Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Ixtapa
    5. Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
    6. Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    H

    Staff excellent, food good but pool area lacking. Awesome beach & views!

    Reviewed by HelpfulTraveller99 on Feb 02, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    You must share the public areas with Timeshare owners & Upgraded Sun Club people who are given prime seating in pool area & private lounges etc. Package was expensive enough without upgrading! Reno?s being done in lobby & beach bar (closed for 5 days!). Mini bar in room very minimal. Wifi terrible. Would return to Ixtapa (this was 3rd trip) but not this property.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    S

    Disappointed , not at staff but management

    Reviewed by Sauve on Feb 25, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    Stayed at this resort last year and it was superb , however since then they closed two of the restaurants and initiated a CLUB as they called it. Chairs were reserved by staff early in the day and everyone was very confused about where they were allowed to sit and no one approached us to see if we wanted to even sign up which we did not ! Many people very angry , we felt sorry for the staff as I they took the brunt of the anger. Wi Fi was terrible and if you wanted better speed , they were charging $17 per day. We think this resort is a 3 at best. Too bad as staff goes above and beyond to please

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    C

    Fun family vacation!

    Reviewed by Cole on Nov 23, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    We experienced this resort with 2 adults and 3 kids under 9. The pool area and waterslides are ideal for kids of all ages , the staff were extremely friendly, food was good and the beach was amazing - best I've experienced in Mexico. The hotels location is perfect, a 10 minute walk to markets, outdoor shops and pharmacies. The hotel is upgrading the Wi-Fi which will be nice for returning guests and/or new visitors as it is extremely limited. Book a Family Suite - you'll love it!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    R

    Going again this year

    Reviewed by R. Fudge on Jul 21, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2014

    Trip Type: Couple

    The beach is the best I have ever been on. Great location. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Entertainment staff at the pool were amazing. We played beach volleyball, pool volleyball and water polo. Not all the restraunts were open which was a little disappointing. The buffet food was mainly Mexican so if you don't like 80% Mexican food you will be disappointed. The weekends got very busy with families but the rest of the week was so relaxing. We were able to watch and see the baby turtles being released. Walked the beach every morning There is so many things to do that we have already booked another vacation with our 6 grown children end of November 2015.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    N

    If you're a light sleeper, don't stay here!

    Reviewed by Nicole on Feb 15, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    The hotel is quite nice. Service is very good, food is good, lots of a la carte restaurants and no limits on how many times you eat a la carte, so we didn't eat the buffet at all except breakfast. Rooms are okay. The pool is nice, the waterslides are fun though dangerous , and the coffee bar in the lobby is awesome. Ruby is the best! However, the disco across the street plays music until 5 am on 4 of the 7 nights we were there . We would never go back for this reason. The beach is nice, lots of chairs at beach and around pool. No towel cards, no bracelets... A good hotel, but too loud.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    D

    Lovely area for a vacation - resort needs work

    Reviewed by David on Feb 12, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    We just returned from 10 days at the Sunscape Dorado in Ixtapa. This is a tough review to write as there was much we loved about the vacation, but there are two serious downsides to the resort. We have been to several all-inclusive resorts in Mexico, all in the same price range and star rating: this one does not measure up by comparison. There is much to like about SD: the rooms are simple but comfortable, the resort is well-maintained and the staff are among the nicest we’ve dealt with: however, there are two major failings. For starters, the Internet service is poor at best. It was up and down and virtually non-existent in our room; you had to go to the lobby to get a good connection and even there it was less than reliable. I know we are supposed to be on vacation, but the reality is that most people do need to stay in touch with home and work; we depend on reliable and fast Internet to do this. Worse is the quality of the food. The other resorts we have visited have had good to excellent restaurants; the ones at SD varied from poor to average. Worst was Oceana, the seafood entry: in an area with abundant fresh fish, the quality of the food here was very poor. Gohan, the ‘sushi bar’, was not what most of us expect from a reasonable Japanese place: a few simple rolls and other dishes, no sign of real sushi such as we’ve had at other resorts. The buffet is on par with other places and Da Mario’s, the Italian place, is good; we found the Bluewater Grill to be the most consistent offering. We also didn’t like that serving staff had to ask us to fill out a comment sheet on the food and service after every meal. Would we return or recommend SD to others? - that’s a tough question. We really enjoyed our time here, but unless we are assured that the Internet and food issues have improved significantly, we will consider other places.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3538 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great vacation/wedding ever .

    Reviewed by dgardun0(Huntington Park, California) on Aug 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We been coming to Ixtapa for the last 15+ years , my Daughter like it so much she decided to have her wedding there .( Beach Wedding) We had the best event /vacation ever, especially because so many people (friends and Family ) wanted to be with her to celebrate the happy occasion. everyone liked the place especially because most people have not been at Sunscape Dorado Pacifico and many had not experience an all inclusive resort. The wedding was perfect ,we have no words to express our thanks to the Hotel wedding coordinator Erika Orta the magnificent job she did for us ,she took care of all the details to be sure the wedding was a successful one. In fact she stayed till the end of the party to be sure everything went as planned . This is not a surprise for us ,since one of the reasons we like so much Sunscape Dorado Pacifico is because of the wonderful staff ,in addition to Erika we were assisted by Carlos ,Jorge ,Osvaldo on the pool area , all the waiters that took care of us ,Luis and the rest. everyone always with a smile . We were a total of 40 people and everyone loved it ,some families started to asked when we are going next ? by the way the set up on the beach for the wedding was wonderful!. Thank you Erika Orta.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Our Wedding Vacation

    Reviewed by Miranda M() on Aug 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This testimonial is long overdue! My husband and I stayed here back in 2018 because we had been engaged in Ixtapa the year before. We decided to scope Sunscape out as it looked like a great spot for our upcoming wedding. We were very pleased with the hotel staff, the condition of the hotel, the food, the service, the entertainment etc. While we were here, I met Erika Orta, the wedding planner/coordinator. Erika walked me through the process of having a destination wedding at this particular location. Erika showed me flowers, table cloths etc. Erika then introduced me to a photographer that she knew personally from Zihuatanejo who actually originated from our home province of Ontario. I have good vibes from everyone, especially the effort Erika put into making me feel like it was going to be a good idea to get married here. Lets fast forward to February 2019. February 2nd 2019 My husband and I had 45 guests with us and said our vows. I cannot begin to explain the amount of effort Erika put into making our wedding day a perfect, memorable one. Erika spent countless hours making sure every detail that I wanted from the ceremony to cocktail hour to our reception was there. It was the most beautiful moments on our day that Erika and the staff made possible. Friends of ours were newly engaged on the same week as our wedding and Erika planned a beautiful arrangement for them. From champagne to their room being beautifully decorated. My husband has been travelling to Ixtapa for 28 years and this year was the most memorable for him and I. We talk about our day so often and there is no doubt in our minds that we will continue to travel to this wonderful hotel on the BEAUTIFUL El Palmar Beach.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Wedding, vacation!

    Reviewed by Maribel Q() on Aug 06, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Vacation/wedding, came with family and friends. It was a great experience. The staff goes far and beyond to assist with anything they can help with. One of the family members lost their i-phone, but the staff assisted with the recovery. Super great place to come and visit! We definitely recommended this place!!!

    Family reunion

    Reviewed by Cosmopolitan628743() on Aug 02, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Well it was my first time visiting ixtapa and searching hotels all included.SUNSCAPE EL DORADO.the best hotel in all ixtapa,just staring by the service Freddy the bellman soo helpful,Lorena and Miguel welcome us and have everything ready for my family, the concierge GORGE he have a lot of knowledge of what does mean GREAT SERVICE.and everybody it’s soo nice and respectful treat my family great I stayed 7 days and bring my whole family 12 oooh they not lied when it’s say UNLIMITED FUN.we have a great time I can’t wait for my next visit.if you have opportunity to visit just go for EL DORADO SUNSCAPE RE SSORT .??????????

    Sunscape Ixtapa

    Reviewed by Simon S() on Aug 01, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Sunscape Ixtapa Mexico, Is a must go! We had a wonderful holiday and were spoilt from arrival to departure. Many congratulations and many thanks to all of the Sunscape team! We’ll be back to stay again. Saludos Simon, Mariana, Milena & Samuel

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX