Iberostar Selection Bávaro

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    S

    This hotel was not worth the 5 star designation, but had nice beach (fine sand, no rocks, but lots of seaweed) and great weather.

    Reviewed by Sandra on Mar 17, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    First room upon arrival there was water pouring out of ceiling from air conditioning vent. Second room had overwhelming moldy/mildewy stench, no other rooms stated to be available, offered dehumidifier or deodorizer. Opted for dehumidifier which lessened stench. Waited for third room next day which had strong deodorizer smell but was otherwise same layout. Both 2nd and 3rd rooms had brown stained bathtubs and 3rd room fridge did not work so kept room #2. Ants were crawling around bathroom sink. Only bottled water available to drink was that in bar fridge so had to wait a full day for room service to get bottles. Cleaning was minimal, wet towels were taken but not replaced and no clean ones were ever given. Cleaning lady helped herself to Sprite from bar fridge and left half empty bottle on counter. Westjet representative was contacted about state of room #2, said apology gift would be given, still waiting for it. This was not the renovated suite I was expecting as stated on website. Staff at buffet were unfriendly and would yell at you if you sat at wrong table or helped yourself to cutlery and napkins while waiting with full plate to start eating. Most staff were generally unfriendly. Watch out for your teenage girls - my daughter was very uncomfortable with male staff leering at her.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Always love my stay!

    Reviewed by Shirley on Oct 20, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    I have travelled the world, but always enjoy a stay at the Iberostar Bavaro. I am returning for my 5th time on Dec.01, 2018. I have learned through the years how to enjoy a vacation. Remember, you are a guest in the country you visit. If their native language is Spanish, you cannot expect them to speak or be fluent in English. Just as you would be if Dominicans visited Canada. They are hard working people, and how you treat them you will be treated in return. I smile, they smile, I remember their names, they remember my name. I'm happy to recognize workers, and they me. I am thankful for the service they give me and I show it. If you have the attitude that they are there to serve you, and you don't give friendliness back, how can that result in a good vacation for all. We are so lucky to have these wonderful experiences, and should be thankful. The Dominicans do not enjoy the lifestyle we have, and they do not respond well to pompous and demanding attittudes from some travellers. Be happy, relax, have fun, and it will come back to you.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    The customer service left a lot to be desired

    Reviewed by Aruna on Apr 13, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    We family of 3 had booked this resort through westjet vacations last week 3-7 April . Whilst the location of the resort and the structure is very appealing, the customer service leaves a lot to be desired. These r some of my observations: - most staff cannot converse in English - 3 of the staff members including a guard could not give us the name of their inhouse Japanese restaurant and gave wrong directions - when I requested additional coffee creamers at 8 am, they hung up twice. Finally after getting the reception, I was told that room service staff only arrived by 9 am so I could not expect it earlier. I was flabbergasted at this as even inns have better service. - the live cooking staff handlers seemed to be totally impersonal and disinterested in their jobs. - while making dinner reservation for the Italian restaurant, i was told that as the computers were not working ,I could walk in at 8.00 pm. Despite that, I went over at 5 to book but was told that there is no problem. When I finally went at 8, they wanted reservation even though the restaurant was only 30% occupied. It was only when I really got upset that they relented. But by then, I was already put off. - at the restaurants, they take order for entree and desert at the same time, can u believe that they brought the desert even though we had not completed our main course. It was as though they were in a rush to finish. The time was only 9.45 pm. The bright side was the pristine beach and wonderful co travelers. All were mindful of each other's personal space during breakfast and courteous during our stay. The housekeeping staff was wonderful. However, I will not recommend this to anybody especially considering better options.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    F

    We loved everything about this vacation and will be returning!!!!

    Reviewed by Family Vacation on Oct 30, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    The best vacation our family has ever gone on. The staff were so much fun, remembered us where ever we were in the resort from buffet to pool to the evening show. We will be back for sure. Our west jet rep Tanya went above and beyond for us. Everyone from the flights, to the excursions, the hotel staff, were fantastic. Thank you for making this the best 10 day vacation wonderful.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 11262 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    If you value customer service, don’t stay here!

    Reviewed by Carla A() on May 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I came to this hotel for a wedding, therefore, I had no say in the hotel I was staying in. Let’s start of saying that for two days I complained that the air conditioner in my room was not working. For two days I asked the front desk staff to please send someone to check. By the second night they finally admitted that the air conditioner was broken and moved me to an ocean view room at 11PM! The next day they expected me to stay without a room until 3PM when another room became available. The girl from the fine desk Francesca was by far the rudest most bitter human being that I have ever encounter in the “hospitality” business. I requested to speak to a manager and was told I needed to wait in their office for an hour until the manager was available. Every single person that works in this hotel asks you a million questions and yet do very little to fix any type of issue that you have and after having you tell them your issue for 15 minutes basically tell you to speak to someone else. They take absolutely no initiative in helping you at all. With the exception of the bartenders every single staff members walks around like if they are miserable and even because annoyed if you ask for a glass of water. The food is mediocre at best, they have sit down restaurants that you can never make reservations for because they claim it’s all booked. The buffet is a disaster, the grill by the pool had nothing but burned BBQ. The buffet stations were a mess with no personnel to look after them. The only positive thing about this place is the pool and a beach party that they hosted. Take your money elsewhere, this place is a disaster and there is absolutely no customer service.

    Beautiful Beach

    Reviewed by Kelley F(Anderson, Indiana) on May 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This was our first trip to DR, we usually go to Mexico, and is our third stay at an Iberostar. Had a nice time, rooms were clean, beaches were beautiful, weather was great., The one thing that I didn't like was the Inconsistency in the making of drinks. My husband is a jack and coke man, the only bar that had JD was the main lobby bar. That doesn't help if you are at the beach or down by the pool, they also don't have any advertised specialty drinks, dinners were hit and miss, the Japanese was the best and the Cajun., Buffets were good. What I really loved was it wasn't crowded, you could always find a chair at the pool or on the beach. Not a lot of activities going on at the pool., still was nice and relaxing.

    Engagement Trip

    Reviewed by mozez87() on May 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Very nice Hotel. Second time at Iberostar. Always again. Can only recomend Iberostar. Food, pool and beach area very nice. Clean rooms. Graet animation team. Interesting shows every evening. Nice tour with Hans. Can only recommend.

    Family holiday

    Reviewed by carlyabs(Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom) on May 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The Iberostar is exceptionally clean, they are constantly cleaning everywhere the toilets especially. All the staff including the bar and waiters all around the resort are very friendly and lovely to talk too especially the entertainment staff. The pool is good but we preferred the beautiful beach they have just a short walk away on the complex. Food is good we are all vegetarian but if u are not a veggie this place has a massive choice of foods on offer. The restaurants did have veggie options but I wouldn’t bother booking the Mexican if you are a vegetarian because they didn’t even half one veggie option and unfortunately we had to leave that would be my only criticism thou on this holiday. The drinks are really good. Just an amazing holiday all round and we will defo be back. Thankyou to everyone at iberostar that made are holiday so wonderful ??.

    Attemped scam by reception staff.

    Reviewed by Tracey W(Corby, United Kingdom) on May 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    We have just arrived for our second stay at this hotel and we are disgusted with our first interaction with staff which was to try and scam us out of more money for a supposed upgrade. I had previously emailed the hotel to politly request certain blocks for our adjoining rooms as previous customers we knew which blocks we would like and to there credit they emailed back within the hour to say they would do there best to accommodate us. We arrived at check in to fimd we had supposedly been issued rooms away from everything. But the receptionist stated we could have the rooms we requested for an extra seventy dollars per person per night. We turned this offer down and agreed to the rooms he stated we had been allocated, when all of a sudden he may be able to get his manager to help us and how much did we want to pay for the upgrade again we stated no we will take the original rooms. He pressed the matter further and went off to talk to his manager, he came back with good news we could have the upgrade for free. When we got to the room, there was banners on the door stating welcome back and gifts for returning guests. The free upgrade we had received was not an upgraded room it was a box standard room it just happened to be in the block we had requested. So to the Iberostar Management is it normal practice for Reception staff to line there own pockets or is it Management policy for staff to get extra money for the chain. I do not beleive we have received an upgrade as the room us identical to the room we stayed in last time nor did we askfor an upgrade.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX