SeaGarden Beach Resort

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    K

    Great Bang-For-Your-Buck Getaway

    Reviewed by Kapow on Oct 14, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: September 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    We just returned from a wonderful stay at SeaGarden Beach Resort in Montego Bay. This is a small, 140 room, Jamaican family-owned resort and as such, it doesn't have all of the amenities of the larger chain resorts, However, if you want an authentic Jamaican experience, this is the place to stay. Check in was quick and easy, and being literally 5 minutes from the airport makes the transport time for airport to resort absolutely painless. We arrived at 6:40 pm and were seated at the bar, bags in our rooms, freshened up from travel by 8 pm. The rooms are spacious, beds comfy and overall, very adequate. However, this is an older resort so there's not much sound barrier so you can hear anything going on in the hall, out on the street or sometimes, even from the adjacent rooms. The staff are wonderful, the food delicious but if you expect anything other than Jamaican fare, you're out of luck. The beach area, (or lagoon as we called it), was beautiful, clean and absolutely serene. There is need for some updating in practically every aspect of this resort, (bathrooms, seating at the bars, lounge pads by the beach, flooring), but if you can look past all of that, this is a great bang-for-your-buck spot. My husband and I loved that we could walk down the Hip Street to Margaratiaville, about 20 minutes, safely during the day. Be forewarned that the local vendors are VERY pushy and it can be somewhat annoying but part of the experience too. A special shout-out to our West Jet Vacations Rep, Kevin, who hooked us up with some amazing excursions and for a lot less than through other tour operators. All in all, we had a wonderful time. Would we go back? Probably if it was just the two of us but if we were travelling with our kids, probably not.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    J

    We loved our stay! We will be going back here again one day!

    Reviewed by Jaime on May 04, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Short and Sweet, SeaGarden Beach Resort was the best! It is a quiet, clean resort with great staff that caterer to your every need. Small, little beach with a great beach bar and snack grill. The food was amazing. Love jerk chicken and those coconut drop cookies! I can say the food was amazing because I got to taste it. You see, I have Celiac Disease and a lot of tourist places do not realize the severity of my disease. Upon arrival, I met with Head Chef Kernel and Chef David who looked after and catered specially to me making sure I would not be contaminated with gluten. Each night they would take me around the buffet explaining what I could eat and if there was nothing there, they would make me my own plate. Anyone with a food allergy will only understand and appreciate how wonderful this was. I cannot say enough good things about these two men, who took time out of their busy day to make sure I was being looked after. THANK YOU never seems enough. So, anyone with Celiac Disease, this is your place! Every morning we were fortunate to be greeted by Aneicia Smith and Daneake Faulkner. Two of the nicest ladies we had the privilege of meeting. By the end of our stay, they would call us by name and have our table set up especially for us – hot bacon and candied pineapple. Damn that pineapple was delicious! Romaine, who greeted us at the front door nearly every morning with the biggest and brightest smile you will ever see. Trex and Dimitre did an amazing job of entertaining us throughout the day and every night. The energy and charisma these two have is something you will never forget. The nightly entertainment at this resort was awesome! Lastly, venture out and walk down Hip Street. You will meet some wonder people who are trying to sell you their goods. Talk to the friendly ladies outside the shops and get to understand what it truly is like to Jamaican. We will never forget Shelley, Shedean, Dean and Suzette! It was an amazing!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 760 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    The Real Jamaica

    Reviewed by MzBliss777(Toronto, Canada) on Apr 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My boyfriend and I stayed for a one week package. We read the reviews and still went ahead and booked our stay anyway. The deal was sweet and we are the type of couple that prefer authentic places oppose to over saturated tourist places. This hotel is one of the few that are actually Jamaican owned and the grounds are full of flowers, plants and trees that are beautifully taken care of. This was the first thing we loved about it. The food was a little repetitive which we didn't mind because we took advantage of going out and exploring Jamaica (note the girl who makes eggs for breakfast infront of you was lovely). The staff was amazing especially the rasta lifeguard and the beach bar staff specifically Andre the Taurus! The reception was the only staff we felt inconvenient to. Anytime we spoke with them or called they always treated us misreably. Our room was a ocean view room. Nothing fancy about it. The water tap kept changing from very to hot to super cold in the shower, but after the second or third day we got the hang of it. The people who clean the rooms were friendly and more than accommodating to any needs of ours like more water bottles or towels. The men who are the front of the hotel were awesome as well. They checked on us like family every time we seen them. Made us feel special. The beach is across the street but literally is a few seconds walk. We actually liked being seperate from the hotel pool. It gave us options. One thing I wouldn't recommend is the store on site. The prices are inflated... For us it made more sense to walk down the road to the locals right beside the supermarket to make purchases. Things are hand made and they don't charge you ridiculously! Overall we would definitely stay here again and actually will be returning with the kids. I think some people come here expecting a Riu hotel experience without "paying" the Riu price. If you're looking to stay in the "Real Jamaica" I would recommend here as you are also giving back to the locals. As a couple we were happy with our privacy and great service. These people work so hard so don't forget to tip.

    Perfect blend of resort and town

    Reviewed by Jigmoore() on Apr 06, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Removed enough to be a great stand alone resort yet close enough to town for an easy walk to the hip strip. Highlights of this place are the small little private coves to swim and snorkel in and the great bar service and people. It is big enough to have good amenities yet small enough that everyone gets to know each other including the staff. Daily entertainment at the pool was very surprisingly way better than we expected. Buffet food had great variety and was excellent. Definitely recommend this place as the place to stay in Montego Bay.

    Never again

    Reviewed by pretty_keesh() on Apr 04, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Where do I start - this is by far the worst all - inclusive resort I've ever stayed at in Montego Bay. We stayed at SeaGarden from Mar 1 - Mar 5. ROOM We booked a Deluxe Garden View/Pool View. Upon arrival, we were placed at the back part of the hotel where the construction was. Our "view" was that of a sheet metal wall. We went back to the main desk to complain and were told that all rooms were sold out and they were unable to accommodate our request. The room at first glance is nice, but there is no hot water for the shower. It was luke-warm at best and would switch to cold water on its own. Room service was very stingy with towels. We advised them it was three people in the room. On a daily basis we kept receiving 2 towels. I found pubic hairs in my washcloth on more than one occasion and had to repeatedly ask for another. HOSPITALITY My mom ended up getting sick on the trip and was unable to move around so we needed to bring food to the room. The staff made one hell of a fuss about it and treated my brother as if he was stealing (food that is obviously paid for). The treatment of guests is absolutely disgusting (unless you're of a certain color and they feel you are dishing out tips) FOOD There is no variety in food. They basically served the same thing on a daily basis.You could tell by the staleness that it was leftovers from the previous day. Being of Jamaican origin, I was HIGHLY disappointed in the Jamaica dishes. The food overall was bland. ENTERTAINMENT The entertainment was dead and awful. It wasn't lively at all. Certain nights it was almost as if they just threw something together. After the "show" you could go to the disco that was almost always dead. OVERALL I will never stay here again. SeaGarden is not worth the money they charge.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-1

    Disappointed.

    Reviewed by Mary Catherine H(White City, Kansas) on Apr 03, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Hubby, daughter, and I stayed here for 5 nights. On the pro side: from the room to the pool area everything was clean, private beach was amazing, and the people were very friendly. On the con side: the room was sparse, the plumbing needs to be upgraded (had issues of the toilet not flushing correctly and the shower water temp was hard to adjust and maintain temp), and the food was bland at best and over cooked with very little variety. Overall, the resort needs a bit of TLC. The room location was not very quiet in general and the 5:30 am lawn care wasn't a nice wake up call.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-3

    Service

    Service-2

    The Ultimate Jamaican Vacation!!

    Reviewed by LovesToTravelIslands(Johnstown, New York) on Apr 02, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My Husband & I stayed at the SeaGarden Beach “All-Inclusive” Resort on March 3-16 2019. We had an AMAZING time here on our 2 week stay. It’s clean with friendly and helpful staff and has a gift shop on site. It’s a smaller resort, but is being upgraded with construction right now for more rooms and beach Amenities! Has all the amenities that we needed and love the fact that it is owned by Mr. Morgan, a local native of Jamaica. This means, No Timeshare Pressure!!!! Food and drink is always plentiful 7am-10pm, the property is beautiful, our room was nice with Ocean View, loved the balcony in the morning and evenings. We are already planning our next trip here for another beautiful 2 weeks. Can’t wait!!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX