Manchebo Beach Resort and Spa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 3068 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    A wonderful resort with some constructive feedback.

    Reviewed by heartinthekeys(North Easton, Massachusetts) on Jul 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Manchebo Beach Resort and Spa. I’d give it a 4.5 if possible. We were greeted with mojitos upon check-in and the front desk and concierge staff were very friendly and helpful! We had a wonderful experience at Spa Del Sol which I will review separately. This is a wonderful resort for vegans and vegetarians as the restaurants on site had many vegan and vegetarian options! We took advantage of the yoga classes offered and they were fabulous! The staff at Pega Pega Beach Bar were wonderful! We loved the iguanas roaming about and the pool area is fabulous! We met Patrick, the manager, at the manager’s cocktail party and he was very friendly and welcoming which was a really nice touch. A couple of things I noted for constructive feedback. One is that we are coffee drinkers and we found it difficult to get coffee after breakfast and before Ike’s opened for dinner. Once, when I asked where I could get coffee, I was told by an Ike’s staff member that I would have to wait until 5:30 because they were in a meeting. Another day, I was told to go to a coffee shop down the street which isn’t a huge deal, but when you’re relaxing on your beach vacation, it would be nice to be able to purchase coffee in the afternoon without someone having to make an “exception” for you. Also, one day during our trip, the pilates class was being held in a different location than was listed on the sheet they give you at check-in. When I asked a staff member where to go, she seemed annoyed and just pointed without really showing me where to go. The second person I asked was very helpful and showed me where to go, but by the time I got to the class I was late and flustered. These are minor issues, but I thought they were worth noting. As an FYI, it did seem more of a family resort than a couples resort which may be the time of year, but there were many more children there than I expected based on feedback from different online groups I belong to about Aruba so as a couple without kids, we may be reluctant to choose this resort. Overall, it was a good stay with many wonderful staff and a beautiful beach!

    Second visit better than the first!

    Reviewed by Wendy A(Cincinnati, Ohio, United States) on Jul 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We just returned from our second vacation to Machebo in July 2019. Our expectations were already high after our first visit in 2017, and this trip exceeded our expectations in every way! From the welcoming mohitos at check-in to the travel snacks provided on checkout, our week in Aruba was pretty much perfect. We did the all-inclusive package, and the food was once again outstanding. In fact, we thought it was even better this time around. Chef Sandro was engaged and visible all week, and personally checked in on us to make sure my soy allergy was being taken care of. The dinners at both the Chophouse and Ike's Bistro were fantastic, as were the fun and lively conversations and excellent service from Harold, Magdalena, Dyanell, and Philesha. Every meal was delicious, some highlights for me were the Portabella Ravioli appetizer, the premium filet and the veal chop from Chophouse and the Red Snapper from Ike's. Our beachside lunches from Pega Pega were also on-point—the team made a special off-menu soy-free avocado wrap for me every day. The breakfast buffet at Ike's is excellent, my custom omelettes were always perfect thanks to Tara and Phalene, and the cappuccinos were the best I've ever had. The atmosphere and location of Manchebo were just right. The beach palapas are spaced out so everyone feels a sense of privacy. This was noticeably different than the neighboring resorts, where the palapas and beach chairs looked very crowded together. The beach-side service was excellent, Josuel took care of us all week. Manchebo upgraded the pool area since we were there last, and the results are stunning. The wooden flooring is not only beautiful, it's easier on our feet (and cooler) than cement you find around other pools. The edgeless pool with the corner fountains and blue lighting made a very scenic backdrop. We saw many families spend their entire week poolside. No review would be complete without highlighting the positive, friendly and attentive staff. They all took great care to welcome us back as repeat guests, and it was lovely to catch up with many of them! In addition to our friends mentioned already, we'd also like to highlight Melvin (who helped us navigate our check-in hiccups with our credit card company,) Etienne who helped us with our bags, Ada, Rachael, and Aracelys who helped start our day at breakfast, and Josephina from housekeeping. All in all, a perfect week, and we can't wait to go back again. Manchebo will always be our destination of choice when visiting Aruba.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Best resort in Aruba

    Reviewed by RJfromKS() on Jul 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Every aspect of this hotel is outstanding. Every staff member was friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and quiet. The restaurants were great. The property is beautiful. The best part is that it's away from the high rises and huge crowds. It has the biggest, best beach on the island and has the lowest concentration of people. We saw several other resorts and beaches during our stay and it's hard to understand why people would choose to stay anywhere else.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Mom’s Week Off!

    Reviewed by HayKerry(Haymarket, Virginia) on Jul 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My friends and I came here to escape the hustle and bustle of D.C. and our busy family responsibilities! This was one of the best vacations I’ve ever had. The layout of Manchebo offered everything you need from a resort. Privacy, solitude, friendliness, endless amounts of wonderful food and drinks, comfortable beds, great massages, and more. I can’t wait to come back to this oasis. I can’t even list all of the wonderful staff members that assisted us, because they were all amazing! Every detailed review here, I second! They are all accurate!

    4th Great Stay!

    Reviewed by cpjones1(Middleborough, Massachusetts) on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    From the Mojito greeting in the lobby.... no.... from the valet greeting in the driveway everything about this resort screams 'welcome...glad you're here'...! This was our fourth stay at Manchebo and it's amazing how the staff all remember you from years past. We're somewhat seasoned Aruba travelers and gave up years of high rise hotels for the tranquility and calm of Manchebo. Each day Josuel would greet me on the beach to set up my palapa and check back on us occasionally to be sure all was good. The beach is supurb and spacious, the palapas are well spaced and you still get the feeling of intimacy. Lunch at Pega Pega every day was our mid-day break... everyone at the bar was quite helpful, friendly and fun! The room was great with a nice view and I liked the options for clean linens and towels...very responsible. Housekeeping did a decent timely job with cleaning and restocking the room...... but I did have to chase down decaf coffee a couple of times! If that's my biggest problem for 12 nights at this wonderful resort.... I can certainly live with it! The room was quite modern and the rainfall shower was very nice. We ate at Ike's and loved it.... and ate at the Chophouse and loved it even more. Just a nice elegant relaxed dinner served by Harold. The Chophouse is such an upgrade from the old French Steakhouse! More than once we headed to the lobby without dinner reservations and Sandra or Melvyn got our reservations and a taxi handled in short order..... again, everyone is so helpful at Manchebo! My wife and I are already starting to plan next year's trip.... and it will be 'destination Manchebo' again...... It's such a great feeling to 'come home' again. I really wish we had discovered this resort 16 or 17 years ago!

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX