Hotel Playa Coco

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    L

    Vacation was extremely stressful and disappointing

    Reviewed by Laura Mussat on Jan 12, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    The hotel is in significant dispar needs a lot or repairs, Mold on walls and ceiling Broken glass, pottery doors etc Side walks with man hole 3-4 ft deep and cracks and holes throughout resort Quality of food for Cuba extremely poor and limited Ran out of breads, sauces and ketchup 3 days into vacation Bugs and ants in room terrible Linens always wet No hot water No lighting at night through the resort causing a bad fall and injury at seafood restaurant Beer house and pizza place closed 2 days into vacation WestJet Rep hardly at hotel when scheduled Public areas poorly cleaned specially restrooms No assistance at airport in Toronto to start with Picture to follow in email as to large to fit here

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    C

    We love it love it love it

    Reviewed by Carmen on Oct 26, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: September 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Hi, We stay for two weeks . From August 29 until September 14.The hotel rooms are ok , I won't say 4 start hotel, but is Cuba need repair and they don't change your bed sheets very often, Or clean. Every day you are going to bed there's sand in the bed. I recommend to bring you own beach towel and lots of mosquitos spray. Also soap for clean your clothes in case you need to wash yours . The staff are incredible nicely, very friendly. The food was really good..but not enough , for example: big lineup for a delicious seafood but after 5 people they didn't have anymore. I did not enjoy the Italian restaurant and neither the Japanese. The normal big every day buffet is the best ... Also the seafood restaurant located at the beach , really good too , but same problem with the seafood, not enough. The entertainment people ? Amazing, amazing, amazing. Great people , lots of talented women and men ...my kids love it ... They stay in the pool playing game with the entertainment guys and girls. My husband and I we stay at the beach knowing that the kids are having a blast and very very safe. we are definitely coming back to playa coco , also great service with the west jet . There is something wrong with the rating think at the top this review I can't mark properly...

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2456 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Don't stay there!!!

    Reviewed by Maggieaggie(Winnipeg) on Mar 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Front desk staff all very unfriendly. Asked to change rooms. Forget that. Asked for another beach towel. Told there weren't enough. Would not give change for larger bills even though they charged 1 peso for wifi so had plenty of change. Rooms need to be renovated . Smelly . Only had hot water 3 days out of seven. Friends patio door wouldn't close . Too bad.Ana our maid was wonderful. Same boring food breakfast lunch and supper. Mercedes our regular server in buffet was great.Have a new restaurant on the beach but only serves burgers and hot dogs,all set up for a buffet but not being used. We stayed here 4 years ago and had a totally different experience. New owners? The beach is great. Lots of chairs. Met lots of people. All had similar experiences.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-2

    Best beach and staff

    Reviewed by cj17067(Peterborough & the Kawarthas, Canada) on Mar 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We were here March break of 2019. This was our second time to the resort. They are still recovering from the hurricane but they have made some great improvements. Our room was great the view was amazing (thank you Yania), and we always had hot water. We do miss the old beer garden though. The staff here are wonderful. Two girls on the entertainment staff felt like they were part of our family. We had so much fun getting to know Yadira and Arianna. They went out of there way to get to know us and us them. They even gave me a birthday present. Genuinely wonderful young women. We will definitely miss them and we will go back because of them. The resort has challenges. Typical Cuba challenges. Sometimes no towels or repeat of items at the buffet. Honestly we could care less. If you have been to Cuba and you like it, then I highly recommend this hotel. If you don't like Cuba. Please don't go I'm not interested in hearing you whine and complain about how terrible it is. T&C

    The staff and quiet atmosphere make this resort a beautiful place to be

    Reviewed by hwick2016(Kirkland Lake, Canada) on Mar 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I travelled with my mom and sister and we had a wonderful week here. We went in knowing they were still attempting to recover from the hurricane, so we expected some bumps in the road. If you're coming in expecting a North American 4 star, find another resort. If you're willing to look at how the people in Cuba live and realize how privileged you are, you will have an amazing week. You will get to know amazing, beautiful staff who want to make your time here amazing. They will go out of their way to make sure you get exactly what you need and give you great service. Treat them like real people instead of your servant and watch them shine. The food was fantastic. We realmy enjoyed the buffet and the different foods they offered. Our room was large, yes it was musty, but we didn't go to Cuba to hang out in a hotel room. The beach is UNBELIEVABLE. There's a small reef that provides great snorkelling opportunities without leaving the hotel. Beyond that there's a much more private spot that we enjoyed exploring. Most of the time we didn't even notice the bugs, though we sure saw evidence of other people being bitten. Bring bug spray! The quiet pool and Taimy were a highlight of our trip. She is amazing and very obviously loves her job. Carry toilet paper around so you don't have to worry about the lobby bathrooms running out. Remember they're on an island! If they run out they are at the mercy of a supply truck. Relax. Don't get worked up about small inconveniences and soak up the sun!!

    Visit 2019

    Reviewed by Johanne B() on Mar 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    We booked at this hotel but left after a serious incident. A patio door fell inside the room scaring one grandson and injuring the other, a 5 year old! The glass broke and shards of glass scattered in the room. Stiches were required. The hotel paid for the doctor expenses and they were great. I wish to thank Sonia, a Canadian nurse who accompanied my son-in-law and grandson to the infirmary. This hotel needs some major TLC. The staff are very helpful and some are let go because the resort cannot pay them according to a server we had during our short stay. We requested to be moved somewhere else and the AirCanada rep and hotel management got us upgraded to another resort. I would not recommend this hotel until all buildings are renovated.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-4

    Lovely beach, kind staff, nice pool, lousy entertainment!

    Reviewed by DiB1960(Winnipeg, Canada) on Mar 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    This was our first trip to Cayo Coco. It is a great place for a quiet, serene beach oriented holiday. NOT good for exposure to Cuban culture as the area is a specially developed tourist enclave. The natural environment is somewhat swampy and the evening mosquitoes and biting gnats are terrible. The damage from Hurricane Irma in 2017 is still very evident. I recommend the scuba diving experiences with Coco Diving at Hotel Melia Guiermo. Fabulous time. The excusion into Moron and Ciego de Avila was wonderful! A full day of avdenture. The hotel is basic. No air con in the room, and we had several minor repairs that took a lot of nagging to get addressed. There seemed to be a major shortage of Toilet paper and often the sewers for the main area bathrooms (in reception hall and neaqr the dining rooms) were malfunctioning. However... this is Cuba. They make do, and we should feel privileged to get the quality of treatment we do for the low prices we pay! Food was plentiful, and fresh. (Yes, they turn lunch leftovers into dinner soup... I call that good management of resources!) I wish tourists would not be so disgusting in their littering around the beach. Please bring a reusable insulated cup for your beer and bar drinks to reduce plastic waste!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX