Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    G

    Great Stay.

    Reviewed by Great Hotel on May 30, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    It is a remote location, so if you want to travel 50 minutes or more to towns be prepared. If however you plan to stay on resort its perfect. Easy walk to all venues. The beach is not easily accessible if you are mobility impaired. That being said, the sand and water are beautiful. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, they take pride in the resort and Country.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    B

    Great value, fantastic beach, friendly resort staff and locals.

    Reviewed by Brent H on Jan 13, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    Our family 4 couples had a great vacation here from December 28 to January 4th. The weather was great, the hotel was good value and the beach was awesome. Westjet flights were pretty much on time and great service. Hotel is a solid 3.5 to 4 stars. Food was good, very good if you waited for freshly made and the New Year's Eve buffet was great! Service was great and a la carte restaurants were a nice change from the buffets. Nice pools and good overall resort. Catamaran excursion and Remedios/Santa Clara city tour were great.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    D

    ce fut l un de mes plus beau voyage ...

    Reviewed by Diane on Mar 22, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Friends

    Nous avons aimé visité votre hôtel ..le seul commentaire c,est qu'étant donné les nombreux visiteurs ils fallait souvent faire la file pour aller se servir au buffet ,et au bar il manquait souvent de bière au début de l'après-midi ,mais en général nous sommes très contents de notre semaine de vacances et je le recommanderais n'importe quand ...merci aux personnel courtois et chaleureux..aux sourires et à votre belle humeur..vous êtes des gens sympathiques qu'on a le goût de revoir...Aux gens des spectacles BRAVO BRAVO BRAVO VOUS ÊTES EXTRA......vous avez beaucoup de talent....merci merci et merci xxxxx

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 7735 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Unfortunate incidents made a week vacation unforgetable!

    Reviewed by RoseF205() on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    It was my first time vacationing in Cuba. I arrived with my sister and a few friends. My sister had been 9 times and set my expectations. Needless to say, I wasn't expecting what occurred. We stayed from April 2 until April 9th. The hotel is aesthetically pleasing and the beach is one of the most beautiful I have ever seen. I was prepared that the food would not be a highlight, but I was not prepared that I couldn't stomach anything. The drinks were very much watered down. And the staff was not professional. We were there when the local Cuban's came for the weekend. We were told that there was a concert from a famous Cuban musician playing and then by noon, they had moved the venue. The Cubans brought large ziplock bags and literally filled them with the buffet food leaving barely any food for the guests. In addition to not having food available, there was also no alcohol. The night was not quiet since the locals partied and fights broke out during all hours. The staff treated us poorly and didn't go out of their way to compensate. There were many incidents that contributed to the reason I will never return to this particular hotel. In brief, a server from the restaurant was sexually inappropriate to one of the women in our group. There was also no security to be found. I had an item stolen from my room. When I spoke to the housekeeping staff, I asked that they return it before I left and I would not report it. The night before I left it was found behind the curtains. Also, the evening before our 6 am bus pick up we made arrangements with the front desk to have someone pick up our luggage at 5:30 am for us. Instead, we were given a wake-up call at 5:35 am and when asked that we needed someone to get our luggage from the third floor, we were told: "he is busy". It is the only vacation that I have returned home sick and down 7lbs. I do not recommend spending your time and money here. There are so many other beautiful beaches to explore!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-2

    Great getaway.... went back a second time!!!

    Reviewed by 403cheryls(Ottawa, Canada) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Love Cayo Santa Maria!! Beautiful clear sandy beach. Stayed at the Playa Cayo Santa Maria Feb 21-28 with my husband and returned Apr. 4-11 for a girls trip. Hotel is beautiful, grounds and gardens well maintained. Several pools to choose from. Pools are clean with lots of lounge chairs. Bartenders at the pools are wonderful, loved that they took the time to get to know you and what you liked to drink!!! Rooms clean, bathroom clean and large, rooms well laid out. Beds good. Great view and location of rooms on both stays. Stayed in building 12 with pool view and building 5 with ocean view. Staff exceptionally friendly and very helpful. Elaine from guest services is an absolute angel. Always smiling, helpful, friendly. Taking her time and attending to all guests and doing her absolute best to make their stay enjoyable!! Can’t wait to see her again!! Emily in the lobby bar.... always smiling and makes the best breakfast mimosas ( especially with pink champagne ;-) ). Loved chatting with her everyday. So pleasant and friendly. Robbie from the Cuban restaurant and Gin Bar... best cucumber gin and tonics... very refreshing after a full day at the beach!!! This restaurant and bar is hidden towards the front of the hotel past guest check in desk... they should put signs up... the food their is amazing and the wait staff very pleasant and cheerful!! The BBQ restaurant is great for lunch and even better at dinner.. the chef Lachi ( sorry if misspelled) and waiter Fredericko are fabulous... food is incredible. The food and service at the Romantico restaurant was great during our visit in Feb. however was not so great in April. Less choices of food there on our second visit. Staff more interested in speaking with each other in a corner rather than tending to the guests. Italian restaurant was great, service very good. Snack bar was good, noticed improved service during the day during our April visit. The coffee bar is a great place for great coffee... lots to choose from. Be sure to check out the cigar cart.. can’t miss it, the gentleman wearing the hat with the big cigar will educate you an the wide variety of cigars ... great prices!! Entertainment was great. Seating in the lobby was a bit of an issue in Feb. They have increased the number of tables and chairs which has helped. Met so many great people here and made some new friends!! Looking forward to our next visit. We will be returning next year.

    Amazing Beach

    Reviewed by steve b(Spruce Grove, Canada) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    1st off let me say, you are going to a 3rd world country, get your expectations in check. The hotel itself is nice, found the staff to be very helpful and never had any rudeness. Our 1st room had no working a/c, tried having it fixed a few times, when it couldn't be fixed they moved us to an ocean view room. Wow! Food is ok, but again it's a 3rd world country and Cuba isn't know for the food. Was always something to eat. Buffet was ok, didn't like the Italian al a carte, but the Japanese was amazing. Chefs put on an amazing show. Also the 24 hour snack shack was awesome. Hotdogs, burgers and fries were really good. It's a fairly spread out resort, so lots of walking. That do have shuttles all over. Unfortunately they only had night time shows for the last couple of nights, but seems like they were back into full swing as we left. Highly recommend the catamaran excursion. If you are looking for a party resort, this is not the place. Very laid back and quiet. All in all a great place to lay back on the beautiful beach and enjoy some good rum and drinks. Highly recommend trying to get into building 7 or 9. Oh and huge props to George in the ice bar. That man knows how to make an amazing Gin and tonic.

    First Family Vacation Ruined

    Reviewed by Justine B(Windsor, Canada) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    We stayed from April 2 until April 9. The first time travelling with our 7 year old son,; and he was oh so excited. Well let me tell you that the first 3 days were okay. We thoroughly enjoyed the beach and the staff was great until.... Friday a Cuban concert was supposed to be held on our beach. All of Cuba was bussed to stay at our resort. And the nightmare begins. The local Cubans took over EVERYTHING. There were no seats nor food in the snackbar and the service through these last 3 days was horrendous. We were overlooked and always served last. The staff catered to the locals that were on site. The pool was a disaster. Beer was being dumped into the pools, as was ice cream cones, ice cream bars, popsicle sticks, wrappers , garbage, beer cups; even lounge chairs were being thrown into the pool near our seven year old son and nothing was being done about this. The pool was gross. the ice cream stand... our son would wait to get an ice cream in line like he was taught, yet all of the Cubans never once stood in the line, would cut into the front leaving with 6 ice creams at a time. My husband could not get a drink at the pool bar or the beer garden as there was generally no room. The Cubans partied until 5 am with their doors opened. Keeping the resort up at night making for an extremely miserable time. Last but not least, lets talk about the cold, terrible buffet food. I understand that Cuba is not known for their food but I would not even feed this buffet food to my dog fearing he would get sick. The cockroaches were running rampant in and out of the food that was set out for the buffet and in and out of the warmed pastries. This is the first bad review I have ever had to give. don't get me wrong. the staff works very very hard and they are very nice. Sergio at the lobby bar went above and beyond to try to make us comfortable. In conclusion, for our first relaxing family getaway we were thoroughly disappointed, and wish that we could have a do over with all of the original wonderful reviews that we read about before taking this trip.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-3

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3

    Our 6th enjoyable visit (4.5 *)

    Reviewed by guyandlouiseg(Ottawa, Canada) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My spouse and I resided at the Playa Cayo Santa Maria Hotel (March 13th to 20th). Check in at Hotel was quick and efficient. We were then taken by a hotel staff to our room (electric cart). Our room (3rd floor, block 15) was nice & clean. We enjoyed the view from our room with two double beds. The washroom had a large walk in shower (the shower head was not detachable but it had an excellent even spray (rain shower type) a sink, toilet, hair dryer (the hair dryer has a plug for 110 volts, we charged an electronic item and it worked fine), towel drying rack & a telephone. We had hot water & good water pressure. The lighting in the washroom was bright & modern (lights on sides of main mirror). The wardrobe had two louver type doors: a code lock safe (no charge), umbrella, iron/ironing board, shelves, 1 drawer, 2 spare blankets, wood hangars and a ceiling light. The flat screen TV had approx. 46 channels and worked fine. There was two French channels (RDI & TV5 news), the remaining were a mixture of Spanish & English channels (CTV News, CNN, BBC, movies, TV series…). The air conditioning was powerful/cold. There was a ceiling fan above our bed and it worked fine. Our maid service was excellent; they created different towel ornaments every day of our stay. We had our bathroom items replenished when needed. Our mini fridge was replenished with 1.5 litre of bottled water & a soft drink + 2 beers. A small 1 cup coffee maker was provided. The curtains darkened our room. The balcony had two chairs & a small table. The room doors have a seal at the bottom of the door. This prevented any insects from coming in and diminishes the noise. We attended the Main buffet (indoor & with AC) near the lobby area for our breakfast. For lunch we attended the beach buffet (Rancheon). The food was very good at all the locations we ate: Main buffet: breakfast with eggs, omelets, meats, cheeses, toasts, jams, fresh fruits, croissants/cakes, juices, yogurts, etc… For lunch we always ate at the beach buffet (Rancheon), the buffet is repetitive but you also have the choice of grill cooked: pork, chicken, fish & even steak on some days. At night we attended the A La Carte restaurants and really enjoyed all of them. For the A La Carte restaurants reservations are made ahead of time at the Client services office. We booked the Romantica, Italian, Seafood & Asian. We enjoyed every one of the A la Carte restaurants. The appetizers, main courses, house wine & deserts were just all delicious & the service we received was excellent. The service at the bars was excellent and everyone received their service with a smile. There were many washrooms on the grounds and well located. Near the beach, we used the Beach buffet building washrooms. All washrooms we accessed were kept clean and had the items needed. There is a gym, which I visited and found that most of the exercise equipment had a BROKEN note on them (treadmills, elliptical, stair master). Only 4 of them were operational: one treadmill, one stair climber & two stationary bicycles. I hope they will have them repaired before our next visit. Again, I had Swedish massages at the Hotel spa (with *Daily*) and they were very relaxing. There are many pools at this resort. We went to a few of them and found them to be clean. They had a bar at most of them with many long chairs available. The location of the Hotel is ideal for beach walkers. You can walk East or West for long distances with no restrictions. We usually got to the beach early (08:30 hrs.) and we were always able to obtain long chairs under a palapa. The beach is beautiful. The sand is white, fine and the water is a clear turquoise (blueish/green). Of all the locations/countries we visited during our travels we find the Cayo Santa Maria beach to be the nicest (white sand & usually calm Ocean). This time it was a little windy and the ocean was agitated for half of the days of our stay. We did not attend any night shows. Internet access in the Main lobby was free (7 hours each) for the duration of our stay. We obtained cards/passwords from the telephone/internet office free of charge. Internet access (lobby area) is slower in the evening. The guests are mostly from Canada and a few from Europe. All were pleasant and respectful of others. The hotel is quiet, no loud music/noise at night. The paths/walkways are all well-lit at night. The hard working hotel personnel are all wonderful, friendly and pleasant; they give you very good service with a smile. Near the reception desk, there is a small souvenir shop and a money exchange counter. At this hotel the Client Services personnel that we dealt with *Marta* was just exceptional. We advised Marta of 2 non-functioning lights in our room and she had them verified/replaced quickly. The quality of service we received was remarkable friendly and always well explained and to our satisfaction. There are many gardeners working hard to keep the grounds beautiful with the many flowers/landscape ornaments/shrubs/trees. My spouse and I strongly recommend this hotel. We are planning on returning in a near future since we had another (6th time) relaxing vacation with excellent service. We are rating this visit at 4.5 since most of the gym equipment was not operational. We hope it will be repaired/replaced for our next visit.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX