Playa Vista Mar

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    L

    Buyer beware!

    Reviewed by Love on Mar 04, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Single

    BUYER BEWARE! Horrible hotel for Young girls to travel, Staff is unprofessional and inappropriate. Hotel is in the middle of no where, keep in mind there is no nearby hospital in case of emergency. The rooms :had big beetles that would creep in and the bathroom smelt like sewer and poor plumbing, sheets were stained and dirty, the double lock on the room can be opened by the key and hotel staff.The Food: The buffet food was always the same, a mystery meat that they would have each day and a recycled salad bar filled with little fruit flies. Only good thing was breakfast. Drinks: Tasted like dirty water. Go to any other resort but this one

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    J

    Nice modern hotel.. terrible service

    Reviewed by Jhanson on Jan 07, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    Very modern beautiful place amazing beaches. Now the downside. We stayed from dec 26-to Jan 2nd. First few days we good..then took a turn for the worse.. if u dont speak Spanish ur ignored. I speak a little enough to get by and still was ignored. Getting food at the buffet was a struggle my 3 year was push knocked to the grown and had her plate knocked out of her had numerous times. Buffet is insane we basically lived at the snack bar which was supposed to be 24/7.. but ran out of everything and half the time they would just tell u sorry no food come back in half hour to an hour. But yet watched them hand out food to Cubans and other guest they favored. The Cubans are allowed on the resort and it got insane they got into the restaurants with out reservations, they hired to the beginning on the lines . They just go around behind the counters and talk to the chefs and they get served first. 50 mons in line for pasta which is already cooked!! We went at 8 and it open at 7 and all the stations were shut down. Sorry no more food.. it's open till 10. Getting service to get drinks were a nightmare we ended up buying our own and drinking in the room or making bbn our own drinks. The staff ignore you. We are tippers and they still dont come back around. I've been to Cuba 6 times and it's the worst service I've ever experienced. And talking with other Canadians they were having the same problems we were.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 404 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Hotel Playa Vista Mar

    Reviewed by kristinhubley(Nova Scotia, Canada) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This is an amazing resort with wonderful staff! Everything is new, the rooms are beautiful, food is great, staff are so friendly and fun! The pool bartenders off great service and are very entertaining, the grill at the pool has delicious food, we were served lunch at the beach and it was so good! And the entertainment staff are excellent!!!! Jesus, Gaby, Dana, Miguel, just to name a few, are full of fun! They organize great games, are very nice to the kids and have entertained us all week!! They have made our trip so much more fun!! The girls at the kids club were awesome too! We couldn’t ask for a better time, everything has been perfect! We will definitely come back!

    Great!

    Reviewed by Sydney R() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Had a wonderful time best entertainment team around!! Been to lots of resorts and this one is definitely the most fun, Jesus is my favourite he’s amazing at his job and really nice to look at ;) But over all would definitely recommend!

    Amasing BUT

    Reviewed by Sylvie C() on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We do like this place, and after 4 trips in 4 years, the resort is nice, but it is overpriced generally.My last trip in Jan. 13 2019 there were no beach towels, for 4 days, but we went to the customer service and they provided two towels as if by magic.. Little problems with the électricity on and off for some hours or even some days at some building.People asked to change the room but is not nécessary beacuse it is temporary.The playa is very nice,buffet a la playa is clean with good service and food has variety. the Principal buffet is the same . fantastic animation,big lobby ,bar has good service,rooms are clean ,comfortable .This is my second review this year, my first review for this place, for some reason was not published . But in general you will not be dissapointed .

    Hotel Playa Vista Mar Amazing!

    Reviewed by Experience627719() on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We just returned from Playa Vista Mar and had a wonderful time! Just wanted to acknowledge the Animation team (Gaby, Dana, Jesus, Rafael and Luis) they were amazing, fun and took care of us. We will miss their smiles and positive energy! We loved spending the week with you guys and hope to cross paths again. We also want to give a shout out to Manuel our waiter at the buffet. He was always willing to help. The resort is beautiful and very clean! The gardens were impeccable and the gardeners always made grasshoppers out of leaves for our kids. It was very sweet. The beach is breathtaking and lots of lounge chairs. The pools are also very clean and the bartenders were super friendly. Chino made the best mojito!! The lobby bar was great too. We definitely recommend the resort and would come back in a heartbeat. We love you Playa Vista Mar! Kisses from Portugal ??

    Best Family Trip!!

    Reviewed by Andreia C() on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Our family of 9 travelled here for the week and we had a FABULOUS time! The staff were all so attentive and always asking if everything was okay or if we needed anything. The rooms are well maintained and always clean and the fridge was well stocked. The buffet and restaurants were fine, there was always something we liked and enjoyed. The waitstaff were always amazing, especially Manuel. He always made sure that we were well taken care of. The beach was beautiful, and perfect for our kids to swim. It was clean and we always had chairs to sit under a cabana. The pool was a lot of fun in the afternoons, as the entertainment always had the crowd going. JESUS, LUÍS, DANA, RAFAEL and GABI were AMAZING! They always had everyone involved and ready to have fun!! We all had an amazing time!!! -Andreia, Nathaniel & Ezra

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX