Occidental Cozumel

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    n

    Disappointing, badly managed resort

    Reviewed by nellikapro on Jan 27, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    Worst resort experience in Mexico by far - been to this part of the country just about every winter in the past decade. Incredibly poorly managed. Changed 3 rooms in the first 24 hours - 4 of us were housed in a ONE KING BED room: 2 adults, a teenager - paying FULL PRICE - and a 7-yr old; second option was 2 DOUBLE beds - not queen, uncomfortable for two adults. Ended up sleeping with the young one in a king bed, and a roll-out bed for the teenager - worst sleep ever. Had room for only half the clothing in the small closet which is in the bathroom, BTW. Bell boy brought someone else's purse to our room; while our 5 suitcases went missing. Eventually discovered who knows where - not at front desk, nor storage room. Staff were unmotivated and indifferent, nice sometimes but mostly seemed burdened and rarely smiled. I don't necessarily blame them - they must be dealing with unsatisfied guests all the time. Exceptions: Carolina, Chrystal, Olegario, Sonya, Jesus, Edgar. Long wait for service ALL AROUND: front desk; beach towels - self service most times; at buffets: to be seated, order, be served, refills; a la carte: once waited 45 min for appetisers, 90 min for main; bars - especially at pool/beach. Have never seen such poor variety of food choice in Mexico; especially the fruits and veggies. Though, most cooked fare and a la carte food were tasty. Once we had a la carte reservation, but the restaurant was closed. Some of the timeshare people are duplicitous, annoying and cocky - especially the project managers. Beautiful grounds and beach, lots of potential; but not under the current management. Will not return.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 5799 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Hotel good for divers

    Reviewed by Twywn(Atlanta, Georgia) on Dec 17, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We went in mid November, and despite some windy weather where the harbor was closed a couple of days was an overall success. The resort is at the end of the island away from town but perfect for divers since it's only a short boat ride to the diving. There is an on site dive shop and several other dive shops pick up on the pier. The rooms were larger than some of the other hotels we've stayed at and had a shower and a tub. There were plenty of outlets to use for charging cameras, phones, tablets, etc. The rooms were kept quite clean even if maid service seemed to be at different times on different days. There is a shop on site for forgotten essentials but it seemed to be priced pretty steeply even for a resort. Several times they were late opening or getting back from lunch. Maybe the posted hours are just a suggestion. The food was good with a decent amount of variety but not extensive The best buffet was lunch by the beach which seemed to have the best service and variety. The Mexican restaurant and the Italian was good but not excellent. The seafood restaurant was quite good. The continental breakfast buffet was more extensive than you would expect. Not just early risers but divers and triathletes were there every morning during our stay. The main buffet service seemed uneven. For example the bread was out first thing in the morning for toast but the butter did not show up until much later. And the service was the same - coffee might show up right away but you would have to wait til you asked two or three times to get someone to bring you milk for it. The grounds were clean and well maintained. The iguanas are entertaining and clearly in control. The adult pool area has it's own bar but could use more loungers. It was full every day. You don't need to get up at dawn, but if you dawdle, there are no loungers left by 8 or so. The "activity" pool music was overly loud - you could not hear your companions over it. Wifi was not included. I read on the website you could sign up for their loyalty program and get free wi-fi but that was not honored at the hotel - you only get it if you BOOK on their web site and sign up for the loyalty program. I felt that was deceptive. All in all a good value but good be a great one if there was a little more attention to the details

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    hotel occidental Cozumel

    Reviewed by James B(England, Oppland, Norway) on Dec 17, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    14 days at Hotel Occidental, Island of Cozumel Mexico. This is a very well designed hotel, set in tropical forest. Rooms spacious, three or four restaurants on site. The island is ideal for scuba diving as it surrounded by reefs and protected areas, Much of the island is a nature reserve. Weather is always hot, 30C daytime in November. Visitors from northern climes MUST wear a hat and apply factor 50. You can explore the island on organised tours or you can rent a bike or jeep. Anti mosquito spray essential anywhere outside the hotel. Safe swimming near the hotel which is on the sheltered west side of the island. Swimming from the east coast not advisable.Nearest airport is Cancun. You should book transfers to the ferry terminal at Playa Carmen with a reputable company. Taxi fare is about USD50 each way. One of the highlights of the trip was the amazing birdsong at dawn and at sunset-and watching the igunanas!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    relaxing time,

    Reviewed by mitchell688() on Dec 16, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Room was great, clean and up kept well, food was very good, hotel was a lot of fun, a little off the beaten path 20-25 minutes away from the central town, no wifi included for some reason without additional cost. beaches and views were superb. Taxi cost were a bit high to get back to town from here. $15-35 each way depending on time of day. The shows at night were very fun. The staff eager to please. all in all a great time to be had.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Great place to dive in Cozumel

    Reviewed by Mginsberg101(Vallejo, California) on Dec 16, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Great place to dive in Cozumel. The staff in the dive shop and dive guides are professional and go out of their way. The resort is a fantastic value. Staff is exceptional and the food is better than most all-inclusive.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Getaway from winter Nov 30-Dec1

    Reviewed by C K(Ottawa, Canada) on Dec 16, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Beautiful resort, friendly staff, good food, comfortable room on 3rd floor of building #15. None of the rooms have waterfront view - the resort is not large so all amenities are close. We did not opt for Royal or time share accommodation, so at times felt like 2nd class guests as we could not have breakfast at the beach restaurant and couldn't access the outdoor hot tub in the royal suites and had to pay for internet, etc. We were bothered upon our arrival by timeshare reps who are rather persistent. The pools and beach are great and there were plenty of chairs, except at times around the adult only pool. There is a boardwalk to get to the beach through a mangrove area. Buffets offered variety and our favourite was the beach buffet for lunch. We enjoyed a snorkelling trip arranged at the resort with ALBERTOS and rented bikes through SOMBREROS - Roger was reliable and the bikes decent. We cycled to Punta Sur and into the park. A good experience overall and we would return.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX