Royal Kona Resort

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    P

    We enjoyed our stay. The staff were very accommodating and helpful. The room was a big disappointment

    Reviewed by Pat Boudreau on Dec 13, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    We loved the location. Walking was excellent from this hotel for all downtown Kona. Service was excellent but the hotel is getting really run down and needs lots of upgrades to their room. We were so disappointed in the rooms. The tiki bar and entertainment was excellent and we loved this location right overlooking the ocean.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    A

    well worth the money. stay here!

    Reviewed by Andrew on Mar 10, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    The Hotel on the outset looks aged... but it is very well maintained and in good repair. Reno's have brought it up to the 1990's at least. Typical tropical open concept. It's Hawaii... who cares. You have to pay for the intenet if you want it in the room, but it really isn't a huge issue to use it at the bar, that is open from 11am till whenever you go to sleep! Rooms are clean and exactly as expected. Pool overlooks the ocean. While that seems redundant, its not. there is really no beach to speak of. Only Lava Rock and a small lagoon off to the side. But who needs a beach when the wildlife come to you. There wasn't a morning that I was down using the internet that I didn't see fish, dolphins, Manta Ray's, or whales breaching off the shore. A true highlight of the trip. The hotel was great and the staff friendly. Service was impecable. I would recommend to anybody.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3470 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    A fine resort

    Reviewed by GabbyB-Traveler() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Location of the Royal Kona Resort was convenient to the downtown area with shops and restaurants. It is right at the beach with great views and whale sightings. It has a pool, lagoon with sandy beach and other seating areas outside. Not as many shady areas as I believe are needed, though there are a few umbrellas at the pool and 2 at the lagoon. Didn't attend the Luau though we heard from friends that both the show and food were wonderful. Food at the bar was very good. Did not eat at Don the Beachcomber for any meal. We so wished they had had a hospitality room for showering and changing because check out was at 11:00 am (no late check out available) and our flight was not until 10:30 p.m. There are so many flights that leave at night that it would be a good idea to have such a space. When making reservations, call directly to the hotel to check on any special rates. Some are not online. Our room was only $146 for an ocean view. We also signed up for a 2 for 1 breakfast deal although we didn't ever eat there. Hotel has been there many years and is showing its age. There is a charge for internet and parking.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Exceptional lounge experience and entertainment!

    Reviewed by Rick H(Kailua-Kona, Hawaii) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I've been going to the Royal Kona since it was built in the '60's (as Kona Hilton). A great place and one of the only places I've been that captures the "essence of Hawaii". This time the highlight of our visit were the evenings we spent in the lounge. The decked lounge open to the Pacific ocean is always an event unequaled but this time around we went to the Thursday night concert. A Hawaiian artist, Henry Kapono, was FABULOUS. Add to this fabulous food (not typical bar food) and service and you have a winning combo. BTW, can't comment on the drinks as I don't drink but there were a bunch served so I assume they were better than acceptable. Don't just go there on Thursdays though. On Friday night, they had the kaikis. Kids that is, 3rd grade well into middle school. This group was on invitation from Oahu. They all played uke and sang. A group of about 8 of the girls danced hula. This was a very professional show occupying about 45 minutes of our time. After the show, we saw a pod of whales go by. Still trying to figure out how the Royal Kona set that one up! The facility looked great as well. Many upgrades and some needed maintenance. Still a ways to go but the transition to "quite acceptable" has been made. I had an issue at check-in, an agency problem, but they worked it out in a pleasant manner. In writing this review, I just changed the rating from 4 star to 5. This really was a five star experience. After all I only had one complaint the whole time. The waves were a little noisy at nite ;).

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Perfect Location in Kona...

    Reviewed by David S(Raleigh, North Carolina) on Mar 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Great stay at the Royal Kona... nice large room with comfortable king bed, balcony overlooking the ocean and bay at Kona. Large pods of Dolphins most mornings. The staff was friendly and they quickly responded with a couple of requests we made. Luau right on the property was worth the money. Bar was right there on the ocean as well as the restaurant (food was good including breakfast buffet)... who could complain about that. Pool was nice and never crowded like some resorts, never had a problem getting chairs... lagoon on the site where you could wade in a see fish, no snorkel needed and rarely had folks there. Easy walk into Kona where all of the action takes place... churches, the pier, shopping, restaurants, sports bars and a farmers market (my wife recently had knee surgery but had no problem). NO resort fee, you had to pay for parking but it was nearby. MUCH better than the experience we had at the Fairmont Orchid where we had to pay more and crane our necks to see water from our balcony and of course a lot less expensive. The only reason I didnt rate the resort a 5 was because of a restaurant exhaust fan that kicked on every morning and blocked out the sounds of the waves... get a room away from the restaurant side. We hope to return to the Royal Kona one day

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Short but sweet

    Reviewed by Carol S(Spokane, Washington) on Mar 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Our room was on the backside of the hotel facing the parking lot but quiet. It's an older hotel but still nice. We did not have an ocean view. We were there for only a short time for a specific personal family reason but our room was very wide with a comfy bed, full lani, nice pool area, good food, very helpful staff. We were within walking distance to several restaurants and downtown. The rooms did NOT have free wifi, so if you want that you have to pay for it. Other than that it's affordable and clean

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Perfect Spot for Kona Activities and Ocean Views

    Reviewed by M6083XIsherrys() on Mar 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The ocean front rooms in the Lagoon Tower are amazing! Our rooms had wonderful sunset views. The service is very good and this keeps us coming back year after year. The bar staff are excellent and bar overlooks the sunset as well. All of the activities, shops, and restaurants are a short walk from the resort.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX