Couples Sans Souci

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 4839 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    My New Favorite Spot

    Reviewed by KnickiV(Fort Lauderdale, Florida) on Apr 07, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Couples Sans lived up to its name! I had absolutely no worries at this resort. Zero! I initially visited with my mother then had a subsequent trip immediately after with my husband and in laws. Both stays were amazing and impressive. I recommend this location for adult families and couples. I like to break my reviews into parts and processes so I’ll try to do that here. Check-in: As smooth as silk! Andrene, Marvia and Andrea Knight instantly made us feel like we were home. Our bellman, Ricardo greeted us with cold towels and champagne, then whisked us to our complimentarily upgraded, oceanfront room. Efficient and seamless! Concierge: Deleen delighted! Room: Clean, spacious and with an excellent view. Dining: the highlight of our stay! Chef Tyrone Jackson blew us away! He wowed us at every opportunity and his team followed suit. Both Chefs Kidd and Biswick delighted us with their culinary greatness too. Apart from a tiny hiccup early on with a smoothie, the food here blew us away! Chef Tyrone personally checked to find out if we had allergies or preferences and ensured that wherever we went our needs were met or more often than not, properly exceeded. Even my very, very, very picky husband lauded about the amazing cuisine served at this resort. Without question, two thumbs up!!! We did not expect gourmet service but at every turn, that’s exactly what we encountered. From custom, hand crafted truffles, to lobster 4 ways, to fish and veggies exquisitely prepared, to the best bun and cheese ever (two thumbs up for Shekera Cassie)! Every new dish was a culinary fantasy that you couldn’t wait to explore. Chef Tyrone, you simply blew us away! We will be back! Xoxo Spa: Location is absolutely divine! Nestled on a beautiful cliff over looking the ocean, you couldn’t ask for a better location. Massages unfortunately were not impressive:-(. It was likely my fault for not providing better feedback while receiving services. Don’t be afraid to ask for exactly what you want. I’m sure they’ll do their best to deliver. People were friendly and amenities were fabulous! Grounds: Wow! I can scarcely think of more beautiful grounds. Every nook and cranny was carefully thought out and expertly designed. Grounds are amazing! Especially around the spa area. I could spend all day there if there weren’t so many other things that captured my interest. Water sports: Didn’t do enough but what we did, we enjoyed thoroughly! Christopher and Mario took great care of us when we snorkeled and embarked on our glass bottom tour. The reef was lovely. Didn’t compare to Tahiti or Bora Bora but at just a hop skip and a jump from where we are, we’ll go back in a heartbeat! Beautiful place and wonderful people! COVID-19 Compliance: Great protocols in place to ensure safety. Masks are worn by staff at all times. Temperature checks are mandatory for dining and sanitizers are provided throughout resort. Check out: Exactly like check in, seamless and smooth process. Lashun impressed throughout our stay and made checkout a breeze. Excursions: Wonderful trip to Dunn’s River Falls! Must do! Golf at Sandal’s Upton Course was a great experience. Had an awesome caddie, Raynard and Gayline, our coordinator was excellent. Highly recommend! Overall: We can’t say enough good things about this resort. We can only recommend that you try it for yourself. If you’ve seen any negative comments, chalk it up to human error and perspective. Life is what you make it and at Sans Souci, there really are no worries.

    FINALLY, We Returned Home!

    Reviewed by GregM825(Crystal, Minnesota, United States) on Mar 30, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This this was our ninth visit to Couples Sans Souci (CSS). We arrived on 21 March 2021 after COVID forced us to delay our booking from March 2020. Thank you Couples for letting us delay the booking plus additional Resort Credits. We used the credits to buy Jamaican themed clothing for our grandkids! This trip was our 19th visit overall to a Couples Resort. Our previous was December 2019/20 NYE at Sans Souci. We do love Couples. We have been to Couples Swept Away and Couples Negril. It is safe and you can drink the water. Always outstanding meal choices. You will gain a pound or two! (This time 4 pounds.) The COVID-19 virus has had an impact on Jamaica. At the time of our trip you were required to have a Travel Authorization from Jamaica plus a NEGATIVE test with a technique that was approved by Jamaica within 72 hours of departure to Jamaica. The test type we used was the ID NOW Nucleic Acid Amplification test (NAA) test via Walgreen. I did a lot of research to make sure the test was acceptable, had the appropriate CLIA number, FDA approved, the whole nine-yards. There was a glitch. We went to the Delta Agent at MSP with all the appropriate paperwork and approvals. However, the Agent tried to tell us that the ID NOW test was not approved by Delta. I showed her all my documentation from Jamaica and the Jamaican website that specifically stated that the ID NOW test was OK. Nope, she claimed that she had traveled herself to Jamaica and was adamant that she was not going to allow us to get a boarding pass. I was not to be denied a trip I had postponed for a year. Finally, she realized I was not going to go away and she phone a “higher authority” and she was informed by them that the ID NOW test was approved for Jamaican travel. From there it was smooth sailing (flying actually) to Montego Bay (MBJ)! (Strong memo to follow) Couples Sans Souci and COVID. Couples has done a wonderful job in protecting their guests and staff. The occupancy was dramatically down. Meals were Ala-Carte. Hand sanitizer stations everywhere. Temperatures taken before being seated. Mask required for staff and guests. It wasn’t the ideal experience but it was worth it to be back for 8 days of fun, rum and sun (no coincidence they rhyme)! A brief shower one morning but by 8AM, gone, and lots of sunshine. In all the 19 times we have been to Couples we have had only 2 days where it rained most of the day. So, if you are thinking about or planning a trip to Jamaica and are looking at weather forecasts you will note that typically there is rain forecasted every day, but that means rain in the mountains and not the beach. Departure at Montego Bay (MBJ) was another experience. Prior to departure we were again tested for COVID at the resort. We received NEGATIVE test results via email and printed results from the Couples Front Desk. When you get to MBJ you are immediately required to sanitize your hands and mask required. You get in a line appropriate for your airline and you COVID test results are securitized in detail by an airline agent. (BTW, be sure that the names, addresses, dates, etc., on your test results are exactly the same as on your passports.) You have to sign a statement that you are following all the rules and regulations before you can check your bags and/or receive a boarding pass. On your way to the departure gate you will be required to do more had sanitizing. Finally you board your plane (more sanitizing) and you are on your way home. Is the COVID experience a pain in the butt? Yes, but still worth it to come home again to a Couples Resort. We are already booked for NYE 2021 and March, 2022. Yeah Mon. Couples Sans Souci had planned to be undergoing significant renovations in 2021 that were delayed for perhaps 2022. It appeared that both Beachfront buildings (A and B) and one or two rooms in G were open for guests. Didn’t matter to us because we prefer the top floor of A or B, (Closest to Sunset Beach). Your travel agent can help you with planning. And, if you don’t have a travel agent, I highly recommend our “GO TO” travel agent, Mitch Toren, (mitch@tripguy.com) for some options. Mitch is the guy to contact for any of your vacation plans in the Caribbean. If there is a deal or low rate he will find it for you at top of the line resorts. Give him a try and compare to your existing TA or other TA’s. You will be surprised. Even when Couples offers a discount or resort credits, Mitch will usually beat them with a better price.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    14th Trip - Still Amazing

    Reviewed by mongrel19() on Mar 27, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Just got back last night... A la Carte Dining: Great food served by a delightful staff. Many thanks to Andrea who served our private dinner at the gazebo, as well as various meals at Palazzina and Casanova. Other staff of note: Jordaine and LaShauna. The food is always tasty and comes at a leisurely pace. Coffee is great as always. Kudos to Tyron Jackson, head chef. Diving: Leon, André, and Andrew were all wonderful. Been diving nearly 30 years and had a first: a visit by a dolphin! Even if the camera was in hand, never would've properly experienced the moment worrying about framing, etc.. Nurse shark, Goliath grouper, lots of turtles. Devil's Reef or back side of Prospect Reef for the deep dive, then Middle Reef for the shallow dive. Lots of great dive buddies some of whom who attended to our seasick companion, and were good on air use. Spa: Ruth: the gold standard when it comes to massages. Did the couples massage with her and Thelma. Can't say enough about the experience, ocean breeze, waves crashing below... Tennis: Zuki still omnipresent. Visiting pro Tom Martiné was exceptional, there every morning and afternoon for instruction, as well as just hit if that's what you prefer. Will be working on his recommendations: turning the body more on the backhand side, racquet back early, feet apart. Tom, did I miss anything? There are BIG plans for the tennis complex in the coming years (still in the budget despite COVID). Stadium court, 2 soft courts and more. Can't wait to see it come to fruition. COVID: Never a worry. All of the staff was conscientious in regards to masking and sanitizing everything. COVID test for returning to The States all taken care of there on the property. Overall: The vibe / tenor of a property comes from the top-down. Mr. Battaglia (General Manager) can be seen frequently about the property greeting guests and more. Actually saw him cleaning up fallen palm fronds one morning. The bonfire and entertainer on the beach Thursday evenings is a don't miss. Already looking into trip #15.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    3rd trip going for 4th

    Reviewed by N9915PHjoec(Plainwell, Michigan) on Mar 23, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our 3rd trip to Couples San Souci. I cannot say enough about the staff at this resort. They are by far the best of any resort we have been to. The resort was clean and cleaned often. They are just getting back on there feet and seem a little understaffed at this time as waits are longer than normal at the restaurants. Just be patient. Covid has everyone running thin on staff and understandable to maintain operating cost. It wont be this way forever as service and staff are always 5 star.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    2nd trip to San Souci and love it so much going for a 3rd time

    Reviewed by Reelappraiser() on Mar 17, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Couples San Souci has a cult like following I have found do to the people that work there and the awesome amenities. My 2nd trip, even after having to deal with the Covid-19 protocols was just as relaxing and I got to see some of my old friends from our first trip. Here is the skinny on this place, if you are looking for stuffy and high end this might not be your place, however if you are looking for a fun, safe, and beautiful environment with staff that are like family then this is your place. Come and let your hair down and know this resort has your back. My wife and I enjoyed the AN area, the dining, and the shows, oh and I don't want to forget the massages given on the side of a cliff overlooking the water. We have met multiple couples that go twice a year to this resort and some that have been over 20 years in a row. No place is perfect, but Couples San Souci is nearly there in my estimation.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-4