Barceló Solymar

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    L

    Loved it-friendly, organized, and comfortable.

    Reviewed by Lyla on Jul 03, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    It's Cuba, so expectations of food weren't high. But this hotel had a burger place that was open late for our teenage son, and enough veggie/cheese options for our daughter. Seafood was good. Had a problem with the toilet which they said they would fix right away. They were friendly, but again, Cuba, so right away meant three hours with a reminder. However, staff were very friendly and helpful, it was easy and inexpensive to book trips snorkeling, cave with a pool in it, day trip to Havana , and the beach was amazing, with thatched umbrellas. The hotel itself is clean, organized, and pretty. Easy to walk into town for an ice cream. We will be booking again and have recommended to others.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    t

    In need of updates (Part 2 of 2)

    Reviewed by taylor16 on May 21, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2016

    Trip Type: Large group

    ....The resort is about a 15 minute walk to the downtown markets in Varadero. We also did the jeep safari excursion which I HIGHLY recommend!! Overall, for what we came for, our trip wasn't that bad. We didn't come for the outdated rooms or the leaky doors, we came to be together as a group, relax in the sun and get some good drinks. We accomplished all of that and overall we got what we wanted for what we paid for.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    t

    In need of updates (Part 1 of 2)

    Reviewed by taylor16 on May 21, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2016

    Trip Type: Large group

    A group of 11 of us just got back from Solymar yesterday. The resort is extremely outdated, and there are many things that would need improvement before I was to ever go back again. My boyfriend and I stayed in a bungalow and the rest of our group stayed in the main building with the buffet and snack bar. The bungalow rooms were the only ones with air conditioning during the whole week. When one of my friends asked why her room didn't have air conditioning, she was first told that it was "broken" and would be off between 8AM-8PM every day until fixed. When she kept complaining, the manager finally told her it was because they turned off the AC for 12 hours of the day to save money essentially. They used the argument that "no one is in their rooms between 8AM and 8PM". While that may be true for some people, there were some days where my friends would want to get out of the sun for awhile because of sun burns or get ready for dinner/the night before 8PM. The last 3 nights we were there it was thunder and lightening. The rain was so bad and our rooms were so outdated that in our bungalow we had about 2 inches of water coming from under our door and our ceiling was dripping of rain water. The same thing was happening inside the main hotel area as well. Many of us only had a third of a shower door, outdated televisions and broken television remotes. While none of these things put a huge damper on our trip, the inconvenience of it all made our stay a little more harder. On a more positive note, the atmosphere at Solymar was excellent and the beaches and pool were amazing. There were a lot of "younger" people there which was great for us as we were a group of adults 18-25 years old. The food was good for Cuba. None of us had issues with getting sick or starving because we were not eating. Bring ketchup because the ketchup there is actual tomato paste. The bartenders there were great and the drinks were very good. The resort is about a 15 minute walk to downtown.......

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    k

    Will not return...very disappointed

    Reviewed by kelly on Dec 21, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Hotel was unclean,rooms bathrooms,restaraunts everywhere was dirty and sometimes moldy.Our AC did not work until night time,Iron was not working.Our shower door fell off,our room was not cleaned at all.bed was uncomfortable, TV Remote without batteries, was no hot water,you name it something was wrong or bad with our room. Food was pretty awful.very limited menu, Hot food cold, Service was extremely slow, The beaches were quite nice,I would not recommend this resort at all.Over all value was not worth the money spent. will not return.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    J

    Our stay in Cuba as mentioned the Solymar was the worst hotel i have ever stayed at.I would not stay there for free

    Reviewed by Jim on Nov 17, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Hotel was unclean,rooms bathrooms,restaraunts everywhere was dirty and sometimes moldy.Our AC did not work until night time which on low did not help us cool down.Our shower door fell off,our room was not cleaned at all twice during our week.Ran out of shampoo,toilet paper,water.No ashtrays,bed was uncomfortable,lousy TV channels with very few english stations,no hot water,hair dryer was broken,no coffee or coffee maker,you name it something was wrong or bad with our room.Food was pretty awful in the buffet and theme restaraunts.Hot food cold cold food warm,ran out of food and ice quite often.Service was extremely slow for everything unless you tip the servers and bartenders.No swim up bar at the pool which was overall not bad.The beaches were quite nice.Hotel was in a good location with easy access to shops.I would not recommend this resort at all.Over all value was not worth the money spent.However if you go to Cuba bring lots of gum and suckers as they love candy.Tip the people who provide good service as it is rare.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    J

    beautifull beaches!!!

    Reviewed by Julia on Jun 12, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Beaches were beautiful!!! Food was not good at all...as expected. The pool pump area was a just a hole in the pool deck. Not covered up safely at all. My husband actually fell into the pump hole because it was closed only with a tin top on wheels that were not secured properly. No signs were posted. There should have been warning signs as this was not the first time someone has fallen in there... staff told us later My husband stepped on the edge of it and the wheels took off and he fell in.. He scraped up his back and hurt his arm. We spoke to hotel management and he saw a nurse. Nothing ever came of it. Overall a great vacation!! Just be careful by the pool...

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 8021 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Beautiful Beach front, all inclusive services. but disappointed with hotel and staff

    Reviewed by kateJane98() on Jul 05, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Absolutely stunning beach, clear waters and perfect for all inclusive lovers. Although, me and my friends had a disappointing beginning to our stay with a broken balcony door, unable to access the balcony and allowed for many ants to infest the room, also the fridge was broken, we had to move rooms three times due to bad service and attention to detail from reception staff. After the three attempts the final room we stayed in was clean, accommodating and lovely views for the hotel's pool. All inclusive lovers you may enjoy this hotel, best way to spend a few nights resting on the stunning beach. Amazing night show, filled with professional dancing and exceptional music !

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-2

    Relaxing place

    Reviewed by Lorraine D(Matachewan, Canada) on Jul 03, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We had a room in the main building, It was very clean, The balcony was facing the main road, But in behind that was the sea. The air worked but I seldom had it on. Saw no critters in the room. Walking we saw a few lizards. The food was exceptional. Plenty for everyone, And a extensive variety. The service was outstanding. The cleaning lady went far and beyond. Walking distance to the Beatles bar. Also in walking distance is the market. The artwork is beautiful. Parked out the main lobby door are horse and carriages, I went for a ride in one. It costs 10 pesco for an hour. Well worth it, He will stop where you want and wait. I can honestly say the bed wasn't the comfiest. They could do with new ones. I plan on returning to Barcelo Solymar.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Worst resort ever

    Reviewed by humaira k() on Jun 28, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Absolutely hated this resort. The customer service was one of the worst I have ever experienced. Brian at the front tried to charge me double for the late check when I already paid when I booked the hotel. I showed him my credit card receipt and confirmation receipt from Barcelo booking. He was extremely rude and very unpleasant. When I was explaining the receipt to him he said I should stop talking so much so he can tell me what he thinks. After explaining for an hour and missing my taxi to the airport, he finally realized that I already paid in advance and I didn't owe anything during check out. I asked to speak to the manager when I just saw him in his office. Brian and the rest of the staff denied that manager was at the hotel and there was no way for me to speak to him. There was no apology for the inconvenience caused. The blonde girl at the front desk refused to change our rooms when I paid extra to have one queen size bed and not two separate single beds. My boyfriend and I had to sleep in individual beds because they were so small to fit two. Also both rooms booked were not side by side. The next morning when I went to change room, she made me wait 2 hours because "she was checking with supervisor" .. 2 hours later she comes back and gives me another room that was even further than my friends room and still with two single beds. I don't get how hard it is to understand that I paid to have one large bed as we are a couple and want two rooms together. Even if you can't give me two rooms together then at least give me a room with one bed.. not two single. And again there was no apology or anything. One door man by the buffet made very rude and disrespectful comment to my friends who are local Cubans also staying at the resort. The staff yelled at them in front of everyone because their shoes were wet and the maid just mopped the floor. Mid you that the only way to go to the room from the pool is through the lobby.. so how are we suppose to have dry feet before entering the lobby? Also there are no signs anywhere saying such rules. How can you be a local Cuban yourself and be this disrespectful to another local. There were many other guests doing the same but the staff happened to only pick on our friends. The food at the resort was one of the worst I've had in Cuba. I have been to many Barcelo hotel as a Barcelo member and have been to Cuba many many times. I have never tasted such bland food before in Cuba. There was no variety at the buffet. We did not get any a la cart options during out stay. The snack bar always ran out of food. There was never any burgers or anything else but nasty ham and cheese sandwich at night. After 11pm you can only get beer and no mixed drink or liquor. There was no club or disco at the hotel. The pool table at the next resort was always closed. There is nothing to do here at night except going to the strip. I don't understand how this is a "party resort"??! I have been to multiple resorts all over Cuba and they always have a disco, outdoor entertainment, beach party etc at night. Overall ... I would never visit this resort again and would encourage all my friends and family to do the same. Barcelo should really think or reorganizing this resort as I've been to multiple Barcelo hotels and they were all great. Please think this over and reorganize and train your staff. We work hard and pay a lot of money to go on vacation and unpleasant to receive this type of service when you are suppose to be happy and relaxed on vacation.

    Worst Hotel Experience I've ever had

    Reviewed by Melissa T() on Jun 27, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I arrived at Barcelo to get terrible customer service. There was a problem with my reservation and they had me wait for 3 hours while they solved the problem. Than, when I got to my room I realized the bathroom smelled like someone urinated all over the curtain, the AC made the whole room wet, the pool was nasty with green fungus and there were cockroaches all over the buffet. Save yourselves from a terrible experience. Go somewhere else.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-1

    beautiful

    Reviewed by 989sandra(St. John's, Canada) on Jun 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    visited June 11, a repeat customer. The pool was spotless, the staff were very helpful and polite and we saw the Grease show one evening, It was lovely!I could always fine a shady place to sit as it was very hot !I didnt try any a la cartes but did try a few restaurants just outside the property .I will be returning to this property again ! I recommend bringing your own pillow. I used my travel pillow with my own pillow slip.You need lots of fly dope for around dusk and of course sunscreen.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX