Iberostar Selection Paraiso Maya

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    L

    Bel endroit! Beaucoup trop grand!!!

    Reviewed by Lyne on Jan 29, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2015

    Trip Type: Friends

    Avons voyagé du 14 au 21 janvier 2015, 4 adultes. Très bel hôtel; beaucoup trop grand. Avons dû prendre cart pour aller à certains restaurants ou marcher 10 minutes. Les spectacles en soirée mercredi à vendredi étaient très décevants. Enfin, le samedi, spectacle mexicain et les autres soirs c'était bien. Aucune musique mexicaine sur la plage ou à la discothèque. Avons demandé où soirée dansante et on ne nous a jamais bien renseignés; un peu comme si le Iberostar Paraiso Maya voulait garder leurs clients à leur hôtel... Le dernier soir, un danseur du spectacle nous a parlé du Iberostar Paraiso del Mar où il y a de la danse à tous les soirs. Malheureusement quand nous sommes allés à 22h30, c'était terminé!!! Grosse déception de ce côté. Pour ce qui est de la plage, c'est très beau; le service est très bon. Alexandra nous apportait nos drinks à la plage à tous les jours: service no 1, elle est très souriante, parle français, l'avons beaucoup appréciée Bahama Mama et Pina Colada. C'est la meilleure ... Les serveurs dans les restaurants sont très sympathiques; avons beaucoup ri avec eux. Nous ne retournerons pas à cet hôtel mais c'est une belle place, propre...

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6090 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Family Vacation in April - Hotel is OK

    Reviewed by Trail31680608676() on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Stayed at the Iberostar Paraiso Lindo with my family for 1 week. The hotel itself is very beautiful and surrounded by water. Very eye-catching and clean. We were upgraded to the Paraiso Maya upon arrival which is nice, but a little strange. I have heard and read multiple other reviewers saying they were also "upgraded". The beach was very nice, lots of seating, clear water and soft sand. The snack bar located on the beach was consistently stocked with lots of items for eating and no lines for the bar to order drinks. The pool was huge and provided lots of room for people to swim and hang out. You never felt crowded. Great spaces for small kids to enter and feel safe, as well. The buffets were good. They had a decent selection of food each night, but mostly the same choices. Surprisingly, the taco's were nothing to write home about. The pita fell apart every time and the toppings were not out of this world good. I have had much better taco's in Canada. The A-La-Carte's were TERRIBLE. We originally booked 5 to eat at and after 2 we cancelled the rest. We went to a Mexican and Italian restaurant. The mexican was the same you would get at the buffet but took over an hour to get our food. We were travelling with 2 vegetarians and the staff found it extremely hard to grasp what options they could provide. At the italian restaurant, I ordered Gnocchi with pork tenderloin - i was served raw pork. I asked for a new dish and was served burnt, thin pork chop... My family requested to go to the Japanese a la cart to try the teppanyaki style meal. While the man making the food was able to pull off some cool tricks, he wasn't able to time manage the food and served raw meat to half of our 15-person table. I would not recommend going to any of the a la cart's. Do not waste your time - we ended up going to the buffet afterwards. The entertainment was very good - something different every night. The rooms were clean but we found it unnecessary for the maid to come twice in one day.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3

    Iberostar Paraiso Lindo/Maya

    Reviewed by Trail364386() on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This was our first visit to Iberostar Paraiso Lindo. We were upgraded free of charge to Maya as we needed 3 rooms close together and Lindo couldn’t accommodate us. This gave us more dining options. It is a beautiful property and very well kept. Food was just okay as was service in most of the restaurants, some better than others. We were disappointed with the lack of different shooters at the bars/swim up bar. There was either a green or blue shooter (not sure what it was) but there was no variety. Where we stayed last year there were so many different ones, it was great. We never had a problem getting loungers which was great as we needed 6 together. The Star Friends entertainment group were terrific, they really worked hard to get vacationer participation both at the daily activities as well as the nightly shows. Liz was our go to girl. She had breakfast with us one morning and it was great to hear more about the resort life and to learn about her family. Giovanni Acosta was one of our concierge. Giovanni is awesome! Always a super friendly “hola” and was there for all of our needs, whatever they were. Giovanni went above and beyond with little “extras” not just for my husband and I but for our boys and their girlfriends too. We had 3 rooms in a row and he took care of all of us. We also had Carlos Lopez, Carlos and Giovanni did the switch during the day. Carlos was also very friendly and attentive. Anything we needed, Giovanni and Carlos were there for all of us.

    Wonderful family vacation!

    Reviewed by KateGreene(Billerica, Massachusetts) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Great experience on family vacay.Stayed in #63 close to wave pool&pool area-can be hike to lobby-.clean&noticed that staff were so put together,clean uniforms,cleanshaven,hair pulled back.Star Club-Our kids were 6-8&enjoyed it very much.large facility with a climbing structure little area they can eat in,screen area where they can watch movies&a little stage area but the bulk of the activities are around the resort.They walk the kids around to beach, pool, lunch,all kinds of activities.There's # that you can call to find out where they are&you can drop them off/pick them up@any time/activity.@night there's a performance in theater&its so cute!staff was amazing- energetic&enthusiastic!Did rent a sailboat&the rudder came off,we were stranded2hotels down so that wasnt a great experience.Went through Adventure Photos&they did an awesome job.Bring sunglasses if you have AMshoot-sunny!Hair braiding-walked down beach to a stand that do them for $50 halfa head instead of$110@hotel. Food-did steak house&Italian restaurant-really delicious.did buffets&enjoyed very much.Star Cafe is like Starbucks&we LOVED iced cappuccinos!There's a pottery station where you can relax&paint a piece of ceramic.right on beach at end of boardwalk.One complaint-each night we went to crepe shop@ shopping center&everytime two ladies in there were so unpleasant.theyre VERY unhappy.Only bad experience with staff that we had.Fitness center-incredible!never experienced classes on vacation like this.

    Where'd all the perks go for Club Members?

    Reviewed by Kelly M() on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    My husband and I stupidly signed up for the Club 5 years ago. When we first signed up, they treated us very well, allowed us 3 liquor choices that they said would be in our room upon arrival everytime we stayed. They had fresh fruit and cheese they brought into our room. We realized we got sucked into another vacation timeshare and decided to make the best of it by enjoying the perks. The second time we came they still had snacks in the room but no cheese or fruit platter. They did not have our requested liquor and instead had bottles of wine which we don't drink. Now is our third time back and while they allowed us to swap out the wine for one bottle of liquor, it's been a disappointing trip. We've had to ask for things that they say are included, like chocolate with turn down service or extra snacks in the room..Just seems like they are cutting corners to save money at the expense of people who paid A LOT of money to enjoy their resort. Also, Star Prestige gets the same treatment as Club Members so do yourself a favor and just pay for Star Prestige and skip the timeshare speech and save yourself $17000 dollars. It's disappointing that we paid so much money to end up feeling scammed. The only thing saving this review from one star is the staff who is friendly, kind and helpful.

    You get what you expect

    Reviewed by beefchen91(Dusseldorf, Germany) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Pretty rooms, comfortable beds. Nice Service wherever you go. The food and the cocktails are great. If you want to party they have a fun disco. Make sure to do a lot of trips, like the cenotes, Cozumel, Coba swimming with the turtles (be conscious to book a tour that anchors by the reef not on the reef!!) nice beach but a lot of seawheat like everywhere on the rivera de maya. Ruben the beach-supervisor is perfect for a little talk about the unique destinations to travel to in Yucatan and Rodrigo the Bartender is just so much fun to talk to and he will make you any drink you like, just be ask kindly. Just use the time to see Yucatan it is so worth it!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX