Playa Vista Mar

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    L

    Buyer beware!

    Reviewed by Love on Mar 04, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Single

    BUYER BEWARE! Horrible hotel for Young girls to travel, Staff is unprofessional and inappropriate. Hotel is in the middle of no where, keep in mind there is no nearby hospital in case of emergency. The rooms :had big beetles that would creep in and the bathroom smelt like sewer and poor plumbing, sheets were stained and dirty, the double lock on the room can be opened by the key and hotel staff.The Food: The buffet food was always the same, a mystery meat that they would have each day and a recycled salad bar filled with little fruit flies. Only good thing was breakfast. Drinks: Tasted like dirty water. Go to any other resort but this one

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    J

    Nice modern hotel.. terrible service

    Reviewed by Jhanson on Jan 07, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    Very modern beautiful place amazing beaches. Now the downside. We stayed from dec 26-to Jan 2nd. First few days we good..then took a turn for the worse.. if u dont speak Spanish ur ignored. I speak a little enough to get by and still was ignored. Getting food at the buffet was a struggle my 3 year was push knocked to the grown and had her plate knocked out of her had numerous times. Buffet is insane we basically lived at the snack bar which was supposed to be 24/7.. but ran out of everything and half the time they would just tell u sorry no food come back in half hour to an hour. But yet watched them hand out food to Cubans and other guest they favored. The Cubans are allowed on the resort and it got insane they got into the restaurants with out reservations, they hired to the beginning on the lines . They just go around behind the counters and talk to the chefs and they get served first. 50 mons in line for pasta which is already cooked!! We went at 8 and it open at 7 and all the stations were shut down. Sorry no more food.. it's open till 10. Getting service to get drinks were a nightmare we ended up buying our own and drinking in the room or making bbn our own drinks. The staff ignore you. We are tippers and they still dont come back around. I've been to Cuba 6 times and it's the worst service I've ever experienced. And talking with other Canadians they were having the same problems we were.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 458 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Nice hotel with incredible people

    Reviewed by rabais r(Boisbriand, Canada) on May 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We were at this resort from May 8th to May 15th. The hotel is almost new and very nice and clean. The people are alwayls helpful and smiling. We were in VIP Adult only section and it was a very good decision since we had access to a VIP restaurant for breakfast and lunch and the food there was much better than the buffet that didn't have a lot of choice and food was cold in the buffet. In the VIP restaurant, we always had Mimosa, sparkling wine and my husband had squid every lunch so he was happy with this but the choice of food was really the most limited I ever saw in Cuba. The Pros: VIP Section with private restaurant and nice people The Cons:The lack of good food and desert and the Music for the animation on the beach in the morning was incredibly loud even if almost no one was doing the activities. This is a NONO since we want calm on vacation. I would love to thank a few people for their help with my need for a special bed because of my back. Thanks to Lizandra that answered me many times on Facebook to let me know she would help me. Also Damelis at the Reception and organized it for me with the help of the incredible Yuniet who oversaw it all in my room. Thanks to all of you for your help.

    Wedding

    Reviewed by tanderson537() on May 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Not happy. We had our wedding at Playa Vista Mar over May long weekend. We are VERY disappointed. The wedding was beautiful but the dinner was far too over priced and they only had two servers available for my wedding of 44 guests. Dinner at our wedding was also cold. It is our last day here today on the resort and there has been a husband and wife who have complained that my wedding party is too loud on the VIP ADULT side. So now they will not play any music on the VIP ADULT side because 2 people will dictate how 44 people have a good time. We brought a lot of business to this resort and are very disappointed in the customer service. Now that we have paid our wedding the workers do not care. Do not book at this resort if you would like to listen to music or party because apparently if two old people don’t like it they will shut it down. The food is crap. Will not come back go Playa Vista Mar. And the sad thing is Julie in customer service asked us to write a review for the resort so here is my honest review.

    Great vacation

    Reviewed by Jitterbug2(Pembroke) on May 04, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Back to this hotel for the second time and again loved our stay. Hotel has changed owners for the third time and not sure what that will do for this hotel. Rafael, hotel manager is the best took excellent care of us, thank you again. Yandi and can't remember all the guys driving carts to pick up people were all awesome. We stayed in the all adult side and preferred it over the busy family side, not saying that the family side is bad just we like the quiet. Beach is awesome and love the long walks everyday and snorkeling was amazing also. Would like to try new hotel that is opening up beside this one next. Not sure of the name yet but looks nice and same beach to walk on. Thank you to all the best staff for everything wish I could name you all. Excellent service. Judith Lisbetty, Danaisy and Javier to name a few.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Better than most

    Reviewed by mdmacisaac(Charlottetown, Canada) on May 01, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Okay... So this is my 6th time to this area in Cuba.. I go to this little island because the beach is amazing and my husband loves that Cuba is safe and the people are friendly. So this will be a good review if you know what to expect in Cuba. 1. This hotel is new and modern.. it seems to be having a hard time getting off the ground with the owner changing 3 times. When resorts are new in Cuba you need to remember that they are still exposed to the outdoors and weather all the time so they can't be perfectly spotless but this hotel was clean and better than most that I have stayed in. 2. I stayed on the adults only size.. the rooms were great! The best I have experienced yet. The young lady that cleaned my room did a fantastic job and I let her little things everyday. She deserved them. The beds were comfortable, ac worked, shower was hot, it was good. 3. We ate most of our meals at the adults only snack bar. Julienna and the staff there made our trip fantastic. They were amazing. The breakfast was good you ordered off the menu and lunch was also good. They also had a daily special such as pork and rice that was good. We ate at the buffet 3 times during the week for supper. At the first of the week it was really but it seemed to go down by the end of the week. The staff are trying their best but there is a shortage of a lot of food in Cuba. 4. Beach was great!! The bartenders Boreles and his friends were fantastic. They work hard and it was hot every day!! Tip them! The water was beautiful and there was a lot of fish to see. If you snorkel this is a great place to come. The entertainment team was so great as well. Jesus and the crew were easy to talk to and shared information about the culture that was interesting. They work hard as well and deserve tips. 5. Negatives.. I would have to say that the service in the lobby bar was awful we spent very little time there because we were up early and in bed early.. I was happy about that because I was annoyed every time I was there. 6. My friend had an allergic reaction while we there and received great care from the medical staff.. no need to worry about that stuff.. 7. This resort is quiet.. we wanted that. If you are looking for a lot of people and a lot of entertainment it may not be for you. I am hoping that it will change once everything is worked out. This resort has beautiful grounds and a lot of potential.. 8. The gym was great.. we used it daily 9. The in room service for drinks was also great. Richard checked on us to make sure we were getting what we need. 10. Keep an open mind and you will have a great time.. tip and you will have a great time.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-3

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-3

    something was missing everyhere

    Reviewed by mike s(Quebec, Canada) on Apr 28, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    On the positive side the rooms were great, the a/c worked well, the rooms were clean. there was just something missing with everything. 1. No bread at the buffet, 2. no spoons unless you asked on of the waiters, 3. at the a al cart restaurants, what ever was no the menu, was not available, or only part of it was, no bread. 4. at the snack bar no french fries or pizzas available. the lobby entertainment was good, but the nightly entertainment was terrible. i found that that staff was not overly knowledgeable about the resort. I would not recommend this resort or would i go back.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-1

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-1

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX