Velas Vallarta Suite Resort

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 4392 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Christmas 2020 at Velas Vallarta

    Reviewed by BillDonnaKatla(Calabash, North Carolina) on Jan 18, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We have been going to Velas Vallarta for more than 20 years and love it. But this year because of Covid, we had to change our trip 3 times since March 2020 ending up with Christmas week. We were very disappointed in Velas for charging us 3 times as much for Christmas week and giving us much less in the way of food variety and amenities. We understand that things are different because of Covid but Velas Vallarta should realize that also and amend the price accordingly. We look forward to the Mexican Fiesta every year but we were told because of Covid, they weren't having it. Yet, when we were leaving New Years Eve, they were setting up for a large New Years Eve Party. Why was one gathering OK but the other not? As always, the service & cleanliness was impeccable & all precautions were taken to ensure guests were safe - no complaints at all. We just feel we were taken advantage of by having to pay triple and getting much less. Velas Vallarta did send us a review to fill out, which we did, but have not heard a word back from them let alone any type of compensation. Hopefully, our 2021 trip will be much better. Bill & Donna Katla

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Fabulous start to the New Year!

    Reviewed by SQ022(Portland, Oregon) on Jan 07, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We decided to escape the cold and rainy PNW for a getaway to Mexico to celebrate the new year. We were two adults with two children - 5 and 3. After a lot of research, we felt the reviews and location, as well as great pricing, made Velas Vallarta a great option. Best decision!! The hotel is wonderfully maintained and staffed. It is a 5 minute drive from the airport and it’s actually pretty fun to see the planes landing and taking off during the day. Every single staff member we encountered was wonderful - starting with the front desk who generously upgraded us from a one bedroom to a three bedroom, to the pool bartenders giving our two children fist bumps and constantly attending to our needs to the waitstaff on restaurants who were always attentive and willing to help. Anything you want, just ask!! The rooms are extremely spacious - the only things I would point out are that they are a little dated and the kitchens are not exactly conducive to cooking but they are extremely clean. The balcony is huge and has a can’t beat view of the pools, beach and Banderas Bay. There are snacks that include cereal, chips, popcorn and nuts refilled every day which is great to keep the kiddos fed. The fridge is stocked with sodas, beer, juice, milk and plenty of water. You do have to call room service if you want wine or liquor but that was never an issue getting either. I know Covid has likely played a role in normal operations - there are two restaurants open and then the pool bar that served during the afternoon. The “beach” restaurant is open for breakfast and lunch and Andrea is open for dinner. We arrived New Years Eve and decided to pay a little extra for the party of the beach and it was SO worth it!! The buffet was huge and there was a constant flow of champagne and drinks to our table. The music was fantastic and it was such a beautiful setting. We decided to do the all inclusive and one thing we were slightly nervous about being an all inclusive was the quality of the food but the food is very good! I love how they switch the menu up every night at Andrea (different themes - regions of Italy were all while we visited) so there is a variety. We needed up mostly ordering lunch on the beach or by the pool - there is mostly the food you would expect, including pizza, quesadillas, nachos, and ceviche - but the last day we ate at the restaurant and were blown away by the fajitas! So good!! We did do room service a few times - once for dinner and a couple for breakfast and despite one order where I think they were backed up, everything else was very prompt and turned out great. I would imagine due to Covid there was likely a huge demand for room service and they did a great job of trying to get things to you as fast as possible. People have spoken how great a job they do of sanitizing and wearing masks and it is so true. Every time we arrived at the restaurants, we were given hand sanitizer and the chairs and table were sprayed down. All dishes came covered in plastic and silverware was individually packaged. Every single staff member was wearing at least a mask, most a mask and a shield. In general, you never got too close to your others and everyone kept their distance. Even thought we came over the holiday, we always found a place to sit. The first two days we did notice multiple people leaving towels and bags on chairs, starting pretty early but by the last day there were more than enough chairs and places to sit. The beach has less availability but the cabanas and chairs are such a nice addition and the service down at the beach is just as great as by the pool. A note for young children - the waves are pretty big and while the beach is beautiful, the ocean was not exactly “swimmable” for the younger ones. But the pools are fabulous, including a 2 foot deep kids pool that is perfect for little ones. I visited the spa because we had credit and had a great massage and facial. The facility is small but they have a nice little waiting area/changing room. The services were both really good, especially for the price at a resort ($99 for a 50 minute massage or facial). I highly recommend taking a boat out - we did a 6 hour charter and saw multiple whales, dolphins and other sea creatures and had lunch at Las Animas, only accessible by boat. Other than that, we stuck close to the hotel because there really isn’t much reason to leave! All in all, this is a fantastic resort where the service is unparalleled and a perfect place to relax and have a wonderful vacation. We can’t wait to return!!!

    Escape to Paradise - in Spite of COVID

    Reviewed by D4605XXlorim(El Segundo, California) on Jan 03, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    How does one escape the cold, the isolation, and the encroaching pandemic of 2019-2020-2021? Head to sunny Velas Vallarta, of course! I read that the resort takes COVID-19 precautions but they really take our health seriously... I felt so safe and was able to relax and let them pamper me while they took so many steps for my safety... * Shoe bottom disinfecting bath mats every time you enter the resort * Temperature taken every time you enter the resort * Luggage sprayed with disinfectant as you arrive * Fiesta Night cancelled (big weekly banquet - can't wait for this to come back!) * Restaurants have minimized indoor dining so guests can be spaced apart. * Restaurant seating sprayed before and after each guest * Beverages covered with plastic wrap * Prepared food covered with plastic wrap * Silverware sanitized and professionally sealed in sets * All staff members are checked for symptoms before each shift * All staff wear facial protection * Rooms cleaned and sanitized daily (this is normal for them) All my concerns were not only put to rest but I was actually able to enjoy myself completely and relax. I remembered several members of staff from years past - we've been going down for 6 years and many of them have been working there for 10+ years. That's nice, too, to see the same faces every time you go! We went whale watching for the first time. WOW! YOU MUST DO THIS! The catamaran boat was at less than 50% capacity so no fighting for space or long lines. We saw dozens of humpback whales and their calves playing with dolphins, jellyfish, lots of sea birds... Best 4 hours I've spent in a long time.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Great Hotel

    Reviewed by SgtT632() on Dec 22, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    18-22 Dec 2020 - Family of 4 travelling with a 7 and 9 year old Jesus at Reception was Great ! Miguel Handling Drinks at the Pool was Awesome. This was our 5th time at Velas. If you are worried about COVID as we were, you can feel at ease. From the minute you arrive Steps are being taken to mitigate the spread of infection. Disinfecting luggage , temperature checks and the staff with masks and shields. Read the Velas Vallarta website, what they say they are doing is 100% true. On our second day of our stay we received a "how's it going survey" via email - We took the survey and were honest with a concern. Very surprisingly , we received a card stating the measure were being taken to resolve the issue and AMAZINGLY the Velas staff came through. The rest of our stay was AWESOME , relaxing and very much enjoyed. Velas Vallarta truly is amazing both Staff and Grounds. The only reason we did not give them 5 stars is not so much the fault of Velas but of Covid. This was rescheduled trip from April 2020. We were forced to pay a substantial amount due to it being "high season" which normally I would understand. HOWEVER , covid has greatly limited the full amenities that would normally be available like additional restaurants and Fiestas Mexicanas. . We just wish the management would have also taken into account our past visits and what we were getting for our money this time around. You will Love it here when you arrive. We honestly cant wait to go back

    Anniversary celebration

    Reviewed by royhawkins22(Tracy, California) on Dec 17, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This is the 20th year of our visits to the Velas Vallarta and for good reason. They treat you as if you were family. We celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary with our daughter, son in law, and grandson and our stay was beyond enjoyment. The Concern for safety due to COVID was absolutely flawless. Every precaution was taken and we never feared for our health. Special recognition should be given to Omar who heads up the management of Andrea ( the dinner restaurant) along with Brenda, who oversaw a wonderful dinner prepared for Thanksgiving,and Our anniversary party. For absolutely top notch service and food preparation the La Ribera restaurant (breakfast and lunch) which is headed up by Christina the manager, offers multiple choices of local and international plates that are fresh and inviting. The rooms are spotless, sanitized daily, and restocked each day with mini bar goodies, and room service is available a no extra charge. This is a five star facility in our opinion and it’s goal seams to be perfection. I think they reach their goal.