Iberostar Grand Paraiso

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    T

    Worth every penny

    Reviewed by Tony on Jan 24, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: September 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    This is our second visit to this Iberostar complex but our first time at the Grand Paradiso. Firstly, the drive up and walk-in was great but the check-in was a disorganized, which made for a rather disappointing start. However the facilities just make you relax by their design. The walk to your room is in an AC environment, which makes you feel relaxed right away. The ceilings are tall and the hallways wide and well-lit at all times of the day. Great atmosphere. The room was equally great. The rooms had a great selection of snacks and drinks. The cleaning services were great for the duration of our stay. Please be sure to tip them with their name and a thank you letter! I did have an issue with switch placement in the room, their brightly lit alarm/radio clock, and the lack of plugs by the nightstand but good beds and they don't turn off the AC in your room. Leave the room cool, to a cool hallway, and come back to where it was.... just a huge relief after a "tough" day at the pool. The pools were great, very clean and peaceful. In fact my wife and I went to go see where we were staying before... and It was like going down 3 stars in our minds. The most important part of the stay was the food and the alcohol. The restaurants were decent and the Surf & Turf buffet was amazing; you can either get off the menu or go to the buffet table. Please be aware, their water at the restaurants taste different because its filtered not bottled. This facility has real alcohol! This makes a huge difference the next day after relaxing day.... basically tastes better, digests better, and doesn't annoy you for the rest of the trip. At the other hotel in this facility we visited in our last stay, we stopped drinking because it didn't feel good. We felt relaxed the whole time, just wonderful! Pool time is 7am to 7pm. FYI the coupons they offer as incentive to book this are useless, see attached photos.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    K

    Over Promised and Under Delivered with Average Service.

    Reviewed by Kenneth R on Jan 25, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Upon checking in we where led to our room. Once the door was open, a terrible musty, moldy odour greeted us. I asked the host if we could be moved to another room. They declined requesting to clean the room while we waited after a long day of travel. About 90 minutes later they said the room was ready. The smell was still evident along with cleaning solutions. We again requested a move and again it was denied. With no other choice, we decided to stay the evening in the room in hopes of speaking with a manager the next morning. No luck. The second day the bath tub had only cold water and the drain had plugged. We where asked to stay out of the room the entire afternoon while they took the taps apart and replaced them along with the drain plug. The odour was still high. Next morning the electricity quit to the room. Called the front desk and several hours later a repair person showed up. He opened the panel in the closet, gave it a good bang with everything coming back on. The air conditioner would only go down to 22c and we cooked with the high humidity. Was told it was computer controlled. On the third day, I approached the manager at the main counter and asked if we could be moved. This gentleman was not in a pleasant mood as I was third in line with other guests requesting a move. By the time he got to me, his mood had deteriorated that I left. I later found out that the occupancy rate the week of Jan 15-22nd 2016 was just over 50% and felt they could have accommodated our request to move. This was not an inexpensive resort. After considering our experience, this resort is over-priced for an average experience. Noted I did not mention the quality of the food. It too was average considering our experience at other upscale resorts. The beach area is excellent as is the pool area, hot tubs and indoor pool area. The servers have a wonderful attitude when bringing meals to your table. Management was the surprise in the little attention to guests needs. Regards, Ken

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 7325 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Royal treatment

    Reviewed by SkyebutterfliB(Atlanta, Georgia) on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My husband and I literally JUST returned from the most fabulous vacation destination ever! First of all, the Iberostar chain is simply amazing. This was my second time staying on an Iberostar property. Check in was great. As we walked down the palace hall.... they don’t call it Iberostar Grand for no reason! Our room was amazing... the view was beautiful. All of that is to be expected... here is what sets Iberostar apart from the rest... I let our concierge know that I was Vegan and do not eat gluten... well from that point on EVERY restaurant and the manager at the restaurant knew and was extremely accommodating. They made sure I was happy. The first night was great. They brought out some fruit that wasn’t to fresh to me.. not a big deal.. I’m pretty picky... I thanked the waiter and declined it stating that the fruit didn’t seem too fresh.. It was 9:45 at night so I wasn’t upset. The next morning... we received several calls asking if I was ok.. and they heard I had a bad experience.. I felt so bad.. I didn’t mean for it to be a big deal! But that just shows how much they care about and value the guests. My hubby and I went to grab breakfast and Lo and behold our butler Adriana showed up concerned and wanted to make sure I was ok. Mind you, her shift was a day shift. My mouth dropped and I said how in the world did you know!!? Adriana is absolutely amazing, the next day, I had another issue.. one that involved lady issues.... well she offered to go get me supplies after she got off of work and would bring them to me. That was just so sweet of her. Our other butler, Ana was just was sweet. She made sure had dinner reservations every night. Lord knows i kept forgetting to make reservations! Ok soo now on to the excursions! We booked and amazing adventure with Iberostar Travel Service. We snorkeled, ziplined, rode Atv’s and went swimming in a cave cenote... it was a great value for the day! $106 bucks per person. They also fed us lunch.. we also had massages. Those were lovely! Every single employee we came in contact with was so pleasant. I also took Yoga class on the water with Emanuela. I have take a few yoga classes beforehand, but definitely not on the water! You have to try it at least once. It’s incredibly relaxing! You will not be disappointed booking your vacation with Iberostar!

    Adult Paradise

    Reviewed by Meander629116() on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    When first arriving to this resort we were greeted with glasses of champagne. The outside staff were extremely helpful with our suitcases and the inside of the lobby was breathtaking. We were able to sit at the 24 hour bar/lounge and wait to get escorted on a golf cart to our ocean side room. We had never been to an all inclusive, adult only resort. Being able to order anything from the restaurants and bars without a bill was awesome. I would suggest if you are going to stay at this resort, you should definitely get the ocean side view. We were amazed at the room and how close we were to the beach and just how beautiful the sunsets were watching them from our balcony. We had our own butler, named Daniel and he was amazing. He made sure our fridge was stocked everyday and anything we needed all we had to do was call and it was taken care of. Such as, reservations for restaurants, golf cart rides to other parts of the grounds, and making sure we were happy with our stay. This resort has so many amenities. We thoroughly enjoyed the salt water pool and swim up bar. There are activities they hold at the pool daily. If this wasn't for us that day, there was an option of a quiet pool. We went to the Music lounge and sang Karaoke and played pool. There is also a casino that we were driven to and had fun playing the games. Just a few suggestions if you are thinking about booking here. Men need to bring a pair of trousers and a collared shirt to get into the fancier restaurants. Bring some extra money for tips and we went on two excursions that we booked when we got there- Catamaran sailing and a tour of Tulum, swimming in Cenotes, and riding ATV 's through jungle. AWESOME! I do have to say I wish the towels were a little bit luxurious for this type of resort. We also had some shower issues with the temperature in our room, but figured it out eventually. The buffet needs to find a way to keep the food a little bit hotter and make fresh pancakes and the bread was a little stale.Otherwise, the food at all the other restaurants was perfect. Keep in mind you are going to a resort and we were approached into attending a breakfast to discuss the options of buying into the Ibeostar resorts around the world. We did not want to attend this breakfast and felt a little pressured into attending this meeting on our vacation. My advice, Just say No! They may offer you a discount on an excursion, but our time was more valuable. Overall, we loved this place and will go back.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Great service

    Reviewed by TimNoonan(Houston, Texas) on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I came here with my wife for a long weekend. This was our first time here although we have been to Grand in Dominican. The facilities, room, service, food were amazing. Everything was very clean and everyone extremely attentive. The Room was very spacious and I would definitely upgrade to an ocean front if able. There was plenty of seats to set at the beach without having to reserve your chairs. There were plenty of activities to do here in the gyms or awesome. You could use the gym at the main hotel which had great classes. There was a central shopping area included in your all inclusive which had a great taco stand. We hardly ever go back to the same all inclusive but would definitely give this a second visit

    Fantastic vacation at the Iberostar Grand Paraiso

    Reviewed by ebankspa() on Jul 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My wife and I stay at this resort for our anniversary. It was absolutely amazing. The resort is beautiful and the staff is wonderful. They went above and beyond to make us feel happy and welcome. They were always pleasant. From Denisee at Checkin at the star prestige area to our butlers Marcelo and Fernando. The maid service Luz and Ariel always surprise us at night with the decorative patterns on the bed. The entertainment team to include Orlando, Tsunami, Sailin and Aaron made us feel entertained daily so much so that we didn’t want to leave the resort. The food at the specialty restaurants were very delicious. There is nightly entertainment to include shows, karaoke, and a disco. There is also live entertainment in the lobby until 11:30pm. The group NAL was excellent. The grounds area absolutely gorgeous. Would stay for a month if could.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    A 'Grand" Vacation for my 50th Birthday!!!!

    Reviewed by raecation(Long Island, NY) on Jul 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My review will be long as there is a lot to say and many people to thank. First off my husband and I just returned from Sandals Jamaica South Coast, 8 weeks prior to this trip to The Grand Paraiso. Sandals SouthCoast was amazing and 5 Star however our experience at the Grand was better! Arrival from JFK, smooth and accommodating, greeted immediately upon arrival and taken to resort. Check in was easy, we were given bracelets to use all of the other Iberostar properties and iced cold lemonade. Your already mesmerized because the lobby and light fixtures are overwhelmingly beautiful. The indoor atrium at the Grand is spectacular and the first thing you really notice and appreciate. We were brought to our room (view of quiet pool 7255) and were greeted by Edwardo our butler. Edwardo explained the room to us, showed us how to work tv and asked us at what temperature we would like the room to be. He could not have been more pleasant and made our stay wonderful. We also had Marcelo has a butler and he too greeted me the morning of my 50th Birthday with Happy Birthday Ms. Rae!! The room...far better than our room at Sandals. The rooms are huge and the balcony is also big and comfortable. We loved the location as we were close to everything (resort is small). The rooms get a 5 star rating for sure, the cleaning staff Luz also did a great job. Our rooms were cleaned everyday the second we left, so always upon return our room was spotless. The turn down service also every evening is a nice touch, Not to mention, rose petals, chocolates and a towel birthday cake on my birthday. EVERY detail is so carefully thought out, you honestly believe you are the only guest here. Food and food service is the CLASSIEST you will find! The servers in EVERY restaurant are all properly trained. The servers take away forks, knives and replace them so quickly after every course. The food was served immediately, I was pleasantly surprised because at Sandals we waited 60 minutes or more some nights. My only comment was that we thought on some meals the food could have been hotter (this is a nitpick). We had the privilege of eating at every restaurant, and the food honestly was 5 star. I'll point out some favorites but we enjoyed everything they served, buffets included. The italian Venezia was delicious and where the staff sung Happy Birthday to me. My husband had the Osso Bucco and I had beef carpaccio both delicious. The gourmet restaurant L'Atelier I had the SeaBass which was probably the best I've had and my husband had the Suckling Pig confit. LaBrisa I ate so much shellfish and their Grilled Octopus will knock your socks off its so damn good. Our server Miranda at La Brisa was so quick in bringing the food and changing out silverware its like a magic show. There wasn't one disappointment in the food or service. The Star Makers....what can I say? They 100% make your entire trip the delight that it is, Oscar and Adrienne made everyday fun. My husband (Mr. Scott) was involved with everything at the pool, he literally smiled everyday ear to ear just enjoying all the fun we were having. Oscar and Adrienne made this trip for us and they should be rewarded for the job they are doing, and they are doing it well!!!! Thank you to them most of all. The entire staff, honestly you are greeted 75 times a day with hola, buenos dias from everyone on staff. These are the nicest, most kindest people in the world...truly! Alberto at the pool bar greeted us with a smile each morning and knew my drink by the second day in, didn't even have to order. This attention to detail will literally make you so happy to be here every second. Also Rodrico was great at the bar as well. They all are there are just too many to name. Hector the bellman who is outside each day when you want to go to the mall or to the Maya, just very accommodating. Enrique was our concierge and he did a fabulous on the 2nd day of telling us about Resort Credits and asking how he could make our trip more memorable. Another smiling kind face who will do anything to accommodate you and your needs. I also would like to mention the SPA. I had two spa services and they made the trip even better. I had the scrub and massage by Acerely and she was fabulous. Now for the WORST part of the trip however I would not take away any stars because of it. You will always encounter ignorance, rudeness and stupidity and we had 2 hours of it one day. The Star Prestige "tour", is no tour my friends it is a hard sell, where in your bathing suit, without any time to consider they want you to lock into a 10k down payment on the spot. Frank Yanez was our Star Prestige salesperson, and unfortunately has never been taught about selling. We were not told it was a "timeshare" type thing prior to going, but we knew they were going to try to sell us something. We knew immediately it was not for us as we like to travel all over the world and really experience the culture and try different hotels (Sandals) Tuscay (Villas) and Airbnb's(St. Johns). We wouldn't make a decision like that without careful research and consideration. Unfortunately when it was hard sell time we were introduced to Vitaly Feygin and within 10 minutes he managed to insult us 3 times. He was beyond rude, ignorant and is an embarrassment to Iberostar. People sometimes choose to do other means of travel and they shouldn't be chastised for it. The worst part at the end Frank had the audacity to say "did the concierge tell you not to do this?" Another words suggesting that is co-worker said.."go on the tour, you don't have to buy anything and get your $200 resort credits". This could not have been further from the truth and it is what aggravated me the most. In the USA, We don't throw co-workers under the bus, we work together. Those two gentlemen Frank and Vitaly are so unprofessional and ignorant so stay away from both of them if you want to be treated with respect. If you have any interest in Star Prestige, look into prior to going and don't commit to anything in your bathing suit. Other than that regrettable 2 hours...this was a 5 Star, unbelievable, outstanding, best vacation!!! You will love this gorgeous hotel, you be moved by the food, and the staff will literally delight you. I also highly recommend the Sand Show...being from NYC I've seen it all. This Sand Show blew me away...the talent, the uniqueness will just mesmerize you!!!! Look no further...book this place today!!! Thank you to all of the Ibero staff!

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX