Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
    6. Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    i

    Back again this year !

    Reviewed by ian on May 02, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: September 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    The best value in the Mayan. Quet pools are great. Top shelf drinks and pop up bars awesome.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6137 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Holiday

    Reviewed by Hayzmum() on Feb 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Our 3rd time visiting here but not sure if we’d come back. Staff really friendly and helpful. Rooms need a bit of tlc and smell a bit damp. Resort is kept very clean, entertainment is alright but sometimes reminded me of a holiday camp, food better than last year but unfortunately in some of the restaurants it’s served warm not hot. Resort caters for all ages, couples and families alike. A word of advise to People from UK, book your trips via your holiday rep. My party booked a fishing trip from the on-site concession and wished we hadn’t

    We have visited the resort for 15 years and this year was quite different.

    Reviewed by bikerhikerbob(Dover, Delaware) on Feb 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We have always found the resort to be excellent in everything they offer. This year was quite a different experience. We booked the honeymoon suite and found it to be lacking. The air conditioner did not work the whole time we were there (7 days). We had trouble with the safe in the room. The breakfast buffet s were unusually slow. At times we had to remove our dirty dishes ourselves and could not get coffee refills. The lunch and dinner buffets were better but very crowed with only one buffet open. We were to see the show Chic at the TRS lobby one evening. We made a special trip to see what the dress code was and were told dress shorts and no flip flops. We arrived and the men in our party all had dress shorts on and were promptly pulled aside and informed they had to wear long pants. We sat in the lobby for an hour with different people from the show walking around and not one person said anything to us. We observed a male entering the show with flip flops on and immediately seated. We questioned this and were told they could make exceptions. We were finally seated clear in the back with an old menu. We did receive a current one half way through the meal. As I said we have vacationed there for the last 15 years and were very disappointed this year. We are seriously rethinking our vacation plans for next year. I must say the room attendants, and wait staff were very nice and did a good job.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    The very BEST we ever been!

    Reviewed by AlexandraM4897() on Feb 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Me and my partner we decided to go to Mexico almost a year before the trip. Obviously, we wanted to go for two weeks and for all-inclusive. It's not a cheap holiday this way so we wanted to make sure we decide the best hotel in Mexico. After a lot of search in trip advisor, facebook, where is the best location, food, service, beach ( very important for us). We went with the Grand Palladium hotel. Also, we didn't know what time of the year we should go because of the storm season etc. We went in January and we were concerned about the weather because before we went we always checked the weather and showed us rain all day long. We got there we got the room in Colonial which was the best resort I think, close to everything around, the pool, spa, beach, restaurants. The hotel is amazing like in the middle of the forest, full with the wildlife, the weather was amazing all day long every day, over 29 degrees, we had only 2 rainy days but was very short. The restaurants were amazing all of them, specially Lalola, Thai, and the steakhouse. The Beach was gorgeous, crystal clear water, we love snorkeling so we went swimming every day on the beach and if you swim further a bit you can find small corals, fishes, so close to the beach. The bar staffs were amazing everywhere you went, very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and we had the view of the garden, and every day when we had a coffee in the balcony, we saw raccoon, iguanas etc. Had a lovely and relaxing time and we would definitely go back. Thank you so much Grand Palladium for our best holiday so far. :)

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Birthday holiday break

    Reviewed by 417steve2019(Milton Keynes, United Kingdom) on Feb 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Excellent hotels and resort, superb and friendly staff. Have been here 3 times now and intend to return again. Lovely rooms and service. Beautiful beaches . And restaurants are great as is the food...No Complaints!.

    Amazing stay!

    Reviewed by Amandaa B() on Feb 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    From the moment we stepped foot on the resort we were amazed. Beautiful clean lobby, attentive and friendly bell boys who greeted us right away. As we arrived early our room wasn’t ready but we were made to feel right at home by guest services. They explained everything and showed us a map with all activities and restaurants and pools. The grounds of the resort are also beautiful and clean. There are signs everywhere so you never feel lost. The pools are clean and deep which is a nice change from other resorts I have been to! If you are travelling with kids there is always something fun to do with them as well as the kid’s water park. The beach is nice, however I’m not sure if it is just the season were all the coral reefs are shedding but there was a lot of coral shedding along the shore. Our room was spacious and clean. We had a deluxe room with two queen beds. Everything we needed was in the room. Beds were comfortable the AC works REALLY well. Almost too good we got cold a few nights as our thermostat wouldn’t pick up on temperature correctly and couldn’t be set to a specific temperature. There was entertainment every night. The colonial show is worth watching the dancers are very talented and put in a lot of dedication to their shows. There is a different theme/party every night of the week. What’s great about them for travelling families is the children are also welcome and included in the shows. Food was good, very flavorful, we tried 5 of the dinner restaurants - the steakhouse, service was slower later into the night, and the steak all seems to be cooked to “rare” even when medium was requested. Mexican, Thai house and Italian were really good with great option! We went to the Poseidon (restaurant on the beach) desert was great, we had shrimp for starters and while they were good they went great. While it wouldn’t be my first pick again, it is very popular. The breakfast and lunch buffets always had lots of options for everyone. Miriam that works the omelet stand was amazing. Best omelets all week! Everything was labeled so you knew what you were eating! They have a gelato station at one of the bars, nice refreshing treat mod day, great touch! The bar by the beach side always had a tasty snack ready and a light lunch available. Staff were always friendly, courteous, and helpful! The bartenders are great, always great service with a smile! When relaxing poolside or in the lobby there is usually an attendant walking around offering a cold tasty beverage! The resort has a total of 4 lobbies, Colonial, Kantaneh, white sands, and TRS. You have access to all lobbies except TRS which is the royal suits; however that didn’t take away from our stay. All lobbies had something different to offer. The parties and colonial show happen in the Colonial lobby every night if you are looking for something a little closer to the entertainment. We ended our trip with a day at the resort spa. Wow. So beautiful. The pools a clean and stunning. They have a sauna and a steam room, and hydrotherapy pools. The massage attendants are great and well certified. We booked an 80 minute Zentopia massage and I recommend it! Roberto was my RMT and he did a great job! They have a healthy bar in the spa which offers smoothies, juices, and light snacks; lovely touch! The resort is about a 45 minute drive from the Cancun airport, the drive is worth it. Being away from the hustle and bustle of Playa was nice. We did take a trip in to Playa for shopping on 5th avenue and found it to be very stressful and overwhelming. The vendors are constantly trying to grab you to pull you into their shop and pressure you to buy their items. It was a neat experience but I would not do that excursion again. I would recommend this resort and hope to return in the future! Thank you Grand Palladium Colonial for such a great stay!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX