Starfish Halcyon Cove

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    D

    'Fake' non-smoking policy, beach was wonderful, hotel was adequate, staff was friendly.

    Reviewed by D>Rogers on Feb 10, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    Overall the hotel is small and quiet with limited amenities. Food was plentiful and varied daily. This hotel was advertised as non smoking, which is why we were excited to pick it for a two week vacation. We spoke to the WestJet Representative and the hotel staff about the smoking and were given a lackluster response. We were told by the front desk staff that they really couldn't do anything about people not following the non-smoking policy. We complained about the smoking for 14 days which is not what we paid for. Needless to say we are disappointed that this hotel advertised a 'fake' non-smoking policy but the dismissive attitude by the WestJet representative and hotel staff was frustrating and disappointing.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2632 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Valuable memories and lovely people

    Reviewed by Zenique_x() on Aug 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Had such a good time at starfish cove. The staff were lovely and helpful especially Roxann, Ladonna, Dave, Fenton and Ken. They made my time there all the better. I definitely will be coming back soon! Follow me on Instagram for more pictures @zenique_

    Nightmare

    Reviewed by suzannemelton(London, United Kingdom) on Aug 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Hotel is major need of update more a 1* hotel! Rooms are dirty and unsafe, food was poor and limited with restaurants continuously running out of plates and food. Staff seemed unhappy and unhelpful except for a few!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-1

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-1

    Fantastic value, gorgeous beach

    Reviewed by Traceymarie1977(England, United Kingdom) on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Our first time in the Caribbean, we didn’t know what to expect and were worried about some of the recent negativity in reviews - we had a fantastic time, huge room with a sea view, better still only footsteps from the beach itself and the beautiful Dickenson Bay, where we spent most of our holiday. The pool bar and lunch BBQ were also close by, the hotel gardens and surroundings pretty and vibrant, clearly looked after with as much care and attention as the staff afford their guests. We were made to feel incredibly welcome and at home, even meals were delicious and varied - even better when the fabulous pier was open. The complex is indeed old, some parts a little tired and left empty but it is easy to see way beyond that, part of the charm - the space, layout, gardens and proximity to the beach are huge bonuses (you have the same beach and view as Sandals resort at a fraction of the price!)... The pool bar is great during the day, but please open the reception/lounge bar as an option in the evening, much better for a relaxing drink after dinner! Taxi service on site too for an impromptu mini trip as well as a small shop. We also booked an island SUV tour for the day via St. James Tours, excellent service and enjoyable experience lead by Barry. Thank you so much for a brilliant holiday!!

    Amazing place and people

    Reviewed by atheyl(Rotherham, United Kingdom) on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I can’t recommend this hotel enough, yes it’s in need of renovation which is scheduled but the people make this place! The food is amazing, best food we have had in a resort for a long time. We are a family of 4 with children ages 11 & 14. The staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome. I want to give my utmost thanks to Ladonna and Dave. Ladonna is amazing with the children and for the first time ever my autistic daughter joined the children’s activities. That is purely down to Ladonna making extra effort to include her and know her limits. Dave, well he is the heart and soul of the entertainment and he works so hard to make people enjoy and join in the activities and his energy rubs off on everyone. Debbie the receptionist is also a credit to the hotel and she has been so helpful from checking in, all the extras in between and to checking out. We can’t wait to return again to this resort again and hope the renovations are done but the place keeps and appreciates the staff here and they are what makes the place.

    Perfect

    Reviewed by Clarine S() on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Daily activities for you and a family, delicious food breakfast lunch and dinner Friendly courteous staff. Sweet beach great facility Best decisions I made was staying at this hotel. Its everything you need to relax

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX