Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    V

    Not much nice to say: great beaches.

    Reviewed by Viktor Madarasz on Mar 09, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    Ended up in a mold infested room. Slept on the balcony for 2 days before we were moved. The place is more and more rundown every year. If you are looking for a second rate motel atmosphere with ripped carpets, not working ancient elevators, 10000 times repainted furniture in restaurants, disinterested staff that only perks up for tips, boring same everyday cafeteria food and non stop sales pitches in timeshares than this is your dream vacation spot. The wi-fi is spotty at best { after you payed for it}. The "entertainment" would have been better if it was provided by a group of 10 year olds. The one and only thing going for this place is the beaches. If you can go anywhere else, do it.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    N

    It was my first time traveling to Jamaica but fell in love with the place.

    Reviewed by Nellie from Nova Scotia on Nov 03, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2018

    Trip Type: Wedding

    The staff were exceptionally hospitable and polite (with special shout-out to the Westjet rep Mama Charmaine).The beach was a little rocky in some areas, but was very clean and not crowded. I travelled with a group of 40 people and we all said we will return. The location was great, because it was big enough for the group to separate and do our own thing and it had something (activity)for the different ages in our group.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    More like a 5* for what we paid!!!

    Reviewed by ACsl8tr on May 29, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    This is our 2nd time back to this property. My Fiancee and I love it. The price was Perfect for what we were looking for. Its definetly more a 5*. I mean we had marble/granite floors. Large balcony, the maids even wash and sweep your floors every day! Which is almost unheard of in many All Inclusive resorts. Everyone was So friendly there. Even the gardeners, they always had a smile for us. I am a picky eater and I ate at the buffet every day and didnt get sick once. The Beach had SO many extra loungers than the pool did so we made our way to the beach for the last few days. Check out the beach first. The only thing I didnt like was, they didnt have enough bath towels. We used our beach towels instead while we waited for the towels to be brought up when they had some fresh clean ones. There was so many new things there this time around. A kids water park, they re did the beach area so there are a few private areas on the beach you can sit down and relax on. I would definitely come back to this resort on my next vacation!!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Unforgettable, and will return!

    Reviewed by Sacha on Apr 17, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Single

    Pros: Staff were exceptionally hospitable and polite (with special shout-outs to the Westjet rep Charmaine, as well as the bartenders Joel, Damian, Vanessa, Jerome, and Evrad for going above and beyond.), the food and booze were plentiful and delicious, beach and pool areas were immaculate, room was only slightly dated but otherwise bright and clean. Cons: Paid $100 CAD to have Wifi that wasn't even remotely reliable, and there was construction going on directly beneath my balcony the entire time I was there, so I was woken up at 8am every day by belt-sanders.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    Staff were awsome, they made us feel welcome. Good food. Love jerked chicken. Love the beach too, although Cuba beaches are better.

    Reviewed by Maisiena Vovinam on Jul 13, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    This is great resort, and very large. We read other comments and asked for buidling 17000/18000 where it's close to beach, and waterpark, and they give us building 17000. Thanks for all comments. We love this resort, althought some parts of beach are mossy, but that was a great spot for snorkling, my 2 kids loved it. ONE WARNING about Invitation to attend free breakfast of Privillege club - this is a trap - don't attend it. This is basically a timeshare program, waiste time and could be lots of money. My husband received this invitation at the door, and was exciting to go. We both went, but after all, they just want to sell their hotel timeshare, we ended up SPENT 14,000$ paid upfront $7000, no breakfast at LUXURY resort, late lunch. How stupid! What are the cruel people! we both got persuaded and signed, but so regreted afterward, want to get out, sale manager said WE CAN'T, we are doomed. I hated these people so much. This program would worth a total $6000. HOW STUPID!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    J

    Poor service and unfriendly staff

    Reviewed by Jen from Calgary on Jul 05, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: July 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    I wanted to write a review to warn people about this resort. They claim to be a 5 star, but there is no way that can be true. Their staff are unfriendly and have no sense of urgency. The service is poor (when you can actually get service) and they are unapologetic and sometimes rude. The front desk rarely answers the phone and when they do they "accidentally" hang up on you or transfer you around to different people and then the line goes dead. The food wasn't very good for a 5 star, and the buffet was constantly out of plates, glasses, silverware, various soft drinks, etc. There was one day where the towel hut was out of towels at 11 am! You call this a 5 star resort?! They are a huge resort and definitely unable to keep up with the amount of people staying there. Keep in mind this is currently their OFF season... I would hate to see them at full capacity if they can't even keep up with their guests in their off season. I was really looking forward to going on this trip. Sadly, it was not the dream vacation to Jamaica that I had hoped for.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    V

    The combination of Westjet and Grand Bahia Principe is unbeatable :)

    Reviewed by Viktor Madarasz on Mar 04, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Breathtaking location. The grounds are just simply amazing. Very well maintained. Spacious rooms grandly furnished. Love the privacy of each balcony. I liked it that after a certain hour the only alcohol is available at the disco or your own room, I really did not miss tons of drunks wondering around at 3 am making everyone else's life just a bit more miserable. Great food. Very friendly staff. I just HAVE TO mention Keisha and Marlene, the Westjet representatives at the resort: if you need any help, these are the ladies you should turn to. They are the most helpful, friendly, professional, funny people you will ever meet. No problem is too small or too big for them. They are amazing, hope they will be recognized for it, because they made my good vacation GREAT. Had an amazing time, will be back next winter for sure.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    We loved our vacation there !

    Reviewed by Liz on Feb 03, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    We loved the resort and the staff ,wonderful hospitality and very clean .we would go back anytime !

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    K

    BUYER BEWARE!!! NO HOSPITALITY!!! DON'T WASTE YOUR HARD EARNED MONEY $$$$$$$$

    Reviewed by KINIJL9 on Apr 08, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Large group

    My family of 10 took our annual family vacation to Jamaica this year & we all booked at the Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica. 3 separate rooms to include 6 adults & 4 children. I booked the golden club with an oceanview & even called prior to inform them of exactly where I wanted my room to be located, the front of building H facing the ocean. Not long after leaving the airport to go to our hotel the driver named Kingsley called into his company dispatch saying he was having problems with the alternator. He had to cut the air condition off & drive about 20 miles per hour the entire way to the resort. It took us twice as long to get to the resort as it should have. Upon arrival to the resort no one was there to greet us as we were told it should be. No bellman to get our luggage! The driver took our bags off the shuttle & as we drug them up the stairs at the entrance of the hotel he pulled off. We waited about 30 min before the bellman came to put our bags on a cart. We tried to make reservations for our a la carte dinners that were supposed to be included in the package, but were told that they were told that they were booked & the only thing they had available was a 9:30pm reservation for the steakhouse the next day. Waited a hour & a half for towels & a hour & 45min for room service one day! Waited to speak to a manager for a hour & a half for him after making several requests for him & he could do nothing! What I expected was far from the vacation I received. After a month I finally received a response to this letter that I had to send twice to corporate basically saying oh well we are not going to do anything about it, we already have your money! I WILL NEVER STAY AT ANOTHER GRAND BAHIA IN JAMAICA OR ANYWHERE ELSE! If you want a vacation that is worth the money you spent on it I would advise you stay elsewhere! By the way if you lean over the balcony & pray you do not fall, look to the right to get your ocean view!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    D

    Great time, Would go back in a minute.

    Reviewed by Debbie B on Mar 07, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    We really enjoyed our stay at Bahia Principe. The resort was large so you never seemed confined. We took advantage of that and each day we would pick a different spot. One day the beach, one day the pool and enjoyed all our spots. We are early risers so it worked to our advantage. We liked to run in the mornings and would reserve our loungers while on the run around the property. We could do about a 2 1/2 K loop around. The yoga and pilates program was an awesome way to start your day. Get to breakfast before 9 and there was never a line. Then when you are done you can get fresh towels and the day was yours. The activities were a lot of fun and so much to do for both adults and children. The bars were all great and the staff were all very friendly. The live entertainment was really good. We always went to the beach buffet to get the jerk chicken which is amazing and worth the wait in line and the daily bands were great to watch. The a la carte restaurants were nice but a bit of a pain to book, we did it as soon as we checked in. Yes the times are not always the best and there are many empty tables for there "club" members who never show up but it was a nice change from the buffet. Wish there was more Jamaican food to sample. Pool is awesome.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 12903 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    The food alone ruined the whole trip.

    Reviewed by Chelsea r() on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    The resort is beautiful and the pool is the best part! However the food is pretty much inedible. Even the food at the reservation restaurants is absolutely disgusting! I lost like 20lbs on my vacation simply because I couldn’t eat anything.

    Spring Break in Jamaica

    Reviewed by CSNAX5(Rochester, New York) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    My family and I went to Jamaica, where we stayed at the Grand Bahia Principe. We stayed there for 7 nights. I would not return here fir a second visit. The staff were great, but the service was not. My check in took 2 hours, and even after they finally found my reservation, there was no sorry, no anything for me losing 2 hours of my day. My first room was disgusting. The bathroom mirror looked like it had been through a lot. It was rusty and dirty. The shower was equally nasty. Every day after our room was "cleaned", we had to call down to the front desk for towels and washcloths. The hallways smell really bad. For 2 days, there was a toilet plunger just sitting on one of the tables in the hallway, along with the plunger on another table were glasses with mold in them. It seems as if no one cleans the stairwells at all. When a complaint is made, nothing is really done. The entertainment staff were great though! Colorz, Demitri, Nekeisha were awesome. Ansley from the teen center/ karaoke was excellent. my kids really liked him. T-Kay and Alecia from the front desk were also very good. The rooms really need some serious TLC. As we were checking out, we had some extra charges that were not ours, it took some time to clear it up. I would not take my family back!!

    Girls Trip … ..Surprised!

    Reviewed by erink43() on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We went for a girls Bday trip. Was looking at mexico, bahamas, cuba which we had all been too numerous times but thought lets try jamaica as a several girls hadnt been before. Have to admit there were some nerves about trip what to expect, safety, just typical traveler alertness etc. Took more then hour to get to resort got a red stripe and patties for ride. We could not have been more amazed at how genuinely friendly every one of the staff was and how easy it was to relax and put any nerves at ease. The food at both beachside buffet and main buffet was really good. Even cancelled an ala carte cause felt best selection for our group was buffet and great service, the pool bar was a fun atmosphere and bartenders were attentive and engaging. At both bar and buffets would make our group special drinks or birthday decorated desserts, champagne etc. Beach party was fun, disco was good the saturday night (so so the others). Rooms were average but clean, didnt use the safe nothing went missing(small beds in the double rooms)(shower head is low). Cleaning person wrote us little notes to enjoy our trip or have great day. Within the first day I kept asking random staff why everyone was in such a good mood and received cause this is jamaica. One staff said cause if you have a good time maybe youll come back. We did not go off resort cause everything was there, wether our group was hanging out at beach or pool or partying at night felt safe going around resort. So surprised in a really good way glad we picked this resort in jamaica it couldnt have been better!

    Best Resort with the Worst Wedding Service

    Reviewed by jazellej(Mississauga, Canada) on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I don’t normally write reviews but I noticed an influx of people going to the Grand Bahia Principe in Jamaica to get married! That being said, Congrats to all those getting married in 2019!!! While this resort was spectacular and deserves the 5 stars, the wedding service deserves a 1 star rating. Below, I’ll do my best to concisely highlight everything I’ve experienced good and bad. Please READ this review BEFORE considering have your wedding at the GBP in Jamaica. I have subheadings incase you’re a skim reader! (Sorry for the length of the review) Resort Experience-5 - we stayed on the luxury side and it was amazing! Beautiful huge rooms, kind and attentive staff! Private beach on the luxury side (but the water was shallow on this side so if you’re a swimmer go to the grand beach)! Food-5 -food was A1! Jerk Chicken at the beach buffet was a daily stop! Our trip was during the “down season” (mid January) and wished the food was available for dinner service which is during peak seasons - 5 different restaurants to eat at each night! You HAVE to make reservations. Reservations are free but you better do them on the first day you arrive or they will be all booked up. We waited the third night and was lucky to snag a few good spots. - You have to eat during the hours the restaurants and buffets are open for service. If you miss it you have to wait for the next service time. Breakfast closes at 10:30 and they open for lunch at 12. So if you miss breakfast you have to wait. There isn’t any places to get food 24/7. This could be due to down season times. If you’re on the luxury side, you have free room service 24/7. It isn’t quick service so I’d suggest ordering before you’re actually hungry. They tell you it to allow up to 45 mins to arrive and It really takes that long Activities -4 - free 1 hour on property paddle boarding, snorkeling,— we didn’t really take advantage of this. We did it twice during our week stay. - the property is huge and you can walk the whole thing and get lots of good exercise to walk off all the food! Overall, amazing food and beaches, and lots of pools, and chill places to be! Average entertainment and such friendly staff (be warned a lot of them ask if you want weed) —— Jamaica is my parents home country and I’ve been 7 times before ( if not more) in my life, so it was important to me to get married there! The resort did an exceptional job making my guest who’ve never been to Jamaica feel welcomed! They all want to come back! However, here is my long list of what went wrong with the Wedding Service at the Grand Bahia Principe. I will hold nothing back. I don’t intend to get anyone fired but, these things need to be said and people need to be accountable! I want every bride and groom who comes to my family’s country to be happy and satisfied with everything that Jamaica has to offer. So hopefully this review will create change for the wedding service at this resort. HERES MY LIST OF REASONS NOT TO GET MARRIED AT THE GRAND BAHIA PRINCIPE: 1 STAR POOR COMMUNICATION-1 - even after multiple emails and our face to face conversation, our wedding planner, Tasheka Brown, failed to meet our basic expectations. She lacked presence the morning of my wedding as my guests arrived. She was not present at the reception area where my family went to set up. She was on her phone the entire time during the reception and as issues arose, she didn’t seek for solutions but pointed the finger at anyone she could blame. - My guests coming into the resort for the wedding faced major issues at the front desk! They almost didn’t let my parents in because they said their names weren’t on the list! Keep in mind I’ve already paid for every single person who was coming in off property! Our wedding planner failed to have to correct information. Again she was hard to reach as these issues came up! Wedding Package- 1.5 - We did a free wedding package. Which was great because we had a lot of guests staying on property and met the criteria for it. However, everything else was super up-charged! Everything is in US prices and if you’re a Canadian like me you pay big! Expect to pay 250-1200 $ USD per flower arrangement! Find a florist in Jamaica and have someone set it up to avoid any extra fees! Extra lighting is a fee, alternating food preference is another fee! There’s lots of hidden fees! No them all before choosing to book here. RECEPTION - I asked for two long tables instead of 6 round tables. Every person was literally elbows to elbows with their neighbour. The people who set the place settings and the seats, put them too close together! They need to have some common sense and add more tables as necessary. - Food was great! Service was soooooo slow! There was two servers for a wedding of 45 people! Not acceptable. They served the women first which was a nice gesture but forgot to go back and feed the men! So some guests had already finished their meals by the time the men where served. - I asked for one tier of my wedding cake to have Jamaican black cake! It wasn’t until I cut the cake that I noticed no tier had the cake I requested. After I looked and sounded disappointed, Tasheka approached me denying I ever asked for it. - as we departed from the resort, we were told by the front desk we had an outstanding fee on our account. It’s an all inclusive resort and we paid all the wedding fees in advance so I was curious what this charge could be. The front desk was contacted by the wedding service office, MOMENTS before we got on our bus to the airport, that’s we had to pay for an extra person. They suggest that we had some how snuck in an extra guest and ordered us to pay $30 USD. I was confused because I only paid for 45 chairs and didn’t know someone magically got chair #46 if this person wasn’t accounted for!? After the manager of the wedding service and Tasheka Brown pressured my grooms family, They paid it and we went on our way. We had been at the resort for 4 days after the wedding and they waiting until we about to board the bus to ask us to pay this fee. I firmly believe this a was a tactic to scam more money from us!!!! The manager of the front desk at the time, said she apologized for the wedding service behaviour. She honestly looked embarrassed this type of behaviour was going on her resort. Overall, I’m so happy I did my wedding at the GBP because the resort staff made it amazing for my guests staying on property! The wedding service did a poor unprofessional job and I’m sad to write this review. If you choose to do you wedding at the GBP I hope and pray you don’t have the same encounter I had. We had an unforgettable experience for better and for worse.

    Great destination wedding

    Reviewed by Andrea D(Woodstock, Canada) on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We traveled to this resort in Oct 2018. I had been in contact with the wedding department and they were beyond accommodating for my large group of 48. The resort was beautiful we had ppl ranging from 1-79 and everyone has an amazing time. The rooms were clean and well maintained. Food was amazing. Night life was good. The kids didn't really like the kids club but our kids did their own thing anyway. Would recommend this resort again and again Can't wait to go back. They made my wedding day more than i could ask for.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX