Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca

2.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 2 and 3 stars. 2 star - Budget accommodation with limited facilities and services. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    M

    AMAZING stay, wonderful people, beyond stunning beaches!

    Reviewed by Mparragh on Feb 13, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    LOVED LOVED Club Amigo! Awesome value for your dollar. absolutely STUNNING beaches, very clean, friendly staff, relaxing atmosphere. Would definitely make this my annual vacation spot!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    j

    great staff / great beaches /great food & entertainment

    Reviewed by june on Dec 15, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2018

    Trip Type: Single

    staff is excellent --my personal thanks to Pablo (westjet rep) for helping find my luggage & suggestion for excursions, also Inglvis (reception) very knowledgeable, always smiling and helpful & to Elias (reception) for helping me find my luggage --all staff goes out of their way to help and beach is superb--water pressure in main bldg is low at times but many reno's going on so am sure this will be fixed--i will be back

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    P

    2019 is my 7th year would not go if its no good

    Reviewed by Patricia Cotter (muma) on Oct 28, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Single

    It does not matter the location Everything you need is there

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    W

    A place to return to - year after year!

    Reviewed by Wendyni on Jun 05, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Friends

    Great value, unbeatable beach with the added bonus of the public beach right beside it, also other smaller, private beach areas gave beaches a 5** truly deserved way more , several pools with no lack of poolside chairs to choose from, there were enough choices of places to eat we found our favourites and stuck with them, weeded out the places we didn't care for as there was definitely different levels of service and quality of food , hotel staff friendly and most more than happy to accommodate our requests we wanted rooms side by side with friends who arrived a day later than us - the staff made it happen , rooms basic but clean we stayed in the bungalows which were very quiet away from main resort area however steps away from the beach AND the PIRATE BAR. This bar, and it's charming bartender Riggo, was without a doubt the main highlight deserving their own 5**** plus....., many activities at the resort and close by there were two separate places to go for a horseback ride - lovely well kept, well mannered horses With a guide who took the time to explain safety and the basics to my two inexperienced friends, this was exceptional value. This resort, although older, and it's staff deserve better reviews than some I have seen, the number of guests that return year after year cause they love the place, are the real proof - some having stayed 20+ years or more. It was hard to leave, I will return and stay longer next time.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    Think Twice Before Booking!

    Reviewed by Mel_L on Mar 20, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    I visited Club Amigo Atlantico with 3 other people for our March Break. We weren’t expecting anything fancy, as we knew it was a 3-star when booking. However, when looking through the photos on Sunquest and anywhere else, we were extremely disappointed with the first room we were given Standard upon our arrival. The room can be compared to a military bunker or worse . It wasn’t clean, it smelled of mould and it was extremely old. I believe these are the first buildings. Some standards look great on the outside new paint job . It simply wasn’t sanitary and I don’t know how this hotel can place anyone in these rooms. We then asked for another room and were put in their tropical section, which was better and cleaner. Still not like the photos online. Unfortunately, the resort charges per day for any room changes as it is considered an upgrade. We then upgraded again and ended up in the villas #9, to be exact . Now this room was what they showed in the photos. Beautiful room compared to what else they give travelers . The food was pretty good, all things considered. Yes, it’s bland, but they please every palate this way. Add some salt & pepper, bring your own spice and make it enjoyable for you. They offer à la carte options Mediterranean, Italian, Cuban, Seafood , which all have great options. However, those who chose Italian weren’t very impressed. I do recommend the Cuban; it was really good. We also did Mediterranean and if it wasn’t for my overcooked and dried out chicken, it was delicious. If we had to choose a destination in Holguin, Club Amigo Atlantico would not be on our list. Although we had a lovely vacation after changing rooms, we were extremely disappointed with the amount we had initially paid for this hotel only to get a dirty room . We ended up having to pay an extra $300 approximately, to get the room we expected to get the one shown in photos . We would have booked elsewhere had the photos properly reflected what we would receive as a room.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    A

    Far better than many reviews !!

    Reviewed by A happy vacationer on Mar 05, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    We had always avoided this resort as there were so many bad reviews but this year the price was so good for a 2 week vacation we decided to take it. Well it was great value, yes its certainly not a 5 star but I would certainly book it again. Food was good and the staff friendly,if you expect the food to be as it is in your home then stay home. Its a third world country with hard working friendly people that are happy to see you visit their country.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3308 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    May Vacation

    Reviewed by Mojito_Dave(Hamilton, Canada) on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Not sure where to begin it was quite the experience. Me and my wife traveled from May 10th to the 17th and took some advice from this site and booked a villa room. After seeing the chaos that was the main lobby and tropical section we were sure glad we did. It was mothers day weekend so a lot of locals brought their families which is fine but the resort was only half open it created lines for everything the buffet being the worst if you didn't grab what you wanted it was gone no room to be nice and no one was. We seen first hand what a lot of other tourists on this site have mentioned about locals getting preferable treatment but we made the best of it as the scenery was amazing . There was Bennys for breakfast and lunch great place with amazing service and food. The resort itself is huge so you could go roam and find a quiet space when need be it has some spectacular views of the water. The public beach was fun its 1cuc for a chair but well worth it as the beach at Club Amigo is the best Ive seen in Holguin this being my 3rd visit also the lunch shacks are great 5cuc for a great meal.Look for Orlando he is the man for anything you need while at the beach . Me and my wife are split about this resort I would gladly return its your average Cuban 3 star no frills but for me lots of character and great location for her she isn't fussy but there was a lot lacking for her here the long lines, food variety , pools closed etc.

    Value for what you pay for, overall decent stay

    Reviewed by LCtravellife(Toronto, Canada) on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Stayed here for a few nights without much expectations as knowing it’s not a highly rated star hotel especially since was very cost effective. The hotel is very old, but super clean! Spotless everywhere! Very well kept! Especially when you peek through into the back of kitchen at buffet you can see how organized and tidy and clean everything was. The buffet had very small selection yet we managed to find something to eat each time. There is also 2 separate snack bars out by two separate areas/pools which offer decent fries and burgers and dogs. Let’s remember it’s to Cuban standards which means what the hotel can get their hands on according to how much they willing to invest into their culinary operations. Let’s not compare to the other 2 bigger unnamed hotel chains in Cuba. The disco seemed to be hopping every night although very small in square footage for me I would feel like I’m partying in a closet so I stayed out in the bar just on other side of it. The grounds were the loveliest landscaping I’ve ever stayed at. And the views from along the tops and along the little shores below were breathtaking. The staff were I’d say 80% pretty nice and accommodating. There are always a small percentage at most Cuban hotels who don’t like their jobs or just move real slow (typical around the Caribbean in general). Overall, if I were to pass through on a budget, I’d consider to stay here again.

    Yikes!

    Reviewed by Laura D() on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I will preface this by saying ive been travelling to Cuba for 7 years, twice a year. I normally stay in Cayo Coco but wanted to see a different part of the country......i was so so disappointed. The check in process was so disorganized and I didnt get a room until almost 6 pm. The rooms are older and run down. No bottled water in the rooms. The food was actually above par for cuba in the a la cartes....the buffets,snack bar and 24 hour bar are useless. Hotel wasat capacity with over 85% cuban guests which made everything even less enjoyable. Ive always had a positive opinion of the cuban people, but they were beyond rude as guests. Pools were dirty, kids using the pool and the beach as a bathroom, didn't go in once all week. The little pirate ship beach was nice and quiet. Alex on the 4th floor patio bar is a gem. He makes the yummiest cocktails!! I'd never return to this resort and wouldnt recommend it to anyone. The 1 star is only for the decent food.

    getting worse :(

    Reviewed by IHeartCubaSi(Toronto, Canada) on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Hello all, I like to start off by saying that I am a fan of club amigo But unfortunately this last vacation in mid July was probably the worst time I have had at any hotel in Cuba. I am married to a Cuban so I am very well aware of the lifestyle of the Cuban people, but my self and my cuban husband has never seen anything like this in our entire lives. The way that the Cuban guests at the resort acted was like they were entitled to everything over anyone else, they literally pushed me out of the way whether I was at the pool bar, the snack bar, the buffet or even just walking down the path they would not even share the walk way, I would have to stop or go off the path. The staff in the hotel seem to prioritize their time to Cuban guests and would serve them over any other tourists from any other country even if lined up before them. And it wasn’t like it was just once or twice it was very noticeable and every other foreign tourist that I spoke to felt the same way. Many of the Facebook groups have so many write ups on how the hotel staff are treating foreign tourists now. And yes another add said that Canadians can only have 3 to a room maximum but Cubans I know for a fact were 4-5 even 6 in rooms. Not that I want more but that creates over crowded and many things running out. The amount of food and drinks that is being taken to the beach for non Guests is unreal and security just watches this go on. Of course I have given drinks to staff (hush hush) but what I have seen is unreal. One guy bought a day pass while his friends 7-8 of them were on the beach and he would go back and forth with food and drinks all day for them. Clever right! But hey not fair for paying guests. I wanted a glass of just dark rum and they said they can only give me one shot so I asked for 2, they have it to me then a cuban gentleman received an entire glass full of rum???!! Wtf Oh ya and my hubby was having a nap and I went into the pool and not even 2 mins later my towel was gone, I had to pay 15cuc to get another one arggg. Ok that’s all I will complain about. We made the best of our time, and love some of the staff and we had a great room in a great location. I really hope the hotel start to realize what’s happening and they change their ways because they’re going to lose a lot of repeat and faithful guests. I am not sure if I would come back unless things change.

    Not a good vacation

    Reviewed by TJS7777() on Aug 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    During middle of July a lot of local population vacation at this resort. As a result there are lineups for everything and shortage of basic drinks like dark local dark rum (I had to by my own their store). At the end of the vacation my suitcase was stolen from the holding room while waiting for the bus. Although they found the broken in suitcase but I had to provide the local police with a lot of information through the internet and the suitcase was released to me almost two weeks later. At the end not even apology from the resort or Sunwing.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-1

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX