Tryp Cayo Coco

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    D

    We love tryp and will be returning

    Reviewed by Doug Roberts on Apr 18, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Great staff and a great vacation would go back in a heartbeat Awesome Vacation staff work hard to make you welcome food was exceptional for cuba resort is older but it's clean and any problems staff are quick to help. We go for beach and the beach is grand lots of room Thank you West jet and Tryp for a great two weeks

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    p

    we love our stay the guest service was great id like to mention our maid in room 539 and marvin who filled our fridge love them both

    Reviewed by pat on Mar 02, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    we had an awesome time the staff was friendly and and very helpful the rooms need some tlc if your looking for 5 star rooms this is not the place for you but the rest of it was great the grounds were clean the food was good and the staff was great i would go back again

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    J

    We loved our stay BUT the resort is in a very sad condition.

    Reviewed by Judelie on Mar 01, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    Tryp Cayo Coco is an excellent location BUT in very poor repair. Most days our units were without hot water. Some of our group had to move because of washroom problems & flooding. Bath towels were replaced daily but unfortunately some were stained & not in top condition. The bathtubs were stained badly. Bar service was very slow sometimes & acceptable sometimes. The two a la carte we attended were excellent. The buffet was the best I have had in Cuba but could have a little better variety from day to day. Serving staff were super, I cannot complement them enough. Our rep did not have much time at the hotel. When I went to verify wheelchair service it was the rep from another airline that answered my questions. I travel with a great group of people and we determined to make the best of conditions and have a very fun filled vacation and stay positive but having said that I am sad to say I cannot recommend this resort to anyone at this time nor would I want to return until major upgrade was done. I do believe the rating needs to be revisited & downgraded accordingly.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    N

    Our stay at TRYP? 8 out of 10

    Reviewed by Noel Pogi3 on Apr 01, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Unbiassed Review Do not ruin your vacation with those negative reviews. Change all of those into possitive attitude. Yes some buildings are old and need repairs. Ours toilet are leaking but we asked our WestJet reps to change our room to a nice one and they did. Some food are repeat. Remember, food makes you fat and sleepy, you don't want to sleep more on your vacation. Eat vegie and fish, they're fresh. Staff are friendly, they don't ask for a tip, it's your choice. But canadians are good tipper. Beach are A1. I'm not a beach lover but I was persuaded to swim. Lots of activities at TRYP, you wont get bored. They have quiet pool as well where you can enjoy relaxing with out the noise of the activities from the larger pool. Cuba loved canada. their #1 business is tourism. 95% are canadians just like home. Bring universal adapter. No WIFI but you can buy 1/2 hour internet for 2.5 pesos just to update FB. Don't waste your time and money FB'ing.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Highly recommend the beach and the people but resort is in major disrepair

    Reviewed by Lana on Feb 19, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    I wanted to write to you to provide some feedback on this facility which is billed as a 4 star resort through your website. I am not privy to how the star rating system works, however, this resort didn’t seem to fit the bill. We purchased the VIP package to take advantage of the extra benefits as we feel our vacations are very important and we want to ensure satisfaction. I’m not sure where to start with the description of what we experienced so I will put it in point form. -The room had mold in the bathroom -There was also mold and mildew on the lamp shade -The electrical outlets were coming out of the wall – some had no face plates and my husband had to hold the cord just so for me to use the blow dryer – also a disturbing and potential dangerous hazard -The fridge had rust on the door -Hot water was sporadic in the shower and all over the resort as we learned -The shower didn’t work when we first checked in however after bringing this to their attention, they fixed that issue -The door to the room didn’t seal properly which resulted in insects throughout the night -Rusty balcony railings and light fixtures coming out of the wall on the balcony -Finish was coming off the inside of the bath tub -Pieces of wood was missing from doorframes and door jams would not seal well -The room was noisy and often we were kept awake by the noise of the entertainment and music. The VIP package was supposed to include a quieter room -We found inconsistencies in the amenities that were in our 3 rooms. For example: Our brother and his wife had a room non VIP privileges that seemed to have a bit of a ‘refresh’ with some paint on the furniture. They also had a bath mat and mats beside their beds. We had none of that and called down for the bath mat -Our furniture showed wear with paint peeling off -All linens – including bath towels had rust stains and beach towels were worn with dark stains -Fire extinguishers were not provided for all floors

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6314 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Friends

    Reviewed by camack65(Halifax, Canada) on Aug 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Small resort but that is what I like. Makes it so much easier finding your way around getting to know your fellow travelers and staff. Having the 2 pools gives you options to participate or have a day to read a book. Great food just enough of selects and the alcartes especially the international are so good. This was my second trip to this resort and will go again

    Fun place

    Reviewed by Kathie M(Ontario, Canada) on Aug 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I wanted to try out another Melia hotel in Cayo Coco as I've been to the Sol a couple of times before. I like the fact that you can visit the sister hotels for free you just have to pay for your transportation, either a taxi or the $5 bus, which is what we did. Took the bus up to Sol Cayo Guillermo for the day, love that! Took the old yellow coupe taxi up to the Sol,I got the lady at the front desk to order that for us, you could walk the beach if you want. TOO hot for me! The Tryp has a couple of busy pools in the middle of the resort with a swim up or rather a walk up bar! It does have stairs with a railing to get into the far pool. Not enough shade around pool. There is also a quiet pool a few buildings over with a mini bar. The beach bar and grill is very nice, service is hit and miss, the food is good but not great, no fries, you have to walk up to snack bar up by the lobby, which doubles as the disco dance place at night. Disco was damaged badly by hurricane, still fixing! The food at buffet was good in morning and supper, fresh cook stations...very busy with line ups , be prepared to wait in line for awhile!! We did find the best waiters at Night and the morning, not all are great. Lots of stairs to get to lobby and buffet but there is a ramp out the back of the snack bar. The alacarts are good and bad. I loved the Italian, great service and food was excellent. The International was ok. We couldnt get into the others, which brings me to the irritating line up in the morning in the lobby, this woman clearly needs a better system or learn how to do the bookings better!! So annoying wasting our time to stand there, so beware! The room was comfortable, not crazy about the tub with shower, my Mom and daughter had walk in showers. The bed was a little hard. I dont like rooms with adjoining doors, you can hear everything! Lobby bar has good drinks and sandwiches for late night snack. LOVE the beach however not enough huts, they should build a few more. We went to the cave disco which is only on certain nights , talk to the entertainment staff about that, it was well worth it if you like to dance to good club music and all you can drink for $25CUC. We had fun here and will be back again soon the night entertainment was very good ... my opinion!

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3

    Very Nice Resort

    Reviewed by Debbie E(Brampton, Canada) on Aug 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Worth your money. The food is plentiful even with the abundance of vacationers there. Food for all tastes, vegetarian, vegan, gluten free, normal. Had no issues except with the beer that the bar serves and the abundance of vacationers. The beer you get in the restaurants is the good beer, bar beer is not good in my opinion. Rooms are great, we didn't pay for ocean view and good thing we didn't because the room had a slight ocean view, YAHOO! THE BEACH IS EXCELLENT. THE BEACH GOES FOR MILES SO IF YOU LIKE TO BE ALONE YOU CAN, YOU'RE JUST NOT CLOSE TO THE BAR. WE BRING A GOOD FOOD QUALITY LARGE CONTAINER FOR EACH OF US AND GET IT FILLED UP. Next time we will not chose all inclusive as we are not drinking much anymore and we eat little so then the amount of people should be less. We are in our 60's. ???

    Not enough Rum to make this resort worth it

    Reviewed by Carrie Y(Orillia, Canada) on Aug 06, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Went to this resort in March 2019. This resort has been recommended numerous times to me in the past and so it was on my bucket list of places to go. Unfortunately the 2018 hurricane caused extensive damage. All of the negative thoughts I have on this place is for the most part due to the fact that resort just simply hasnt had the time or resources to rebuild to meet a travellors expectations. This was my 11th time to Cuba and by far the worst hotel I'd stayed at. Although, many...not all... the staff did a great job to still attempt to please their patrons. Day 1, we got a room on an upper floor right beside the outdoor theater. The hurricane destroyed the part of the building used as a disco, and therefore it was held outside at the snack bar, and our room faced that as well. We tried it for one night and woke up to a gagging smell of raw sewage. There was no issue changing rooms The air conditioner wasn't too cool. The beds were awful. We didn't get beer in our fridge only water.The beach has little shade. The palapas were taken in the storm. The Food in Cuba is usually tolerable, but this place was the worst I've experienced. The beach bar is a table service. It was really time consuming to eat but the food there was better than the buffet. The buffet was horrible. Cold dinner every night. Also - Cayo Coco is a beautiful spot with lovely beaches but really nothing to do. There is a small mall/market about 10 min walk away I highly recommend any of the Iberostar Resorts!!

    Resort Needs Work

    Reviewed by Jings1952() on Jul 28, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I used to go to the Tryp,but the last few years it has declined. 3 vacations ago at the Tyrp,it was so bad I got them to fly me home to Canada after 4 days. Just about a week ago,I walked along the beach and checked out the Tryp.(July 19th) It was quiet,not any tourists on the beach. The small pool had a Cuban family,drinking and enjoying their own private party. No one else seemed to be staying there. The big pool was full of Cuban locals,boozing & partying. There behaviour was scandalous, mid afternoon,there were a couple of locals,getting it on at the side of the party pool. Apart from the locals the place was deserted. Few Russians. The upper level reception has been renovated,looks like a cafeteria. I had lunch at the buffet,food was rubbish. Please note that any Tryp Hotel Pics, bear no resemblance to the renovated building.No big wooden roof.No beach restaurant. Quiet pool bar is closed,staff are miserable. Both pools looked filthy. Would I go there on vacation. Absolutely not.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX