Royal Sea Cliff Kona by Outrigger Condo

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 481 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    sun and hot

    Reviewed by johnwennekes(Temuka, New Zealand) on Jul 02, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    very good service- sea views - 2 good pools (1 a 'quiet' pool) spacious tidy rooms with full facilites and deck nicely in the shade good underground parking - keeping vehicle out of hot sun excellent morning talk on 1st day advising on all attractions etc on big Island and where and when to go _without the hard sell of 'book here')

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Sunset ocean view with comforts of home

    Reviewed by William H(Flemingsburg, Kentucky) on Jun 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed here for the first time in June 2019, room 316, and were not disappointed. The condo was clean and spacious, and the view from the covered patio and uncovered patio were amazing. We could watch the sunset every night from the comfort of our deck. Parking was covered (for the most part), with rare exceptions when we arrived back to the property too late in the evening to get a garage spot. The kitchen was well stocked, with exception of a pizza pan and nut-cracker (for fresh macadamia nuts). The bathrooms were clean, but could use more hot water... four adults could not shower back-to-back and still have hot (or even warm) water for the last two. This was not a huge issue, but thought it should be noted. The property has two pools on site, as well as organized activities for kids and adults... ours enjoyed making leis and Ti-leaf bracelets under the direction of island elders. They also enjoyed learning to hula and play a ukulele. There was a ping-pong tournament over the weekend, and that was fun to participate in as well. The main area of Kailua-Kona (shops and restaurants) are within walking distance (about a mile to 1.5 miles), but if you have small children, you may want to risk driving into town and searching for a parking place? Their concierge desk was most helpful in assisting us with planning our days to make the most of our trip. They showed us the highlights, best routes, best times of day, and were quick to point out things that were closed or being renovated due to recent eruption damage (so we didn't go somewhere and be disappointed). The only negative part of the stay is the mandatory cleaning fee upon check-out. They charge this because they thoroughly clean and sanitize the room after you leave, even taking care of your excess food, condiments, sun-screen, etc, which you cannot take with you. They donate them to area shelters, schools, etc. The fee is steep, but not too bad, once you consider that you aren't expected to do more than separate your recyclables and trash.... You can dispose of these yourself, or just leave it for the cleaning crew.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Our favorite place to stay in Kona

    Reviewed by leowalikona() on May 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Once again we had a wonderful visit to the Big Island. We come here twice a year & stay at the Royal Sea Cliff. We have never been disappointed since we started staying here in 2010. This trip we had room 405 which is considered a “garden view” but has a view of the ocean. Since we are gone all day at the beach this room was perfect for us. We could sit on the Lani in the morning & have our coffee with a view of the ocean

    Great place to relax

    Reviewed by tracjnkns(Sacramento, California) on May 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We’ve stayed at Royal Sea Cliff every year since 2012. Great location- walking distance to Kailua-Kona Village. Kitchens are well stocked, and each room has a washer/dryer. They have two swimming pools, one for families and one for adults only. Free parking is a plus!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    First time? Better alternatives.

    Reviewed by Zak M() on Apr 05, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    We arrived and were given room 509 on Apr 1 2019 ... First, when entering the room, the 1980s stained and dirty carpet is disgusting. Smells like animal pee, carpet cleaner and .... mold .. YUK! In addition, the room owner, not only thinks that a 40" Samsung in the living room is progressive, but they insist on sub-par appliances (you're better off washing dishes by hand, and buying your own utensils [Yes, we bought our own pans and spoon \ spatula set]). Please upgrade your kitchen? Word to the owner of 509: Upgrade your unit and quit smoking on the job. Please upgrade the ability to keep clean dishes. Had to wash dishes when we got here. Tear up the 1980s carpet. Tile the place. Remove the black mold from vents and room corners. LOCK the "Owners Closet" so we don't find your weed stash. Plus the smell of pot when you walk in .. NOT COOL!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX