Sandos Caracol Eco Resort

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    R

    Beautiful location, poor management from Sandos.

    Reviewed by RSG on Apr 03, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    Pros: - beautiful location. - Great kids facilities - General staff very nice. Cons: - Poor Management - Buffets and bars are not well kept, temperature checked, or cleaned on a regular basis. - Lack of staff means long lines. - Resort runs out of basics regularly. Overall, I experienced enough, and heard enough negative comments from Sandos staff, timeshare staff about Sandos, Travel representatives from all the Canadian companies (Westjet, Sunwing, Transat) about Sandos in general. Not to return to a Sandos resort. There are simply too many other choices out there. One supervisor said ?I wish the entire management team would go back to Spain?. That said a lot for me.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    S

    We loved our stay! We will definitely be back!

    Reviewed by Shauna Cutcliffe on Jan 29, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    We just got home from our first experience at the Sandos Caracoal Eco Resort. It was AMAZING!! We did not book an excursions as there is so much to do for FREE on the resort! Monica took us on an Eco Tour which was so informative. The Entertainment team was hilarious and so interactive with our kids (ages 7 & 9). The only negative things I would say is: 1) we did not get to go to the Tepinyaki restaurant as there were no reservations available when we arrived, 2) the Brazillian BBQ was only available to families after 8pm; 3) the Laguna buffet food was lukewarm 99% of the time. We upgraded to the Eco Signature room and it was well worth the money! We loved it so much. We will definitely be back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    Go for the nature not the accomodations

    Reviewed by M on Aug 07, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: August 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    We (family of 4, two adults two children) spent 1 week at the resort. Positives: beautiful wildlife, jungle, lots of chairs on beach and overall the food was great (lots of options at buffet). The Japanese and Mediterranean restaurants were amazing and highly recommended. Negatives: Massive amount of seaweed on the beach (other resorts we've been to clean it with a tractor), room service was unreliable/very limited menu and took far too long to arrive (90 minutes for a fruit plate and sandwich). Very rude/unhelpful concierge manager, although all other staff were fantastic. Parents traveling with children should note that life jackets are not provided to use at the beach or pools (you'll need to contact the Sub Director for assistance). Rooms aren't anything special and wifi is spotty at best. Overall, its an okay resort for a family with children but we likely would not return.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    c

    Eco Family Suite; separate kid room with a bunk bed/trundle was most attractive to us

    Reviewed by cold in calgary on Jul 17, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    We stayed for 6 nights in the eco family suite (newly renovated) with 2 kids (5 and 3). We were on the 3rd floor and overlooked the waterslides from our balcony with a plunge pool (never used it, but sat in it without water). We had two shower stalls and 1 water closet (toilet), not as the described on the webpage. The shower stall(s) had water flow issues, with just one in use the water would stay cold the entire time or ?run out? and then come back on randomly. We called for service and they did come the next day and seemed to get it running again for another day. The in-room water dispenser (room temperature) was handy to encourage the kids to drink more water. The separate kid room with a bunk bed/trundle was most attractive to us and ultimately why we selected this resort for our vacation; for that reason it was a success.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    R

    Great time, loved the eco theme of the resort.

    Reviewed by Rob A on Mar 12, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    We really enjoyed our stay. The staff were great. Had trouble with logging into the wifi and went to check with staff. A manager Patrick was very helpful and found out our middle name was needed to sign on. The staff were all very helpful and took time to change our minibar with just the things we liked. We really enjoyed the canoe ride which included champagne and chochlate covered strawberries (all free). The evening shows were great especially the Mayan ones. We loved that the resort had so many animals. Several monkeys showed up on our deck to monkey around. This was a definite advantage and source of interest. The beach was a bit rocky but I was prepared for this from the start. The food was good but the Brazilian food was excellent. Was in the select adult section so there was always lots of lots of chairs and service. The eco tours were nice which gave a good understanding of the Mex ecosystem. Very pleased with the whole experience.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    R

    Mediocre for the dollar value.

    Reviewed by RLS on Feb 05, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Wedding

    This resort had lots of nice plant life and animals. The waitresses/bartenders and staff in the restaurants were all very attentive and friendly. The layout is quite large so be prepared to do a lot of walking if you haven?t upgraded your room. Our room was in the 44?s and it took us 10 to 15 minutes to walk to the beach. Our room itself was a disappointment. It was dirty and smelled very mouldy. The balcony was overgrown with trees so we were unable to even sit outside. The housekeeping consisted of making the bed if they even showed up that day. The booklet in the room mentions 24hr room service but when we called for lunch they told us our room did not include room service. If you choose this resort I recommend upgrading your room and wristband to gold or black as the green band doesn?t allow you to eat or go in the ?select club? areas. If you have kids they aren?t allowed in some restaurants on certain days at certain times. Overall a disappointment for the amount of money we spent.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    J

    Excellent family vacation

    Reviewed by JWhite on Jan 23, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Amazing staff and resort! I gave it a 4 out of 5 only for 2 reasons: The rooms are more 2.5-3 star but the resort, staff and restraunts make up for that. Tip: Bring swim shoes for swimming in the ocean as it is very rocky and don't expect luxaury for the rooms. They are super basic.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    B

    Water slides are over rated not worth the Extra Money

    Reviewed by Brian on Jan 11, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    Beautiful Jungle Resort..with the monkeys and racoons and wild life! My beef is with the slides, we spent alot more here than previous resorts to try the slides. My wife and I have a son of age 3...The Todler water park had a little Mexican blowing a wistle stead yelling something then saying ..Just for kids...Just for kids. Aparently adults are not allowed to use them and hold your child! The next size slide my son was to small...oh I was to Tall...lol I,m 5'7" The next size up well of course my son was to short never came for the hike up. When i got up there I wasn't allowed ...I had a watch on.....so I had to hike down. Slides were a waste of money for us! Food was ok ..Steak was all grissel. The Staff Were The BEST!! The room was on the second floor, stroller no elevator....we survived it. Any Vacation in Mexico is better than 8 days in the Alberta winter!!!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    A

    People are friendly and helpful

    Reviewed by Anton on Dec 31, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    We would definitely go back. This was an excellent WestJet recommendation. Not the best resort but well maintained with friendly people.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    c

    We are planning on going back!

    Reviewed by chantel on Dec 04, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    Family of 4 two boys 8 and 5. We loved this vacation. Spent alot of times at the water slides water was a bit cold but didn't seem to bug the kids to much. The activities for the kids was amazing from face painting, feeding the animals, swimming in the cenota, playing ping pong and Foosball. They had two night that we were there with amazing children shows what i rember most is iron man shooting firworks from his arms and spiderman coming down from the ceiling, Disney themed show as well with frozen and toy story. lot of options for food for my picky eaters. really the only negative i have for this resort is the beach is nice and sandy but to swim in the ocean at the resort the bottom is super rocky so really hard to swim there. We plan on going back this winter the kids loved it and i felt super comfortable and safe.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 17980 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Vacations with my Daughters

    Reviewed by diany01(New York City, New York) on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I've been to mexico plenty of times, many resorts, but sandos caracol is by far the best one i have stayed at. Its very clean, the employees are very kind, and many activites to do for kids and adults. My youngest daughter absolutely loves the aqua park, and thanks to the employees,Benjamin,Agustin,Shanne,Carlos, Isaias, arcely, Enrique, Aron, jessica, and Suguey she had the best time ever. We also enjoy feeding the animal with Araceli, they all made us feel like family. Vividiana was great as well in the sensory experience. I can not believe the friendliness of all employees there. We will be back for our next vacation, there was many activites that we couldn't do because 8 days was not enough for us. Loved the eco friendly environment. Can't wait to be back !!

    Fantastic Family holiday

    Reviewed by Clairey197979(Aberdeen, United Kingdom) on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Check-in was quick and efficient, I did see it very busy at times so I guess we were lucky with our arrival time. Our room (Eco Superior Family room) was close to the main cenote, it was clean with comfortable beds, towels changed daily, sometimes the maid didn’t leave enough towels for the 4 of us, but one call to the reception and it was quickly rectified. The mini bar was restocked every other day and there was always plenty water. The air con worked really well. Wi-Fi was great in the room. We sat at the main pool most days, always managing to get a sunbed, even at 11am. The pool wasn’t the cleanest I’ve ever seen, but it doesn’t help with drinks being spilt in the pool, i guess this will happen when you have a swim up bar! The ladies round the pool are constantly trying to keep the area tidy. It was great fun in the afternoons with the pool games, the entertainment team are fab, my 8 year old was obsessed with them. Abraham and Ricardo were great with the kids ( all the team were, but these 2 especially), remembering their names and always stopping to say hi if we saw them away from the pool. The service at the pool bar was great, the staff were helpful, and accommodating if you asked for something a little different. The water park is fun, and makes for a nice change from the main pool, it also seemed really clean and well staffed. The monkeys swinging in the trees, peacocks strutting about and the coatis running around was such a unique experience, we loved it! The boys also really enjoyed feeding the farm animals The food is pretty good, I think we have to remember the buffets are catering for large number and I thought the quality was very good. I really enjoyed the Mediterranean restaurant as it was much cooler than the others, due to being nearer the beach. The Brazilian was a big hit with my steak loving kids, my tip would be is to get there early as it fills up fast, or go up and put your name down for a table, take a drink from the bar up with you and just chill while you wait (up to an hour). The Italian is nice and a little cooler in the evenings that during the day. The Japanese was apparently lovely, it was too hot for me to stay in, it was about 40 degrees at 8.30 in the evening. I had to wait outside for my friends and family as I just couldn’t stand it! The sports bar is fab for the kids, pool and table tennis tables. Wear bug spray in there as the mosquitos are pretty bad around that area. The shows are great, it is hot in the theatre, I would recommend bringing a fan. The Michael Jackson show was my favourite. The entertainment team pretty much dance with the guests for 1.5-2 hours after the main show has finished. My 8 year old loved this and even ended up on stage with the team, being announced as the new member…I will always be grateful to the team for the fab memories I have of my son on that stage, giving it his all dancing along to all the routines! They really made a difference to our holiday! We also used the jet skis (out of the hotel to the left) which was great fun. The Segway tour was also really fun and the guide was fab! We went to Xcarte for the day, which was great, the evening show was amazing and defiantly worth staying for, but again it was so hot, a fan would have been a help, but hey, its Mexico in July!! In general all the hotel staff were really helpful, we had a couple of cuts and scrapes and the medics on site were really great and got us fixed up quickly. I would defiantly return to this resort.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Robert Hermann

    Reviewed by Robdrives() on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Stayed at this all inclusive resort,by invitation from our son and daughter in law. The acommodations were roomy, clean,and well stocked beverages and snacks. The personnel are friendly,helpful,and treated us very well. The food was fabulous and included fresh salads, cheeses and meats (cold cuts) varied menus for all pallates,would definitely recommended a vacation here

    The place is incredible

    Reviewed by Melissa N() on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I gotta admit all the naysayers on here had me worried about coming here... We just got home and I really don't have a clue how anyone could have anything bad to say.. The food options were incredible and always fresh and replenished quickly considering all the people in and out eating Sickness.... I mean its possible anywhere but watching some people I gotta say this... WASH YOUR HANDS YOU ANIMALS??.. I have kids and they spiraled fast a few times complaining they weren't feeling well but we brought hydration tabs and added to water and they bounced back fine....drink lots of water sure but in the heat and sun sometimes its just not enough and you need to replenish your electrolytes There are drinks of any kind accessible everywhere and they are great at accommodations when there is food allergies and such....I am verrry allergic to Pineapple and Coconut...horrible place to be with those allergies but didn't have any issues at all they were great helping avoiding cross contamination and such There was so much to do we didn't even get a chance to do it all but that just means we have to go back! Pack meds, pepto, tums whatever and hey if you don't need it all good! This resort has such an incredible experience you can't even put a price on with all the nature and wildlife I mean come on I layed in bed watching monkeys outside every morning! The mosquitoes suck but again there is always something no matter where you go There is literally NOT ONE REASON anyone should reconsider this resort I am seriously in love with this place and am currently looking for flights to go back soon!

    Brilliant holiday

    Reviewed by JakeHall4435(Sheffield) on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Spent ten days at the sandos caracol hotel and it has been brilliant from start to finish. Starting with Alejandro at reception who was polite and helpful, to all the other amazing staff that couldn't do enough for you. Entertainment great, facilities brilliant t and some wonderful meals were had at the many al a carte restaurants and buffets. A free mini bar which is refilled everyday, to so many animals and creatures that are very well cared for, a true eco experience. Had a wonderful time, definitely a brilliant hotel to stay in no complaints.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX