Panama Jack Resorts Playa del Carmen

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Panama Jack Resorts Playa del Carmen
    6. Panama Jack Resorts Playa del Carmen review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    S

    Ripped Off

    Reviewed by Snb1979 on Apr 28, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    The only thing this resort has going for it, is it's location. There is NO BEACH, don't let the advertised pictures fool you! The snack hut is literally 5 steps from the pool bar, and if you take a step backwards you'll fall off the sand hill. Nothing but giant smelly sand bags. The buffet food is decent quality, but zero selection. We ate off the resort more than we ate on the resort, and when you pay what this place charges...that's just unacceptable. Their evening entertainment consists of a very amateur 30 minute "show" followed by much to loud music in the tiny lobby bar area. I was so excited to go to this resort, and now I feel like I was ripped off.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    We loved our stay, best staff!

    Reviewed by SK Traveller on Apr 28, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    By far, some of the best staff around. Resort is fantastic! Not large and location is so convenient to 5th Ave. shopping in Playa del Carmen. Not the place for you if the beach is your priority as some of it has been worn away by the waves and storms. Can't wait to go back though!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 11934 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    El zarape

    Reviewed by rudy r() on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The whole team at El Zarape Mexican restaurant Juan, Oscar, Dario, Lucy are amazing. The food never disappoints , everything taste very authentic. The drinks both alcoholic and non alcoholic are also amazing! 5 star plus

    Dinner

    Reviewed by leorD8294KO(Playa del Carmen, Mexico) on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Juan, Oscar, Dario and Lucy were absolutely amazing and very hospitable!! Loved everything, appitizerers dinner and desserts were all delicious! This place is good from couples to families and have full course meals.

    Demasiado ruido

    Reviewed by Astridhoteles() on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    to book a Oceanview Suite at this hotel is a total waste of money,you are listening all day long the endless music at the pool, by the way it starts around 10:00 and ends around 23:00.If you want to have a relaxing time by the pool,have a nice conversation or have a massage at the beach you won't make it hier, the music and the" entertainment staff" won't let you. Terrible experience, wouldn't recomend it and definitely not coming back

    Mexico

    Reviewed by Catchflights94() on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I had a great time here and met great people. The staff was amazing especially at Jacks shack. This was our favorite place to go at night for drinks the bartenders were great and entertaining. The hotel is in a great location on 5th Avenue. When you walk out of the hotel you literally was straight into all the shopping mall/plaza . There is everything on the between bars/restaurants/ tourist shops to H&M, forever 21, Michael Kors etc. it goes on for blocks and was completely safe to walk around. I found a really cute place that did yoga. The food was okay. Rooms were nice, clean, and spacious. The hotel is small compared to the Hilton that is across the street. There are only 2 pools no swim up bar which stunk but the staff was walking around the make sure you always had a drink in hand. It’s a family hotel so I kinda sucked that there was no kid pool to separate from the adults. The hotel is made with an outdoor feel so there is no ac in the lobby or elevators. You can upgrade and get a wrist band to go over to the Hilton across the street. I feel as if you do that you may as well just book over there. But they are sister hotels I’m sure you’ll have fun. A lot of the people I met at panama Jack that did that ended up wasting it because they only went across the street once. If you wAnt yo go to Cozumel, the ferry is right behind the hotel which is convenient. Oo and lastly I was disappointed in the beach there was so seaweed. But that’s out of the hotels control, blame Mother Nature. The hotel staff worked around the clock to keep up with it. It was still nice to sit on the beach and listen to the waves. Other than that I had a great time! This hotel is all about location, location, location. It’s in the best spot.

    Another great Vacation on our 13th year at the property

    Reviewed by Charest63(Chilliwack, Canada) on Aug 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Our junior suite was amazing as always and the hotel gives us the same room every year if they can.. Pablo, Jesus, Emma, Magalay , Abraham ,Diego are great to us and helped me celebrate my birthday again..Chef Louis treated us great and we have re- booked for 2020

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX