Courtyard by Marriott Kauai Coconut Beach

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    H

    Love the 6pm check-out option!

    Reviewed by Hawaiigirl on Sep 17, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: September 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    Fantastic location in Kapa‘a, next to Coconut Marketplace. Within a 2 minute walk to Longs Drugstore and Safeway/ Foodland are just up the street. Loved the option of purchasing the resort fee, not mandatory. Try Wailua Shave Ice - they use real fruit and real fruit juice. We booked the oceanfront room with 6pm checkout option, very convenient for our late flight! We highly recommend and stay again.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2060 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    $50 Extra for MY KIDS? Are you KIDDING ME?

    Reviewed by Boeing767(Ewa Beach, Hawaii) on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    So, I'm a Marriott (now Bonvoy) Gold, and live in Hawaii anyway. Need to be in Kauai next week for a funeral, so the amenities aren't all that important. YET, this hotel wants to charge a $20 resort charge for the non-existent pool and whatever else AND $50 because my two kids will be staying with my wife and me ... IN THE SAME ROOM WITH THE SAME BEDDING. I think not. I have cancelled the reservation, I will write to the GM, and track down local Marriott management (I assume this is a franchise location). Shenanigans like this make Hawaii look bad to the outside world; it's an obvious money grab. This is a pisspoor business model, and absolutely unacceptable. I will not stay at this hotel even after the renovations are done. Karma.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-1

    Location

    Location-1

    Service

    Service-1

    Avoid at all cost! Read the review before you book!

    Reviewed by SatchiP() on Jul 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    BE WARNED: This place in under complete re-construction. It's like a war zone! Shame on Marriott for not closing down the hotel and still trying to make money off of unsuspecting guests. No mention of construction, or any email on it following my booking. It is shocking that I paid full price to stay at this hotel! Swimming pool dug up! Lobby torn down! Main restaurant closed! Jack hammer going on all thru the day! Construction debris and vehicle everywhere! Very few services available. See the pictures. This is Marriott's idea of a Hawaii vacation with kids! It was a complete let down for our kids that there wasn't a swimming pool. Marriott should have disclosed all this upfront and let the guest decide if they want to take it or leave it. At the minimum this is willful cheating.

    Plus and Minus for this trip

    Reviewed by sanantonio18(Olathe) on Jul 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Plus for the trip was the location to nearby paved bike trail that was 5 miles long and a great way to start the day. Hotel offers free bike rental, so pick one up early in the day. Close to grocery store and restaurants for our brief stay. The pool was completely ripped out during our stay, but we were doing other activities. We were aware of this after our booking when we read on line at the hotel site. The construction was not heavy during our stay due to heavy rains. The servers at the bar were excellent and provided a great place to watch the World Cup. Beds extremely comfortable.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-3

    Service

    Service-3

    Worst Place Ever

    Reviewed by Amy W() on Jul 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    This property is under renovations. The whole property is undergoing construction, drilling, jackhammering and moving of heavy equipment. The pool and restaurant are closed and cordoned off. You have to walk ten minutes down the road to use another property’s pool. The sports bar has been turned into an inadequate restaurant whose kitchen closes at 9pm. The beach is rocky, not swimmable, and full of logs, fallen trees and debris. The drilling is constant and their is no escaping it. They still charge you an arm and a leg for everything. You would think they would give the bikes for free but nope they still charge $20 a day for them. Regardless of the inconvenience of the hotel being in shambles. DO NOT STAY HERE WORST MOTEL EVER.

    Terrible internet/TV support

    Reviewed by fred k(Dallas, Texas) on Jul 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    As others have noted, Courtyard is undergoing a major renovation. Construction aside, I was impressed by a majority of the staff. I requested a second luggage rack and had one in five minutes. I reported an internet problem and a “technician” was at the door in five minutes. The internet was running very slow.The Courtyard offers two levels of internet; one is free and a faster connection costs $5/day. I selected the free service but it was very slow so I wanted to change to the higher speed. The technician couldn’t change to the higher speed and said I’d have to wait until the next day. The next day I couldn’t select the higher speed. After our first night, the TV guide would not display. We couldn’t tell what programs were currently on or what was scheduled. A technician was at the door in five minutes but he couldn’t fix the program. He said he would contact the cable provider and come back; he never returned. The next day I reported the problem and a different tech responded. He rebooted the cable modem but didn’t fix the problem. He said he would check and call back; no callback. We reported the problem on two subsequent days but the problem was never fixed. Our recently renovated ocean front room was very spacious and clean. Notwithstanding our IT problems and the construction, we enjoyed our stay. The Luau was excellent; good food, acceptable drinks and one of the better entertainment programs we have seen at a Luau. You get a discount on tickets thru the concierge.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX