Meliá Braco Village

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    B

    Repeat visit not warranted

    Reviewed by Bailey on Feb 01, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Based upon the privilege to vacation at other 4-.5 - 5 star All Inclusive resorts and brands throughout the Caribbean region exceeding several years, our observations are offered as a comparison to this experience. Food choices for both breakfast and lunch were lacklustre and repetitive with some improvement at evening restaurant sittings. Additional costs in U.S. dollars are required for lobster and beef upgrades at the Japanese and 876 Prime. Beach front was littered with plastic debris from the ocean that was eventually cleaned by staff towards the end of our 8 day visit. No hot water for shower or sink during our entire stay. Once entering the ocean, the beach front is very rocky with an abundance of seaweed. Should you order room service, a fee in U.S. dollars is charged each occasion for that privilege. Hot tub was mostly cool during our visit with 1 of 7 days being inviting. Towel fees at $30 dollars U.S. if card lost or towel not returned. We experienced some abnormalities with the room that have been forwarded to Westjet Vacations but not been documented in this review. Sadly our experience was far from positive and as a result we would not return to this premise.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    k

    Loved our stay, would go back esp to the Level

    Reviewed by kr on Aug 05, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    Wonderul property, very accomodating, great food, excellcent service, very engaging staff.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Level rooms on the beach were very relaxing and quiet. Food was always great and service was timely.

    Reviewed by Steve on Jul 31, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    Nice quiet relaxing resort. Great for getting away from it all.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    T

    The Level at Melia Braco Village = AMAZING!

    Reviewed by Travlgurl on Jul 28, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    While i stayed at The Level, which is within Melia Braco Village, I cant say enough about this property as a whole. From the moment we arrived, the staff greeted us with open arms and enthusiasm. The vibe in the "village" was fun and upbeat. Service is impeccable and I would doubt there is little you could ask for that you wouldn't get. Food was delicous and restaurants were clean and efficient, not to mention lovely. The beach was long and offered the most gorgeous views and warm seas. Everything was meticulous. If you are looking for a vacation that includes top notch service, luxury accommodations and food to match, this is your place! Can't wait to go back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    D

    Beautiful property

    Reviewed by Diane on Jul 28, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    I had the pleasure to stay at Melia Braco and it was really nice the service was great are room was really nice and clean and the food was really good as well I would definitly return to this property.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    D

    You will Fall in love at first sight!

    Reviewed by D on Jul 22, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    I had a great time at this resort, my room was immaculate, 20 foot ceilings, ocean front view, french doors, the bell boy was at my door before I even called down to reception to get assistance. There was alot of security so I felt really safe. The pool staff were very attentive. The food was soooo good. The disco was also really good, there is a guy that teaches you how to dance Jamaican dance.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    G

    Come to the Melia to relax and unwind!

    Reviewed by Globetrotter on Jul 22, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    Quiet and relaxing ambiance. Clean and spacious room. Friendly staff. Charming plantation style d?cor.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    J

    Beautiful beach

    Reviewed by Jen on Jul 21, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    Great location and lovely beach-

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    K

    Luxury resort, beautiful

    Reviewed by Kelly Anderson on Jul 20, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    Great service and food

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Beautiful property!

    Reviewed by Sue on Jul 19, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    Staff were accomodating. Perhaps a bit too attentive at times.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1705 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Front desk were not well train, first allocated room was not clean and was stinking.

    Reviewed by Trek59282211147(Frisco, Texas) on Dec 10, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Front desk were not well train, first allocated room was not clean and was stinking. Guest service didn't provided proper information about restaurant dress code. Property map was printed on A4 paper and not easily readable.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-1

    Location

    Location-2

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-1

    Charming

    Reviewed by babyboomer2k9() on Dec 10, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We spent hours researching a all-inclusive resorts. With not many days off throughout the year we wanted some place with a relaxing environment. Melia Braco Village was perfect, secluded between Montego Bay and Ocho Rios (from what we saw were the more popular tourist areas). From the airport it took us under an hour to reach the resort, transfers were not included in our reservation, we booked with a private company top choice Jamaic tours, safe drivers and excellent service, you would not be disappointed with them. I can't say enough about how friendly and welcoming the staff are. I felt the food would be so-so, I couldn't have been more wrong. Every meal we had was stellar, this is by far the best value for a resort. I liked that it was extremely close to the beach and the staff was tremendous! this resort has made my first visit to Jamaica unforgettable. The hotel staff went above and beyond any of my expectations. The service (without expectations)(shout out to guest services) was hands down the best I have ever experienced. Once greeted by staff the first question was always...how are you? The activities and activity staff were great. Overall the hotel is personable and really charming. Water is great for all sports, wading or just relaxing by the sand. Whenever we return we will definitely be booking the Melia Braco.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Perfection !

    Reviewed by lgenereaux(Belleville, Canada) on Dec 10, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We travelled Dec 1-8/18. Food was excellent, service outstanding !! Special thanks to The following Level Staff; Shauna, Sanita, Jasmine, Theo, Juliet, Judah, Shernette and Chef Alando. See you next year !!

    Melia Braco Village

    Reviewed by Garry M(Indiana) on Dec 10, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed for a week on Level side. We had a great time. Transfers: We were picked up at the airport in the free private transfer. All that went well. The driver we had was like a tour guide and told us different things about the island. He was a very friendly guy. The van we were in was a little worn, so it wasn't fancy. It was free, so no complaints. The return was just as convenient. Check-in: Check-in was easy. We were offered a drink as soon as we got out of the car. We were walked to the level side by our concierge. Except for walking us to our room that was the last time we saw him for the duration of the trip. He never checked on us, but that was probably part our fault because we are pretty low maintenance and didn't need much in the way of a concierge, so it wasn't a big deal. They offered us a phone at check-in but we declined. All in all it took about a 1/2 hr and we were in the room. Room: We were in the Royal Suite in room 1420 on the second floor. To me it was the best room I have every stayed in.The view was incredible. We couldn't have been more then 100 feet from the beach. The balcony was big and had two rocking chairs and a table. It also had a lot of bat poop that was never cleaned up except when my wife did it. It was kind of gross and house keeping should have cleaned it on a daily basis. They have to know it is there.The blow dryer didn't work but that was taken care of after telling them 2 times. We only used the shower in the small bathroom because the water never got hot in the big walk-in shower. That was a bummer. We had read about that in other reviews, and it was true for us also. The TV had a lot of channels and we didn't miss an NFL game, so that was nice. The bed was a huge king and very comfortable. The A/C worked well. All in all, we loved the room except for the couple of things I mentioned. Beach: We spent more time at the pool, but the time at the beach was good. I snorkeled a few times and saw plenty of fish. It wasn't the best but not bad either. You do need water shoes because it is rocky when you are in the water. We got a bed one day which was cool. There were plenty chairs with sun or shade available at any time of the day when we were there. The beach service was good. The beach was very nice. Pool: We spent most of the time at the pool. Chairs were available at any time, so no chair hogs here.The loungers were cushioned so they were very comfortable. The pool service was non existant the 1st two days we were there. Not sure why, but the rest of the week was just ok. It seemed the servers spent more time at the beach. The hot tub was huge and hot. It was never crowded. We really liked the pool area. We never used the pool or beach on the Village side, so we can't comment on those. Food: We ate at all the restaurants during our stay. The buffet was never opened for dinner during our stay so not sure what the dinner menu is like there. I don't think we had a bad meal. The service was good at all the restaurants, and it was never a problem getting a seat. We ordered room service just about every night and it was always delivered quickly. The reception office had snacks and drinks which was nice. We had our daily afternoon coffee there which was made fresh by one of the staff. We had the free couples massage which was included on the Level side. We upgraded to a longer one. My wife gets massages on a regular basis and said it was one of the best she has had. It was my 1st and I thought it was fantastic. The weather was great. it rained 2 or 3 times but cleared up quickly. It was mid 80's during the day and mid 70's at night with a nice breeze always. Most of the staff were very friendly with a rare one who may have been having a bad day. We never had a rude staff member like some reviews have stated. Don't forget to TIP the staff. They deserve it. We saw people who didn't. I thought about rating a 4, but the resort was a little better then that. 4.5 would be appropriate. All in all, we had a great stay and would go back if we ever return to Jamaica.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Hard to say; 3 or 4 Rating?

    Reviewed by lindanP7812KB(Saint Cloud, Minnesota) on Dec 09, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This has been the most difficult review. I waited a while before writing this. We traveled mid November. As I have learned, the reviews to really “trust” are the 3s and 4s. So pay attention to the details of those reviews because they are generally correct. A lot of times, I find the 5s are from “members,” in this case, people who stayed at the Level. I really wanted to love it. This was our first trip this far away from the kids alone as a couple. We started up on a negative note when we tried to upgrade to the Level. After reading so many reviews, I decided not to take any chances and just pay extra money for the upgrade. To make a long story short, we couldn’t get it even though the room was still showing up online as available. Oh well. We finally got to our room which I thought looked very nice. We had a premium oceanfront (these are on the 2nd floor). The location was just great. You can hear the waves. And the view was a mixture of trees and the ocean. Very nice. I have to disagree with some reviews (unless they refer to other rooms). The rooms looked quite updated (certainly more updated than the rooms we stayed in at Beaches, Negril). What they severely lacked was proper maintenance. There are the obvious signs of wear and tear which didn’t bother me; but the “patch work” looked as though they used the “local handyman” as opposed to professionals. The bathroom door didn’t close completely, the closet door was hard to shut, we had no phone in the room, and there was an annoying blue neon light coming on from the thermostat that kept me up the first night. Our fridge wasnt stocked when we first got in and didn’t get done until the next day. Housekeeping was fine. It was very cold in the room, when we first arrived. So we turned down the thermostat: big mistake. That made for a very damp room. Maintenance informed us that we needed to keep it cooler and keep the fan on high to treat the dampness, and that did work. We just turned the fan down at night so we could sleep (its really loud). Yes, there is an issue with the hot water, or lack there of. We were able to get warm enough water for the 1st half of our stay. After our negative check in experience, I really didn’t want to go back and complain about anything. But I happened to be in the customer service office for another question and decided to mention it to the rep there. To be fair, she showed up to our room shortly that evening to check it all out. She had maintenance stop over and even offered to move us to another room. That seemed like a big hassle and not worth it to us at the time. Of course, I didn’t realize the warm water would go out a couple of nights later. I certainly would have taken her up on the offer if I knew we would lose warm water. That is certainly a deal breaker. BUt again, since we only had another night, we didn’t feel it was worth the inconvenience. I figured I’d be home in my own shower soon enough. Now, for the mostly positives: This place is for those who truly want to relax by the beach and chill. The location is perfect. The food was good enough, although not always great. If you want something you don’t see at the buffet, just ask and they just might whip it up for you. I want to thank all the wonderful people who provided my husband with a “daily supply” of ackee and salt fish!:). Shaneeka’s version was the best. The best food was the local cuisine served at the buffet. Caribbean night was the best night at the buffet. I didn’t care for the ‘local food’ on the menu at the Grille. We went to the steak house. I honestly didn’t think it was tasty. I wish they had a crepe machine or ice cream machine at the main bar. The nightly entertainment was mostly good. The staff here are mostly super nice and willing to help out as needed. Great people. This is not a place I would bring my kids just because of lack of activities. The kids club is super small and there was no teen lounge/club that I saw. I would say that this is a great couples or singles retreat. However, there were a few little kids and some teenagers (I think) present. We were at about 60-70% occupancy; so again that was perfect for relaxation. The wrist band keyless entry was really nice....not sure why they cant use that for the towels as well. So you still end up needing to carry cards. Based on my overall experience, I would have given a 3 to 3.5 rating. However, when I asked my husband, he gave it 4.5 (even with no hot water:). Hence, my final rating of 4. Would I come back again?.....likely...as a couple. But I would definitely make sure I book the Level in advance. Its a shame because after taking a tour of the Level section, I actually prefer the ambiance of the regular section. But I want to make sure I get hot water. Hot water should be a basic commodity for everyone. The other things I mentioned, with the exception of our check in experience, was tolerable. Oh well. Can’t have it all.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX