Blau Varadero Hotel

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    L

    4 star better tan most 5 star resorts, especially the food.

    Reviewed by Lawrence (Larry) on Jul 12, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2018

    Trip Type: Single

    This was my fifth trip to the Blau and when entering the lobby was greeted like family. As with the other trips I had no problems with anything. i was gifted with a 7 year old bottle of Havana Club as a thank you for returning.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    A very relaxing resort with tai chi and a wonderful beach!

    Reviewed by LM on Jun 22, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    I was impressed with this hotel and think its a great value for an adults only!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    L

    Third time going back next year.

    Reviewed by Larry on Oct 13, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2017

    Trip Type: Single

    Was there in May, and went back. very little hurricane damage. Got 30 feet inside the resort, then staff started coming up and saying "good to see you again". I take a second suitcase full of kids clothes and toilrtries that is no charge for humanitarian reasons. Execllent staff and facilities. Food good for Cuba, ala carte is 5 star.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Excellent resort.

    Reviewed by Larry on Sep 13, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Single

    This was my second trip to Blau and it was as good as the first time. Actually, even better (went adult only). As A returning guest I was invited to a managers special dine evening. Lots of staff remembered me, something that never happened else where.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    W

    Would not recommend it at all to anyone

    Reviewed by Wolly on Aug 21, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: June 2016

    Trip Type: Single

    Sorry for sounding all negative but......out of 7 days stay at this hotel my door key did not work at all and it was a big hassle to switch room's at 3 am..... and don't get me started on aircondition, showers and toilets that you have to flash 5 times to make it work..... the pool area was not to bad it was ok....except lack of drink choices. Beach was the only thing that was some what good.... in other words I would not recommend this resort to anyone

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 7930 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great hotel - rooms need updating

    Reviewed by WendiH4(Birkenhead, United Kingdom) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We have had a fabulous time at the Blau varadero and I’ve only dropped a star because our room was quite dated and the bathroom fittings were very worn. The public spaces in the hotel are excellent and the hotel is beautifully clean. The pool area is superb with plenty of loungers. The pool is a good depth of 1.4 m which is great for weaker swimmers like me. The beach is quite stunning. We found the food to be excellent with something to suit everyone. The jewel in the crown however is the staff. From housekeepers to bar staff and waiters, all are lovely, kind and attentive without going overboard. Jorge especially in the piano bar was a treasure. I would suggest to the management however to stagger the times of the entertainment in the 2 bars. On a few occasions the gentle music in the piano bar was completely drowned out by the entertainment in Orchadia. That said we had an amazing holiday and would love to return.

    Always a warm welcome

    Reviewed by Exmouthtraveller(Devon, United Kingdom) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We holidayed at the Blau Vardero for two weeks at the end of March/beginning of April and had a lovely time. This is the fourth time we have been to this hotel. The management and staff at the hotel are helpful and very friendly, nothing is too much trouble. If you do have a problem they do their best to sort it out as quickly as possible. Over recent years the hotel has made many changes to upgrade facilities, and rooms are gradually being upgraded. If you wish to bring any electrical items for use, ie straighteners, phone chargers etc, then a European 2 pin adaptor is required. You can purchase a card for internet connection from reception which gives access for 1 hour for 1 CUC. This hour can be broken down if you switch off your wifi in-between uses. You cannot get a connection in your room, the best area is around reception. The fridge in the room has a large bottle of water, a couple of lemonades/coke and beers which are replaced daily. You are allocated two vouchers per week of stay for the al a carte restaurants (unless you have upgraded), one for the Italian and the other for the international Palma Real, both we really enjoyed. The main buffet restaurant, for breakfast and evening meals, has a wide choice of food to accommodate all tastes. This is also the case with the poolside restaurant at lunchtimes. There is also a snack bar/bar by the beach which is open 24 hours of the day. Around the pool there is a bar, fruit stall and bbq (for those people who prefer fast food, ie burgers, fried chicken, chips etc). Evening entertainment has greatly improved over the last two years. Before the evening show there are dancing lessons and a quiz. Also in the grounds near the swimming pool there is a chill-out bar for those who are looking for a quiet bar for a drink. The piano bar is also the place for a quiet drink. If you prefer some entertainment when having your evening drink then the lobby is the place to be. There are plenty of sunbeds either on the beach or around the pool/gardens, so no need to be up early in the morning to ‘bag a bed’! Soft tops for the sunbeds are available on request from the pool attendant. The hotel provides towels for use on the beach or around the pool/gardens that can be changed on request at the ‘towel hut’. This is a 4 star hotel and is excellent value for money. I would advise people that the hotel is half way out along the peninsula, and as such there are sea views from both sides of the hotel (try for a higher floor for more scenic views). We have holidayed in many different destinations such as the Maldives, Sri Lanka, Mexico and many European destinations, and would definitely return to this hotel in the future. Thank you to all the staff for their help is making this another great holiday.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    A piece of Paradis

    Reviewed by 2005sunlovers(Sept Iles, Canada) on Apr 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Best place ever! We have been at the Blau several times in the last years. The last two visits we had room 637 and loved it. The food is great, the A la Carte are excellent. The staff at the Blau are exceptional always available to help you. They work so hard and always with a smile. As returning guest last April we had a amazing dinner with the general manager David and the lovely Aylen. Can't wait to return to this beautiful resort. Will be there in a few weeks ...we are counting the days.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Far better than expected!

    Reviewed by JACKIE G(Coleraine, United Kingdom) on Apr 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I dont usually do reviews but Just back from fabulous holiday in this hotel. Had read a few negative reports re food choice etc but we found the food to be very good, buffet had an excellent array of dishes. Staff very friendly. Palm Real a la carte faultless..... Bit of advice.....take a refillable drinking vessel from home....We ended up buying large drinking cups for poolside bar ( followed example of Canadian visitors) as only small plastic cups at poolside bar... staff more than happy to refill any receptacle! Hotel very clean, room spacious, staff couldn't help enough. Thank you for a great holiday Blau!

    Unexpected Satisfaction - would definitely return

    Reviewed by 3416andiamo(Windsor,Ontario) on Apr 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My husband and I wanted a change of scenery and decided to give Blau Varadero a chance. We have been to Cuba over 25 times, so it was about due. The property was outstanding. Well cared for and very clean. The pool was as warm as the ocean and very clean and large. There were no shortage of chairs at the beach or the pool. There were plenty and we heard the resort was full. No need to wake up at 6:00am to get a chair. The pool guy will get you a cushion for your chair if you ask (free). He comes at 9:00 as well as the towel guy. There were no shortage of towels. The property is so nice and lots of sun spots as well as shade. There is a grill restaurant and bar right at the pool as well as just inside the building and at the beach. The beach was clean and safe. Lots of palapas. We had a red flag for 3 days but the other days were great. The life guards take their jobs seriously and didn't want your feet in the water on red flag days. That was good to see. The beach access was smooth and very sandy. My husband walked the beach the morning after we arrived and found a blob on the beach tangled in some seaweed. We later discovered it was a man of war that had washed up on the shore from a storm 3 days before. Be very cautious as even though they appear dead, they are highly toxic still. Notify the lifeguards right away. Our room # 1034 was a huge superior upgraded room and it was a view to experience. It faced over the pool to the ocean. We sat there most nights before dinner. It was renovated, smoke free and clean. Being on the 10th floor, the water pressure was weak but it got the job done. The water was hot ( we heard some resorts had lukewarm). This is an adult only resort and we found that smokers were not a problem. No smoking in the indoor restaurants or inside the rooms. You can smoke on balconies and outdoor areas. That was fine with us and not offensive. The staff were accommodating and went out of their way to help. The Palma Real (International restaurant ) was very good and we pre booked with resort for all 6 nights. We decided later to try the buffet so we did return two reservations. The buffet was fine and you never went away hungry. Some things I didn't like but that was my personal choice. Because we had the upgrade, we could eat at all the al la cartes. We didn't try the Italian because of the bad reviews on trip advisor and from other people at the resort. The building is quite beautiful and even though they have elevators, we never had a problem with them. We would definitely go back to the resort but remember to bring an insulated mug (Bubba), an old card that you can put into the card slot for the lights (and leave it in) and a travel adaptor. We purchased ours from Amazon.ca and has 4 USB ports for charging. We took it to Europe and the Carribean. The hotel does not supply them. We exchanged our money at the resort but only change small amounts. The CUC (currency for tourists) may be changing and any leftover money will be useless. Canadian banks will not exchange Cuban money back to Canadian so make sure you exchange at the resort. We heard that the exchange at the airport ran out of Canadian money and people were stuck with the CUC's. Do it at the resort We flew Sunwing from Windsor which is so much better than Toronto. On time and even a bit early on our return. By the way, the weather was beautiful as always in Cuba. Thanks Blau !!! ????

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX