Sandos Caracol Eco Resort

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    S

    We loved our stay! We will definitely be back!

    Reviewed by Shauna Cutcliffe on Jan 29, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    We just got home from our first experience at the Sandos Caracoal Eco Resort. It was AMAZING!! We did not book an excursions as there is so much to do for FREE on the resort! Monica took us on an Eco Tour which was so informative. The Entertainment team was hilarious and so interactive with our kids (ages 7 & 9). The only negative things I would say is: 1) we did not get to go to the Tepinyaki restaurant as there were no reservations available when we arrived, 2) the Brazillian BBQ was only available to families after 8pm; 3) the Laguna buffet food was lukewarm 99% of the time. We upgraded to the Eco Signature room and it was well worth the money! We loved it so much. We will definitely be back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    Go for the nature not the accomodations

    Reviewed by M on Aug 07, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: August 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    We (family of 4, two adults two children) spent 1 week at the resort. Positives: beautiful wildlife, jungle, lots of chairs on beach and overall the food was great (lots of options at buffet). The Japanese and Mediterranean restaurants were amazing and highly recommended. Negatives: Massive amount of seaweed on the beach (other resorts we've been to clean it with a tractor), room service was unreliable/very limited menu and took far too long to arrive (90 minutes for a fruit plate and sandwich). Very rude/unhelpful concierge manager, although all other staff were fantastic. Parents traveling with children should note that life jackets are not provided to use at the beach or pools (you'll need to contact the Sub Director for assistance). Rooms aren't anything special and wifi is spotty at best. Overall, its an okay resort for a family with children but we likely would not return.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    c

    Eco Family Suite; separate kid room with a bunk bed/trundle was most attractive to us

    Reviewed by cold in calgary on Jul 17, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    We stayed for 6 nights in the eco family suite (newly renovated) with 2 kids (5 and 3). We were on the 3rd floor and overlooked the waterslides from our balcony with a plunge pool (never used it, but sat in it without water). We had two shower stalls and 1 water closet (toilet), not as the described on the webpage. The shower stall(s) had water flow issues, with just one in use the water would stay cold the entire time or ?run out? and then come back on randomly. We called for service and they did come the next day and seemed to get it running again for another day. The in-room water dispenser (room temperature) was handy to encourage the kids to drink more water. The separate kid room with a bunk bed/trundle was most attractive to us and ultimately why we selected this resort for our vacation; for that reason it was a success.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    R

    Great time, loved the eco theme of the resort.

    Reviewed by Rob A on Mar 12, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    We really enjoyed our stay. The staff were great. Had trouble with logging into the wifi and went to check with staff. A manager Patrick was very helpful and found out our middle name was needed to sign on. The staff were all very helpful and took time to change our minibar with just the things we liked. We really enjoyed the canoe ride which included champagne and chochlate covered strawberries (all free). The evening shows were great especially the Mayan ones. We loved that the resort had so many animals. Several monkeys showed up on our deck to monkey around. This was a definite advantage and source of interest. The beach was a bit rocky but I was prepared for this from the start. The food was good but the Brazilian food was excellent. Was in the select adult section so there was always lots of lots of chairs and service. The eco tours were nice which gave a good understanding of the Mex ecosystem. Very pleased with the whole experience.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    R

    Mediocre for the dollar value.

    Reviewed by RLS on Feb 05, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Wedding

    This resort had lots of nice plant life and animals. The waitresses/bartenders and staff in the restaurants were all very attentive and friendly. The layout is quite large so be prepared to do a lot of walking if you haven?t upgraded your room. Our room was in the 44?s and it took us 10 to 15 minutes to walk to the beach. Our room itself was a disappointment. It was dirty and smelled very mouldy. The balcony was overgrown with trees so we were unable to even sit outside. The housekeeping consisted of making the bed if they even showed up that day. The booklet in the room mentions 24hr room service but when we called for lunch they told us our room did not include room service. If you choose this resort I recommend upgrading your room and wristband to gold or black as the green band doesn?t allow you to eat or go in the ?select club? areas. If you have kids they aren?t allowed in some restaurants on certain days at certain times. Overall a disappointment for the amount of money we spent.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    J

    Excellent family vacation

    Reviewed by JWhite on Jan 23, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Amazing staff and resort! I gave it a 4 out of 5 only for 2 reasons: The rooms are more 2.5-3 star but the resort, staff and restraunts make up for that. Tip: Bring swim shoes for swimming in the ocean as it is very rocky and don't expect luxaury for the rooms. They are super basic.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    B

    Water slides are over rated not worth the Extra Money

    Reviewed by Brian on Jan 11, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    Beautiful Jungle Resort..with the monkeys and racoons and wild life! My beef is with the slides, we spent alot more here than previous resorts to try the slides. My wife and I have a son of age 3...The Todler water park had a little Mexican blowing a wistle stead yelling something then saying ..Just for kids...Just for kids. Aparently adults are not allowed to use them and hold your child! The next size slide my son was to small...oh I was to Tall...lol I,m 5'7" The next size up well of course my son was to short never came for the hike up. When i got up there I wasn't allowed ...I had a watch on.....so I had to hike down. Slides were a waste of money for us! Food was ok ..Steak was all grissel. The Staff Were The BEST!! The room was on the second floor, stroller no elevator....we survived it. Any Vacation in Mexico is better than 8 days in the Alberta winter!!!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    A

    People are friendly and helpful

    Reviewed by Anton on Dec 31, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    We would definitely go back. This was an excellent WestJet recommendation. Not the best resort but well maintained with friendly people.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    c

    We are planning on going back!

    Reviewed by chantel on Dec 04, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    Family of 4 two boys 8 and 5. We loved this vacation. Spent alot of times at the water slides water was a bit cold but didn't seem to bug the kids to much. The activities for the kids was amazing from face painting, feeding the animals, swimming in the cenota, playing ping pong and Foosball. They had two night that we were there with amazing children shows what i rember most is iron man shooting firworks from his arms and spiderman coming down from the ceiling, Disney themed show as well with frozen and toy story. lot of options for food for my picky eaters. really the only negative i have for this resort is the beach is nice and sandy but to swim in the ocean at the resort the bottom is super rocky so really hard to swim there. We plan on going back this winter the kids loved it and i felt super comfortable and safe.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    L

    Huge resort, lots to explore and do

    Reviewed by Lo on Apr 10, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    This was a great resort! Lots of places to hide from that blazing noon heat. Food was awesome, wish there was more true Mexican food though. The a la cartes were unique and delicious. Beach was great, lots of chairs and spaces to hang out. The only thing the is that the t share people targeted small families with children right after you check in to the resort. But overall, it was one of the best resort we've been too. Rooms were very clean

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 16310 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Amazing yoga instructor and fitness instructors, great family vacation

    Reviewed by 616angies(Oshawa, Canada) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My family recently visited Sandos Caracol over the March break. My mom booked the trip for 13 of us including herself; my sister and her husband and two children ages 3.5 and 1.5, my brother and his wife and two children ages 2.5 and 9 months, and my family including my husband and children ages 8 and 9. We booked through Sunwing and they only had a reservation for 3 of our 4 rooms so we had to waste 2 hours trying to sort that out. It was apparently a problem on Sunwing’s end, but the hotel worked with us and gave us a room as well as a spa credit. We had an eco family superior room in building 25. The room had bunk beads, which was great for the kids. Our balcony had a view of a very nice pool that was quieter than the main pool, but still had a bar. The rest of our family were in buildings 14 and 15. They were only a short walk to our pool and building. There was a Mexican fiesta the night we arrived, which looked like a lot of fun, but our kids were too tired to explore. There were lots of monkeys, cotes and iguanas to see. There were beautiful cenotes to swim in. You can take a guided tour if you like. We did one guided tour and one swim on our own. The guided jade river tour was neat, but not much to see in the water when we went. The water park was great for the little ones, but my 8&9 year olds were too short at 54 inches for the taller slides. That was a disappointment after coming back from the Royalton in Punta Cana where they got to use all of the big slides. We have a gluten and dairy sensitivity and that was challenging at restaurants until we got a card from the concierge specifying the “allergy”. Even with the card we had to ask for the “captain” at each restaurant to get help. I was able to take in 4 yoga classes with my sister which were taught by Juan Carlos. He is an amazing and passionate Ashtanga yoga instructor. The classes were about 90 minutes each with a lot of instruction. I learned so much. Juan Carlos’ Yoga class was one of the highlights of my vacation. I also enjoyed the beach yoga/Pilates, beach stretch, beach Zumba and water aerobics with the entertainment team: Emilo, Ricardo, Anibal, Bernardo and Ileana. Each one of them did a fantastic job of engaging the guests and getting them involved in fun activities. The entertainment team had lots of fun activities for the kids at the main pool. They had water basketball, volleyball, a blow up slide and other fun things for the kids to do. The manager at the front desk, Jessica was very helpful in resolving the issues that I mentioned. She was really pleasant to deal with. Overall it was a great family vacation.

    Home sweet home, can't wait to go back.

    Reviewed by Pierre M(Rotterdam, The Netherlands) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Wonderful is the first word that comes up to describe the staff at restaurant La Jungla, and the second one is sweet. We have not seen them in three years and wow, what a treat to see them again. Angeles, Angel, Vicky, Abi, Yola, Leti, Karina, Victor, Luis, Emanuel, Alberto, Edith. They are all `excellente` and don´t take our word for it, several regular guest agree with this too! Go there and find out yourself.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Service

    Service-4

    Several Complaints on Sando’s Resort

    Reviewed by Sahibjan(Kelowna, Canada) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    - My first visit to this Resort with my family. - My all complaints related to the poor Management of the Resort. - My Room Location was not central inspire of My one month advance request. - There Two Restaurants waiting time in line is 30 Minutes to 45 Minutes while you stand all The time since there is no sitting Area. - Restaurant Food (Buffet’s) though called International, 60% Food is either Mexican or related. Some Food does not look fresh. Food has no Taste. - Main Pool Water is Dirty. My Daughter got Ear Infection from this Pool. The Resort Doctor charged me High Fee to see my Daughter. The Burgers served at Lunch at Pool side were Raw from inside. - My Room B Shower Glass Door does not close, my Room Telephone Out If Order, My Room Toilet Seat tilt. It took the Resort (4) days to fix these problems after complaining every day. - The Beach of this Resort Full of Sea Weed. There is no Sandy Beach. It is full of hard stones when one enters the sea. That’s why no one swims in the sea. - The Resort Management is never visible. - The Resort is Full of Mosquitos. We were badly bitten on our Legs and Arms. - Steak was served with Raw Blood and Food was burned from bottom ( see photo) - The Room does not have a Wardrobe. (See Photo) - I would not Rate this Resort more than 3 and 1/2 Stars. - I do not recommend this Resort to any one after experiencing all above. There is much more to write but why to waste my time. Mohammad (Nash) Qureshi Canada.

    Great beach, good value, but could be better

    Reviewed by okeefeMass(Mass.) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The resort is beautiful, and the beach is spectacular! The main pool would be fun for young families, but it is very loud and chaotic with constant activities. The food, overall, is meh, and the resort is lacking a bar to sit at and meet up with people. Housekeeping never replaced items in mini bar; despite us leaving notes each day. And, oddly, our room had no drawers for clothes. It would be SO helpful, if restaurants posted their menus so you could know ahead of time what they offered! The wildlife was awesome! Coatis, monkeys, peacocks...so fun. We really enjoyed the adults-only clubhouse on the beach. Made it so nice for drinks and snacks. The spa was fabulous!

    If you have kids and love animals

    Reviewed by anthonyhad2() on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This is the perfect resort for families with kids who love animals and nature. We went there thinking that after a few days (9 days total we stayed) that we would want to check out Xcaret and Xel-ha (which are great places to go as well), but the animals at Sandos kept us glued to the resort: we walked around, went to the animal and plant nursery, we saw the farm animals in the mini farm, we interacted with the monkeys, the coatis, the ducks, the birds, the iguanas... it was lovely. The food at the main buffet restaurant is really great and tailors to all tastes, kids and adults. We were lucky to have Kervin and his manager, Manuel, allow us to move to a room that was closer to the deer area, which is where the monkeys often hang out in the morning and late afternoon. We got to see monkeys right from our balcony, every day! An experience to remember for sure. The beach is not bad at all, and the shows for kids were AMAZING! This hotel is the most environmentally friendly resort we have ever been to: no straws (YES!) and all glasses are reusable plastic, with containers for those glasses everywhere on the resort, plus organic waste bins everywhere as well - we were wowed! We will definitely be coming back.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX