Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort & Spa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Cancun
    5. Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
    6. Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort & Spa review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    J

    I will not return or recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Reviewed by J on Dec 16, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    I would not come here. My number one reason for picking this place was for the heated pool that is advertised. Sadly there is no heated pool and it is too cold to swim without it. There are very few people in the pools and each time someone goes in they make that face of shock from how cold the water is. The service is no where as good as I've recieved in the past in Mexico. Many of the staff have poor English skills so it's hard to communicate sometimes. This is nowhere near a 4 star hotel. Paying for the upgrade to privileged makes you think you get a special Beach and bar as advertised but it's not true. We have been to these areas and there are full of non privileged guests. The staff do not monitor who is using these areas. Why was I charged for this service that everyone else is getting without paying for?

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 12101 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Recent Visit Aug 2019

    Reviewed by BDalgleish(Galashiels, United Kingdom) on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The resort itself was very good and the food excellent. Although did have a few issues. Firstly the room keys continued to stop working and had to visit reception on numerous occasions to have these reactivated. Eventually got replacements after 4 days. On 2 separate occasions we had no electricity in our room and missed one of our dinner reservations. Was advised by guest services that they couldn't rebook as nothing available. For any sport fans out there, bring your Ipad and hope the Wifi is good as the Sports Bar doesn't open till 5pm and is the only place within the resort that has Sky.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-4

    Vacation 2019

    Reviewed by Roman B() on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Nice holiday. The hotel is clean, in a beautiful well-kept garden. Buffet restaurant is excellent and snack restaurant with Mexican food is open during all day and it´s perfect too. Animation programs are also good, especially with the great animator Antonio. He is very friendly and funny man. The only small problem is the beach, but it's only about habit. We definitely recommend the hotel.

    Excellent For Families With Small Children, Great Staff, Good Food

    Reviewed by Marcia B(Tulsa, Oklahoma) on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My daughter and I had a great experience in August 2019. She loved the kid's club, the buffet restaurants were excellent, the pool was great, the staff and customer service were outstanding. Definitely worth the value.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Catalonia Riviera Maya

    Reviewed by karenewen() on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    An excellent stay, very comfortable and welcoming. The staff were very helpful and friendly with a very professional service. I'd love to return sometime in the future to do some of the excursions we couldn't do this time around.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Excellent value for money

    Reviewed by Passenger57285938467() on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Great experience overall. Family friendly and the staff was great. Food options at themed restaurants were great, however, buffet was average as one would expect but not a deal breaker by any means. I would return and recommend this resort to anyone visiting Riviera Maya!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX