Gran Caribe Club Cayo Guillermo

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    N

    It?s not worth your money

    Reviewed by Nancy simpson on Mar 07, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    I have been to Cayo Coco this was my third time and never could say more about it... we have been to three different places and this one was by far the worst... service unreal bad and place is run down ... food was either undercooked or over cooked ... I know a three star what do you expect but we have been to three stars. Encore and never experienced this...line ups for the bar and the food where 20 minutes easy on a good day... please read this and book at another place !!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    D

    Until the management/ownership changes, do NOT go here.

    Reviewed by Desparkie on Aug 02, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    We stayed at the Gran Caribe Club in July and it would be a disservice to other travellers if I didn't leave an honest review. Where do I begin? Well one positive is the location. Gran Club Caribe is the only resort which has beachfront bungalows and with easy access to the sea it is popular with kite surfers and divers. The island itself is spectacularly beautiful and just down the road from the resort is the Delfinario where you can swim with dolphins and spot pelicans and flamingoes. Many of the staff are quite nice and do their best to pretend that all is okay. Truly, the Gran Caribe has seen better days. The biggest problem would have to be how shabbily the place is maintained, that coupled with the all-inclusive buffet, which I consider to be not just bad, but also dangerous. I got very sick and had to visit the in-house doctor who was very good . The pool area is never cleaned throughout the day so by mid-afternoon the poolside area is awash with plastic cups, straws, piled up plates and wet paper napkins, utterly repulsive. The water pressure in the shower was simply a scorching hot trickle and my husband hurt himself 3 times by falling into unseen holes and on the crumbling pool surroundings. This place has a long way to go to deserve the 4-star rating it claims to have!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1267 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    ????????

    Reviewed by cassidygallant(Bowmanville, Canada) on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I recently came back from this resort with my mom, sister, cousin and aunt. This was my first time in Cuba and I can now not WAIT to go back to this exact resort in a few months. Everyone was so friendly and made us feel welcomed. George, Alex and Jhoan (members of the entertainment staff) played a big role in making our trip. They ensured we participated in the games and parties during the day. We would then go to the disco at night. It was so fun, we didn’t even leave to try out an excursion during our visit. The chef junior also deserves a shout out, he always made sure we were fed and served us every time with a smile. This trip was worth way more than what was paid for. Would highly suggest this resort :)

    Average 3* Cuban Hotel

    Reviewed by JohnnyCanuck61(Ottawa, Canada) on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I've been to Cuba about 12 times. I would rate this as a solid 3* Cuban property, no more than a 2* anywhere else. We had booked a 'wooden bungalow' at slightly extra cost and it was relatively far from the main area of the hotel, pool, and restaurant etc, but more importantly, pretty uninhabitable...it was dark (no lights by the beds), the AC worked but had no remote so was brutally cold (guest services let us know we could switch it on/off using the main breaker by the door), safe was inoperable, no telephone, no wastebasket, bed mattress was low quality, springy etc. We politely complained and got the front desk to change us to one of the regular concrete bungalows the nice day....much better. Everything worked, and much better location...close to the main area of the hotel and a minute's walk from the beach. Here's my summary of the rest: Weather: great. Beach: very nice. Lots of beach chairs available, nice pier. Fun and relaxing to watch the kitesurfers do their thing. Bugs: plentiful. Lots of sand fleas. Expect many itchy bites. Regular bug lotions don't seem to work. They're very stealthy, they'll bite you and you won't even know it... Rooms: as mentioned, just book one of the regular concrete bungalows, which are fine. Wooden bungalows are poorly constructed and maintained, and in an 'off the beaten track' uninspiring area of the resort. Food: one main restaurant. Food was 'ok' or 'average' by Cuban standards. If it's your first trip to Cuba, lower your expectations. It ain't great. Fresh cooked eggs in the morning and the crepes/pancakes are the best bet. Fish was usually fine. The meats (beef, pork, chicken) done on the grill were generally alright. Can't complain - as stated, average Cuban fare, but there was nothing spectacular or rave-worthy. Food at Pool Snack bar: slow and not very good quality, sometimes burgers or sandwiches (when actually available) were under-cooked. Long waits. Fries were actually very good but only available sporadically....grab 'em if you seem 'em. Food at A La Carte restaurant: if you can actually get a reservation, the a la carte restaurant is ok, better than the buffet. But nothing was a 'wow' (sorry). Service at the a la Carte very slow. Overall Service: service at the main restaurant was fast and very friendly. Service at pool bar was fast and efficient. Service at the main lobby bar (Hemingway Lounge) was extremely slow, mainly due to everyone ordering specialty coffees and fancy drinks. They need to organize it better...open both sides of the bar, one side for beer and mixed drinks (rum and cokes etc.), the other side for specialty coffees and 'umbrella drinks'. Maid service for rooms was excellent. Maids did a great job with the room each day. Public Washrooms: many fixtures out of service, 'cleanliness' a bit of a euphemism. Not cleaned regularly. We often just returned to our room periodically to Do Business. Would I recommend? Not really, unless you're a kite-surfer. If you're going to this area for beach and relaxation, I'd suggest Cayo Santa Maria over Cayo Coco / Cayo Guillermo. Less bugs, slightly better food.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3

    A GREAT TIME

    Reviewed by lexxileigh(Toronto, Canada) on Mar 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I just came back from staying at this resort for 7 days along with my mom, aunt and 2 cousins. I have been to Cuba several times but this was by far the best time I’ve had. Keep in mind that this is rated as a 3 star so yes there are some things that could be upgraded. The house style rooms are much better than the 2 floor buildings. We didn’t always have hot water but that wasn’t an issue for us. The beach is to die for. All of the bartenders are wonderful. Every staff was so nice and welcoming. We preferred to eat at the snack bar by the pool for lunch. The cook named junior is the best! So sweet. Great burgers and fries, sandwiches open til about 6pm. The entertainment staff was absolutely amazing!!!!!! George,Alex,Yohan and the ent management made our entire trip! They always made sure everybody was participating in the activities which is was so awesome. Every time we saw them they put a smile on our faces, they have the most wonderful energy. Always happy and fun. We most definitely will be going to go back !!!

    Love it here!

    Reviewed by SherridanH1() on Mar 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Great spot for kiteboarding! We will definitely come back next year. Most guests staying here seem to be here for the kiteboarding so the sense of community is awesome. Havana Kiteboarding Club is located on the resort and the instructors are fantastic. It’s the perfect spot to learn with the warm shallow waters and good wind. Even if you are not a kiteboarder, it is fun to watch. Just be careful because the kites can be dangerous if you swim too close. There are designated swimming areas between the buoys but people seem to ignore this and not realize the danger of swimming close to the kite lines. More signage would be a good idea. When people are learning to kite, they do not have good control yet and these kites are very powerful. Please keep your distance for your own safety and theirs. The resort itself is basic and quaint but comfortable and clean. Not luxury by any means but you get what you pay for. We were pleasantly surprised though and felt it was great value. The pool areas are very nice. There is never a problem finding a lounge chair by the pool or on the beach. The staff are wonderful and there are activities throughout the day and quality entertainment in the evening. We enjoyed the Hemingway bar. The food was hit and miss and pretty typical for this level of star rating in Cuba. There was a decent selection in the buffet. The buffet and bar lineups could be long during peak times and there was a shortage of cutlery, glasses and dishes. Wine was served at dinner in small brandy snifters and it was difficult to get a proper wine glass. Omelettes, crepes and French toast were served every morning and a variety of grilled meats and seafood for dinner. Rice, potatoes and an assortment of salads were always available. Burgers and French fries were served at the poolside barbecue. Some rooms and areas around the resort are definitely in need of updating and repairs however we loved our beachfront bungalow and didn’t have any issues. The grounds were well kept. The beachfront bungalows (numbers 97 to 124) are located right on the beach. Some people told us that in certain wind directions these bungalows get sandblasted but we didn’t experience this. Nothing like waking up to the gorgeous view of the turquoise water! Most of the rooms have two twin beds but they can be pushed together. We lucked out and had a king mattress over the two twins. The beach itself is spectacular with beautiful white powdery sand. You can wade out for meters before the water is even waist deep. I would recommend water shoes though because some areas have lots of shells. There are kayaks, small catamarans and stand up paddle boards available. Overall I give this resort two thumbs up and we will come back. It was a fantastic kiteboarding vacation!

    Hidden gem

    Reviewed by Cory F(Ontario, Canada) on Feb 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I went with my best friend the first week of February. We had an amazing stay. We had one of the concrete bungalows that faced the beach. Rooms were clean, beds were comfortable, supplied a 2lt bottle of water every day for drinking. Our fridge, hot water, air conditioning and cable worked. The grounds were beautiful, always had friendly gardeners and landscapers working daily. All the hotel staff and bartenders were great. We went with Cuba expectations, we didn't care about the accommodations or food as long as we had the sun, sand and beach. We were so pleasantly surprised that we had a great bungalow, as mentioned clean and we didn't have any bugs. And we found more than enough to eat every day to satisfy even our picky palates. We ate at the buffet everyday or at the snack bar by the pool. Every day there were fun activities by the pool. We even enjoyed an hour of horseback riding. The double decker bus was available to take you around the island to different hotels as well as the markets. It gave us an opportunity to see the other hotels on the island, after which we decided we were at the one we liked the best. Older resort, but preferred I with the bungalows and cabins as opposed to the other ones which were more "hotel" like where you could end up on a higher floor and possibly not facing the ocean. At this resort every cabin and bungalow you had an ocean view of some type. The bartenders were great, the drinks were awesome, I was enjoying banana daquiri's which near the end of my trip, I figured out if I brought a banana from the buffet, they would make my daquiri's with it. The cooks were great when you were having something freshly cooked in the buffet dining room, the wait staff were very attentive. And the activity staff were all amazing am so friendly. When I go back to Cuba, I would definitely consider staying here again. All in all it was an incredible and relaxing. Thank you to all the staff for such an enjoyable week!!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX