Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca

2.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 2 and 3 stars. 2 star - Budget accommodation with limited facilities and services. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    M

    AMAZING stay, wonderful people, beyond stunning beaches!

    Reviewed by Mparragh on Feb 13, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    LOVED LOVED Club Amigo! Awesome value for your dollar. absolutely STUNNING beaches, very clean, friendly staff, relaxing atmosphere. Would definitely make this my annual vacation spot!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    j

    great staff / great beaches /great food & entertainment

    Reviewed by june on Dec 15, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2018

    Trip Type: Single

    staff is excellent --my personal thanks to Pablo (westjet rep) for helping find my luggage & suggestion for excursions, also Inglvis (reception) very knowledgeable, always smiling and helpful & to Elias (reception) for helping me find my luggage --all staff goes out of their way to help and beach is superb--water pressure in main bldg is low at times but many reno's going on so am sure this will be fixed--i will be back

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    P

    2019 is my 7th year would not go if its no good

    Reviewed by Patricia Cotter (muma) on Oct 28, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Single

    It does not matter the location Everything you need is there

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    W

    A place to return to - year after year!

    Reviewed by Wendyni on Jun 05, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Friends

    Great value, unbeatable beach with the added bonus of the public beach right beside it, also other smaller, private beach areas gave beaches a 5** truly deserved way more , several pools with no lack of poolside chairs to choose from, there were enough choices of places to eat we found our favourites and stuck with them, weeded out the places we didn't care for as there was definitely different levels of service and quality of food , hotel staff friendly and most more than happy to accommodate our requests we wanted rooms side by side with friends who arrived a day later than us - the staff made it happen , rooms basic but clean we stayed in the bungalows which were very quiet away from main resort area however steps away from the beach AND the PIRATE BAR. This bar, and it's charming bartender Riggo, was without a doubt the main highlight deserving their own 5**** plus....., many activities at the resort and close by there were two separate places to go for a horseback ride - lovely well kept, well mannered horses With a guide who took the time to explain safety and the basics to my two inexperienced friends, this was exceptional value. This resort, although older, and it's staff deserve better reviews than some I have seen, the number of guests that return year after year cause they love the place, are the real proof - some having stayed 20+ years or more. It was hard to leave, I will return and stay longer next time.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    Think Twice Before Booking!

    Reviewed by Mel_L on Mar 20, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    I visited Club Amigo Atlantico with 3 other people for our March Break. We weren’t expecting anything fancy, as we knew it was a 3-star when booking. However, when looking through the photos on Sunquest and anywhere else, we were extremely disappointed with the first room we were given Standard upon our arrival. The room can be compared to a military bunker or worse . It wasn’t clean, it smelled of mould and it was extremely old. I believe these are the first buildings. Some standards look great on the outside new paint job . It simply wasn’t sanitary and I don’t know how this hotel can place anyone in these rooms. We then asked for another room and were put in their tropical section, which was better and cleaner. Still not like the photos online. Unfortunately, the resort charges per day for any room changes as it is considered an upgrade. We then upgraded again and ended up in the villas #9, to be exact . Now this room was what they showed in the photos. Beautiful room compared to what else they give travelers . The food was pretty good, all things considered. Yes, it’s bland, but they please every palate this way. Add some salt & pepper, bring your own spice and make it enjoyable for you. They offer à la carte options Mediterranean, Italian, Cuban, Seafood , which all have great options. However, those who chose Italian weren’t very impressed. I do recommend the Cuban; it was really good. We also did Mediterranean and if it wasn’t for my overcooked and dried out chicken, it was delicious. If we had to choose a destination in Holguin, Club Amigo Atlantico would not be on our list. Although we had a lovely vacation after changing rooms, we were extremely disappointed with the amount we had initially paid for this hotel only to get a dirty room . We ended up having to pay an extra $300 approximately, to get the room we expected to get the one shown in photos . We would have booked elsewhere had the photos properly reflected what we would receive as a room.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    A

    Far better than many reviews !!

    Reviewed by A happy vacationer on Mar 05, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    We had always avoided this resort as there were so many bad reviews but this year the price was so good for a 2 week vacation we decided to take it. Well it was great value, yes its certainly not a 5 star but I would certainly book it again. Food was good and the staff friendly,if you expect the food to be as it is in your home then stay home. Its a third world country with hard working friendly people that are happy to see you visit their country.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3272 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    5th year returning to club amigo!!

    Reviewed by staynerboy(Stayner, Canada) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We have returned from club amigo yesterday, april 14 for the 5th time. Marvellous resort with fine service in the dinning rooms and bars. Resort was busy and pretty much full so it was busy in the hotel buffett. Bungalow buffett was not busy as new people hadnt discovered it yet. room was tropical oceanview in the hotel and terrific! Maid service was the best, and they were very pleasant. Beach is the best anywhere in the world and there is a few of them at club amigo my favourite being the shipwreck bar as you feel like your on a deserted island surounded by cliffs and sand with a scuttled ship. some of the things i like best is the price for our 10 days, the food was fantastic, the rooms were clean, the resort is old but looked after and clean and has a homey feeling or lived in feeling you dont get with fancy 5 star hotels, the shrubbery is amazing and full grown which you dont get at a 5 star hotel, lots of pools, if you want to party stay at the main pool , if you want quiet go to the bugalow pool or the old section pool. they are constantly improving the resort. Its not perfect but i feel like im in paradise when im at club amigo. Its the best bang for your buck and i talked to numerous people who have travelled to different hotels in cuba and they all return to club amigo year after year. We shall return to club amigo. Hands down , wonderful resort.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Gorgeous beach ?

    Reviewed by misslissa76(Port Moody, Canada) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    This resort is a mixed bag. It is also the second largest resort in all of Cuba - 4 swimming pools, 2 buffet restaurants (there may have been more), 3 small beaches and 1 large one, 2 lobbies and a seemingly endless collection of villas on the surrounding property. If you want a room with a balcony or patio, make sure you ask for one - the main hotel has no balconies and some of the villas don't either. Our room was in one of the long villas and upon arrival, the following was noted - the room was very dated, but clean, however, there was no mini fridge, no bottled water, no towels and no hairdryer. We were a family of five and had two rooms next to each other - the room next door had no towels, fridge and bottled water either, but did have a hairdryer. Also, room number 2's safe didn't work and the room was meant to sleep 3, but only had two beds. They dragged a third bed into the room and as such, the room was so crowded you could barely move in it. The buffet in the main hotel is cramped, busy and lacks any view - the buffet near the entertainment theatre was classier, less crowded and a more pleasant experience overall. The food at both buffets was good - not great, but good - some days there was no bacon, tomatoes, papaya - but overall we always found something to eat and never went hungry. The resort is also VERY popular with Russian tourists and it should be noted that they are not polite and considerate - they never tip the bartender or the waitresses and they walk around the resort at 2am, being super noisy and with their music blaring. They will also not hesitate to push directly in front of you at the bar, even though you'd been standing there for a while, patiently waiting to order drinks. There is no wifi available in your room, but for 1 peso you can buy a 1 hour internet card from reception and there are various spots on the resort were you can connect to their wifi. One of the pools (the large, Olympic size one) was green upon arrival, but by the end of our stay it had been fixed and was clear again. One of the other pools near the beach was empty and under repair. We spent all of our time at the small beach by the pirate ship bar - just glorious! The sand was powder soft, the ocean was shallow and crystal clear and warm. The bartender at the pirate ship bar was delightful and deserves praise. We took down toys, shoes, cosmetics and stationary for our maid. She was so grateful and left us thank-you notes every day. Her name was Kelly and she was lovely - always smiling and friendly and she did a great job keeping our room clean. When we asked her which item is most valuable to her and the Cuban people, she didn't hesitate to say, "shoes" - so if you're wondering what to take down with you, to help the locals, shoes are much appreciated. We did two excursions: Island Paradise and the Jeep safari. Both were great! The Jeep safari included driving our own jeep through the cuban countryside in a convoy - beautiful scenery! Arrived at a farm and had a tour - got to sample fresh fruit, cheese and peanut brittle - delicious! Drove to the spot where Christopher Columbus first landed in Cuba, watched an Indian show and got to partake in a luck dance. Drove to a gorgeous lookout and had a chicken lunch that was amazing. Then drove to a quiet bay and got to drive speedboats around, which was a lot of fun. The Island Paradise tour was fantastic too - we were picked up at our hotel, driven to Antila and boarded a catamaran, on route to a private island. We stopped in a quiet bay and did snorkeling - the water was clear and warm and there were tons of fishes to look at. Then we went to the private island, which had a spectacular beach and a restaurant were we had a lovely buffet lunch. After lunch we climbed into the back of a safari truck and were taken further onto the island, to view various animals in the wild. We saw Indian cattle, buffalo, zebras, antelope and black pigs - very interesting and beautiful scenery. Then we boarded the catamaran once more and enjoyed music and an open bar, all the way back to the mainland. Our guide was great and answered all our questions. There is a local market, a short walk from the resort and was perfect for buying souvenirs at. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Club Amigo Atlantico. Great beaches, great weather and lovely people ??

    Got a great price

    Reviewed by Bonita M(Sault Ste. Marie Ontario) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Very large spread out hotel. Lots of places to to get breakfast cooked without having to go to the buffet, very clean room and public areas. Must go next door to the pizza place $9 CUC for LARGE PIZZA AND 2 beer. Best pizza have ever had in Cuba. Been to Cuba more then 10 time. Lots of repeat guest that seem to be treated a bit better than first timers to the hotel. Tried booking the alacarte even before we had our room on first day Wednesday only to be told nothing available except one restaurant on Sunday and would have to come back Sunday to book another for the next week as they do not book more than a week in advance. We later heard repeats were given extra alacarte . Forgot to get in line Sunday and when I did go Monday was told nothing available for Monday only option we had was to go Tuesday which was our last day. Both alacarte were good but don't worry about men needing dress pants shorts allowed in both. We go to Cuba for the friendly people, lots of sunshine and to be able to walk the beach. Very disappointed with the beaches although they are beautiful they are contained to small coves longest beach took only about 15 minutes to walk. Don't go here if beach walking is your thing . Also did not realize had booked a standard room and most do not have a balcony. The balcony is very important to us so we paid $110 CUC to upgrade to a villa. After paying the upgrade it still only cost us $625 per person. Over all still giving it a 4 stars we had a great time.

    Four Resorts in One

    Reviewed by IanM01(Toronto) on Apr 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The resort has a good mix of beach, resort, and off-site activities. The Friday night foam party at the hotel's pirate cove was great fun. Saturday night on the boulevard had a popular Cuban band that drew a huge crowd of young Cubans. We took one of the carriage rides but asked him to go up in to the hills to see the farms where we saw a blacksmith making nails for horse shoes. I had a bottle of rum that was shared with all the people we met. The next day the cowboy took us for a private visit to his little place in the country. The beach was lovely. Food not so good this time but we don't come for the food. This resort has 4 grades of rooms in 4 areas with their own bars and pools. The Standard rooms are like at an old highway motel are are being noisily renovated. Tropical rooms are in the main hotel block. The Bungalows are around the stage for the nightly entertainment. The Villas are the nicest and closer to the sea. Each step up is about an extra $10/night. We encountered several people who rent rooms in town for the winter and a few who stay the winter at the resort.

    This is a great hotel; value for your money!

    Reviewed by barkermoney(Brandon, Canada) on Apr 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This is my 5th time in Cuba, and my 1st time in Holguin. I typically stay in 3.5-4 star resorts. This is a great hotel with very friendly service. The grounds are spacious, and the accommodations are varied. We stayed in what are known as "The Barracks" by many of the guests at the resort who are regular patrons of the resort. This is considered a "standard room" (called "Garden View" on my ticket). Even though our room was a 10-minute walk to the lobby, it was actually quite close to a set of pools, the 24-hour bar, and, most importantly, the beach!!! There was quite a variety of bars, a la cartes, and there was even more than 1 buffet (which you don't find very often). The food was standard Cuban cuisine, including standard Cuban food quality. And as always, I always found something to eat, regardless of the time of day. The only negative part of my stay was actually the check-out (12:00 noon SHARP; PLEASE ENSURE YOU ARE ACTUALLY AT THE LOBBY DESK CHECKING OUT AT OR BEFORE THIS TIME, NOT JUST LEAVING YOUR ROOM). There was no organized filing system. By the time we reached a clerk, we were informed that we had to pay a late check-out fee (because it was now past 13:30. But it was not the standard fee for late check-out. It was only 5 CUC. This seemed like a bit of a shake-down, so we argued against it. After calling a couple of managers, the fee was waived. Overall, I truly enjoyed my holiday at this resort and would definitely return.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX