Occidental Cozumel

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    n

    Disappointing, badly managed resort

    Reviewed by nellikapro on Jan 27, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    Worst resort experience in Mexico by far - been to this part of the country just about every winter in the past decade. Incredibly poorly managed. Changed 3 rooms in the first 24 hours - 4 of us were housed in a ONE KING BED room: 2 adults, a teenager - paying FULL PRICE - and a 7-yr old; second option was 2 DOUBLE beds - not queen, uncomfortable for two adults. Ended up sleeping with the young one in a king bed, and a roll-out bed for the teenager - worst sleep ever. Had room for only half the clothing in the small closet which is in the bathroom, BTW. Bell boy brought someone else's purse to our room; while our 5 suitcases went missing. Eventually discovered who knows where - not at front desk, nor storage room. Staff were unmotivated and indifferent, nice sometimes but mostly seemed burdened and rarely smiled. I don't necessarily blame them - they must be dealing with unsatisfied guests all the time. Exceptions: Carolina, Chrystal, Olegario, Sonya, Jesus, Edgar. Long wait for service ALL AROUND: front desk; beach towels - self service most times; at buffets: to be seated, order, be served, refills; a la carte: once waited 45 min for appetisers, 90 min for main; bars - especially at pool/beach. Have never seen such poor variety of food choice in Mexico; especially the fruits and veggies. Though, most cooked fare and a la carte food were tasty. Once we had a la carte reservation, but the restaurant was closed. Some of the timeshare people are duplicitous, annoying and cocky - especially the project managers. Beautiful grounds and beach, lots of potential; but not under the current management. Will not return.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6393 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Laid back

    Reviewed by Julio G(Montreal, Canada) on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    People warned me of pushy package sales people or harassing timeshare salesmen in Mexican resorts, and was a little hesitant to book an all-inclusive package. I must say I was pleasantly surprised by the level of service, the cleanliness and overall professional yet relaxed attitude in this resort. You can really enjoy your vacation. Probably one of the best beaches in Quintana-Roo

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Pick anything but here!

    Reviewed by applejac73(Fort Worth, Texas) on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    As soon as we arrived at this hotel the cab driver told us "Welcome to the jungle". Man was he not kidding. The reason for our stay was for Scuba diving. And the diving was great with Scuba Life! Not the dive shop onsite. I'm sure they are ok but I prefer smaller groups of less than 6 with experienced divers and the dive shop onsite hauls people like cattle out to the reef. Now lets talk about the food. Im pretty sure I could find better out of the trash can! It was AWFUL and BLAND!! One would think heck i'm in mexico and i'm going to have the best tacos,tamales and maybe fajitas that money can buy right?? WRONG! Your'e going to get some thing they said was Asian and some cold noddles I was told was Italian. Breakfast "other than the fresh omelets" was uneatable. Even the bread for toast was stale. And all of this was while sweat was pouring down your body due to the fact there is no AC and no fans! Ask for two napkins! One for just wiping the sweat off your face. The fruit and desserts is what kept us from starving. Lunch was by the ocean everyday so you had a breeze and chicken nuggets. The hamburgers are mostly fat and tasteless. I didn't eat the salad but it looked ok but I needed protein to keep up with diving 4 times a day! The Alcohol was great. Drink enough of it and you'll forget you are starving. The staff was very friendly and kind. Most spoke descent English but it didn't matter as I spoke Spanish to them. It was extremely rare not to have them greet you with a smile. The grounds were kept very manicured and trash free. Don't plan on going to town without spending at least 40-50 dollars depending on the cab driver. But when you are starving like me you'll pay it but only once. The beach is small but clean. The swim area is big enough for some snorkeling and there are some small fish and rays to see. The rooms are basically a roadside motel with no ocean view. I can tell you I will never stay here again. But if you like to sweat in the jungle and love tasteless food then this is the place for you!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-1

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-1

    Beautiful location, but food no what was expected.

    Reviewed by Becky P() on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The hotel itself was gorgeous, but be prepared to take tons of showers every day. Every place was warm - all dining rooms, personal rooms, etc. The food was not what we expected. We were supposed to have been on a cruise and expected the food to be the quality of what is provided on the cruise ships. It was not. The food wasn't bad, but it just wasn't wonderful. I'm all about the desserts and the desserts were OK. I will say, if you like a good frozen drink, the Miami Vice needs to be your go to drink. It's a combination of a strawberry daiquiri and pina colada. Delish!!!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Great Vacations at Cozumel !

    Reviewed by CynthiaAvila() on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I absolutely recommend this hotel. It was very comfortable. Gorgeous. Loved to have some jungle inside the resort. Being near the corals and reefs was stunning. We could swim with the fishes on the beach directly. Clean beach and clear waters. Staff provided excellent service. Food was great ! Very tasty. Fruit is a delight ! Fresh and sweet at all times. In the specialty restaurants, the teams were very nice, gave us a remarkable service. Great delicious food! **Favorite one <3 : Los Olivos (Italian-mediteranean style)

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Nice week away

    Reviewed by petergo2015(New Glarus) on Jul 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We enjoyed our stay in a spacious well air conditioned room. The beach was beautiful. Pool area was very clean. We were part of the First Club. I can't say enough about the staff there. Very friendly and very friendly always wanting to help with whatever is needed. The only thing we weren't totally happy with was the quality and variety of food in the buffet. The food and service was great in the specialty restaurants.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX