Playa Vista Mar

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    L

    Buyer beware!

    Reviewed by Love on Mar 04, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Single

    BUYER BEWARE! Horrible hotel for Young girls to travel, Staff is unprofessional and inappropriate. Hotel is in the middle of no where, keep in mind there is no nearby hospital in case of emergency. The rooms :had big beetles that would creep in and the bathroom smelt like sewer and poor plumbing, sheets were stained and dirty, the double lock on the room can be opened by the key and hotel staff.The Food: The buffet food was always the same, a mystery meat that they would have each day and a recycled salad bar filled with little fruit flies. Only good thing was breakfast. Drinks: Tasted like dirty water. Go to any other resort but this one

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    J

    Nice modern hotel.. terrible service

    Reviewed by Jhanson on Jan 07, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    Very modern beautiful place amazing beaches. Now the downside. We stayed from dec 26-to Jan 2nd. First few days we good..then took a turn for the worse.. if u dont speak Spanish ur ignored. I speak a little enough to get by and still was ignored. Getting food at the buffet was a struggle my 3 year was push knocked to the grown and had her plate knocked out of her had numerous times. Buffet is insane we basically lived at the snack bar which was supposed to be 24/7.. but ran out of everything and half the time they would just tell u sorry no food come back in half hour to an hour. But yet watched them hand out food to Cubans and other guest they favored. The Cubans are allowed on the resort and it got insane they got into the restaurants with out reservations, they hired to the beginning on the lines . They just go around behind the counters and talk to the chefs and they get served first. 50 mons in line for pasta which is already cooked!! We went at 8 and it open at 7 and all the stations were shut down. Sorry no more food.. it's open till 10. Getting service to get drinks were a nightmare we ended up buying our own and drinking in the room or making bbn our own drinks. The staff ignore you. We are tippers and they still dont come back around. I've been to Cuba 6 times and it's the worst service I've ever experienced. And talking with other Canadians they were having the same problems we were.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 476 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Awesome Vacation

    Reviewed by salsa249() on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We have been to Cuba many times and i have to say Cayo Santa Maria is my favourite. The Grand Aston is a very modern new looking resort, very clean and well kept grounds. The rooms are very clean and were never missing anything. The entertainment staff Calderon, Luis, David, Leandro, Dana, Luis2 and Danger at the resort wer amazing. Always smilling and always made sure your were having a great time. they worked so hard to engage everyone in the activites. The staff at the reception desk was always so helpfull. Especially Junette who was always so kind and ready to help and always welcomed you with a smile. The servers in the buffet area were great espcially Rosmay who was our server for the week and was always ready for us and went out oif his way to accomoadte our larger group. The only downfall was that the buffet was lacking variety and could have used a pasta station and a fish station. Overall this was by far the best vacation and we would definetly go back.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Not a pleasant vacation

    Reviewed by antonella698(Montreal, Canada) on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    We just got back from a one week vacation. We stayed at bungalow 1. Please be advised that there are bed bugs at the resort. The rooms were not cleaned properly. Stains on towels and bed sheets. Bad odours. I would not recommend anyone to go to this resort. The food was terrible. It was always cold. Stale bread. The resort was full of locals.

    AMAZING VACATION

    Reviewed by vacationingismylife() on Aug 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We have been to Cuba several times and by far this vacation was the most memorable one for our family. Our group consisted of adults, teens, and young children, and we must say we had an AMAZING time. A special shout out to the entertainment crew, Calderon, Luis, David, Leandro, Dana, Luis2 and Danger who made our vacation so much fun. Their hard work and determination to ensure the guests at the resort had a great time did not go unnoticed. Their contagious smiles and over the top energy made us feel as part of the Cuban family. We will definitely be coming back just to see our wonderful friends. I would like to comment on a couple of your servers. Rosmay, who was our waiter at the Buffet for several nights and Lady who was our waitress at the a la cart restaurant. I have not met anyone who enjoys their jobs more than these two people. Thank you for your constant smiles, gracious attitude and for making us feel welcomed. The service at the front desk was exceptional. Everyone was organized and quick. A special thank you to Junette who addressed all our questions and made sure that we were all well taken care of. Our rooms were very clean, and did not lack anything.Towels were readily available, mini bar fully stocked on a daily basis, and our room was spotless. We did notice that the food was very limited and lacked variety. There was no fish and could have used a pasta station. Other than that everything was amazing. Thank you my Cuban Friends for an unforgettable vacation.

    12 days in hell

    Reviewed by lucille H() on Jul 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    We booked the VIP section of the Grand Aston we arrived at 11:30 PM and were told the VIP section was closed but they would give us a suite in the general population. The room was not cleaned and prepared for us it clearly was not used for a long time. There was a black film everywhere even the toilet seat. When I removed the sheets off the bed the mattress cover had a big yellow stain in the middle. The next day we went to breakfast and realized we were one of a handful of tourist the rest about 200 were locals (based on what the check-in agent said) I like the Cubans have been there many times and always found them warm and friendly which is why we go back. The locals' book rooms for two or three days and they can have as many as 10 in a room. They are clearly determined to consume and take away as much food from the buffet as they can. They are organized like a military operation and the children are their biggest weapons. They will enter the buffet and each one has a mission the grab as much of a product as they can-one to the deserts another to the meat and so on. This will continue until they have eaten as much as they can and packed as much as they can carry. Bowls of butter would be dumped in a bag. What little bread was there would quickly disappear so much food that we could not even get to would be left half-eaten on the tables. I tried to get a scoop of ice cream one day it was impossible each one who gets up to the buckets fills for a multiple of people and more just keep pushing in. The children would run back and forth to the buffet sometimes tasting the food and putting it back or taking spoon fulls of rice-pudding with the serving spoon before filling their bowls. There were times the scene was so ridiculous we just started laughing convinced no one would believe us. Other times the pushing and aggression needed to get some food almost drove me to tears-this was not what I paid for. The adults would throw their drinks in the pool as they surrounded the pool bar. It was hard to get a drink of water because I did not want to get in the water. The pool water was murky and we never saw it cleaned. Many of the amenities were limited or cancelled the gym opened from 9 to 5 due to low season. Jazz bar closed and so on we heard "it is low season" excuse so many times. If we were advised the VIP section was not opened we would have gone somewhere else. I am now working with Sunwing and RBC to get a refund I was robbed of my money and my vacation.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-1

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-1

    Nice hotel and very good first time experience in Cuba and our hotel, July 2019

    Reviewed by Vacation115284() on Jul 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    It was our first visit to Cuba. We chose Santa Clara because of a lot of good feedback about this area. My husband couldn't go with us, so I went with 2 of my kids and I was looking for safe place, not very crowded or very noisy, and I've got it. The hotel name is Grand Aston (the old name is Playa Vista Mar). We stayed July 13-July 20, 2019. It was not high season, so it was not crowded at all and we loved it! WE LOVED OUR STAY in this hotel and in Santa Clara. What I love the most about this place and hotel: 1. SEE, SAND, BLUE SKY, PALM TREES, flowers....!!! Sea was very warm, the water was clear, we saw the bottom when we were swimming. And it's not deep and no rocks, no seaweed, so very clean and good for kids. Sand is nice white coloured, the sky is deep blue colour. Everything is so bright, colorful and warm!!! I love colours there!!! And missing them a lot right now. 2. Very safe and friendly! In the room there was a safe where we put money and passports. The rest of the stuff we just left in the room and had no doubt that it was safe. We usually left money and phones on loungers (sun beds) when we swam in the sea or pool and never worried about their safety. 3. The room were clean and well maintained.Our maid was wonderful! She made for us art objects from towels every day!)) The plugs are adapted for North America, so we even didn't need adapter to charge our phones. 4. The hotel is new and clean. All staff are friendly and helpful. 5. Food. Before we went to Cuba I've read/head a lot of reviews about poor food there. So now my personal experience about food. It was the same variety of food every day. BUT, the food is NATURAL, it tastes REAL! Our favorite was: NATURAL milk (taste of my childhood), NATURAL chicken (taste of my childhood too, definitely no antibiotics...), bacon - the best I've ever tried, GOOD Cuban coffee, tasty chicken and seafood soup for lunch, king shrimps and calamari rings for lunch, sweet tasty fruits (we loved sweet and juicy watermelon, honey melon, mango, pineapple and bananas, No need to tell that they are different from ours and much more tastier than ours. There were also papayas and guavas, also tasty, but that not my type of fruits). Very delicious fresh made juice from your choice of fruits (and in that case papayas and guavas was right what you need in your juice). For lunch and dinner you can choose beer or wine. My kids love cola, that was much different from ours and is made from real canned sugar. I usually don't drink pop, but their cola was REALLY GOOD and I loved it. And delicious meringue! We all love it!!! So my conclusion about food (its all IMHO): it is natural and good for your health even though not much variety. Even burgers in Snack bar was healthy)) And healthy COLA)). Definitely the quality of food is better and more healthy that in North America. I think that is no need to bring your own seasoning or food (we didn't take it, but a lot of people were suggesting us to bring our own seasoning, good that we didn't take space in our luggage for this useless stuff). It's all IMHO, but we like it there. 6. There was 2 hours of complementary WiFi for each person which was enough to call our family and post some photos)) We didn't buy extra WiFi, even kids didn't want it. So phone detox was good for all of us. 7.There is a 24h Snack bar, which was very helpful especially when we arrived late at night. 8. Bar at the pool and at lobby was good. 9. We had a mini bar in our room, with free pop and beer which was refilled every day. 10. The weather was good, there was no rain. Though we were very afraid that it can be rain or storm. 11. There was a kids club in the hotel with the separate pool. If you going with kids there are 2 very shallow pools for kids, plus that one pool in the kids club.Hotel totally kids and family friendly! 12. We also loved ride on sail catamarans. I WANT DEFINITELY COME BACK TO THIS HOTEL WITH MY HUSBAND and KIDS NEXT TIME)) P.S. Big thanks also to our gardener (the elder person who was mostly working by building 3), he made for all of us nice flowers and grasshopper for my 6 y.o. from palm trees leaves. He didn't speak English, but was very nice!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX