Royal Hideaway Playacar

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 6996 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Beautiful resorts but food and entertainment not great!!!

    Reviewed by Tommyung(Long Beach, California) on May 04, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    If you not middle aged couples don’t except any good service. You kind on your own. Very disappointed on the service. I went to a lot all inclusive resorts. By far this is worst resorts. We are members of barcelo group. They cater more to the older crowd especially the pool area. Foods are on the salty side. We went to THE GRILL(Steak House) they run out of steak(New York steak and tri tip)...smh. Whatever steak they have left was so rubbery. Like chewing on gums. Azia(Thai cuisine) restaurant, I give them credit for trying but man the food suck. Sushi and sashimi smell. The only entertainment you have every night is open bar near the front lobby with a couple hours of music. At the least witness at bar was very friendly.

    2nd Time Still Great

    Reviewed by KMCHuntington_CT(Gallipoli, Italy) on May 03, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed here again for the week ending 4/30/21. The staff are all amazing and are very eager to please. Where to start? Check in was very smooth and quick in their very impressive lobby. Renata in guest services had been very helpful when I emailed her a few times with questions, etc, prior to arrival. When I asked for her at check in she came out and helped us with our room upgrade quickly. On our first full day we went for a morning bike tour of Playacar with Carlos, which was a lot of fun.a He gave us a lot of interesting insights into the area, and also took pictures of us. Mercedes, Alfonso and Manuel were also very good with aqua size, dance lessons and other games and sports. All of the staff at the restaurants were very friendly and really went out of their way to please you. Samuel, the Maitre'd at the Grill, was always very helpful if we requested a certain item. Fernando was a very good server as well. Even though all of the restaurants were not open every night there was a very good selection of different cuisines and ambiance! Our favorites were Pallazzo (Italian) and Ventanas (Mediterranean). We did have one "blip" at the Grill Restaurant when 3 out of 4 of our party's dinner came out undercooked and the other was not hot. Gerardo, the manager, immediately took everything back to redo, and it was better, however one was still undercooked. Every other breakfast, lunch and dinner was great! Gerardo was also very accommodating with changing restaurant reservations, etc. He was always around making sure the guests were happy. Our concierge Lorena was also very good helping us with various reservations, Covid test, and other matters. The large beach area is gorgeous and carefully manicured daily. The housekeeping staff also deserves a shout out as our room was spotless and neat every day. We also had a couples massage with Jessica and Paula at their beautiful spa, which was amazing. It was another great vacation here and we will return!

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    A/C not working, complaints ignored :'(

    Reviewed by Monica M(Faribault, Minnesota, United States) on May 03, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    DO NOT STAY IN BUILDING 31 Got here 2 days ago for a 4 day mini vacation with family before my mother goes in for chemotherapy. This was meant to be a relaxing vacation, but it was far from it ?? On arrival noticed A/C not cooling room down below 76 degrees. Took over 4 hours for someone to come, but unfortunately could not fix it. Was supposed to send someone else, never happened. Requested a different room, (none available)windows do not lock, on first floor ??) had to rig it with a hanger , received room with 2 full size beds, not a King like I asked which sucks for my husband and I ... but ok we can make do with that but room feels like a sauna. We had not unpacked and tried not to touch anything. Other rooms much much cooler. Its not just us. HOT NIGHT Day 2, talked with concierge she said still no available rooms in the whole resort, but I doubt she even looked or asked, seemed annoyed with our request. Requested someone to come please check the room a/c, she said she would, also asked of it couldn't be fixed we would gladly go to a different room. We received no service, no call back, update on how its going. Nothing. So we had to stay in a room blowing out hot air again. Day 3 today our last day. Woke up at 7a to bedsheets moist, floor is slippery thats how humid it is in here. Asked again about room at 10am. Concierge in building 31, says nothing available. Its now 2p and hot af in here Also found out from other guests that their concierge arranged for Covid tests. We had to ask to get one ??????? Been trying to find concierge but not around. The grounds here are beautiful, the waitstaff, bartenders, are great, and food is good. Would have had a much nicer stay if they tried to help us out with the A/C. But did not feel supported at all. I hate being a complainer, this was supposed to have been a relaxing vacation, but continuously asking for help and not receiving it left me feeling ignored and unsatisfied as a customer Don't know if I'll be back, but would not recommend for the price, you can go to much much better places for same price and probably receive better responses Below are photos of how we had to lock windows, and huge gaps in doors that let bugs and noise in

    Great service and amenities

    Reviewed by 10BobG(Trumbull, Connecticut) on May 02, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed the week ending 5/1/21. Service was great by all the people at the resort. Fernanda, our concierge was fabulous. She helped us with transportation, golf, restaurants, etc. always pleasant. The room was clean and we had no problems. Service was done early and done well, every thing was good. The resort was about 1/2 full so no issues getting a place by to He pool on on the beach. Pool service had 4 people delivering food and drinks. Constant attention to the guests. The restaurants were good. We did have one problem with a meal at the grill. The food was not cooked enough for all 4 of us at the table. Steak was raw and the salmon was also raw in the middle. The manager came over and got us a new meal and the salmon was still raw. Every other breakfast, lunch and dinner was very good with great service.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Royal hideaway Playacar

    Reviewed by Trudi S() on May 01, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We went with 2 other couples for a 5 day get away. The other couples have been there 2 times before prior to covid. The resort was very clean and the rooms were perfect. The resort only had 3 restaurants open instead of the normal amount opened. The food was great, sometimes the food service was a little slow at the restaurants but the staff was fantastic. We were all very patient since we know covid effected so many businesses and we want them all to come back. The Manager Gerardo Fonseca was wonderful. He was very attentive to our needs. He and his staff just did such an amazing job keeping us and the other guests happy. The resort was clean, beautiful and the staff was awesome! The longer the resort is open I’m sure the restaurants will be back to normal again. We look forward to going back again next spring!