Royal Solaris Los Cabos

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    S

    Raw chicken, weak drinks, and no coffee!

    Reviewed by Slivers86 on May 06, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    We were served raw chicken, raw fish and a lot of questionable food at the buffets. Clean resort, friendly staff. Aggressive sales pitch on entry. NO TUBS in rooms - this sucks having an infant. No soft serve ice cream either - it's a family resort, why no ice cream? Oh, and no coffee until after 10:00am, unless you want the TERRIBLE drip coffee at the buffet. Also - the safety aspect - fire egress information in room, wasn't even for the floor we were staying on. I'd highly recommend against staying here. Westjet should cut ties with this resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    J

    We loved our stay!

    Reviewed by Jane on Nov 13, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Good location on the high way one, if you want to save money, you can take Mexico bus around.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    T

    Great for all guests! The entertainment team was especially fun around the pool, beach and evening shows.

    Reviewed by TonyI on Aug 18, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: August 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    Loved our stay at the Royal Solaris; the staff was lovely, including the entertainment team which was great around the pool, beach and evening shows. They helped all quests feel involved, including families with small kids. The facility was clean and inviting. We would go back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    g

    happyfriendly ,everyday people

    Reviewed by grizz on Apr 18, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    The best all inclusive we as a family have ever been Staff were all above the call of duty and we will be going back to the SAFE warm truly hospitable place our room was overlooking the courtyard and we had a beautiful deck our 4 year old girl was happy as a kid in a toy store with the children's program we were guests for a day at a nearby luxury place where the rich and famous go and realized that every day Canadians who take off their shoes when they visit should all be Happy at the Royal Solaris

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Great place for a relaxing vacation...all was fabulous!

    Reviewed by Sue on Mar 19, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    Thoroughly enjoyed everything about this hotel. Within walking distance of the Mega market, as well as downtown old San José del Cabo. Was very impressed with the cleanliness, food, & staff. Have already started recommending the hotel to friends & family, & will probably go back some day!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    N

    Pushy, aggressive, disappointing

    Reviewed by Nothing Royal About It on Mar 08, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    From the time we arrived to the time we left we were disappointed! We checked into our room, right beside full on construction, with our patio covered in drywall dust and a ton of noise. We were told we couldn't change rooms u till the next day. Then we we told we either had to pay to upgrade to keep an ocean view or take a city view room. So we paid! We were hassled the whole time we were there to buy the timeshare, which I know is very normal for these resorts but they were aggressive. Each time the staff made us promises for tickets/tours/etc, we were forgotten and then last minute added. We were treated aggressively and even rudely at times by management and the time share company. I cried on my vacation, several times.... totally worth the money! The management staff only wanted to talk to my husband when it came to the business talk, which I found insulting. We would NEVER return to this hotel or to this chain of hotels. The only saving grace of the trip was time spent by the pool and drinking tequilla... could do that anywhere tho and have a better time.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    D

    4 stars is overrated

    Reviewed by Dano on Mar 06, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    This resort is nowhere near a 4 star resort. It's a 3 at best, and that's a stretch. The food selection at the buffets are minimal. If you like beef or pork in gravy as a main course every 2nd night then you won't mind it. Trying to get proper service from the staff at meals is also another adventure. It doesn't matter if you tip either. They don't have enough staff to properly serve. If you order wine with a meal you'd be lucky to get it before you're finished eating. This hotel caters to their club members too. The basic guest is alsways givensecondary treatment. They have special events and dinners throughout the week for them, areas roped off etc. The kids area is decent if you have children under 3. They main attraction in the kids area is the water slide but you can only use it during certain hours. 10am-11am, 1pm-2pm, 4pm-5pm. The only positive thing I can say is that the staff serving drinks around the main pool are good. Also, there is a pizza shack that makes stone oven pizza. If you have stayed at 4star resorts before you will be greatly disappointed, if you don't mind 3stars or less and eating the same food for a week then this hotel will be fine.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    P

    Had a great time, well worth the money,staff were great..

    Reviewed by Piper on Jan 24, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    Overall we had a great time. The was 5 adults in our party and we were all pretty positive on our stay. I have stayed a numerous resorts around Mexico and found this one much the same. They try to make the food appealing to all culture and ethnic groups. Its hard to make a buffet that will please everyone. We really didn't have anything to complain about cause everyone knows what a Mexican minute is.. Would stay there again.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    R

    All things considered we had a great time at the Royal Solaris.

    Reviewed by Rick & Kay on Dec 11, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    The staff at the Royal Solaris was great and never was heard the word no. The entrainment staff worked hard all day with activities at the pool and then at the after dinner show. Beach was beautiful but you can't swim there, that's why the low score If there was a negative it was for us the food. It seemed to us that dinner leftovers were served on the next breakfast buffet every morning. I should be noted in your advertising that this hotel has a two tier system, members and non members time share owners and non owners and they will try to sell you a membership. All things considered we had a great time at the Royal Solaris.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    R

    "Would not go back to this hotel"

    Reviewed by R. Sentell on Dec 09, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Food selection poor. Quality poor. Food not hot. Variety poor. Overall ,would not use this hotel again because of it. Al acarte's, when booking claimed to be full but when observed or attended, rooms were almost empty. And often closed. Number of al acarte's insufficient. Service by staff very good. Some dinner meals were in the large theatre where the table setup was crowded, lighting extremely poor and had entertainment occur during dining time. Had King bed which was as hard as a rock and even after complaining, they simply put a foam pad on which didnt really help. Still had sore back daily. Cleaning staff very efficient.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 7510 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Fun Times!

    Reviewed by BM8-11-1979(Stafford Springs, Connecticut) on Aug 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We traveled to Royal Solaris with great friends and had so much fun. The pool was warm and inviting. We brought our own pool floats which made it enjoyable. Although they do have a fabulous unicorn float which DENISE and Stacy certainly enjoyed! We also brought our own insulated cups for the delicious drinks...which Ramon kept happily refilling for us. Ivan, Jose, Mage, Eduardo, Yeye, and JJ certainly added so much fun to our stay with their dancing and antics poolside, and around the resort. They always had smiles and we enjoyed getting to know them. You’re so sexy José! Happy 30th Birthday Ivan! The nightly shows were entertaining. Matias, Palma, and Daniel were superb waiters. Don’t miss Mexican coffee made by Daniel or Palma! Many nights were spent in the members lounge attempting to try each of their featured shots and martinis. Armando Flores greeted us and gave us a most informative tour of the property. We met so many friendly wonderful people that we are hoping to see again in the future. Although the beach is beautiful it is not swimmable. We did have the amazing opportunity to see a female green olive turtle crawl onto the beach and lay her eggs one dark afternoon...the highlight of our trip! The engaging staff at this location are the backbone of this resort making sure everyone has memories of great times! Hopefully they are rewarded for their efforts!

    Best BARTENDER EVER

    Reviewed by Saintfan(Oceanside, California) on Aug 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Augustine pool bartender was not only professional he was funny and paid attention to detail.highly recommend you visit him if your at this resort. He appreciated everything tip he received,but the cool thing bout him even if people didn't tip, you still got top notch service. Bravo to you aggie, you made our trip, Even when it rained!!!

    Food & Nutrition Service Director

    Reviewed by 867gideona(San Jose del Cabo, Mexico) on Aug 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Royal Solaris has been a great experience for me and my wife. Our concierge Armando Flores was very helpful from the beginning and very and organized. We definitely highly recommend Armando Flores to be your concierge. The music and the pool and service was great and excellent, as a member we get to have our own pick of a restaurant and you have your premier Bar as well.

    First Visit to Cabo

    Reviewed by SopLouMama() on Aug 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was my boyfriend and I’s first trip to Cabo. From our arrival date to our departure date our experience at Royal Solaris was amazing. Max our concierge greeted us upon arrival with a ice cold beer and with a huge smile on his face. Eduardo our server by the pool went over and beyond to make sure we constantly had a new ice cold drink ready for us on hand. I also need to commend the staff for putting on such great shows and service for all us. During our stay our hotel was struck with a power outage. The staff did an amazing job at keeping everyone calm. By entertaining all the children with a game of Simon Says and a Guess the Movie game for the adults we all had so much fun that before we knew it the lights were back on. My boyfriend and I will definitely visit again but next time we are visiting with the whole family. Thank you Royal Solaris for making our first trip to Cabo a memorable one.

    A small family oriented resort, the personal attention we were given was absolutely top notch!

    Reviewed by esthichick(Riverton, Utah) on Aug 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I booked this as a last minute get away before our daughter went back to college. Her requests were to do some surfing and some fishing. From the moment we arrived we were treated fantastically! The bellhops, greeted us warmly, quickly taking our luggage and ushering us into the cool lobby. We can’t say enough about how fantastic our concierge Dr. J (Jair) was to and with us. We sat at his desk cool cocktail in hand as he explained the resort layout and placed our dinner reservations for the week. He helped us with booking spa treatments, attending the Carnival party, the new dinner show, a fishing charter, snorkeling, catamaran, surfing locations and all the general location advice and where to go. He personally arranged everything and gave us perfect VIP treatment. He was very kind, knowledgeable and responsive from the first moment we entered until we walked out the front door to travel home. Even going so far as to find my daughter at the pool and bring her “the best sushi in Mexico” after she mentioned she liked sushi. We were absolutely blown away. Not only is he an exceptional representative for the hotel he is an exceptional man. And we truly appreciate the exceptional service. We were lucky enough to dine at all the restaurants. They were all quite good. Our favorites were, Ponchos- Rodizio Dinner was really good. Daniel made us the most delicious flaming coffee I’ve ever had. Taco night with our friend Palma, we told him to use his judgement and bring us what he thought we would like. He did not disappoint. He is the best waiter and such a fun all around guy! He searched out our daughter on the Carnival night to escort her on stage to compete for the “Carnival Queen”. He added such a special and unique touch to our stay. Marco Polo- is the most upscale of the restaurants. Food was beautifully presented and good. I think this being one of the fancier adult style places at the resort they should make it an adult only restaurant. Pants are a requirement and ladies should be dressed for dinner not the pool. Victor is welcoming and checked on us personally during dinner. He was so gracious that one morning while having breakfast in the palapa he stopped by and asked if I would like a drink? I asked if they had mimosas this morning as I’d really love a glass of champagne for breakfast (don’t judge its vacation). They weren’t serving mimosas just regular cocktails but he ran out and grabbed a bottle and brought me champagne for breakfast then asked us back to his restaurant for dinner. The personal service of these staff members is impeccable. Pizza is made fresh to order. Ceviche is great.. The beach is beautiful and you can literally walk for miles. The ocean is too rough to swim or play in. Which is probably a good thing because it wasn’t until almost our last day that we noticed the signage saying there are jellyfish in the water. We would go onto the beach near the dive pool where there was no posting instead of the main entrance to the beach. Whoops…. If you choose to go fishing, the same happy bellhop that greeted you as you entered the grounds will take your fillet fish (done at the marina) and wrap and freeze it for you. They have small Styrofoam coolers for purchase to transport it back home. How awesome is that?!? The location is wonderful, safe, lots of places to walk, shop, eat or play golf, the town is an easy walk away. The town is clean and almost quaint. If you turn left (towards Cabo San Lucas) instead of right when you exit the hotel you can adventure out to the local market it’s only about a 10 min walk. Our time here was thoroughly enjoyed. I was told San Jose Del Cabo was Cabo San Lucas’ more elegant and classier sister. And I think that is a perfect description. Thank you again. We will be back!!

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX