Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort & Spa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Cancun
    5. Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
    6. Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort & Spa review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    J

    I will not return or recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Reviewed by J on Dec 16, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    I would not come here. My number one reason for picking this place was for the heated pool that is advertised. Sadly there is no heated pool and it is too cold to swim without it. There are very few people in the pools and each time someone goes in they make that face of shock from how cold the water is. The service is no where as good as I've recieved in the past in Mexico. Many of the staff have poor English skills so it's hard to communicate sometimes. This is nowhere near a 4 star hotel. Paying for the upgrade to privileged makes you think you get a special Beach and bar as advertised but it's not true. We have been to these areas and there are full of non privileged guests. The staff do not monitor who is using these areas. Why was I charged for this service that everyone else is getting without paying for?

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 11469 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Not what we expected as returning guests

    Reviewed by Roam68583625357(West Des Moines, Iowa) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    This was our fourth stay at Catalonia Riviera Maya. We loved it so much the first three times (even got engaged here) we convinced friends to come with us and another couple to go a week later......we regret the recommendation. We had a few issues on this trip and I will start with the most frustrating. 1.Reservations for dinner: We don't like this concept as it hasn't been used at Catalonia in the past. However, we weren't surprised as so many other resorts now do this. The biggest program with this is that there was only one person at guest services to actually make these reservations making every guest wait in a very long line, multiple times. 2. Shower water issues: on every day but 1, the water flow in our shower would just stop. Sometimes it would be 1 min into the shower, other times it would be 8 minutes into the shower when we were already soaped up. We called the front desk but no one ever checked on it. It also took easily 3-5 min before getting hot water, wasting time and water. 3. We had a leak in our air conditioner that caused water to pool in our entry way. We walked in to about a 1/2 in of water which was coming from the ceiling and leaking down the walls. 4. A small but annoying issues was we did not get towel cards to get extra towels. We were told at the front desk we didn't need them. However, when we went to get a towel without an exchange, the lady argued with us for a while and then wouldn't give us one before writing our room number down and saying that if we didn't bring it back, we would get charged. Thankfully we weren't charged on checkout. 5. We were really disappointed with the Tapas restaurant. Not horrible but definitely the worst of all the restaurants. 6. We were also really disappointed by the extra attention payed to the French groups. On 3 occasions we were put aside to assist, what we were told, were French groups. One was the DJ party at the Beach bar that we were told we couldn't go to because it was only for the French and that is our favorite bar. The second was a large group that was getting instructions in the lobby and were asked to move out of the lobby to make room for them when we were waiting for an excursion shuttle. The third was our lack of service at the Tapas restaurant when our waiting said he was busy seating a large French group. 7. We had to wait longer than usual for coffee and water at breakfast. I would be totally fine getting it for myself (which we usually did for water) but I didn't see

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3

    second time back

    Reviewed by Plymouth1953(Gladstone, Canada) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    More control over the chairs at the pool and Beach, also have a closer look at Bracelets and make sure all staff know what areas are privileged areas and Exclusive. Signage needs to be clearer, or make people more aware. Food was excellent even in the buffet, Maybe not have shows so late as a lot of people I know thought 9:30 was a little late after sitting on the beach all day. A- l Carts excellent.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3

    Equally Awesome and Not

    Reviewed by Diana S(Toledo, Ohio) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    This was our first vacation as a family of three, so we opted to return to an area my husband and I knew, but try a resort where we hadn't yet stayed.The Catalonia ended up being awesome in some ways and very not awesome in others. First, a few of the things that were not awesome: When we arrived, we were offered an upgrade from a Privileged room to a suite, which we were glad to accept. Alas, when the gentleman checking us in actually looked at his computer, he found (as we already suspected from checking online) that there were no suites available. That was highly disappointing. The restaurant situation is unusual (in our experience): depending on how many nights you're staying, you're allotted a certain number of visits to each restaurant. No reservations -- it's all First Come, First Served -- hence why we didn't get to eat at the hibachi restaurant, despite showing up an hour early for the first seating. The hallways surrounding the rooms echo loudly. That means that every bathroom door, every drunken co-ed proclaiming about tequila shots, and every tropical bird are clearly audible at all hours of the night and morning. The bathroom didn't have many places to hang wet swimsuits. We expected one of those retractable clotheslines, but no. You get what you pay for when it comes to free WiFi. The place is kind of a maze. I suppose that's meant to make the place feel bigger, but it ends up being frustrating when some pathways don't go directly from Point A to Point B and you're forced to go around. Also, one is forced to walk past the "concierge" station to get just about anywhere on the resort. We weren't interested in seeing what they had to offer, as we already had a travel company helping us plan our excursions, but they really wouldn't take no for an answer. It made for some uncomfortable moments. About halfway through our stay, we misplaced some prescription medications in our luggage. Of course, we assumed they had been stolen, and we went to Guest Services with our complaint. We weren't thrilled with their response that they'd need to have someone come into our room and go through every bit of our luggage with us -- being that we already felt violated, this didn't sound ideal. Their comment that the guest has usually misplaced the missing item also didn't do much for us, although I do understand that it's the truth. To be honest, I'm not sure what would have assuaged our discomfort with the situation, but what Guest Services did wasn't it. (We found the medication as we were packing to leave the night before our departure. We stopped by Guest Services on our way out and apologized for assuming the worst.) Now, for the parts that WERE awesome: Restaurants BLoved and Alebrijes were our favorites. We found ourselves returning to BLoved, since we were permitted to go back unlimited times as Privileged guests. Alebrijes offered a great Viva Mexico cocktail that involved tequila and muddled basil. The Privileged beach was a better beach than was available on the rest of the property. It wasn't amazing, but it was definitely better than the rest. Exchanging towels can be a pain at some properties, but not here. Just bring your old towel (while someone's on duty), and you trade it for a new one. One of the pools had a shallower kiddie pool in the center of the normal pool, and that's the one we frequented, since our six-year-old wasn't yet a strong swimmer, but was too big for the toddler-depth pools. Speaking of our six-year-old, the Kids' Club was fantastic! Shout-out to Pamela. It just so happened that it was someone's birthday on the day when our son decided to spend the whole day at the Kids Club, so he got to have birthday cake and enjoy a pool party! They also had movie time indoors and playtime on the pirate ship playground. Our son had a great time! There were activities at the pool during most of the mornings and afternoons, although that wasn't really our scene. Games, water aerobics, music, etc. Not only was the (spotty) WiFi included at no extra charge, but so was the rollaway bed that we requested for our son (since we didn't get upgraded to a suite). The resort is also only a short walk from the nearby marina, where there are plenty of touristy shops offering t-shirts and clothing, jewelry, lucha libre (Mexican wrestling) masks, and plenty of other souvenirs. There are also bars and restaurants if one chooses to dine off of the resort, although they all seemed pretty touristy, anyway. In conclusion: Did we have a good time? Yes. Would we go back to Catalonia Riviera Maya? No. If we decided to visit the Riviera Maya region again, we'd likely choose a different location entirely, as the Catalonia wasn't quite awesome enough to lure us back.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3

    Beautiful Resort

    Reviewed by Camper56752004381() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Beautiful gardens and pools. Great food, entertainment and complimentary sailboat rides and snorkeling equipment. Prefer longer beaches for walking and more palapas. Beach was very crowded Staff friendly and helpful.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Beautiful beach

    Reviewed by Seaside27560997836() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We spent a week there with the family. The oceanfront was amazing and calm enough to snorkel. Plenty of fish and wildlife to see. The pools and bars were all very clean and staff was exceptionally helpful. The buffet is where average and the theme restaurants were excellent. Only complaint we had was poor water pressure in the shower and the beds weren’t all that comfortable.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX