pay. I notified the hotel staff and they simply said that yes we paid for it and everyone that was with us must have been upgraded for free. Then they told me to speak with the rep on site. He basically told me you pay for what you get and too bad.... The hotel staff were not friendly, rooms need many upgrades, lights not working, mold in the room and an awful smell. Some days we did not get towels even though we tipped everyday. We also did not get face cloths and always running out of toilet paper. We were there for 10 days and we were unable to book an a la carte which was included in our price. Eating at the buffet for 10 days became very tiresome as it was always the same food, it would have been nice to eat something different. By the last few days, my baby wouldn't eat anything and looking at the buffet literally made my stomach turn. I would like to mention that my best friend's wedding was absolutely gorgeous. The service was amazing, the food was great...I was very impressed by that as I am planning my own wedding at this time. Ceasar was fantastic and the service at the wedding was superb. This service would have been nice to have more than just one day. Also Jordan in the buffet was the best server there and we enjoyed him very much. The grounds of the hotel were well kept and beautiful. I absolutely love westjet but this trip has left a sour taste in my mouth and this make me very sad.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 14404 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Hotel and entertainment staff

    Reviewed by bgenner59() on Mar 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My wife, son and I visited for seven days. The hotel and staff was great. Very clean place and the staff was so nice. The entertainment crew were awesome! They remembered our names, made us feel so welcome. Pamela was a great yoga teacher too! We would definitely come back!

    Bad all inclusive...

    Reviewed by Q2650WHmarkd(Delafield, Wisconsin) on Mar 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Don’t go here. Here is the gist. The food is some of the worst I’ve had to the point were we’re dying to get off resort to eat elsewhere. The drinks we’re terrible. The bars and food snack bar all shut down at 5 leaving you no where to go but the buffet. Make reservations if you want, but we went to Portifino, they gave us stale bread and the food, also just disgusting. They have the privilege club dudes frequenting the lobby trying to get you to go to a sales presentation, as well as other vendors preying on you at the pools and stuff. Good campus, helpful staff, that’s about it. I’d recommend a non all inclusive for the same price any day of the week.

    Entertainment staff

    Reviewed by Cassandra S(Cincinnati, Ohio) on Mar 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Our family loved the entertainment staff they are amazing and so fun. We loved to do activities with Miguel in the entertainment staff. He is very welcoming and fun. He connected with our family and was very helpful in making us have a great time on our vacation. Definitely recommend going to Bahia principe Tulum.

    Great time again

    Reviewed by mireille m(Saint Hyacinthe, Canada) on Mar 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    First of all, I would like to say a hudge thanks to some entertainment staff. I couldn’t stand a day without a dance, zumba or aquagym class with Javier. This guy is incredible! Jonath as the biggest heart of all person I met there. Be sure to spend some time with him. I would like to thank Luciana for her morning yoga class on the peer, she works in Sian Kaan, I hope they will tell her how good she is with her work and cares for everyone. Thanks for your smiles Alejandro, thanks for making my daughter dance and speaking some french Eder. Finaly, thank you so much for keeping your smile and energy despite the hudge changes you have to deal with at the Hacienda Omar. We had a great time at the carnaval! Thanks for making me dance! About the hotel... some changes in the shows. A few good surpises (Queen was not bad). More time to dance in the Lobby bar, that was awesome but we are a bit tired of the disco rythmes. Food is good, but a microwave would be useful in the buffet. We had more smiles and kindness from bar tenders (even if we drink very little) then we had from the buffet servers. Good thing that the foam party is back. Funny and simple. Too bad you have to deal with the seaweeds. But still, the staff is doing an incredible job to clean. We had a good time jetskiing, very kind staff there too. Nice to see people who recognize us and share big hugs and smile because they seem to be sincerly glad that we are back. Was it nice? Of course! Will we go back? Surely looking forward for it! Do we recommand this hotel? Witout any hesitation!

    Kids club

    Reviewed by Cassandra S(Cincinnati, Ohio) on Mar 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Jacquelin from the kids club is amazing with children! My children loved her and had a good time doing the activities. It is a safe and gated area. If you want some alone time the kids club is perfect.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX